Crows v Collingwood

Originally posted by Pred
I've been visiting a little since the Showdown, but I've realised that if Crows talk doesn't involve Port, it's about as interesting as slicing off a finger.

Why don't you go do that then.

Don't forget to clean up after yourself. ;)

Originally posted by Jars458
It would have to be a finger as Port fans don't have opposing thumbs do they?

Hmmm. I think you're right. Must make gripping the knife difficult then.

ADELAIDE v COLLINGWOOD
Saturday, 7:40pm AEST, AAMI Stadium

ADELAIDE
B: John****, Bassett, Hart
HB: Torney, McGregor, Mattner
C: Stenglein, Ricciuto, Edwards
HF: Ladhams, Perrie, McLeod
F: Burns, Carey, Massie
FOLL: Clarke, Goodwin, Bickley
I/C: Biglands, Bode, Crowell, Gallagher
EMG: Begley, Doughty, Marsh
IN: Crowell
OUT: Smart (knee)

COLLINGWOOD
B: Johnson, Prestigiacomo, Lonie
HB: Clement, Wakelin, Woewodin
C: Licuria, Buckley, Williams
HF: Fraser, Rocca, Burns
F: Tarrant, Molloy, Holland
FOLL: McKee, O’Bree, Scotland
I/C: Cole, Didak, Shaw, Lokan
EMG: Betheras, Cloke, McGough
IN: Cole, Scotland, Shaw, Wakelin
OUT: Betheras, Cloke, Kinnear, McGough

Originally posted by piefan2002
ADELAIDE v COLLINGWOOD
Saturday, 7:40pm AEST, AAMI Stadium

ADELAIDE
B: John****, Bassett, Hart
HB: Torney, McGregor, Mattner
C: Stenglein, Ricciuto, Edwards
HF: Ladhams, Perrie, McLeod
F: Burns, Carey, Massie
FOLL: Clarke, Goodwin, Bickley
I/C: Biglands, Bode, Crowell, Gallagher
EMG: Begley, Doughty, Marsh
IN: Crowell
OUT: Smart (knee)

ARE THE SELECTORS BLIND???? CROWELL?!?!?!?
I Hope that the selectors change the side before Sat night, because just one change in crowell is just stupid!:mad:

Matchups

B: Hart, Bassett, Torney
F: Tarrant, Molloy, Didak

HB: Crowell, McGregor, Mattner
HF: Fraser, Rocca, Burns

C: McLeod, Stenglein, John(ock
C: Licuria, Buckley, Williams

HF: Ladhams, Carey, Edwards
HB: Clement, Wakelin, Woewodin

F: Burns, Perrie, Goodwin
B: Johnson, Prestigiacomo, Lonie

FOLL: Clarke, Ricciuto, Bickley
FOLL: McKee, O’Bree, Scotland

I/C: Biglands, Massie, Bode, Gallagher
I/C: Cole, Holland, Shaw, Lokan

Good to see that Goodwin is fit. And I might be the only one but I'm happy with the faith shown in Gallagher. Although it seemed the right time to bring Doughty into the side with his superb form and South having the bye this weekend. Oh well, Crowell has gotten the nod, I've been most unimpressed with him this year but probably the player we needed for the balance of the side.

Originally posted by DaveW
Good to see that Goodwin is fit. And I might be the only one but I'm happy with the faith shown in Gallagher. Although it seemed the right time to bring Doughty into the side with his superb form and South having the bye this weekend. Oh well, Crowell has gotten the nod, I've been most unimpressed with him this year but probably the player we needed for the balance of the side.

No you were not alone on the Gallagher pick Dave i could see no reason to drop him,

But Crowell is definitely one from left field, wasn't he playing reserves for the Eagles the other week ??

anyway good luck to him & hope he has a blinder,

The selection of Crowell might not be as stupid as it seems. Magpies have a nippy little fella that goes by the name of Didak. The other day on 5AA Goody said how e don't really need to find another tall to replace Smart as Hart can do the job. He did say that we needed to find a running defender.

Now in round 1, Torney had a role as a running defender off the half back flank and rotating through the midfield. Crowell, when in form is our best bet against small nippy forwards. Didak is one of them. I hope Crowell can get to the kind of form he has displayed last year. If my memory serves me correctly, last year Crowell was in similar sort of form for the Eagles and he got a recall to Crows side and he remained crutial part of our defence for the rest of the year. Lets hope history repeats itself with Crowell.

