D3 Division 3 - 2012

Mate how do you have Kew finishing fourth and you predict they will get the four points over both AOC and SFX? Think you may be forgetting a draw.

Based on a likely top 5 of
1. Yarra Valley
2. Ivanhoe
3. Kew
4. UHS-VU
5. Aquinas

What will the finals draw look like?

Yup...That's what I have in the left column... I just couldn't be assed redoing the table.... I get the same as you.

Get it together Saint Lenny. Gee, Aquinas v Bears is yet another Match of the Round the two have been involved in. Seems that every round for the past 6 has seen one of the two sides fighting a ripper out. Wonder if the boys are starting to fatigue!!! Agree with you big waz on your ladder, I really do hope the Powerhouse get up as well, need to have one of the two mainstayers (Hawthorn and Powerhouse) keeping their spot!

An almost undefeated season for the Winemakers, just couldn't quite replicate Prahran's effort. Like Prahran, Yarra Valley have been absolutely dominant and deserve to go up to Div. 2. However, finals are an anomaly for some sides.

Week 1 of the finals will either go like this:
YV: bye
Ivanhoe v Kew (First Semi Final)
Aquinas v UHS (First Elimination Final)

or this:

YV: Bye
Ivanhoe v Aquinas (FSF)
Kew v UHS (FEF)

Watch this space, or alternatively another space that also details the results of Div. 3.

Agree with you big waz on your ladder, I really do hope the Powerhouse get up as well, need to have one of the two mainstayers (Hawthorn and Powerhouse) keeping their spot!

Newsflash: Got a PM asking if we would like 5 kegs to turn up at our club rooms front door on Monday morning. Think it came from out near 'the lake'? May need to continue to rest a few leading up to finals. It's not 'tanking' it's 'player management'......:D

Dee Three - coach got back to me on my request to play. Said, couldn't give me a game. It was not because I was old, fat and bald ...... just, I'm no good! Back to washing cars me thinks!

Chump

Newsflash: Got a PM asking if we would like 5 kegs to turn up at our club rooms front door on Monday morning. Think it came from out near 'the lake'? May need to continue to rest a few leading up to finals. It's not 'tanking' it's 'player management'......:D

Dee Three - coach got back to me on my request to play. Said, couldn't give me a game. It was not because I was old, fat and bald ...... just, I'm no good! Back to washing cars me thinks!

Chump

think you would need to "rest" more than a few players

Doubt that members..... we have ALWAYS had close games at Powerhouse and with the sniff of avoiding relegation, I would expect a very close game. Several injuries to the Hoes ..... Eddo back in his groove at FF .....hoes by 3 points.

Chump.

Things hotting up.

Clearly YV are the team to beat, have been all year and will remain to be up until about 4.40pm on September 22. only question is will they be beat or won't they? My Ivanhoe bias says we can beat them, I'm sure if we played at our best we can. But we have to make it first... was very impressed with the way Kew went about it on the weekend, they're a much improved side and have momentum at the right time of year, so Kew vs my boys in the prelim if all pans out as expected.

For us tomorow, Power House won't be a walk in the park, they usually put up a fight and have a bit to play for.. plus a few changes for the black and white this week.

pre-season I called it that Ivanhoe will win D3 Reserves this year, ginally that is looking more like a possibility. slowly getting a side together capable of beating anyone in the division. A few injuries this week, but should be right come finals time!

AOC v Kew - if they play like last week no doubt they'll win
Wick v Haw -
RC v YV -
PH v IAFC - 3 goals
SFX v UHS - UHS looking for 3rd stil.
OW v AP - OW are ordinary.

Only 5 kegs? Cheapskates. Would have offered at least 10.

Can you get 10 sorted OTP? We will go to the highest bidder......and we love a cold drop at Hoe Park :p

Very interesting week indeed:

AOC v Kew - Was impressed with Kew last week, clearly outplayed us, but I do like the form of AOC and when they play at home they are tough to beat. Flip of the coin this, but I think if they can hold Brazzale to about 3 majors, they will win. AOC by 13 points and ending Kew's double chance surge.

Wick v Haw - Would imagine the Wicks at home will be too strong for the Hawks - although both like playing a small ground. The Wicks firepower to get them over the line by 23 points.

RC v YV - The Tigersnakes got a few players back last week and played some better footy. But YV have been the standout team and in recent weeks have been smashing everyone. Even in the bog that is KB Oval - I see the winemakers continuing thier outstanding season in style. YV by 32 points.

