D3 D3 Section 2008

I have a policy that of not talking myself up...(not that I would have much to talk about)......
Maybe you and Sidewinder could state yours first.....I could always use a good laugh on a Friday....

backing up your argument again with nothing!!

If you're going to have a go at someone then at least have a SOMETHING to back it up with....its embarrassing!!

Having a go at sidewinders football ability and then not stating yours.....maybe you should go back into your hole until you have something worthwhile to contribute!

backing up your argument again with nothing!!

If you're going to have a go at someone then at least have a SOMETHING to back it up with....its embarrassing!!

Having a go at sidewinders football ability and then not stating yours.....maybe you should go back into your hole until you have something worthwhile to contribute!

Dear FootyFan27,
Once again you read posts but fail to understand them. He was the one who told me to go into a corner and do unspeakable things to myself.
By the way, I thought I did contribute something worthwhile as it got your attention...
Lastly, it wasn't only Sidewinder I was having a go at....

Round 16 Preview
Eltham over Monash by 15 (The Gryphs form at home this year has been surprisingly poor. Turtles have too much to play for)
Latrobe over Uni High by 12 (UHS-VU were lucky not to lose by 8 goals plus last week and are already looking forward to their EOST).
Wicks by 123 over Razorbacks (Elsternwick are playing as good a footy as anyone at the minute and have the best player D3 has seen in years, in David Smith at the helm. Smith could boot 15!)
The House over the Hawks by 6 in a thriller (Clear match of the day. If Powerhouse can beat CY's, they can beat anyone. Should be a cracker though. Best defence in the league against the best forward line?)
Willy over Joc's by 31 (Must have been a tough week on the track at Fearon and can't see them letting this slip)

Good luck to all

Quasi[/QUOTE]

-----------------
ROUND 16 REVIEW

Maybe Quasi has spoken to soon? Just maybe the door is still open for the Wicks and Gryphons as the Turtles limp to September. What coaches Naumoff and Grace would have given for just one more win earlier in the season, as their task is Herculean in nature due to fixtures against the top two.
The Hawks were ultra impressive against Powerhouse at the weekend. Their ability to kick a score against quality opposition is a worry to all opponents.
Cy's bounced back as expected. A 10 goal win against the Joc's at Thomas Carroll is not a result many have achieved over the years.

------------------------------------

Round 17 Preview

Two super crucial games in store for us at Fearon and Rathmines, however, neither is likely to provide a Cinderella story.

Uni High over the Joc's by 16 (Don't think either of these two clubs are playing well enough to win!)
Cy's over Monash by 26 (Wet conditions are likely to keep Monash in the game for a while, but class will prevail)
Hawks over Wicks by 31 (If Smith is absent once again, expect the margin to be far greater. Hawks to shorten once more in premiership betting)
Powerhouse over Latrobe by 76 (Time to get Big Eddo forward and let him run riot?).
Eltham to account for Swinburne by 18 (Suddenly a danger game for The Turtles who are playing with little confidence).

Eltham winning is crucial. Should they lose then Monash and Elsternwick may still be a chance come the last round. If either of the previously mentioned traditional rivals can pinch a win, they may find themselves in the four as early as tomorrow night. Can't forsee it though.

Good luck to all

Quasi

Well with the season coming to a close for many teams, I would have expected a few more posts this week but it seems as though many are already thinking of footy trips or finals. Congratulations to Willy, Hawks & the house for making the finals and we at the Turtles look forward to the challenges ahead in our first D3 finals series, good luck to all over the next few weeks!

Any tips for Comp B&F? And where do some teams have their footy trips planned for??
Nikko, see you Saturday for a beer!!

cheers,
hollywood

Well with the season coming to a close for many teams, I would have expected a few more posts this week but it seems as though many are already thinking of footy trips or finals. Congratulations to Willy, Hawks & the house for making the finals and we at the Turtles look forward to the challenges ahead in our first D3 finals series, good luck to all over the next few weeks!

Any tips for Comp B&F? And where do some teams have their footy trips planned for??

cheers,
hollywood

Yeah, long drive.. Bloody hell, not too many beers.. Just dont run through me while im standing at the bar ok coach?;) Make sure theres a heater for us softies still nursing injuries..

cheers,
hollywood

Coach, are you putting anyone in cotton-wool for this week with a view to the 1st semi ? I know that Willy have a couple with slight niggles that will not be playing this week.

Most guys with injuries or niggles have been out over the last 5-6 weeks already and we will be trying to get them game time before the 1st semi.

The Ruckman from Power House (Burnside)who is also known as "Jesus on Acid" will poll very, very, very well in the Competition Best and Fairest.

