D3 Section Ammos 2007

After discussions with various councils this morning, the VAFA regretfully advise that the 2007 season has been postponed for two weeks and will now commence on Saturday April 28. This will allow councils and schools time to adequately prepare the grounds for a full season of football.

The memo sent yesterday containing the changes to the draw will take effect. All fixtures on the website will be adjusted accordingly.

Confirming the following changes:

• Round 1 will be played the week after Round 18.

• Round 2 will be played on the Queen’s Birthday weekend.

• Round 1 for A, B, C and U19 1 & 2 will be played on September 1.

• Round 1 for D1 – D4 & U19 3, N & S will be played on August 25.

• Club XVIII, due to commence on April 21, will have their Round 1 fixture played on the Queens Birthday weekend and therefore no change to Club XVIII finals. Their season will also commence on April 28.

• The A – D4 representative match against the SFL has been cancelled.

• The U19 match against AFL Queensland, scheduled for the Queen’s Birthday weekend, will go ahead as we are just establishing a relationship and want this fixture to continue long term.

• The Bye weekend in July for A, B, C and U19 1 & 2 still remains thus our representative Football commitments for that weekend remain unchanged.

• D4 will revert to a final four as we are not able to guarantee finals grounds at that stage of the season.

• D1 – D4, U19 3, N & S will have their finals brought back a week to commence on the weekend of September 1/2 and conclude on the weekend of September 15/16.

• A, B, C, U19 1 & 2 finals will commence on the weekend of September 8/9 and conclude on the weekend of September 22/23.

• A and B Section will revert from a four week finals series to a three week series.

The VAFA understands the stress that this issue has placed on clubs but we had to consider all of our member clubs when making this decision.

As the draw for Club XVIII and U19 3, N & S hadn’t been released an updated one will now be completed by Jeremy and will not be available until next week.

If you have any operational questions could you please direct them to Jeremy Bourke and for all other enquiries contact me directly.

Thank you for your patience and we look forward to the commencement of the season on April 28.

Regards

Michael Sholly
Chief Executive Officer

Plenty of time for praccy matches now !!!

The above post also appears on the drought thread and many other divisional threads but not mentioned on the VAFA site.

Would be a pretty good compromise and would see the first round blockbuster between OW and WB shifted to the last round. Last year these two were scrapping for a top four spot. Will the fixture be equally important this year? Hope so!

The above post also appears on the drought thread and many other divisional threads but not mentioned on the VAFA site.

Would be a pretty good compromise and would see the first round blockbuster between OW and WB shifted to the last round. Last year these two were scrapping for a top four spot. Will the fixture be equally important this year? Hope so!

Looking at the current change in fixture - should we take a long range punt on the new round one winners?

Monash V WB - WB I would think looking at all the preseason chat on this thread ( one of two pre-season favs fo the flag).

Elsternwick V Powerhouse - could be interesting - Powerhouse have gained players and Elsterniwick lost a few (?). Still might settle on a home ground advantage for the E's and some pretty good form from last year.

Hawthorn V Swinnie - from thoughts on this thread - could be a very important 4 points for both sides. Hawthorn at home could get over the line - but have not had much on Swinnie ( so who knows what they have got? ) - flip the coin - Hawthorn

Kew100 V La Trobe - with 100 blokes on the track and a home game up first the other pre-season fav for the flag could start the season off well. Some may say it could take awhile to 'gel', but La Trobe would also suffer this fate every year with new arrivals to the Uni ??? I also hear that the La Trobe coach has 'left' and a senior player is coaching???? Might take awhile for them to settle down. Kew to win.

OW V Ivanhoe - OW to have a good first up win you would think at home.

If we get some practice matches - then maybe some of the above is way off - long range stab in the dark for now.

Looking at the current change in fixture - should we take a long range punt on the new round one winners?

Monash V WB - WB I would think looking at all the preseason chat on this thread ( one of two pre-season favs fo the flag).

Elsternwick V Powerhouse - could be interesting - Powerhouse have gained players and Elsterniwick lost a few (?). Still might settle on a home ground advantage for the E's and some pretty good form from last year.

Hawthorn V Swinnie - from thoughts on this thread - could be a very important 4 points for both sides. Hawthorn at home could get over the line - but have not had much on Swinnie ( so who knows what they have got? ) - flip the coin - Hawthorn

Kew100 V La Trobe - with 100 blokes on the track and a home game up first the other pre-season fav for the flag could start the season off well. Some may say it could take awhile to 'gel', but La Trobe would also suffer this fate every year with new arrivals to the Uni ??? I also hear that the La Trobe coach has 'left' and a senior player is coaching???? Might take awhile for them to settle down. Kew to win.

