Who do you want to get a contract?

• Coby Burgiel

• Sandy Brock

• Neither

Results are only viewable after voting.

Quick links

List Spots Available
  • One on either main OR rookie list to be filled as a SSP selection following train on assessments.
  • Current train on players -
    - Sandy Brock

SSP signing dates
  • Monday, November 25, 2024 – Thursday, December 19, 2024
  • Monday, January 13, 2025 – Friday, February 21, 2025

Players out of Contract (16) - 2025
  • Tim Kelly (26/7/94) - Signed a 6 year contract (2020-25) in October 2019
  • Dom Sheed (10/4/95) - Signed a 4 year extension (2022-25) in April 2021*
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Tom Cole (28/5/97) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) in May 2022
  • Rhett Bazzo (17/10/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in September 2022
  • Jayden Hunt (3/4/95) - Signed a 3 year contract (2023-25) in October 2022
  • Callum Jamieson (31/7/00) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in March 2023
  • Jeremy McGovern (15/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • Jack Petruccelle (12/4/99) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R) Jack Hutchinson (10/11/01) - Automatic 18 month contract (2024-25) when drafted in May 2024
  • (R) Tyrell Dewar (27/3/04) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in June 2024
  • (R) Loch Rawlinson (1/6/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024

To be fair, we'd be absolutely crazy to give Allen 7 years with his injury history
And we would be insane not to entertain a FA trade for him. Based on last years ladder position and he would almost certainly get a tier 1 trade, a we get pick 4. Go into the 2025 draft with 3,4 12 , 21 and 24 . There is currency for Warner and still have a high end picks to use on Rodriguez and Curtain . Sydney are not dropping off a cliff in the next 2 years and finishing near the bottom so they would be insane not to take a deal as they will not get anything near pick 4 for Warner as a free agent

Is Livingston a ruck though? Or is he a forward ruck that will be fighting JWilliams and Archer for a spot in the side?

199cm is pretty short for a ruckman, maybe the club is happy with that but as I said we cant carry players who we think are unlikely to make it, even if they havent even got close to their potential.
If Barnett converts to a full time KPD then that probably buys Livingstone another year on the list anyway, he would be the 3rd in line ruckman in that case. We probably want 4 on the list
The first 'ruckman' I'd flick is Bailey. We know what he delivers and that is very little. Hoping Flynn stays healthy. BTW, you'd probably be surprised to know that most of the guys that tear BW a new one each week are between 198 - 201cm

B Williams?
7 list spots imo.
Warner x 2, Banfield and 2 NGA.
Pick 3/4, 21/22 and then Banfield and NGA players, depending where C Curtin falls will determine what assets WC will need.
Hopefully falls to 21 but if not WC just need to trade in another 1st round pick from someone like GC to make the above happen.
Believe WC will list Brock as a SSP or no one, so list will be full.
Curtin at this stage is the only true KDEF available and is a list need and WC will use their 1st pick for an elite mid.
Delist/trade/retire Jamieson, Cripps, Sheed, Petruccelle, Rawlinson, Livingstone and 1 or 2 of Flynn/Chesser/Brockman.
Flynn if he doesn't have a decent year can be moved sideways/delist and he is doing AFLW ruck coach.
If Chesser doesn't have a good year the younger brigade will overtake him.
If Flynn is moved sideways and Chesser doesn't make it, WC will need to bring in a ruck opening up 8 list spots for that to happen.

I reckon I'd rather give up a first rounder for a quality young ruckman like TDK. Bitterly disappointed that we didn't, take Dodson with one of our picks in the 40s or even Knobel in the PSD.
TDK is a free agent and we should absolutely be offering him a deal Carlton can’t match. Agree with your draft sentiments, but Knobel in the RD.

I reckon I'd rather give up a first rounder for a quality young ruckman like TDK. Bitterly disappointed that we didn't, take Dodson with one of our picks in the 40s or even Knobel in the PSD.
TDK is a RFA next year, only have to pay him more than Carlton, great competitor, not huge hit outs.
Knobel/Dodson are just more young developing rucks adding nothing to our list imo.
If WC need a decent ruck which they do, they need to go after established players like TDK or young rucks that are ready to play like L Reidy imo that have 5-6 years worth of service.
Not many rucks fit into our successful rucks like Cox & Nic Nat, so better of buying 1 to fill no 1 ruck role.

