Crows_Chick

Mar 19, 2005
Adelaide Crows
I just wanted to start a thread to congratulate the crows supporters that were at the richmond game tonight...

I don't know if they were sitting on the crowd microphone, but i could hear our supporters all night cheering for the boys, singing the song and giving the umps a hard time (deservedly so for the most part). It was more prominent than the far more tiges supporters, which is something to be noted despite the fact they were losing and thus not much to cheer about !

Not sure if this is the vic supporters group or there was also a large contingent over from adelaide for the game, but i must say well done on the support you showed the boys tonight... hopefully the home crowd will take some lessons for showing the same vocal support at the next home game against freo - which should be a good one !! The crowd is a massive weapon for any team, shown by the obvious frustration of Matthew Richardson tonight who the commentators even noted was copping a lot from the crows cheer squad !

Once again.. Well done, keep up the great support for the boys away from home !!

outback jack said:
crowd was probably louder than at ammi, not that it would entirely difficult for that to happen. They can change the mic effects though to make it sound louder than it actually is. Thats probably what happened.
I think they put mikes near the largest group of vivsting supporters at Aami too.

Re Melbourne games - its a different scenario - because those that go there are probably the passionate, hard barracking types and also they have someone to barrack against - including the umpires!! I think they also feel that they need to lift the supporting to counter the problem of the Crows being away.

There were heaps of people over from Adelaide tonight, probably more than I have ever seen at The Dome. My friends and I (who all live here in Melbourne) actually made comment about this. We came to the conclusion that we actually out numbered the Richomnd supporters tonight which is great to see. We were definitely very vocal which makes a huge difference, but good on all the people who made the trip over for the game. Was a great result :)

I was at the game, as a relatively neutral viewer. There were about 27k at the game, it would have been 3/4 richmond if not more, they just had very little to get excited about. :p

I was sitting right above where the bulk of the Adelaide supporters sat and they made a lot of noise, it was very different when Richmond got close in the game. Was good to see a good Adelaide following.

Was a very good result for the Crows.

outback jack said:
crowd was probably louder than at ammi, not that it would entirely difficult for that to happen. They can change the mic effects though to make it sound louder than it actually is. Thats probably what happened.
No OJ it was very loud and IMO the Crows supporters were louder and more suppotive than Richmond.

Two distincrt areas of support - behind the goals at Northern end and in the southern end pocket - well done :)

I go to most Adelaide games in Victoria, unfortunally I couldn't get there last night. But most games in Melbourne, the crows get great support.

I always go to Adelaide vs. St Kilda and I remember a few years ogo when they were s***, that we would always get more there. Sometimes it must feel like home for the boys.

That’s why I am always perplexed as to why the St Kilda and Hawthorn football Clubs seem to always play the crows play as an away team on there interstate home games (Aurora stadium and Manuka oval) every time I have gone across to a Melbourne game we have has nearly 6-7000 people at a game and during the school holidays one year there was as many as 10,000 at the dome (last year on the Friday night vs. Richmond)

At Aurora or Manuka I would say it would only be like 800-1000 crows supporter that would go, the Adelaide Football Club are almost like a Victorian club with a small to medium size supporter base

The support last night was fantastic. I would definitely say better than normal. I was actually sitting up the Coventry end which was away from where most of the Crows supporters where, but even there it was still pretty vocal.
I think the attendance came up as a shade over 20,000 and I would say it was about 35% Crows. It was a great sight after the game to see the Crows supporters pretty much occupying the entire Lockett end of the ground near our race.

Yep the support last night was great.

Also I got a free level 1 ticket from some guy just before the game (probably from a Tigers fan :p), but I sat on level 3 with my mate. Awesome! :D

crows98 said:
That’s why I am always perplexed as to why the St Kilda and Hawthorn football Clubs seem to always play the crows play as an away team on there interstate home games (Aurora stadium and Manuka oval) every time I have gone across to a Melbourne game we have has nearly 6-7000 people at a game and during the school holidays one year there was as many as 10,000 at the dome (last year on the Friday night vs. Richmond)

At Aurora or Manuka I would say it would only be like 800-1000 crows supporter that would go, the Adelaide Football Club are almost like a Victorian club with a small to medium size supporter base

Manuka would be us. :p

Firstly, the AFL determines who we play and where we play and they make those decisions based on who we play in an attempt to maximise the crowd, it doesn't matter if it's in our best interest or not... ie Sydney at Manuka is a bad place to play them yet we play them there every year because it sells out.

The biggest issues we have with home games vs interstate teams is that we do not get the option of negotiating ground agreements like interstate teams do. Adelaide could choose to play wherever they wanted but the AFL forces us to play where they have contracted with the stadiums to fill game and crowd quotas. MCG isnt our home stadium, TD is yet we played two home games there.

The problem is MCG and TD are large stadiums, they have a very high overhead and teams like Collingwood and Essendon pay a lower overhead cost than lower drawing clubs like mine do, that is because they expect to make up the difference in catering. MCC has no incentive to give us a better deal because we can't tell them to go jump, the AFL forces us to play games there.

