RedmanWasHere
Rarely in kitchens at parties.
- Aug 23, 2010
- AFL Club
- Essendon
- Other Teams
- Exers, Gryffindor, Rich+Ess AFLW, Tassie
i dont follow trade week, i guess they are asking for 2 first rounders and sweeteners?
so that would give North pick 1 and 2? thats not bad i guess, but they couldve gotten a better deal last year, hindsight is a bugger.Last I heard folk were ruminating about a possible 3 club deal to him to Port Adelaide.
West Coast apparently willing to part with a first rounder and send it to North Melbourne and maybe a pick swap by Port Adelaide to the Eagles.
so that would give North pick 1 and 2? thats not bad i guess, but they couldve gotten a better deal last year, hindsight is a bugger.
Great write up. Who is your pick for the Roos?some thoughts on the top end of the draft and why i rate the players where i do
Will Ashcroft - last year he and Wardlaw really stood out as hard working, skilful and clutch players in their intra-state series, Will has then taken the next step and added a more contested inside role to his games well as having the ability to get the most out of himself, his performances and Wardlaws injuries have meant he seems to be the clear number 1.
George Wardlaw - again he and Ashcroft made a quality duo last year and were highly rated, in his few games this year he again performed to a very high standard even though he had to deal with covid and repeated hamstring injuries, he is a player that hunts the ball and the man, he is a bull at a gate similar to Clayton Oliver one of my favourite players to watch and his 2nd and 3rd efforts are fantastic and his aggressive attack on the ball is one of my favourite things about his game.
Harry Sheezel - smooth moving forward who again was a known prospect likely going top 10 since last year, after showing an ability to win high numbers in midfield and his bullet like passing, he has put himself in the top 3 conversation, still averaging over 2 goals a game and showing the ability to be a match winner in the big games such as the GF and the Champs, he deserves to be considered elite.
Aaron Cadman - he was actually a favourite of mine as a general defender last year, but i didnt go high on him unfortunately, his early season form was fantastic, i remember a game in which Geelong was beating GWV and his side was barely able to get it past the wing for the most part, he ended up being one of GWV's best that day, mostly leading up to the wing and ended up goaless, but it was how he played that really shun through leading and marking or wif he couldnt mark winning the contest, he was fantastic which is why i put him inside my top 10 i believe in early April, since then he has gone from strength to strength, leading and inspiring some big wins for GWV and being the target man for Vic Country
Elijah Tsatas - Its hard to ignore his numbers in midfield and his pace going through the wing or middle of the ground, his line breaking skills are great to watch, he reminds me of Callaghan/Sinn from last year from an athletic PoV, but he has a great accumulation rate, his kicking and general decision making are a bit of an area of development/weakness, also i noted in his interview he has a bit of trouble focusing on 1 thing at a time
Cam MacKenzie - going from good general defender to star midfielder has increased his value in the draft, speed, composure, good disposal, calm under pressure, he really took the position left vacant when Wardlaw got injured and made it his own, working very well in tandom with his sandringham team mate Will Ashcroft to lead a strong Vic Metro midfield
Jhye Clark - has been Vic Country's best midfielder for 2 years now, good inside mid, with a good mark overhead and when he has space is generally good at i50 entries, started the year strong but by the end fell off in form a little, was very good for AFL Academy and Vic Country
Matteas Phillipou - a player that has immense talent and natural ability, coming from basketball, his 192cm frame gives him an advantage and he seems to have that composure with ball in hand basketballers usually have on field, really strong pack mark, good accurate kick at goal, was a good forward before showing his ability to dominate in the midfield too, only downside is he seems a bit cocky in his interviews
Reuben Ginbey - another strong bodied mid with surprising speed and athleticism, has been playing off hbf for the WAFL Seniors for most of the year, but showed an impressive ability to win the hard ball in midfield for WA in the champs, winning the WA MVP ahead of some more fancied names, lacks a little confidence in interviews
Jedd Busslinger - 195cm KPD, plays more the intercepting 3rd tall defender than a lock down defender although im sure he can play that role at a decent level as well, played 2 champs games and made the AA team, even though he had a shoulder that needed surgery he was still one of WA 's best in both games and confirmed what we all thought last year and that was that he was a 1st round talent
Matthew Jefferson - had one of those games at the champs kicking 7 goals straight,most other games i have seen him play he is a little more a leading forward who can take the odd contested mark and has ok accuracy at goal, good leading patterns, but he seems to lift in the big games which is good to see, he needs to bulk up a bit so theres a lot of potential development from him.
