List Mgmt. Contract, Trade & Draftee Discussion - 2022 Off Season Edition

Contract status of all players now fully updated

I agree, whats most intersting is that the game will have changes , but to what? Intersting to ponder.
Possibly depends on what further rule changes occur.

In the 90’s and early 00’s, the NBA was a real physical, much rougher sport. With scores steadily declining.

Over about a decade, the NBA changed a lot of rules to protect the offensive player, which had two major impacts.

First, scores steadily increased, where today, many games are shootouts.

Secondly, the skill set required to play in today’s NBA is significantly different to that of 30 years ago. So to is the coaching, and they type of players that can be successful.

Thought Ginbey was an inside.

Come on Farang83150 ............... get yourself up to speed. ;) :shrug:

I am sure that you have read the last half dozen or so pages ......... its pretty obvious from that read, that all our newly drafted players are total shit, cant play in any of the positions that we need them to, are busts and reflect badly on the Clubs recruiting team and their strategy.

Surely the opinions of so many informed posters have convinced you of the pitfalls of getting excited about this draft cohort.

I mean these astute posters have been able to make such definitive observations and form such opinions, without ever having seen any of the draftees play a single game of AFL football.

Sounds like these posters are all asking Santa Clause where their bikes are, as the have opened all their presents and there is *all that they like.

Not sure if anyone else has mentioned it but the WA vs Vic Country u18s game is interesting viewing for Eagles fans. I just watched it on Kayo

6 of our 7 draftees played in that game. Only one not to play is Barnett.

My (very) amateur notes:

Ginbey played fine. One of the better WA players. Nothing about his game screamed top 10 pick to me. He's a little clunky, a couple of his kicks seemed to go to no one in particular. Decent hands though, and seemed to be constantly involved in the game. Often at the bottom of packs. Definitely inside dominant at the moment.

Hewett drifted in and out of the game but I loved watching this kid play. He seems a very natural footballer. Explosive from contests, has a quick side step that is very Yeo-like, enjoys crashing into packs, and has a quality kick. His kicking is less reliable on the run however. He is probably closer to a Shuey than a Yeo type player as he doesn't seem to have Yeo's marking ability.

Long is pure class. Reminds me of LeCras a bit. Was one of Vic Country's best imo. Kicked a couple of quality goals and manufactured a perfect goal assist to Burgiel (Nice!). Did a perfect crumb at speed from a pack, ran into the open.... and the whistle blew cause somone gave away a free. Can't believe he slid as far as he did!

Burgiel. Seemed to be playing primarily in the fwd line. Good tackler and harrasser of opponents. Good kick i50, seems to relish the contest. Kicked a good goal (edit - 3 goals!) . I believe he is training with the backs at WC so difficult to take much from this. Not as noticeable as Long. (Edit, forget that. As good as Long. F#ck we drafted well!)

Baker. must admit I didn't realise he was playing until after half time. The commentators spend a lot of time discussing the players during the action (fair enough too) that I didn't hear his name much. Played back I think and sprayed a kick or two. (Edit - had 22 disposals! Ha! Guess I won't be pursuing a career as a scout!)

Dewar. Can see why Eagles selected him. Has a lot of talent! Great below his knees, one touch player, good goal sense.
Good analysis and thanks for the tip off that the replay is on Kayo.

I share your thoughts on our players, we drafted extremely well! What also impressed me is next years crop.

Edwards looks an absolute gun, Tholstrop (spelling?) looks a natural, Reid a generational talent.

Looking forward to watching our draftees this year. Very optimistic about them.

Come on Farang83150 ............... get yourself up to speed. ;) :shrug:

I am sure that you have read the last half dozen or so pages ......... its pretty obvious from that read, that all our newly drafted players are total s**t, cant play in any of the positions that we need them to, are busts and reflect badly on the Clubs recruiting team and their strategy.

Surely the opinions of so many informed posters have convinced you of the pitfalls of getting excited about this draft cohort.

I mean these astute posters have been able to make such definitive observations and form such opinions, without ever having seen any of the draftees play a single game of AFL football.