PH v IAFC - Already predicted a close one with the Hoes a little 'light on' this week and the House with plenty to play for. Always a physical encounter with the house - so looking forward to that again. Hoes 3 points.

SFX v UHS - UHS are still in the hunt for the double chance and will be throwing their all at SFX this weekend. The SFX boys have just dropped off a bit from early season form that had them as a serious contender, but when they get it together - can play. I can see the SFX boys home ground knowledge helping them pinch this one - 5 points.

OW v AP - Well after wrapping them up and seeing them play well against the Hoes a couple bac, the boys from AP have stopped. With nothing to play for, they could be 'looking' for the end of season to arrive and get away for post season celebrations. Enter OW with EVERYTHING to play for and a 300th milestone to boot. ( que dramatic music ). OW were horrible last week, can they turn that around? Yes- OW 2 points.

Good luck all - no injuries.

Chump.

Can you get 10 sorted OTP? We will go to the highest bidder......and we love a cold drop at Hoe Park :p

Very interesting week indeed:

AOC v Kew - Was impressed with Kew last week, clearly outplayed us, but I do like the form of AOC and when they play at home they are tough to beat. Flip of the coin this, but I think if they can hold Brazzale to about 3 majors, they will win. AOC by 13 points and ending Kew's double chance surge.

Wick v Haw - Would imagine the Wicks at home will be too strong for the Hawks - although both like playing a small ground. The Wicks firepower to get them over the line by 23 points.

RC v YV - The Tigersnakes got a few players back last week and played some better footy. But YV have been the standout team and in recent weeks have been smashing everyone. Even in the bog that is KB Oval - I see the winemakers continuing thier outstanding season in style. YV by 32 points.

PH v IAFC - Already predicted a close one with the Hoes a little 'light on' this week and the House with plenty to play for. Always a physical encounter with the house - so looking forward to that again. Hoes 3 points.

SFX v UHS - UHS are still in the hunt for the double chance and will be throwing their all at SFX this weekend. The SFX boys have just dropped off a bit from early season form that had them as a serious contender, but when they get it together - can play. I can see the SFX boys home ground knowledge helping them pinch this one - 5 points.

OW v AP - Well after wrapping them up and seeing them play well against the Hoes a couple bac, the boys from AP have stopped. With nothing to play for, they could be 'looking' for the end of season to arrive and get away for post season celebrations. Enter OW with EVERYTHING to play for and a 300th milestone to boot. ( que dramatic music ). OW were horrible last week, can they turn that around? Yes- OW 2 points.

Good luck all - no injuries.

Chump.

Agree with most of these Chump.

AOC v Kew: Both teams in red hot form and fighting for the chance in the finals. Kew to win by 15 points, too much depth.

Elst v Haw: Elsternwick to down the Hawks by 50.

Rich V YV: Closer game than expected with Richmond getting back some big players back in recent weeks. YV by 7 points.

PH V Hoes: Went and saw the Kew v Ivanhoe game last week. Hoes didn't go very hard at the contest and against the Irish will pay the ultimate price. PH by 2 points.

SFX V UHS: UHS with too much to play for. UHS by 25 points.

OW V AP: Old Westbournes miserable season to continue. AP by 23 points.

Geez, Chump and Richo, you are surely dreaming if you think the 'House can get within 20 goals of a wounded Ivanhoe! Got to question how much motivation the big Moose has after kicking his hundredth though, will he be as potent in Div 2?? ;)

SFX to beat the UHS by 10
Kew over AQUINAS in MOTR by 2
The brilliant winemakers will juice the Snakes by 48
Ivanhoe to slam the hapless House by 110
OW to... Not have a sniff against AP and lose by 10 goals
The wickers to get up over the Div 4 dominators by 29

Still think everyone is prematurely discounting Uni High getting third spot.

Aquinas and Kew will be a cracker and could go either way but Aquinas at home may be enough which would put Kew out of 3rd.

The bigger question is can Uni High beat St Francis away.

40/60 but if they do and aquinas win which would mean Aquinas and uni High are equal on points.

Uni High have the better % and face old westbourne at home while Aquinas have Yarra away!!!

I hear the House have gone searching for all available players and even approached the big long haired tatteood ruckman from last season to get him on the track for this week against The Hoes!

They have scoured every Irish pub, backpakers and waterhole for any fit healthy strong Irish blokes to run out this week and rescue them from a total Ivanhoe demolition.

