Crows V Saints

Would you blame him? Twice in two weeks now he's picked the ball up, been collared and gone HTB. Why would you bother getting the footy when you can just sweat off and make the tackle?

If thats the style Petrenko decides to play I doubt he will make it in the AFL. If he attacks the tackle rather than the ball there will be times that the tackles don't stick or he gives away an illegal tackle free. There are just so many more advantage for attacking the footy. If I was Craigy I would be showing him videos of the incidents when he shirked from the contest and demanding change.

Given he has only really played 1 season of AFL footy and he rucked pretty much the entire game on his own against two seasoned veterans, i would give him 10/10 for heart alone.

Just for balance, i have said he was much improved in the second half but i maintain he should not be in the best...his opponents beat him!

He is big enough, fit enough, and has proven himself enough last year to say he can be given the 1R position without excuses. Yes, he plays with heart (though his intensity was poor defensively in the first half) and i love that but that alone will never be enough otherwise Ian Perrie would have won a Brownlow.

After the past 2 weeks, i wouldn't be surprised to see another ruck come into the team to assist Maric and Tippett. The balance of talls v smalls this week against Sandilands at Subi will be very interesting.

Just for balance, i have said he was much improved in the second half but i maintain he should not be in the best...his opponents beat him!

He is big enough, fit enough, and has proven himself enough last year to say he can be given the 1R position without excuses. Yes, he plays with heart (though his intensity was poor defensively in the first half) and i love that but that alone will never be enough otherwise Ian Perrie would have won a Brownlow.

After the past 2 weeks, i wouldn't be surprised to see another ruck come into the team to assist Maric and Tippett. The balance of talls v smalls this week against Sandilands at Subi will be very interesting.

I called for it last week, and I'm calling even louder this week. Griffin MUST come in to assist Maric in the ruck and Tippet must stay forward - particularly now with Trent's knee.

Not a bad loss with how much the saints were dominating the ball. Very happy with how the young players played. Danger was taking on the team which i liked and i noticed that they seemed to have a lot of trouble to bring him to the ground. Petrenko did his job well and so did Otten, Otten managed to get a lot of the ball. Is his kicking no good? because whenever i saw him get the ball he was always looking to handpass it rather then kick it. I think Walker got into the game when Trent went off the ground. He was a target and was looking good. Could have easily kicked 4 goals. Edwards was very good, i think i feel the safest when he has the ball. He always knows when and who to kick it to and when to hold onto it. Did very well and set up some goals.

Anyway i think we should leave the side as it is but maybe give Trent a rest so then at least Walker is a bit more of a target so we can see how he goes.

Im opening myself up to abuse here, but from an outsiders view, thats probably the worst game ive seen Knights play. There were players that were less effective, but he made mistake after mistake, fumbles, fell over, kicks to the opposition. I know opinion on this board is poles apart (either extreme love or extreme hate for him) and I usually sit in the middle, but I cant remember him playing worse than that.

Petrenko on the other hand...once he gets the pace of AFL, he will be an absolute gun. Is an absolute clone of a young Mcleod playing down at Alberton. That bounding sort of run, great evasive skills, great kick. Has all the basics to become a star.

Walker too. Grew incredibly once he got the gametime in the second half. Could have ended with 4 goals really and looked dangerous everytime he went near it. As soon as he gets the respect and confidence of his teammates, he'll star as well.

According to your comments on other boards, you think all the Crows are sh$t, not just Knights. Pity you dont have the courage to say that on here. if we lose another game, you may have to dig out the old Crows membership and rip it uop again hey Mr Flip Flop. All class.

I like this board, a lot, and usually don't attack people on it but **** me.

Those having a go at Knights, Dougals and Maric can kiss my ass.

Dead set, do you just post what you've heard others say?

Cook in for Knights? **** me you're kidding. Have a go at Knightas disposal and bring in Cook to fix the problem.

Now onto the game and next week.