7 list spots imo.
Warner x 2, Banfield and 2 NGA.
Pick 3/4, 21/22 and then Banfield and NGA players, depending where C Curtin falls will determine what assets WC will need.
Hopefully falls to 21 but if not WC just need to trade in another 1st round pick from someone like GC to make the above happen.
Believe WC will list Brock as a SSP or no one, so list will be full.
Curtin at this stage is the only true KDEF available and is a list need and WC will use their 1st pick for an elite mid.
Delist/trade/retire Jamieson, Cripps, Sheed, Petruccelle, Rawlinson, Livingstone and 1 or 2 of Flynn/Chesser/Brockman.
Flynn if he doesn't have a decent year can be moved sideways/delist and he is doing AFLW ruck coach.
If Chesser doesn't have a good year the younger brigade will overtake him.
If Flynn is moved sideways and Chesser doesn't make it, WC will need to bring in a ruck opening up 8 list spots for that to happen.
In the few games Flynn played last season he showed he is much more competitive than BW, in fact MF's first game was the first time all season we won the hitouts. In the game v Hawks Flynn was at least competitive against Meek, when he went off injured, BW managed to win a whopping 1 hitout from 15 ruck contests in the last quarter. I really hope Flynn stays fit and/or Barnett or even Jamieson can show something because otherwise we are going to have to put up with the non-effectual BW again.

TKD is a free agent and we should absolutely be offering him a deal Carlton can’t match. Agree with your draft sentiments, but Knobel in the RD.
totally agree with TDK and offering him a good deal.
Can't agree with drafting more developing rucks when WC needs are now and for 5+ years, better to buy a no 1 ruck like TDK or L Reidy who is a hit out ruckman ready to play imo.

TDK is a RFA next year, only have to pay him more than Carlton, great competitor, not huge hit outs.
Knobel/Dodson are just more young developing rucks adding nothing to our list imo.
If WC need a decent ruck which they do, they need to go after established players like TDK or young rucks that are ready to play like L Reidy imo that have 5-6 years worth of service.
Not many rucks fit into our successful rucks like Cox & Nic Nat, so better of buying 1 to fill no 1 ruck role.
not against that idea at all... just need one that can be competitive with HOs and, like a Rowan Marshall or Xerri, offers heaps around the ground.

In the few games Flynn played last season he showed he is much more competitive than BW, in fact MF's first game was the first time all season we won the hitouts. In the game v Hawks Flynn was at least competitive against Meek, when he went off injured, BW managed to win a whopping 1 hitout from 15 ruck contests in the last quarter. I really hope Flynn stays fit and/or Barnett or even Jamieson can show something because otherwise we are going to have to put up with the non-effectual BW again.
lets hope FLYNN does stay healthy.
BW is a competitive 2nd ruck.

totally agree with TDK and offering him a good deal.
Can't agree with drafting more developing rucks when WC needs are now and for 5+ years, better to buy a no 1 ruck like TDK or L Reidy who is a hit out ruckman ready to play imo.
the problem with our developing rucks is that BW is 6 years in the system and offers nothing, Barnett struggles at WAFL level, Jamieson (who I think has ability and was recruited as a ruckman) can't get on the park, A Reid is a KPF, the others are only a year in so they may end up ok but if none of them do, we start again. Dodson appealed because he was taller, and seemed to be a quick learner and had the ability to get his hands on the ball regularly around the ground. Knobell at 206cm offered size and was the same draft year as Barnett.

lets hope FLYNN does stay healthy.
BW is a competitive 2nd ruck.
Sorry, having recognised our ruck deficiency a couple of seasons ago, I watch the ruck contests and stats really closely and everything I've seen tells me BW is a spud. He is quite gifted athletically, but after 3 years as our No. 1 ruckman, I've come to the conclusion that he lacks footy IQ. He's trade material because even if we got a good ruckman in, I don't think he has the nous to be a KPF. I just don't rate him!

The first 'ruckman' I'd flick is Bailey. We know what he delivers and that is very little. Hoping Flynn stays healthy. BTW, you'd probably be surprised to know that most of the guys that tear BW a new one each week are between 198 - 201cm
The only "main ruck" in the comp below 200cm is Nankervis, who is 199cm. Im well aware that Bailey isnt shorter than most ruckman.
His issue is hes never built up enough size to contend vs the other ruckmen, who are way bigger
B Williams?
We still need Bailey, we probably need 3 ruckmen ideally on the list who can fill in as the ruck if required, we currently have 2.
We know he can run out a game and he tries, thats far better than what Livingstone or whoever could do right now

I think we are in a very strong position with Oscar.

Firstly he will only be a restricted FA hence we have a massive salary cap space and can match.

Next - we see what the AFL will be offering and if it is say pick 3 or 4, then we can assess which one we want more.

No decision has to be made really until trade week. We will have seen another full year of Oscar and see how durable he is. We will also see another season with Jack Williams and determine what he is worth. We will also have a first full preseason and year into Archer Reid so start to see what is possible. On top of that Shanahan gets to show what he can do and I have high hopes for him.

