Mega Thread Delist/Trade/Draft Supermegaultrathread - Trade Period Edition

"West Coast finally secured Brisbane’s Elliot Yeo for pick 28, and are hoping to acquire Carlton’s Josh Bootsma for pick 31." This is the deal I think will happen shame though we need MIDS/MIDS and 1 tall (utility def/fwd a Johnson or McPharlin type) and that's not Bootsma.

Are you trying to make us suicide? :eek:

when did this massive gap between 'the top 5' and the rest suddenly appear. BF hype at its best.

I don't know who started it, but E87 certainly perpetuated it. He's so certain of the superior quality of the top 5, he cllaimed any of the top 5 players sliding as far as 6 was as likely as the sun failing to rise tomorrow. He didn't list his top 5 though.

It's a true assessment. Top 5ish players (including McDonald) are all highly rated, the next 10-15 are very similar. Drops of again after that.

Not a very deep draft at all.

Remember 3 weeks ago when everyone complained West Coast aren't active enough during trade period?

Yeah, they were good times.

Pepperidge Farm Remembers
Pepperidge+Farm+remembers+_32c4c3fb34887f1aac178fa025344c88.jpg

Brisbane's pick is the danger for Sheed. I think collingwood will pick up a slider from the top 5 given the potential of Kolodjashnij of going at pick 5 - perhaps an Aish/Scharenberg/Billings. Talk is Freeman will go to the dees at 9, which leaves Lennon/Bontempelli/Acres available at pick 10 if Brisbane go Sheed at 7.

Where Kolodjashnij goes will shape the top 10 (ignoring NM's F/S).

Boyd, Kelly, Aish, Billings, Scharenberg, Kolodjashnij, Freeman, Sheed, Lennon, Bontempelli, Acres are all vying for top 10. Then there's Salem and Crouch outside of them.

I'd be happy with any of Sheed, Acres, Freeman, Bontempelli or Lennon.

Hang on. McDonald isn't in the top 5, he's pick 8. List your top 5 and we'll review after the draft.

Top 5 on talent though and easily.

About bloody time...Brisbane are holding everything up and pissing a lot of people off right now.

Once one drops watch the flood gates open for the next 48 hours :thumbsu:

If you think there is a substantial drop in quality after the first 5 picks in the national draft of 2013, then it stands to reason you should be able to list the top 5 picks and that your expected top 5 will come to fruition.

Further, it also stands to reason that should any of this top 5 be available at 6, we made a terrible decision to trade our pick 6.

Carlton’s National Recruiting Manager Wayne Hughes rated Bootsma as “potentially a running midfielder”.
:D

If you think there is a substantial drop in quality after the first 5 picks in the national draft of 2013, then it stands to reason you should be able to list the top 5 picks and that your expected top 5 will come to fruition.

Further, it also stands to reason that should any of this top 5 be available at 6, we made a terrible decision to trade our pick 6.

There is a quote function mate. It helps for me to see that you have responded to me.

It's not my opinion. Just seems to be the opinion of the know it all's and recruiters that the first 5ish are special.

If it was my opinion I don't think I would even have Boyd at 1 and I would likely have Sheed in it.:)

This would confirm Vosso is trying to ruin our list. Unless WCE plan to revolutionise footy by playing 15 fringe HBF'ers in the one team.

How many genuine full time midfielders did Hawthorn have?

I counted two this year - Sewell and Smith

The rest played a variety of flank / KP along with stints in the midfield

Compare that with us who have a clear delineation between flank and midfield, with perhaps Rosa the only one who does both

How many genuine full time midfielders did Hawthorn have?

I counted two this year - Sewell and Smith

The rest played a variety of flank / KP along with stints in the midfield

Compare that with us who have a clear delineation between flank and midfield, with perhaps Rosa the only one who does both

Spot on.

I'm not a fan of Bootsma but in fairness, he's a 191cm, 77kg player who isn't yet 21. He's clearly well undersized. It's too early to be smashing him I think.

He really needs another 7/8 kgs to be competitive, whether that's possible or not remains to be seen.

Some draft info on Bootsma http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/21-josh-bootsma.892801/

Straight swap according to EQ.

Edit: sorry, meant to quote your Shaw-Adams post pantskyle, I know how you like to be quoted ;)

But you tagged me at least. :hearts:

I reckon some picks will also be involved.