We would have to draw 35k at the MCG just to break even. It is between 25-30k at TD. Our games at Manuka are underwritten by the government there, we will at worst case break even but I believe the break even point is around 5k. If we are going to draw 20k in Melbourne or 8k in Canberra then it is the difference between losing money and making money.

By comparison I believe the break even points for interstate clubs is around 10-15k because when you play out of Melbourne you have the freedom to choose where you play and can negotiate a better deal.

We are averaging a crowd of 40,800 in Melbourne so we haven't played in any game where we lose money this year, although we do play you guys and the Eagles here so I think the average will come down a bit.

Awesome job by all AFC supporters last night all bar one lady who actually turned around and asked me to shut up for five minutes, I 'politely' told her we are at the footy and if you dont like it stay home.

Largest amount of people I have ever seen at an after match in Melbourne ever.

Keep Crowing I say :D

210147ei.jpg

hello marty!

McLeodMagic said:
Yep the support last night was great.

Also I got a free level 1 ticket from some guy just before the game (probably from a Tigers fan :p), but I sat on level 3 with my mate. Awesome! :D

Na Mate! Crows all the way :cool: , however my eldest lad the Richmond Supporter(splitter) couldn't make it, so thats justice in itself. Great game and atmosphere, First live match we been to since the showdown in 2000 when the Roo kicked us back into a win, as my job has had me up north in rugger land(there really is a hell) for the last 4 years. First time at the dome, but I had to do a double take as the croud felt more like footy park. Fantastic!

Johnno said:
Na Mate! Crows all the way :cool: , however my eldest lad the Richmond Supporter(splitter) couldn't make it, so thats justice in itself. Great game and atmosphere, First live match we been to since the showdown in 2000 when the Roo kicked us back into a win, as my job has had me up north in rugger land(there really is a hell) for the last 4 years. First time at the dome, but I had to do a double take as the croud felt more like footy park. Fantastic!

Oh cheers for the ticket mate! :D
I don't think I said thanks at the time because I was surprised and chuffed.

Tas said:
Manuka would be us. :p

Firstly, the AFL determines who we play and where we play and they make those decisions based on who we play in an attempt to maximise the crowd, it doesn't matter if it's in our best interest or not... ie Sydney at Manuka is a bad place to play them yet we play them there every year because it sells out.

The biggest issues we have with home games vs interstate teams is that we do not get the option of negotiating ground agreements like interstate teams do. Adelaide could choose to play wherever they wanted but the AFL forces us to play where they have contracted with the stadiums to fill game and crowd quotas. MCG isnt our home stadium, TD is yet we played two home games there.

The problem is MCG and TD are large stadiums, they have a very high overhead and teams like Collingwood and Essendon pay a lower overhead cost than lower drawing clubs like mine do, that is because they expect to make up the difference in catering. MCC has no incentive to give us a better deal because we can't tell them to go jump, the AFL forces us to play games there.

We would have to draw 35k at the MCG just to break even. It is between 25-30k at TD. Our games at Manuka are underwritten by the government there, we will at worst case break even but I believe the break even point is around 5k. If we are going to draw 20k in Melbourne or 8k in Canberra then it is the difference between losing money and making money.

By comparison I believe the break even points for interstate clubs is around 10-15k because when you play out of Melbourne you have the freedom to choose where you play and can negotiate a better deal.

We are averaging a crowd of 40,800 in Melbourne so we haven't played in any game where we lose money this year, although we do play you guys and the Eagles here so I think the average will come down a bit.

That’s a good explanation and completely unfair (but it’s the AFL what can you do) I knew that North Melbourne played in Canberra but after I posted it I realized I forgot to put you lot in.

I can not see how the Adelaide Crows would be a bigger draw card in Canberra or Tasmania than a alternative Melbourne based club? Why not plays St Kilda Vs. Hawthorn in Aurora or the Western Bulldogs Vs. North Melbourne in Canberra? Why not play the Adelaide Crows vs. North Melbourne at AAMI (as your home game) and get $200,000 dollars from the AFC as well as a crowd in excess of 29,000 people

29,000 people + a one of game fee of $200,000 + a certain % of the AAMI catering (Say 10%) would be at least $1,000,000 profit for one game. But I very much doubt that many Victorian Clubs that play a home game in an alternative venue would break even.

It comes back to 10 clubs based in Victoria and there is only so many supporters that can go round per club, the AFL only do things (like send Collingwood out of Melbourne) for national exposure.

I understand why interstate sides are selected but just can not see the logic in it, the Melbourne based club wants a good crowd but at the same time the AFL are not going to take the possibility of a block buster game between two Melbourne based clubs away from the MCG or Telstra Dome. .

Had a swampy have a go at me today because the crowd at Footy Park on Friday night was bigger than the one at Telstra on Saturday night :rolleyes:

What a tool

drakeyv2 said:
Had a swampy have a go at me today because the crowd at Footy Park on Friday night was bigger than the one at Telstra on Saturday night :rolleyes:

What a tool

Richmond v Port Adelaide 1 May 2005 Attendance 21,301
Richmond v Adelaide 18 June 2005 Attendance 27,092

Comparing apples with apples - how d'ya like them apples? ;)

I was meant to be going but dropped out at the last minute due to a death in the family. I haven't even watched the replay yet! shame on me

Crows Supporters At Richmond Game...