AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Screw the naysayers, good on you guys! At least you've got the cojones to give it a red-hot go this year.
Make sure you let everyone know well in advance when your home game at Punt Rd is on - should be a great feeling running onto the hallowed turf.
Tigernuts
I can't remember what number Lairdy had. 100kgs, 120kgs..... either way he's a big unit and is agile as well. Has a basketball background so gets around okay.
Gday guys,
What can you tell me about Box Hill North as a club and how do you think they will go in 2007?
Gday guys,
What can you tell me about Box Hill North as a club and how do you think they will go in 2007?
Yeah... and our best win in the reserves in '05 was against BHN. I seem to remember kicking the game winning goal with a minute or so left... it's as if it were yesterday
As a club? Well they were never a rich club and struggled around with a great social atmosphere for nearly 20 years in the old Churches Association and then the Southern.
They made the move to VAFA as it was seen as a better fit for them than Eastern footy comp.
This will be their 6th season in VAFA.
The first 3 seasons were pretty ordinary on field. When they came over they had a big strong team, with a lot of older players. After realising they needed younger and quicker players, many of their stalwarts finally retired. They recruited hard from Deakin Uni. They put in strict a 'code of conduct' and worked hard to change their culture as well as their playing personal. Sound famililar? Richmond Centrals are going down this same road at present.
2005 season they started to show the rewards on field for all the hard yards the off field staff had put in. They finished middle of the road and had some breakthrough wins against teams that had previously traed them as cannon fodder.
2006 they finshed 4th. Losing by 8pts to Power House in the first semi. Power House went on to smah all opposition in the following weeks and win the flag. Their 2s played some very impressive attacking footy but just dropped to many games early in the year and just missed finals.
They evidently have lost none of their key players and are confident of adding a couple more quality players to the senior team.
They have managed to keep improving on and off the field on the back of stable leadership. The President (been in top spot for all of their VAFA life) has kept the same key people in his executive. The same applies to the coaching staff, it has only added to it's ranks in 6 years, losing no one. They have had Afrim Odza as their capt. for 5 years (he has stood down this year) and the ressies coach (a good mate of mine ) has just stood aside after 3 developing years. Mark Hood from Mitcham and Coburg is now heading up the reserves.
They look to be in with as good a chance as anyone for promotion this season, but they are not likely to be seen on this board sprouting predictions like some clubs.
The big cross against the club is their lack of juniors . I believe with the addition of the club 18 team known as the Dragons, they are poised to introduce U/19s next year. The focus of this will be the same as the Dragons; mostly made up of asian background players. This is due to BH long held desire to utilise the strong asian community in Box Hill.
There is one other thing about this club that sets them slightly apart from your average local footy team.
Each year they go to Japan to play in a tournament open to teams from Japan and all over the world. This is usually done on the Queen's B'day weekend. Although they have developed the trip from 4 days out to 11days now. This year the tournament has been switched to October. It should make for a hell of an end of season trip. There is a DVD produced by BH of last years trip. I hear it is being looked at by several media shows and is to be aired at one of the VAFA functions. I have seen it, it runs for about 10 minutes and is a real eye opener. It is not all just playing footy and drinking. They travel to Osaka for shool footy clinics and Hiroshima to visit the peace park and ground zero. Peter Kotsaridis is the guy to contact for a free copy. This information is on their website http://www.boxhillnorthfc.com.au/
Another mate of mine, Peter Tugger Pullen, has gone with them the last 2 years. Tugger is a VAFA umpire. He evidently, so he say's , has now gained legendary status in the land of the rising sun due to his ability to umpire nearly all the games in the tournament. Tugger would be an good person to give you an independent view of the club. Contact Benny Goodman (VAFA) for his phone or email.
Japan Samuri (national team) travels to Australia each year and plays games in Melbourne. Box Hill North were the team that started it all for them, and still play a match against each othet every year. BH has also hosted New Zealand and Vietnam national teams.
Because of these connections they get quite a lot of media coverage. If you don't like being on National TV or being on the back page of the Age, don't join this club.
I think the best take I can give on this club is :
A very social club that is steadily building a strong team with a lot of outside attractions to keep it's members interested.
Facts I know:
President - Simon Evans
Senior Coach - Peter Armstrong
Premierships- Seniors 1991, Reserves 1995, Narita Cup 2002, NC r/u 2003/04/05.
Hope that helps.
Are you thinking of playing or are you just interested via a friend ? I have become a fan of VAFA footy. It is generally an attractive, clean style of footy to watch.
p.s. Loved the large fella running through the pack with the elbow raised poised to do some damage!!! I also noticed Mick and Dan Penny - those guys CAN play.
I was told he had heard there was only one snag left on the BBQ and was purely intent on replenishing his lower chest muscles.
Does he play in the regular season? I can't remember seeing / playing against him.
Looks about 25ish so has certainly been in a fair paddock....
Have they got some sort of secret weapon they are going to unleash during the season?
There will come a time when Centrals will stand tall and take immense pride with the success they will have achieved. Although I am not part of this club, I have a strong sense that they re-building the club from the ground up based on integrity. This will pay off handsomely in the long run both on and off the field. Compared to those clubs who look for quick gratification and abuse the system, I know you guys will always be able to hold your heads high when it comes to signing the VAFA's stat. decs.
Hang in there Secretary!
You mean our only win!
Hopefully we'll have a few more in 07!
We all live in hope.
Keep dreaming Centrals, it seems that's all you're cabaple of. You are a rabble.
Heard a rumour you'll be sharing your ground this season with South Yarra - one more season of hanging in there and then it's all over for you guys.
We all live in hope.
Keep dreaming Centrals, it seems that's all you're cabaple of. You are a rabble.
Heard a rumour you'll be sharing your ground this season with South Yarra - one more season of hanging in there and then it's all over for you guys.
I really don't think I should honour that with a response. Why don't you come down to training; show us your stuff and we can see how big of a hero you actually are? What's the point of your incessant club bashing? Come down and help us turn it around. It's a big challenge and we're really enjoying it. As far as I was aware that's what it's all about - we're not playing for sheep stations, just fun.We all live in hope.
beating up on centrals behind the computer at 12.30 in the morning what happened did the boyfriend kick you out of bed,dont worry your mum still loves c@ck. KAPOWWe all live in hope.
I Know All Sides In D4 Very Well And Have Done For Years[that Should Start Some Of You Thinking As To Who Or What I Am????]
Get Of Centrals Back,sure They Have Had Some Tough Games Recently But It Shows Their Metal That They Are Back And Having A Red Hot Go,box Hill Will Be A Force In 2007,but Their Are A Few Adrk Horses Out There So Stay Tuned,dig In Centrals,the Light May Be Small But It Is Still Shining At The End Of That Tunnel.
Centrals have a young bean pole of a kid with a head of curly hair,he can take a mark and with a bit of bulk and footy nouse could be valuable..