List Mgmt. Contract, Trade & Draftee Discussion, 2023: Picks 1,20,34,39,53 ,58

Link to contract status of all players

Link to Lore ’s excellent draft order thread that is updated to reflect current ladder positions

The Bulldogs board also reckon Melbourne are chasing OAllen, FYI.

Don't think you can take anything they say seriously.
It’s O Allan…….McClure said it but no one was listening correctly and thought he said Allen.

Listen To Me GIF by Britannia

What the *? He ruptured his Achilles? He’s done if so. Won’t play again

So 10 months rehab.....

Mid May 2024 return (Round 10).

At most optimistic he plays out 12 games. At least, he never plays again.

Surely this is a very easy decision...........

The club should be planning next weeks game at Optus as "Nic Nat Round", a game totally dedicated to his career with one highlight being his after the siren magic against North. Send the bloke out on with the highest form of respect and thanks they can muster.

I think decision could be along the lines of

"If doc says his achilles is confetti, we can get a disabled player exception for NicNat and retire him with a lower salary, if not we are better off burning a list spot on him and paying him out while being on our list"

I expect the doctor is smart enough to look at a 100kg man with a ruptured achilles and say "Hey jumping up and down for a living might not be the best idea" and we can move him on with a lower hit to the cap

So 10 months rehab.....

Mid May 2024 return (Round 10).

At most optimistic he plays out 12 games. At least, he never plays again.

Surely this is a very easy decision...........

The club should be planning next weeks game at Optus as "Nic Nat Round", a game totally dedicated to his career with one highlight being his after the siren magic against North. Send the bloke out on with the highest form of respect and thanks they can muster.
He just had surgery.

Here is the time line

6 weeks in a boot non weight bearing, complete immobilized with slight changes in foot plantaflexion.

Then 6 weeks in the boot walking.

Then out for the boot walking and physio. No running until the 6 month mark. This is when he will find out if it's possible to even run again as a human, let alone as an athlete!

He won't be back by may. He is done.

On Pixel 6 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app

Just as a heads up, the word on the Bulldogs board is that English to us this season is 90% done, we’re offering obscene money apparently. Which means we’d need to trade for him. It doesn’t make sense really, but it may be something to keep an eye on.

No need for us to burn a pick when we get him next year for nothing.

We need to use picks this year.

I wonder about this.

A contested bull like Reid probably isn't exactly what the Roos need. A pure midfielder in McKercher might appeal to them more, because they already have good contested players + they picked up Wardlaw last year. What they need is a big accumulator with class, who can hit the scoreboard. Would also complement Sheezel.

Can definitely see the appeal for them and it might even be the smarter decision, long term.
Until he goes to Tasmania in four years

(Which BTW for clarity I love Colby and want him at WCE) Haha

Food for thought here.

I listened to the first part of the Tradies podcast today - I’ll say I actually really like it, it’s a great footy medium.

What if - and this is only my speculation here based off a thought that’s been floating in my head for the past five hours or so now formulated into a solid idea - Harley Reid himself is happy to come to Perth and play for us. No issue.
What if it’s a matter of his family being the ones who are making the noise? It’s said that his uncle is the chief family negotiator and still quite involved, was personally involved in the choosing of his agents and the negotiations of fees and what not - what if this nothing more then the uncle’s actions on behalf of the family’s preferred scenario? Not burning any bridges, just trying to direct the winds.

I know when I floated the idea of moving interstate when I was 18 my parents were dead against it.
Spot on the money.

His family would rather him be in Melbourne so they can travel down watch him every week at home etc etc.

think they will turn pretty quickly if it does happen that we draft him but I think it’s definitely a big part of the discussion

Would Esava Ratugolea be a cheap pick up if Barrass leaves? Plays down back and can ruck in a pinch and could be a good stop gap if we draft young talls down back.

Geez - Leigh Spurr suggesting Sheed would be a great fit at Freo.

Make it happen - Where do I sign?

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

Having another slow, under sized mid with poor defensive skills is the last thing they need.
Big correlation for them this year between the drop off from Brodie / retirement from Mundy and their slide down the ladder IMO.

They need some bigger bodies in there.