OW V Ivanhoe - OW to have a good first up win you would think at home.

If we get some practice matches - then maybe some of the above is way off - long range stab in the dark for now.

Good hit out b/w West Brunnie and Kew yesterday. West won by about 1 - 2 goals. Haysey dominated and Billy didn't play. Kew looked to have improved from last year and seem to have a lot of young guys. West went well considering they have had limited resources in regards to training facilities.

Is it normal for ammo teams to play teams in their own grade in practice matches? i have played in several other major metro leagues and its unheard of to play teams in practice matches who you will be playing during the season. Gives way too much away i reckon????!!! OW are scheduled to play Haw Ammos in a practice match too - to me it seems a strange idea? :confused:

I thought the same thing when i heard about it as well. But i guess its a better option than to play someone in a lower league and belt them or be belted by someone in a higher league, so unless you can find a team willing to play from a similar standard league i guess its not such a bad idea. You may give away a little bit but you have to beat the best side a couple of times to win the premiership anyway so i don't think its a huge issue. As long as it's played in good spirit.

It's also very hard to find teams that have grounds available at the moment for games.

OW had a good hit out against Sunshine Heights on Saturday.
A few key players missing but it was a good chance to play together with the new faces around. Sunshine winning by about 2 goals with a full strength side. Positives for OW were definitely the depth they will have this year and the atmosphere around the club. Everyone was just glad to be playing now and not sweating it out on the training track.

Next Practice match is scheduled to be played this Sat at Gordon (CHFL)

There's positives and negatives for both scenarios. One of the big negatives from my perspective is the different attitudes taken into practice games by ammo teams compared to others. Practice matches against other ammo teams are always played in pretty good spirit and taken for what they are - practice. We had a game abandoned against a coburg team from DVFL div 2 a few years ago, another one almost abandoned against a GDFL team two years ago and even Saturday's game which for the most part was okay had some moments, as you know, when things could have gotten out of hand.

OW had a good hit out against Sunshine Heights on Saturday.
A few key players missing but it was a good chance to play together with the new faces around. Sunshine winning by about 2 goals with a full strength side. Positives for OW were definitely the depth they will have this year and the atmosphere around the club. Everyone was just glad to be playing now and not sweating it out on the training track.

Next Practice match is scheduled to be played this Sat at Gordon (CHFL)

Hows the form big fella? any little jabs dished out?

There's positives and negatives for both scenarios. One of the big negatives from my perspective is the different attitudes taken into practice games by ammo teams compared to others. Practice matches against other ammo teams are always played in pretty good spirit and taken for what they are - practice. We had a game abandoned against a coburg team from DVFL div 2 a few years ago, another one almost abandoned against a GDFL team two years ago and even Saturday's game which for the most part was okay had some moments, as you know, when things could have gotten out of hand.

Totally understand that mate. was sad to see the div 2 WRFL mentality crept in towards the end of the game after what was a very hard but fair contest.
I just worry that playing sides you will play later in the year robs you of chances to practice team structures and game-plans without showing your hand?
i agree its a balance tho, and realise that the ammos atmosphere and culture is not understood by those outside of the comp. i realise that having been outside of the ammo structure for all my senior footy (15+ years) and just being relatively new to ammo footy. It's good, fair, clean footy! Hard to find that same attitude in other leagues unfortunately!

Hows the form big fella? any little jabs dished out?

Haha. Na behaved myself super! form was rustly. got a stint up forward which was good for a change, but don't like my chances of that happening during the season(Especially if Hutton has his way). good to get the cobwebs out. Whens your first hit out?

had a run on saturday at my old club, went ok..fitness pretty good!! look out ncfl!!!

Have they asked you to round up a few melb based mates that have a late start to head up there for the first couple of rounds?

I know with the Ammo's starting at least 2 weeks later it raises interest from the clubs starting on time.

Have they asked you to round up a few melb based mates that have a late start to head up there for the first couple of rounds?

I know with the Ammo's starting at least 2 weeks later it raises interest from the clubs starting on time.

no not yet, just waiting to see if edfl starts on time or not, ground was fine saturday.

Can someone please tell me how many players OW are getting to training on average per night?
How many different players have been there in total for the year approximately?

Can someone please tell me how many players OW are getting to training on average per night?
How many different players have been there in total for the year approximately?

As Far as averages go. There is anywhere from 40+ any night (not including the u/19's) When they join in there is about 60 on the track.
The leanest night would have been a beach session where 35 turned up.

Total number of turn outs is probably irrelevant as there has been a lot of mates training there that have no intention of playing at OW but come down for a run.