List Mgmt. Contract, Trade & Draftee Discussion - 2022 Off Season Edition

Contract status of all players now fully updated

Fitzpatrick been with the club 18 years. So after no doubt an exhaustive selection process we promote from within...again.

Not sure how many chairmen/presidents get selected from outside the current board. I’d say close to zero.

You have literally no idea on the details of Cripps contract... how much he got paid, whether he was willing to take a paycut in return for a long-term deal, whether there are any performance clauses or whatever.

Clubs can only turnover a handful of players each year. When you clean out the low-level spuds each year, that really only leaves a handful of retirements each year. Which senior players are hanging on beyond their time?

Jamie Cripps contract is definitely not our problem.
It was a 2 year contract signed in 2018 that we then extended for another 3 years til age 32.
Stop interrupting his rant with your facts.
Rant? I've had to scroll past about 5 pages of the sh%t you dribble on this forum.

You have literally no idea on the details of Cripps contract... how much he got paid, whether he was willing to take a paycut in return for a long-term deal, whether there are any performance clauses or whatever.

Clubs can only turnover a handful of players each year. When you clean out the low-level spuds each year, that really only leaves a handful of retirements each year. Which senior players are hanging on beyond their time?

Jamie Cripps contract is definitely not our problem.
No one but the club and Cripps management know his deal. We signed him to a 2 year deal in his best year in 2018, a contract year, which we extended out to 5 years.

The point is the club has continually locked these blokes up on long term deals into their 30s.

And sure enough after he got his deal, he's had 1 more good season for a pressure small forward in 2021.

Cripps tackles inside 50 average per game
2018 1.96 per game. 4th in the league
2019 1.26 per game. 28th in the league behind Darling and Venables
2020 1.29 per game 15th in the league. Behind Elliot Yeo.
2021 1.68 per game. 5th in the league.
2022 0.94 per game. 78th in the league. Behind Darling and Kennedy.

If 35 year old Josh Kennedy is laying more tackles per game than you, then nah mate, he is a problem.

Any dreams of getting Robertson from Brisbane?? No effing way. He’s timid and a shit kick.Couldyeven make the distance from 40

No one but the club and Cripps management know his deal. We signed him to a 2 year deal in his best year in 2018, a contract year, which we extended out to 5 years.

The point is the club has continually locked these blokes up on long term deals into their 30s.

And sure enough after he got his deal, he's had 1 more good season for a pressure small forward in 2021.

Cripps tackles inside 50 average per game
2018 1.96 per game. 4th in the league
2019 1.26 per game. 28th in the league behind Darling and Venables
2020 1.29 per game 15th in the league. Behind Elliot Yeo.
2021 1.68 per game. 5th in the league.
2022 0.94 per game. 78th in the league. Behind Darling and Kennedy.

If 35 year old Josh Kennedy is laying more tackles per game than you, then nah mate, he is a problem.
A situation made even worse by the fact that we don't have any good defensive forwards. We have nobody willing and able to chase and tackle or fight for the ball on the ground in our forward line. Cripps still has some strengths to his game. He is a pretty good kick for goal. But unfortunately his weaknesses compound the same weaknesses we have all through our forward line - lack of defensive pressure.

Just explain to me how we are expecting cripps to maintain inside 50 tackle numbers when he's been played a little further up the ground for one and we've had about a 40% drop off in inside 50's.

In comparison to 2021 he averaged more disposals, more tackles, more goals, more goal assists and more inside 50's per game this year.

The way they carry on about Colin Young I honestly reckon they believe he forces them out himself. It’s hilarious.

Such a midget mentality at Freo - their perceived conspiratorial enemies are small fries like Margetts, Colin Young, the sports editorial in the West Australian.

Us West Coasters even our conspiracy theories are in the big leagues - it's AFL house, the AFL CEO, the Big 4 and the entirety of the national Footy Media!!

Honestly we cant complain about PPs as we have received them in the past (Shuey and Darling I believe, admittedly under a different system) but I cant imagine a scenario at all where the AFL would willingly award us priority picks even if we're dog s**t the next two years.
After this season only 3 other teams would have won a flag since we did .

We are not getting shit from the AFL especially after we PSD georgiatas next off season