Makes me feel sick the thought of over paying a ruckman and possibly using pick one as part of the deal. I hope it’s not even being considered.
Where the hell did the Allen to Melbourne rumours come from…. Surely even opposition boards with the most one eyed views would understand he’s probably the Eagles only untouchable.

Just as a heads up, the word on the Bulldogs board is that English to us this season is 90% done, we’re offering obscene money apparently. Which means we’d need to trade for him. It doesn’t make sense really, but it may be something to keep an eye on.

Said it a while ago. Our club board will blink and we will trade for English.

English, 12 and 15 for pick 1 plus something?

Trade for the Swans 1st. Go to the draft with 5,12, 15,19 and two nga picks in the 50s.

Lose pick 1 and TB plus a 2nd round sweetener.

Gain English, 6, 12, 15 and possibly a F2nd from Swans.

Makes me feel sick the thought of over paying a ruckman and possibly using pick one as part of the deal. I hope it’s not even being considered.
Where the hell did the Allen to Melbourne rumours come from…. Surely even opposition boards with the most one eyed views would understand he’s probably the Eagles only untouchable.

Allen's a Perth boy, lifelong fan of the club and is being groomed as a future captain.

Also already on decent coin so him leaving sounds like a massive load of BS

F no! We need good midfielders before we worry about a bloody ruckman.

Said it a while ago. Our club board will blink and we will trade for English.

English, 12 and 15 for pick 1 plus something?

Trade for the Swans 1st. Go to the draft with 5,12, 15,19 and two nga picks in the 50s.

Lose pick 1 and TB plus a 2nd round sweetener.

Gain English, 6, 12, 15 and possibly a F2nd from Swans.
Doesn’t make sense.

Pick 5 or 6 means Curtin is probably off the board.

Pick 12 and 15 I don’t see much that we want really except for M Edwards but we have just got English so that makes no sense.

The best of the other WA boys in Hardeman, Tholstrup,Sanchez and Hall are probably all still on the board at the start of the second round or at least most of them will be.

If English wanted to come home now for whatever reason and wanted the dogs to receive more compensation what the dogs would get under a FA then I still don’t see why West Coast would offer pick one.

I also don’t see why the Eagles would let a good key Defender go and basically replace him with a good Ruckman. It’s not improving our list.

Bit of 90% Sam McClure certain about this story. Trusted connections close to Tim are saying…… 🤣
For context, the guy who made this claim leaked the Lobb, Hunter and Schache trades all waayyyy in advance, and often leaks selection news early (like this week, keep an eye out for Buku Khamis getting a game for the first time this year), so he's either thrown some incredibly accurate darts, or he has genuine inside info. We've got some "ITKs" on our board who clearly make shit up or piggyback off other people's rumours in order to garner attention, but this isn't one of them. He's far and away the most reliable of the lot. Of course, doesn't mean anything is guaranteed to happen

Geez - Leigh Spurr suggesting Sheed would be a great fit at Freo.

Make it happen - Where do I sign?

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app
Any team that has some decent insiders, Sheed is going to do okay at.

I think decision could be along the lines of

"If doc says his achilles is confetti, we can get a disabled player exception for NicNat and retire him with a lower salary, if not we are better off burning a list spot on him and paying him out while being on our list"

I expect the doctor is smart enough to look at a 100kg man with a ruptured achilles and say "Hey jumping up and down for a living might not be the best idea" and we can move him on with a lower hit to the cap
100kg???

On SM-G973F using BigFooty.com mobile app

For context, the guy who made this claim leaked the Lobb, Hunter and Schache trades all waayyyy in advance, and often leaks selection news early (like this week, keep an eye out for Buku Khamis getting a game for the first time this year), so he's either thrown some incredibly accurate darts, or he has genuine inside info. We've got some "ITKs" on our board who clearly make s**t up or piggyback off other people's rumours in order to garner attention, but this isn't one of them. He's far and away the most reliable of the lot. Of course, doesn't mean anything is guaranteed to happen
The same bloke also made the biggest of stuttering backtracks when quizzed over his comments about Reid just yesterday.

It's entirely possible WCE may be asking for an English trade this year(stupid in my opinion) but that doesn't mean it involves P1.