Sounds like these posters are all asking Santa Clause where their bikes are, as the have opened all their presents and there is *all that they like.
Personally very happy with our draft haul and IMO he'll be an inside bull guaranteed 🤠

Hewett beating up on Sheldrick in the GF in 2021 certainly was not him beating up on a less developed 18 year old. This is a Scotch College boy going head to head with the CCGS 1st XIII captain and he did it very well. Sheldrick was a decent size in 2021 and not a skinny little runt. That GF win to the Swan Districts can be put down to Hewett shutting down and hurting Sheldrick as Bazzo moving on to Van Rooyen and stopping him. Glad that they are both Eagles.

Yeah nah look, i don't want to weigh into the arguement, but i got to stick up for my boy Thicc Angus here.

Sheldrick came into the game with a Corkie, and had some dumb skinhead (Bailey Jenkin) in fluro boots tagging him all game. He was the GOAT, finishing with 27 disposals, 4 tackles and 2 goals. One of them after a sweet don't argue and snap. Despite fading after HT as the game went on he was still clearly BOG. Copped dog shots too.

Hewett was one of his teams better players 22D, 3T, but he hardly "beat up on" or "shut down" Sheldrick at all. That was Bailey Jenkin. Jenking legit tagged him all game, then popped up late to kick 2 snags for the Swans to help get his team over the line. Jenkin even won the medal in the end.

I'm a Hewett fan, he was very good in the Colts GF, probably his teams best mid as a 17yr old, but the idea of him shutting down Sheldrick and that's why his team won is totally false. They weren't matched up at all.

Yeah nah look, i don't want to weigh into the arguement, but i got to stick up for my boy Thicc Angus here.

Sheldrick came into the game with a Corkie, and had some dumb skinhead (Bailey Jenkin) in fluro boots tagging him all game. He was the GOAT, finishing with 27 disposals, 4 tackles and 2 goals. One of them after a sweet don't argue and snap. Despite fading after HT as the game went on he was still clearly BOG. Copped dog shots too.

Hewett was one of his teams better players 22D, 3T, but he hardly "beat up on" or "shut down" Sheldrick at all. That was Bailey Jenkin. Jenking legit tagged him all game, then popped up late to kick 2 snags for the Swans to help get his team over the line. Jenkin even won the medal in the end.

I'm a Hewett fan, he was very good in the Colts GF, probably his teams best mid as a 17yr old, but the idea of him shutting down Sheldrick and that's why his team won is totally false. They weren't matched up at all.
Hewett and Sheldrick spent a load of time contesting stoppages and Gus was strong early and the Swan’s collectively targeted him. They were effective. I would need to go back and watch the GF as I saw them line up against each other at stoppages in a number of games.

Watch enough games and I am sure it’s likely I’ve merged who did what in which game.

Regardless, happy we have Hewett and with Ginbey, Culley, Burgiel and Chesser. We finally have some midfielders for the future. Angus would have been a worthwhile addition but with Culley and Ginbey, we probably have his role covered.

View attachment 1580827
Hewett and Sheldrick spent a load of time contesting stoppages and Gus was strong early and the Swan’s collectively targeted him. They were effective. I would need to go back and watch the GF as I saw them line up against each other at stoppages in a number of games.

Watch enough games and I am sure it’s likely I’ve merged who did what in which game.

Regardless, happy we have Hewett and with Ginbey, Culley, Burgiel and Chesser. We finally have some midfielders for the future. Angus would have been a worthwhile addition but with Culley and Ginbey, we probably have his role covered.
images

So i've scoping out a few other boards to see if there were any guys on the fringe to watch for the year as potential targets. And f*** me. Listen to the going on of this mob.
richmondcnts.png

The tigers supporters win a flag and act as if their club hasn't been irrelevant for 40 years🤮🤮🤮

So i've scoping out a few other boards to see if there were any guys on the fringe to watch for the year as potential targets. And f*** me. Listen to the going on of this mob.
View attachment 1580842

The tigers supporters win a flag and act as if their club hasn't been irrelevant for 40 years🤮🤮🤮

Well they finally start admitting travel is a major factor when they arent arguing with Eagles supporters.

Shocked to be reading that.:think:;)

View attachment 1580842

Lol - bet that same flog would be arguing in their next breath that Victorian clubs don't get an unfair advantage by playing so many games in Melbourne.