Originally posted by noddy

But Crowell is definitely one from left field, wasn't he playing reserves for the Eagles the other week ??

anyway good luck to him & hope he has a blinder,

From this week's AFC SANFL players report

Andrew Crowell (Eagles)

Although not gathering many possessions (7), Andrew’s defensive efforts to keep his opponent quiet, were exceptional. He displayed a fearless attack on the ball and he halted numerous forward thrusts by the opposition. He used his pace to advantage, whether to close an opponent down or to run off and his tackling was very effective.

Noddy,

Andrew was injued a couple of weeks ago, last week was his first game for the Eagles for a while. He has the pace to match the quick players but he lacks footy smarts IMO. Doesnt always give the ball off quick enough or pick the right option and gives away silly frees too often.

Having said that, due to our injuries I think he is our best bet and I hope he does his job well.

Jerome

Originally posted by DaveW

On Fox League Teams they said that Gags had 8 possessions in 20 minutes of game time last week so that's good enough to give him another run you'd think.

It was Barnsey's comment though so I can't vouch for the accuracy!

Originally posted by napsyd
On Fox League Teams they said that Gags had 8 possessions in 20 minutes of game time last week so that's good enough to give him another run you'd think.

If my memory serves me correctly its 8 possesions in 22 minutes including 5 inside 50s.

The more I think about it the more I am convinced that Magpies lack a bit of pace in the midfielder department. Playing Gallagher of the wing might just cause a couple of headaches.:)

Would any of you guys say that this is a must win game for us in the context of the season? Its a HUGE game IMHO, and I feel that we really need to put all our eggs inot one basket for this match especially coming up against Brisbane at the GABBA next week with injuries to key players.

Thoughts??????

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Would any of you guys say that this is a must win game for us in the context of the season? Its a HUGE game IMHO, and I feel that we really need to put all our eggs inot one basket for this match especially coming up against Brisbane at the GABBA next week with injuries to key players.

Thoughts??????

Absolutely Stiffy. Lose this and we are looking down the barrel of 4/4 after 8, which is not good enough IMO. We have a very difficult run home (2 trips to Perth, Port in last round, Collingwood at Telstra in last 7 rounds) and can't afford to drop games like this at home.

Win this and we are at worst 5/3 with a shot at 6/2 against a currently flat Brisbane. Wish we could say we were flat yet undefeated after 6 rounds!

If my memory serves me correctly its 8 possesions in 22 minutes including 5 inside 50s.

That's a fair memory you got there mate! :eek:

The more I think about it the more I am convinced that Magpies lack a bit of pace in the midfielder department. Playing Gallagher of the wing might just cause a couple of headaches.:)

Youre right, however weve addressed that problem this week (I hope anyway) by adding Shaw and Cole for a few plodders - Cloke and McGough. Speed and slick movement through the midfield is the way to beat us there.

I reckon it's funny how when you start losing everyone thinks you're slow......last year WE didn't have the speed to go with Collingwood and that was one of the reasons why we struggled against them......now the Pies have a pace problem? It's all perceptions I think, when you're losing and you don't get first hands on the ball you look slow.

Originally posted by ant
I reckon it's funny how when you start losing everyone thinks you're slow......last year WE didn't have the speed to go with Collingwood and that was one of the reasons why we struggled against them......now the Pies have a pace problem? It's all perceptions I think, when you're losing and you don't get first hands on the ball you look slow.

Not really ant. I have tought before that Collingwood are a bit slow throught the midfield, even before they dropped last three. Now don't get me wrong, we're no speed demons either but it does helf when you have the likes of McLeod and John**** who can break away from the packs with good acceleration. I think you will find that Shaw and Cole are their quickest 2 players through the midfield, hardly mind boggling stuff. Both might turn out to be good players in the future (esspecially Cole) but you cannot expect them to carry their team against 2nd best midfield in the comp.;)

Well, we all have our opinions and I'd be inclined to agree with you (though I don't think the Pies are slow per se) but I was just pointing out how the Magpies' youthful pace was a theory that was bandied about last year explaining our losses to them (and just our general poor recent record against them).

Crows v Collingwood