If Oscar gets the monster 7 year deal from another club, they may even need to pony up. If the Dons go for Oscar, they have 2 x R1 picks which ay or may not be better than a pointy end compo pick. We can always force the trade.

Expecting Colin Young to change is wishful thinking. He has always been a sly kent in working the media.

So we have a lot to learn in 2025 before we jump to conclusions but at least this year we will have options.
can't really force the trade. If we match, he can just accept it (which we don't really want!) or reject it and go to the PSD. It really gets down to how much the other club really wants him and how hardball they want get.

The only "main ruck" in the comp below 200cm is Nankervis, who is 199cm. Im well aware that Bailey isnt shorter than most ruckman.
His issue is hes never built up enough size to contend vs the other ruckmen, who are way bigger

We still need Bailey, we probably need 3 ruckmen ideally on the list who can fill in as the ruck if required, we currently have 2.
We know he can run out a game and he tries, thats far better than what Livingstone or whoever could do right now
Apart from the obvious ones that are way bigger, most of the ruckmen around his height are a similar weight. O'Brien who led the AFL hitouts by a fair margin in 2024, is same size and weight as BW and doesn't have BW's leap.. they just outsmart him in the ruck contest then tear him a new one around the ground.... trade him, a 3rd rounder would probably be overs.
We know BW isn't good enough, I'd rather get games into the others as a back-up if Flynn stays fit.

Attachments

• Screenshot 2024-12-13 145522.png
    Screenshot 2024-12-13 145522.png
    37.5 KB · Views: 49
Apart from the obvious ones that are way bigger, most of the ruckmen around his height are a similar weight. O'Brien who led the AFL hitouts by a fair margin in 2024, is same size and weight as BW and doesn't have BW's leap.. they just outsmart him in the ruck contest then tear him a new one around the ground.... trade him, a 3rd rounder would probably be overs.
We know BW isn't good enough, I'd rather get games into the others as a back-up if Flynn stays fit.
The little I saw of Flynn really didn’t impress me.Lumbering, takes ages to get boot to ball, slooow handballer ( not ball speed; time getting fist to it) and there was one time where an opposition player came through and Flynn ; instead of making a statement and hitting him; just let him through.That one particular piece of play really disappointed me esp after he talked the talk about looking after the kids.
I haven’t seen BW lose a fight yet! It would be nice if he looked/lowered his eyes when bursting out of the middle but he is a trier and would be a great 2nd ruck.
He will also find it easier with more support in the middle with Graeme,Baker,Hewett and Long adding to our rotations.
He’s ok in the middle but gets pushed around in general play.
He trained as a forward and was asked to take up the reins fairly abruptly.Gave his all.
Trade value a late third?? You serious? We would get an early 2nd!! And I think there would be a queue!!

Coby Burgiel's train on period with us has ended with no decision made on who'll take the final spot yet..I suspect we'll go Brock since we need all the talls we can get.

Think you might be right.
Very open ended statement with another spot open for someone else to join training?

Coby Burgiel's train on period with us has ended with no decision made on who'll take the final spot yet..I suspect we'll go Brock since we need all the talls we can get.

Can’t say I’m surprised. He hasn’t been overly impressive during his train on period and with Allan, Gross, Grego and Davis being drafted, Burgiel wasn’t a pressing list need

It’s a shame because I thought he had real potential but struggled with his hammies and couldn’t seem to get the best out of himself

The vacant spot is now Brock’s to lose

Can’t say I’m surprised. He hasn’t been overly impressive during his train on period and with Allan, Gross, Grego and Davis being drafted, Burgiel wasn’t a pressing list need

It’s a shame because I thought he had real potential but struggled with his hammies and couldn’t seem to get the best out of himself

The vacant spot is now Brock’s to lose
who do you think will be the next train on?

The little I saw of Flynn really didn’t impress me.Lumbering, takes ages to get boot to ball, slooow handballer ( not ball speed; time getting fist to it) and there was one time where an opposition player came through and Flynn ; instead of making a statement and hitting him; just let him through.That one particular piece of play really disappointed me esp after he talked the talk about looking after the kids.
I haven’t seen BW lose a fight yet! It would be nice if he looked/lowered his eyes when bursting out of the middle but he is a trier and would be a great 2nd ruck.
He will also find it easier with more support in the middle with Graeme,Baker,Hewett and Long adding to our rotations.
He’s ok in the middle but gets pushed around in general play.
He trained as a forward and was asked to take up the reins fairly abruptly.Gave his all.
Trade value a late third?? You serious? We would get an early 2nd!! And I think there would be a queue!!

You haven’t watched him play have you? Williams isn’t a forward so he couldn’t even think to be a second ruck… as for Flynn being slow hand to boot, no one in the league gets his kicks smothered more than Williams …. Would be lucky for a third rounder for him

List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade/Draft Thread - 2025 Edition