He is big, tall, colorful (in all aspects), always around the umpires and really has been playing good football.

My sources tell me that he has been the catalyst to the Power House resurgence over the last 2 months.

Wong will poll well. Kicked 9.6 on weekend. He stands out as he is one of only two asians playing in this division. The other plays with us as well.

ummmmm...yeh ok.
they'd be the only 2 asians in the division except for foo from eltham, ling ling from swinny, several at st johns etc......and thats off the top of my head...
i wouldn't say wong looks overly distincitivily asian anyway, just his hair makes him stand out.

anyway, as a bit of a round up to finals, looks like the 4 is set in stone and good luck to all........except hawthorn - who i hope get bitch slapped out in straight sets like last year.
willy the clear favourites, they just never looked like they belonged in d3, all the best back in d2 next year.
powerhouse all the best, could be a surprise packet, lets hope eddo goes forward and causes some havoc down there.
eltham....well seemed a bit like frustrated kids throwing tantrums when we played them recently, but i don't think theyre too bad. most likely won't fire a shot in the finals on current form but who knows.

welcome back kew and west brunny next year??

willy the clear favourites, they just never looked like they belonged in d3, all the best back in d2 next year.
powerhouse all the best, could be a surprise packet, lets hope eddo goes forward and causes some havoc down there.
eltham....well seemed a bit like frustrated kids throwing tantrums when we played them recently, but i don't think theyre too bad. most likely won't fire a shot in the finals on current form but who knows.

welcome back kew and west brunny next year??

No one likes Hawthorn, and less people like seeing them win. Unfortunately I think they will be up against the 'accidental D3 team' Willy in the GF. I feel OK knowing that Willy are a better side and will win. Powerhouse might, just might, get on top of Hawthorn but I wouldn't be putting big coin on it. Eltham will be richer for the experience - and while they have a few frustrated tanty kids (as you so eloquently put it) they are generally alright. Can't see them troubling any of the other three, even though they will play just one of them.

D4 this year looks to have opened out to a 4 horse race based on current form. WB and Kew are up against Mt Lilydale and the rampaging Albert Park. New guys St Francis Xavier are a bit up and down... Not a real contender though from what I hear.

And that's what I reckon.

No one likes Hawthorn, and less people like seeing them win. Unfortunately I think they will be up against the 'accidental D3 team' Willy in the GF. I feel OK knowing that Willy are a better side and will win. Powerhouse might, just might, get on top of Hawthorn but I wouldn't be putting big coin on it. Eltham will be richer for the experience - and while they have a few frustrated tanty kids (as you so eloquently put it) they are generally alright. Can't see them troubling any of the other three, even though they will play just one of them.

D4 this year looks to have opened out to a 4 horse race based on current form. WB and Kew are up against Mt Lilydale and the rampaging Albert Park. New guys St Francis Xavier are a bit up and down... Not a real contender though from what I hear.

And lets not forget we can all welcome back the scum of the vafa St marys next year. Bentleigh will also be down again most likely unless Therry lose by alot and bentleigh win by alot. Not looking forward to playing at ferndale park again. ! of the worst grounds ever. (full of mud n f*kwits) dont know what salesian was like b4 the merge, but surely the dregs of marys tainted their souls to darkness.

Gotta say that after the game we played against SMS a couple of weeks ago, they seem like an alright bunch of guys. Not sure what split of players are from Salesians or St Mary's but the current list seem like good blokes. Agreed though, the ground is terrible.

Maybe the merger did them good. Last year StMarys were bringing their own beers to clubs after games, and being dirty sh1te blokes on the feild. I wouldnt mind knowing the split of how many stayed and how many left. That being said im being fairly biased about the impressions i got from maybe 10 - 15 players from both grades.. The main thing was when one of our blokes did his knee on the feild and their coach was yelling at him calling him a sook etc and that he couldnt come back on cos he was stretchered off. Tool. Same bloke this year? do u know?

I can't comment on the bringing of beer, cos I was away when they came to Hoe park. Pretty sure its a new coach, think this years guy coached the Reds last year.

Rumour has it that Betleigh are looking to head back to SFL next year - which will mean that Larobe may have a reprieve from relegation. Anyoe else heard these rumours?

As for league B&F I think Grace from the Wicks - generally polls well.

Rumour has it that Betleigh are looking to head back to SFL next year - which will mean that Larobe may have a reprieve from relegation. Anyoe else heard these rumours?