Bailey Humphrey - when i saw him earlier in the year i thought he had good potential to go as a 1st rounder as a mid, then he got given a forward role at Gippsland, with mixed success, he got a tonne of shots on goal each game but his accuracy was a concern, kicking in general was a bit of a concern and he likes to get the loose ball as well making him less contested, he has that De Goey power forward style about him, but needs some work on his kicking technique(some have said high ball drop?), he ended the year with 21 goals and 18 behinds in the NAB League and 1.3 for Vic Country i believe, i have him outside the top 10 personally.
If you get pick 2 for JHF then i would say Wardlaw and CadmanGreat write up. Who is your pick for the Roos?
Not looking likely now.If you get pick 2 for JHF then i would say Wardlaw and Cadman
I think Cadman could be a good option to partner Larkey.Not looking likely now.
Get Cadman firstNot looking likely now.
Yeah agree. If we get Port's pick 8 we can take a mid with that.I think Cadman could be a good option to partner Larkey.
Hope the Saints pounce on Magor at pick 45. Have Seth Campbell & Jovan Petric as my rookiesOctober Update on my top 100
i do think Cadman is a genuine chance to goto the Roos at pick 2 after the Ashcroft bid as he has shown match winning potential as a KPF more often later in the year and seeing as the Roos dont have many KPF's and their best is an ok one in Larkey he would be a smart pick up for them, so even though i rate certain players in positions, it wont align with clubs needs ect.
1. Will Ashcroft - 180cm 76kg - Sandringham (Bris F/S)
2. Harry Sheezel - 184cm 77kg - Sandringham
3. George Wardlaw - 182cm 81kg - Oakleigh
-----------------------------------------------------------Elite Tier ^
4. Aaron Cadman - 194cm 88kg - GWV
5. Elijah Tsatas - 186cm 79kg - Oakleigh
6. Cam MacKenzie - 187cm 80kg - Sandringham (StK NGA)
7. Jhye Clark - 181cm 77kg - Geelong
8. Mattaes Phillipou - 191cm 83kg - WWT
9. Jedd Busslinger - 196cm 82kg - East Perth
------------------------------------------------------------ Top Tier ^
10. Reuben Ginbey - 189cm 85kg - East Perth
11. Matthew Jefferson - 194cm 76kg - Oakleigh
12. Bailey Humphrey - 184cm 86kg - Gippsland
13. Lewis Hayes - 197cm 81kg - Eastern
14. Elijah Hewett - 186cm 82kg - Swan Districts
15. Isaac Keeler - 198cm 88kg - North Adelaide (Adel NGA)
16. Oliver Hollands - 184cm 71kg - Murray
17. Olli Hotton - 181cm 77kg - Sandringham
18. Jaspa Fletcher - 184cm 73kg - Bris A (Bris A)
19. Adam D'Aloia - 186cm 86kg - WWT
20. Brayden George - 185cm 87kg - Murray
21. Anthony Munkara - 186cm 77kg - NT/West Adelaide (Ess NGA)
22. Mitch Szybkowski - 186cm 84kg - Dandenong
23. Tom McCallum - 192cm 78kg - Tasmania
--------------------------------------------------------------- High Quality Prospects ^
24. Coby Burgiel - 183cm 76kg - Gippsland
25. Josh Weddle - 191cm 87kg - Oakleigh
26. Darcy Jones - 175cm 67kg - Swan Districts
27. Henry Hustwaite - 194cm 84kg - Dandenong
28. Al Davey Jnr - 181cm 74kg - Oakleigh (Ess F/S)
29. Jed Hagan - 175cm 73kg - East Fremantle
30. Lachlan Cowan - 188cm 81kg - Tasmania
31. Kobe Ryan - 183cm 73kg - West Adelaide
32. Harry Barnett - 202cm 93kg - West Adelaide
33. Shadeau Brain - 185cm - Bris A (Bris A)
34. Charlie Clarke - 182cm 75kg - Sandringham
35. Ed Allan - 194cm 82kg - Claremont
36. Brandon Leary - 177cm - Tasmania
37. Hugh Bond - 184cm 81kg - GWV
38. Luke Teal - 188cm 78kg - Oakleigh
39. Will Dowling - 187cm 79kg - North Adelaide
40. Jonti Schuback - 183cm 75kg - Gippsland
41. Noah Long - 178cm 74kg - Gippsland
42. Archie Lovelock - 178cm 72kg - Glenlg
43. Max Gruzewski - 192cm 84kg - Oakleigh
44. Blake Drury - 177cm 73kg - Oakleigh
45. Jacob Konstanty - 176cm 70kg - Gippsland
46. Cooper Vickery - 180cm 72kg - Gippsland (Haw NGA)