Agree that Griffin should come in, Tippett looks very good forward, and seems to work better with Walker than Rowdy does. Griffin in for an injured (hopefully not for long) Rowdy.

I really beleive the boards other whipping boy Symes should come in.

If you were frustrated with the pointless handballing we did please see the Bulldogs game in round 22 last year, we were doing the same thing until he took the game by the scruff and showed us classic footy. If he's ready he should push.

Our kids were very encouraging.

But all this negative talk has pissed me off no end. Almost as bad as those **** sucking umpires.

According to your comments on other boards, you think all the Crows are sh$t, not just Knights. Pity you dont have the courage to say that on here. if we lose another game, you may have to dig out the old Crows membership and rip it uop again hey Mr Flip Flop. All class.
Dangerfield played a good game. He is Roo , Buckley and Judd all in one. The Judd side is yet to come out with his running dashes but that will come with more game time and confidence but he has those thighs like Judd, Buckleys poise and Roo's toughness. Otten I too liked him but just needs to not back away in that last split second were I think he gets a little scared he will be cleaned up . That's why Bassett was so good as the Third man up. He had courage. Hopefully this will come with time. Petrenko Just love how easily he brakes away from opposition in tight situations with his pace. Walker - Will be a gun, Craigy leave him on the ground longer and make him our main target so at least our players know that he is our target and we can then get crumbers around him. The reason we dont crumb well apart from not having a real genuine crumber is that we dont have a known target that our players can aim at in the forward line when it's a quick kick forward thus there is no one then at their feet. By a known target I mean a ploy by coaches that he is the one we look for.

Scott Thompson although I think he is a good AFL player I think tonight and other games he is one of the reasons we go around in circles. With Cook last week when he grabbed the ball in the ball ups at least he instinctively plays on/ runs forward of play which can help the leading forwards. Thompson always is too slow to make a decision on what he will do and back paddles alot. This does not help forwards and just allows more time for the other team to flood the backline. It's time we make Van Berlo our tagger. He will get more ball by following good players around as he is not your genuine/natural ball getter such as your Chris Knights who seemed to do the tagging on Dal Santo tonight.

Now that has to be the worst F _ _ _ _ N umpiring I have seen in my life. How can everyone see the incorrect decision from the stands and these green maggots whom train every day just make these blatant errors. They just dont have a feel for the game or the ruling body is just F_ _ _ _ d . The hand on the back rule and the Penalising of the guy going for the ball is pathetic,. The guys tonight were not even given prior opportunity in alot of the holding the ball decisions. I think the maggots were trying to show off because Jeff Gieschien (umpiring coach) was in the stands.

I can't believe that people keep calling for Knights head, no bloody idea. Knights is one of the most respected players at the club his work rate is second to none and his disposal is not as bad as some of our supporters make it out to be

Goody coughed the ball up across ground and no one questions his disposal however unless Knights has 100% efficiency some people keep calling for his head

Knights is one of our most important players, no question about that

All credit to the Saints they played out of their skins and it was probably their finest win in the past 4-5 seasons

For us, our decision making let us down, over used the handball and the switch at times

I can't believe that people keep calling for Knights head, no bloody idea. Knights is one of the most respected players at the club his work rate is second to none and his disposal is not as bad as some of our supporters make it out to be

Goody coughed the ball up across ground and no one questions his disposal however unless Knights has 100% efficiency some people keep calling for his head

Knights is one of our most important players, no question about that

All credit to the Saints they played out of their skins and it was probably their finest win in the past 4-5 seasons

For us, our decision making let us down, over used the handball and the switch at times

you're not following the party line. we only mentions Chris Knights' stuff ups on this board.

Changes for next week:
IN: Stevens (if fit)/Griffin (if Stevens not fit), Shirley
OUT: Hentschel (injured/rested), Douglas

Douglas was average last week and hardly sighted last night. 23 disposals and 2 goals in two weeks is not good enough for someone who should be doing much much more by now. Drummond is right on this one, he needs to lose his gold pass, go back to the SANFL and work his butt off for once. Our record with first round draft picks has become laughable (although Dangerfield looks pretty damn promising).

