List Mgmt. Contract, Trade & Draftee Discussion, 2023: Picks 1,20,34,39,53 ,58

Link to contract status of all players

Link to Lore ’s excellent draft order thread that is updated to reflect current ladder positions

This obviously won’t happen, but hypothetically:

Would you guys offer pick 2 for Bailey Smith and pick 10?

This obviously won’t happen, but hypothetically:

Would you guys offer pick 2 for Bailey Smith and pick 10?
No.

You should just fire Bevo and have the new coach play him in the guts.

Whisper this morning is that the Crows might not come to Perth as a F U to the AFL and will forfeit

Looks like a good win after all
I doubt it and I reckon they’d cop a hefty punishment that would be a massive deterrent to the other clubs. I’d hate to be a crows fan and watch my side miss out on finals like that then lose a highish pick cause of a silly stunt

Those drinking the Harley Reid Gatorade are losing their minds.

It is a cult like belief he is Superman.

I loved the win yesterday. It showed something bigger than just one talented kid. PASSION.

They played for each other and more importantly played for their coach who has taken so, so many bullets for this squad this year.

The Dev Roberston talk is exactly what I was hoping for.

Now need to add a couple more of his ilk and the No 2 kid.................

As disappointing as it is to miss out (with 1 round to go and the order not finalised 🤪) on Reid (or the Reid hype), wins like that do help externally with recruitment etc.

Why would you want to go to WCE, isn’t it a risk, coach might be gone, no culture and no player buy in,etc etc - all can’t be used to persuade players to stay at their clubs now.

Caddy was BOG as his Knights team upset a nearly full strength, top of the table Dragons outfit. He was especially dominant in a first half in which Northern were rampant, surging out to a big lead. Unfortunately, his kicking on goal was rather wayward as he managed only 4.3 with 2 more out on the full.

“I was told by someone(whose club info has been reliable in the past) that North have no intention of taking Curtin
No WA kid will be taken by North in the first round this year or any year. Apparently WA kids are seen by Brady & co as flight risks
It’s the primary reason they didn’t draft Logan McDonald.BTW that’s not the first time I’ve heard that we won’t risk a high draft pick on a western Australian

Anyway , my contact told me that this is the current North board two weeks ago

Reid
McKercher
Watson
Caddy
Sanders

If this is correct and still the case in November then it will be Reid & McK with 1&2

It probably doesn’t matter
If band 1 compo is approved for McKay then we really can’t miss with our second pick”

More contradictory info from a North board ITK

To be fair, Johnson's done SFA apart from last week.

Been subbed out more than Chesser this year, I think.
I personally think Johnson was the obvious choice for the Eagles who (in the past) would blow past obvious midfield choices for speculative mids, which I think Chesser was. Said the same when we drafted him. But I also think Chesser will end up a decent player and people criticising him constantly are going way too early for effectively a first year player (in terms of experience if not physical development). He has shown plenty of signs of being a smooth mover and thoughtful player who will take the right options. He is just struggling with the pace of the game and is still finding his feet coming back from such a severe injury, which is not surprising.

In an ideal world, he would have found his feet in a functional Beagles team.

“I was told by someone(whose club info has been reliable in the past) that North have no intention of taking Curtin
No WA kid will be taken by North in the first round this year or any year. Apparently WA kids are seen by Brady & co as flight risks
It’s the primary reason they didn’t draft Logan McDonald.BTW that’s not the first time I’ve heard that we won’t risk a high draft pick on a western Australian

Anyway , my contact told me that this is the current North board two weeks ago

Reid
McKercher
Watson
Caddy
Sanders

If this is correct and still the case in November then it will be Reid & McK with 1&2

It probably doesn’t matter

More contradictory info from a North board ITK

Reid 1, Curtin 2 (if they get it).

Curtin was a month ago 2 on the Eagles whiteboard.

I’m not sure how much inside info Duff has on the Eagles draft thoughts after all he said the Eagles were keen on Cadman and Jye Clarke last year.

But he’s mentioned a few times this morning the Eagles have interest in Duursma. No Mention of McKercher.