47. Jake Walker - 184cm 85kg - Glenlg
48. Jaiden Magor - 185cm 79kg - South Adelaide
49. Sam Gilbey - 188cm 71kg - Claremont
50. Harry Rowston - 180cm - Calder/GWS A (GWS A)
---------------------------------------------------------------- Quality Prospects ^
51Callum Verrell..... 76Tyson Walls
52Will Verrall..... 77Harvey Gallagher
53Phoenix Foster..... 78Luke Michael
54Ben Hempel..... 79Jason Gillbee
55Cooper Harvey..... 80Kai Windsor
56Jakob Ryan..... 81Rye Penny
57Harry Lemmey..... 82Jordyn Baker
58Thomas Scully..... 83Rohan MacNeill
59Jayden Davey..... 84Ted Clohesy
60Max Michaelanny..... 85Max Clohesy
61Jovan Petric..... 86Olivier Northam
62Jaxon Binns..... 87James Van Es
63Caleb Mitchell..... 88Jackson Broadbent
64Luke Bailey..... 89Felix Fogarty
65Tyrell Dewar..... 90Oscar Murdoch
66Jerome Lawrence...... 91Toby McMullin
67Yuyu Ashwin...... 92Kane Bevan
68Griff Julian..... 93Brady Wright
69Seth Campbell..... 94Jack Cleaver
70Harry Cole..... 95Steely Green
71Nick Madden...... 96Lloyd Johnston
72Max Knobel..... 97Will Edwards
73Jack O'Sullivan..... 98Nathan Barkla
74Nick Sadler..... 99Finn Emile-Brennan
75Hudson O'Keefe..... 100Jaelen Pavlidis
hopefully i havnt missed any?
Binns has good stats, but his footy can be a bit rough, a club will have to iron out all the kinks in his game, i stand by where i have him, he could go anywhere in the draft, but this is where i rate him, i think he has some good qualities like his running game and ability to get on the end of chains of play, but its his breakdown with disposal that has been a constant and that needs fixing imo.Hope the Saints pounce on Magor at pick 45. Have Seth Campbell & Jovan Petric as my rookies
Jaxon Binns & Harvey Gallagher look too late, there.
I recall big fella Will Bella doing well in the testing last year, but didn't get picked up.2km time trial
Oliver Hollands (Murray Bushrangers) – 5:54 minutes
Jason Gillbee (Bendigo Pioneers) – 5:54
Jaxon Binns (Dandenong Stingrays) – 6:00
20m sprint
Edward Allan (Claremont) – 2.81 seconds
Toby McMullin (Sandringham Dragons) – 2.880
Coby Burgiel (Gippsland Power) – 2.883
Agility
Darcy Jones (Swan Districts) – 7.70 seconds
Jaxon Binns (Dandenong Stingrays) – 8.18
Elijah Hewett (Swan Districts) – 8.21
Vertical jump
Darcy Jones (Swan Districts) – 75cm
James Van Es (Greater Western Victoria Rebels) – 75
Jack O'Sullivan (Oakleigh Chargers) – 71
Running vertical jump
James Van Es (Greater Western Victoria Rebels) – 98cm
Aaron Cadman (Greater Western Victoria Rebels) – 93
Will Verrall (South Adelaide) – 90
Josh Weddle (Oakleigh Chargers) – 90
Ed Allan with some break neck speed, his 3 runs were 2.85, 2.82 and 2.81 which is quick af boy
Darcy Jones showing his agility breaking Stephen Hills 14 year old record
and for a big FB James Van Es doing well in all of the runs and jumps, Weddle also having good runs and jumps for a big man as well, Ginbey also putting in good times for his sprint/2km time trial
Burgiel has great endurance on field, didnt expect that burst of pace, so good signs for him too
Will Ashcroft didnt train, Bailey Humphrey with a corky from his last 3 games getting it drained so couldnt train and Wardlaw still nursing his hamstrings.
DRAFT COMBINE WRAP: Big winners, record broken
Nat Edwards and Cal Twomey are joined by recruiters and key prospects to unpack the 2022 NAB AFL Draft Combinewww.afl.com.au
Matthew Johnson was a large slower midfielder, who similar to Mitch Szybkowski of this year is all about positioning and ball use, that would be a better comparisonHow would you compare ed allan to matthew johnson from last year, and is he a reach at the hawks second?
Hollands.Who do you think gc will take at pick 5? To much of a stretch to pick the other holland ?
I believe they're referred to as DutchHollands.