They are right about the problems WA teams have in trying to lure talent back.

View attachment 1580842

That response sounds like they are talking about brad hill

Not the worse year to be finishing down low next year.
Spoon gets Harley Reid
Bottom 2-4: Pick of Reid/ Curtin
If we do a bit better: Koltun, Moir or that vic small fwd all very good options to add to our list and fill needs

Not the worse year to be finishing down low next year.
Spoon gets Harley Reid
Bottom 2-4: Pick of Reid/ Curtin
If we do a bit better: Koltun, Moir or that vic small fwd all very good options to add to our list and fill needs

Feel we will target a tall forward.

Or a skillful forward / mid.

We have alot of mids on the list ATM. Not a lot of emerging depth in the forward half. But we have time to get that.

View attachment 1580842

The tigers supporters win a flag and act as if their club hasn't been irrelevant for 40 years
I get what they're saying.

The fact they recognise the extra travel means they're in a backwards way admitting we've got it tough.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

View attachment 1580842

And there are another couple of issues.

Northcote... yuck... I think if younger footy players want to live in the inner north it will be Fitzroy, Collingwood or Carlton/Carlton-Nth.

Is it just a vibe thing, or are Richmond slowly but surely building a decent list of ex-players who are getting in serious trouble with the law?

Plenty of players have left Richmond during their success - mostly for money as did those at the Hawks. but... the real test comes when success slows down (as it naturally does) - is it the club/structure/culture that is the attraction to new players, or was it purely the chance of a premiership? A lot of clubs have talked themselves into the delusion that they are the destination club of choice, only for success to dry up and players then looking elsewhere. We're going through that currently (Luke Jackson would have absolutely considered the chances of finals as one of his criteria... whether he got the choice right remains to be seen over the next 10 or so years, but it is definitely an important consideration).

And there are another couple of issues.

Northcote... yuck... I think if younger footy players want to live in the inner north it will be Fitzroy, Collingwood or Carlton/Carlton-Nth.

Is it just a vibe thing, or are Richmond slowly but surely building a decent list of ex-players who are getting in serious trouble with the law?

Plenty of players have left Richmond during their success - mostly for money as did those at the Hawks. but... the real test comes when success slows down (as it naturally does) - is it the club/structure/culture that is the attraction to new players, or was it purely the chance of a premiership? A lot of clubs have talked themselves into the delusion that they are the destination club of choice, only for success to dry up and players then looking elsewhere. We're going through that currently (Luke Jackson would have absolutely considered the chances of finals as one of his criteria... whether he got the choice right remains to be seen over the next 10 or so years, but it is definitely an important consideration).

#taintedflags

Don't be surprised imo if Hewett has more of a Sheed type of role. Great at around the ground stoppages but a bit more outside than most inside mids. Hewett's huge advantage is his kicking is as good as sheed's (better opposite foot) but he is more athletic. Disadvantage being that he hasn't shown the same form for the past 12 months which is what allowed him to our pick. If he had of put in performances all the way through the champs like his 2021 colts GF and the game against Metro then he would have been a top 3-5 pick. GWS would have avoided him and north probably then stay with who they took but he then goes to Essendon instead of Tsatas.

Hopefully he can be absolute cream and burst with guys like Culley and Ginbey doing the real hard bullocking and blocking. If I was a development coach and was focussing on Hewett I would be telling him he is more talented than Ginbey and Culley but if he wants to get the most out of that talent he needs to train and prepare as hard and well as they do. There is a reason I had him in my top 5 most talented players in the draft.
I do recall in the commentary of the 2021 colts Grand final that they said Hewett had the best yoyo test or best test result in that colts year! So he does have the high work rate ability, perhaps 2022 and covid/asthma really did impact him!

I get what they're saying.

The fact they recognise the extra travel means they're in a backwards way admitting we've got it tough.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app
You’ll never get anyone to come out and say it though. At best it’ll be a passing comment.
Even a guy more rational than many - Tim Lane - tried it on by saying the extraordinary success of the non-Vics in the noughties showed they weren’t disadvantaged. Poor logic Tim.
He conveniently overlooks the possibility that the non-Vics might’ve won even more if it was a truly level playing field.