As for Chris Knights, I think he is on the way to becoming a better than average (but not quite elite) midfielder. His biggest flaw IMO is that he is very slow hand-to-foot (e.g. takes a long time to drop the ball onto his boot). If he can stay fit long enough, he will be the workhorse of our engine room.

....have you watched him the last two weeks?

Hios work shouldn't be under question in my opinion.

Last week Douglas was one of the best players in the last quarter. His 1%ers last week were a feature of our win.
Last night he was quiet but it seemed like he was playing more of a defensive forward role. His work rate cannot be questioned however.

I really hate how this board jumps on the backs of Knights/Douglas types when we have a loss.

I thought the Crows kids looked good last night. Great attack on the ball from Danger and Petrenko, Otten reads the game well but doesn't seem to have a natural intensity or aggression about him. Should slot in OK to free up Stevens though. Walker just moves like a class act, actually looks like he may be better suited with more room to move if he has the tank. Also loved Tippets aggression and attack at the ball.

On the downside Reilly seemed a bit ho hum and other than a few tackles Douglas had very little impact.

What changes would you be looking at for next week?

Hentschell > Stevens (if fit) or Gill /Griffin

Possibly Symes in as well.

all in all, a better read of the game than many from our side.

I particularly agree with you about walker and a tank getting more space to move.

we are crying out for gill, we have NO structure in the fwd line. :thumbsu:

you're not following the party line. we only mentions Chris Knights' stuff ups on this board.

I'm not one of knights biggest fans - nor do I have anything against him I think he is a good player, and could be a very useful senior player; but I am shocked by the ignorance surrounding his game tonight.

we are crying out for gill, we have NO structure in the fwd line. :thumbsu:

Agreed we need more structure, we always have, but do you really think that Gill will give us any? For mine he is a very aerobic player, can be a bit of a ball magnet on his day, but by AFL level should know how to kick. I've never seen a player spray them as much as him, bar maybe Perrie in the early days. I actually wonder if they should experiment with Gill on the ball, he get's the pill a bit, might be useful in and under player coz he can run all day.

Perrie was actually very good for us as far as straightening up our forward attacks.

Gday folks, first poster here. Was at the game tonight, IMO St. Kilda's pressure was the most telling thing all night, and the reason we lost. Some great signs all round as many have said in various threads, but we should be prepared for many more losses this season - If Goody, Eddy and Macca have an off day, we are in strife. And they will - all of them are the other side of 30, and in the first 2 games they have featured prominently, especially Edwards. The gulf between our talented youngsters and the seasoned old engine room is quite large in terms of years and experience.

The umpiring was unbelievable to watch all night as a quiet observer, but if that's the worst we get all season well we've hopefully had our shocker over with tonight.

Also, looking forward to Dangerfield showing his true potential, have watched all the Youtube footage of him as a youngster, and his pace looks incredible, as well as his natural skills. Can see why they took him over Brad Ebert.

Good to be amongst you all anyway.

Welcome to the board mate.:thumbsu:

I found it quite interesting watching a part of the WCE game that the commentators were saying Brad Ebert has a disposal problem? I've never actually seen him play, but from all reports he was the ace of spades so how come there is a problem now?

I only bring this up because when Danger was tagged with the same issue but I'm yet to see an issue.

To be fair, this was probably a bit overstated because he spent most of his time in the TAC cup kicking at full pace, and spent much of 2008 kicking with his opposite foot. He has the tendancy to grubber the ball from time to time but when he doesn't do that the kick is usually alright.

I found it quite interesting watching a part of the WCE game that the commentators were saying Brad Ebert has a disposal problem? I've never actually seen him play, but from all reports he was the ace of spades so how come there is a problem now?

I really like the look of Ebert but I doubt he will be an elite player, whereas Dangerfield - wow - he has the guns.

Crows V Saints