As for league B&F I think Grace from the Wicks - generally polls well.

i suppose if that happened d4 would be back 2 having a final 4 not 5 next year. their oval was pretty good from what i remember, wouldnt mind if they were in d3 again.

Guys Guys,

Let's focus here....Let's worry about what's going on currently instead of worrying about next year.

The finals are almost upon us and we still have 1 more home and away round to play so there is still plenty of football left in this season...

Anyone still prepared to give their tips for the League Best and Fairest?

What about your clubs best and fairest. Who are the raging favorites at your club this season.

Burnside will win at Power House while rumours suggest Vegemite will also poll very well.

At Williamstown, it's really an open race with a great team balance this season. Maybe Taylor?

Grace or Smith at the Wicks? and who cares at Hwathorn.

Coach Hollywood would have voted for himself on plenty of occassion this season so he just might be the dark horse over at Eltham.

St Johns will vote for the bloke who drinks the most beer at after match functions while at The Zoo Keepers, Boycey will make sure that one of his "mates" gets looked after.

The Indians will give it to the guy who runs their website...

Who cares about Swinny and Latrobe...

OK..over to you guys!

"accidental D3 team" - what a load of crap.
you either win enough games to stay up or you don't - its as simple as that

"accidental D3 team" - what a load of crap.
you either win enough games to stay up or you don't - its as simple as that

As a technicality, they did win enough games, they just conceded 1 too many goals, or kicked 1 too few. point still being the same one u made though, dont whinge, just get better. (which they may have)

WAFERS 17 ROUND REVIEW ON ALL THINGS D3.

Just to get the juices flowing i`ll slip a few personal highlights in first.

2008 stats summary.

Mark of year - Wafer
Goal of year - Wafer
Most Kicks - Wafer
Most Marks (contested) - Wafer
Hottest Chick Pulled - Wafer
Most Liked Guy - Wafer
Biggest fair Hit of Year - Wafer (hope the crutch rental isn`t too steep nikko)
Biggest Spender at all away canteens - Wafer
D3 icon award - Wafer
Ghost selector for c-d4 rep squad - Wafer
Best presentation in full playing strip - Wafer
Face of D3 2008 Award - Wafer
Participation award - That bloke from uni high

Hawthorn are tosspots. It can`t be helped and i suppose we just gotta accept it. One highlight was watching jackamos at aftermatch drinks with a good lick of mustard in his hair and none the wiser, all the while trying to hold court to various hawthorn bums laughing at him.

Season 2008 that was.

Flag Tip Powerhouse.

Wafer08

afternoon lads,

being a wicker boy and gettin thru all of 15mins of footy this season..... until my knee decided to explode after dropping a mark in round one here are my tips.....

wickers b n f : box trifecta .... s grace n hodskiss and b mahony ....and smith of course

not too sure about the comp b n f but those 4 i have named will poll well i think and hodskiss has had a superconsistent year playing a variety of roles up forward and down back.

for those who recommend smith in the comp bnf i wouldnt. he has been the find of the year by a mile but didnt come down til round 7 or 8 and has missed the last 2. would be an extraordinary effort to win playing 8 or 9 games.

thats my say

for those who recommend smith in the comp bnf i wouldnt. he has been the find of the year by a mile but didnt come down til round 7 or 8 and has missed the last 2. would be an extraordinary effort to win playing 8 or 9 games.

thats my say
Texty Boy, Do you expect Smith to play next year or was this a one off? The bloke could probably play A grade.

Guys Guys,

Let's focus here....Let's worry about what's going on currently instead of worrying about next year.

The finals are almost upon us and we still have 1 more home and away round to play so there is still plenty of football left in this season...

Anyone still prepared to give their tips for the League Best and Fairest?

What about your clubs best and fairest. Who are the raging favorites at your club this season.

Burnside will win at Power House while rumours suggest Vegemite will also poll very well.

At Williamstown, it's really an open race with a great team balance this season. Maybe Taylor?

Grace or Smith at the Wicks? and who cares at Hwathorn.

Coach Hollywood would have voted for himself on plenty of occassion this season so he just might be the dark horse over at Eltham.

St Johns will vote for the bloke who drinks the most beer at after match functions while at The Zoo Keepers, Boycey will make sure that one of his "mates" gets looked after.

The Indians will give it to the guy who runs their website...

Who cares about Swinny and Latrobe...

OK..over to you guys!

D3, a bit disappointed you haven't done your homework this time round

Wong from Williamstown will push the comp B&F and probably put to bed the question about the most dangerous player kicking another bag (9.6) this week

Rumour has it Willy have been playing a lookalike in the forward line and nicknaming his Wongy to throw off opponent teams ...