To be fair to Duffield, a few people have mentioned if we thought Cadman was there at 2, we would’ve taken him. Clark is also someone we probably did like but he went before our first pick (post pick split)

I’m so low on Duursma for us, the hype with him is based on people assuming he’ll develop into a midfielder / forward hybrid and I just don’t see it happening, he has been beyond bad when used as a midfielder.

Yeah Duursma reminds me of Heeney a bit, matchwinner half forward sometimes, always talked about transitioning to the midfield but never really happened

ROYAL EAGLE
WA boys
Curtain and Edwards
Interstate apart from Harley
We have interest in
McKercher
Jed Walter I think we may even bid on him something we normally wont do (he grew up in WA)
Will Green and Taylor Goad as Ruckman
Moir but he looks like second rounder now

This from a couple of months ago, have you heard anything else re us having an interest in McKercher?

I've taken my time before posting.

Watching the game yesterday is one of the worst feelings you can ever have, not sure if you want your team to win! I never want that again, tanking is just wrong and horrible. My only regret now, is we didn't stick it up the bombers and win that one too.

I am bitterly disappointed that we will miss out on Harley Reid, he would've been a lot of things for us. But we move on, the confidence the win gives young guys like Hewett, Maric, Longy, Chesser, J.Williams and you could probably throw in Edwards and Trew is huge.

Now the conversation switches to who next - the obvious candidates are Curtin and McKercher. I really really like both.

I think the club holds a flame for Curtin and it will more than likely be him, unless North end up with pick 1 and 2. In this scenario, for mine it has to be McKercher! I agree with Terry, to have a terrible season and end up Duursma would be a very hard pill to swallow.

Duursma's has truck loads of talent, but he can go missing in games too. He's type of guy that bobs up to rip a quarter apart and then go missing again. McKercher from start to finish is dominant, his speed and kicking rips teams apart. He's a goal kicking midfielder too, and is very good at releasing great hands before being caught.

Curtin, lots to love about him. He's not true KPD, but the loose defender that can go second up, and is your avenue out of defence. He can play one on one too.

My assessment, I'd be happy with either McKercher or Curtin. But if I had the pick, I'd take Curtin!

Reason why, looking over two years I think we'll definitely have a top 4 pick again next year and pointy end of that draft has some mids that look A-Grade: Smillie, Smith, Draper, O'Sullivan. So I think we go high end midfielder then.
Curtin and Bazzo down back for the next 12 plus years sets us up for a long time, Bazzo eventually puts on the size and takes best forward and Curtin is the loose defender that goes second man up and is our ball use out of the backline. He'd become a general down there, and he's got captaincy written all over him.

Duursma reminds me a bit of Shaun Burgoyne.

Tall midfielder that can push forward and kick goals.

Would be extremely happy if we end up with him.

Maybe grab his mate Georgey Stevens with 2nd rounder of still there to top it off

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

To be fair to Duffield, a few people have mentioned if we thought Cadman was there at 2, we would’ve taken him. Clark is also someone we probably did like but he went before our first pick (post pick split)

I’m so low on Duursma for us, the hype with him is based on people assuming he’ll develop into a midfielder / forward hybrid and I just don’t see it happening, he has been beyond bad when used as a midfielder.
Yeah agree with the above about Duff I think you’re right that both might have been in our sights but were gone.

I think re Duursma I was really off him at the start of the year i didn’t like his contest work and seemed to just cruise through games.

He has slowly built his game as the season has gone on and of late he’s been very good all be it mainly as a forward.

I see a lot of Mark Lecras in him he’s strong above his head, leads well presents at the footy, has a high skill set, very nice kick of the footy and is a difficult match up as a forward. If you go tall he has pace and agility if you go small he will out mark you.
Maybe next year is when the club goes after more mids in what will be a midfield draft.

My preference would be McKercher or Curtin but unfortunately we don’t decide for the club Terry. I would recommend watching some of Zane’s recent games he’s been very good.

Duursma reminds me a bit of Shaun Burgoyne.

Tall midfielder that can push forward and kick goals.

Would be extremely happy if we end up with him.

Maybe grab his mate Georgey Stevens with 2nd rounder of still there to top it off

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Except he’s not a midfielder

He’s a medium sized tweener forward with “midfield potential” who goes missing often, is soft and has zero midfield craft.