The Hoes should be worried this week...worried that they will get leather poisoning and worried that there wont be enough beer in the Power House fridge to celebrate them securing the double chance.

Uni Hi might just struggle against the greek midfield of St FX...Dimma will carve them up!

Kews win last week might not be enough to get them the top 3 spot they need...and they might slip against AOC.

Who cares about The Wickers and The Hacks...

Maybe...just maybe...the Westies might lift just one more time for the big 300 celebration...AP might just be in cruise control.

As for Yarra...let's hope they don't trip over their ego's in the run in to the finals...

Aquinas vs Kew - A massive game for both with the double chance firmly on the line in what should be a tense game with the Bloods just getting the nod from the Bears.
Elsternwick vs Hawthorn - Mathamatically the Wicks can still grab a finals berth and that should motivate them to clip the Hawks wings here.
Richmond vs Yarra Valley - The winemakers shouldn't have too much difficulty handling the Tiger-Snakes who are preparing for hibernation shortly.
Power House vs Ivanhoe - The Hoes are in a holding pattern waiting for the second semi while the Power need another win to force the relegation battle, and funnier results have eventuated in the closing week than 12th beating 2nd.
St Francis Xavier vs UHS-VU - The Students are still holding onto that finals spot with an eye to an even bigger prize while the X-Men are closing out a disappointing season.
Old Westbourne vs Albert Park - The relegation trapdoor is starting to shake open for the Old-Boys and they will need to get over the Falcons to be safe for another season.

Aquinas vs Kew - A massive game for both with the double chance firmly on the line in what should be a tense game with the Bloods just getting the nod from the Bears.
Elsternwick vs Hawthorn - Mathamatically the Wicks can still grab a finals berth and that should motivate them to clip the Hawks wings here.
Richmond vs Yarra Valley - The winemakers shouldn't have too much difficulty handling the Tiger-Snakes who are preparing for hibernation shortly.
Power House vs Ivanhoe - The Hoes are in a holding pattern waiting for the second semi while the Power need another win to force the relegation battle, and funnier results have eventuated in the closing week than 12th beating 2nd.
St Francis Xavier vs UHS-VU - The Students are still holding onto that finals spot with an eye to an even bigger prize while the X-Men are closing out a disappointing season.
Old Westbourne vs Albert Park - The relegation trapdoor is starting to shake open for the Old-Boys and they will need to get over the Falcons to be safe for another season.

i am certainly not from sfx but i dont think they have had a disapointing season, they have come up never looked like being relegated had a few good wins against sides above them & there 2's are going to play finals. 2 yrs ago when they came up they were terrible so all is not lost for the x men

as a few clever punters predicted, Ivanhoe v Powerhouse was close all day. Conditions suited the PH big bodies and they made the Hoe work for it til the very end.

was very very heavy down at Power House thanks to the big rain on Friday night.

Should be another tough game against the Wicks this week before finals.

Still think everyone is prematurely discounting Uni High getting third spot. Aquinas and Kew will be a cracker and could go either way but Aquinas at home may be enough which would put Kew out of 3rd. The bigger question is can Uni High beat St Francis away.
40/60 but if they do and aquinas win which would mean Aquinas and uni High are equal on points.
Uni High have the better % and face old westbourne at home while Aquinas have Yarra away!!!

On the money Wamba. With AOC the only team to have beaten YV this year, it should be a cracker YV v AOC this week. Was it a lucky win or are AOC the winemakers Kryptonite?

Even with a very good win on the weekend - you would think that OW will not be strong enough to get over UHS-VU who are gunning for a possible return of the double chance.

Hoes v Wicks will be a ripper too - with the Wicks an outside chance to still make the finals should the Bears stumble in the final round to SFX.

Finals just around the corner.......

Chump.

On the money Wamba. With AOC the only team to have beaten YV this year, it should be a cracker YV v AOC this week. Was it a lucky win or are AOC the winemakers Kryptonite?

Even with a very good win on the weekend - you would think that OW will not be strong enough to get over UHS-VU who are gunning for a possible return of the double chance.

Hoes v Wicks will be a ripper too - with the Wicks an outside chance to still make the finals should the Bears stumble in the final round to SFX.

Finals just around the corner.......

Chump.

The Hoes would want to get a solid win this week to get some momentum going into the finals... But something tells me they'd much prefer the Wicks to grab 5th spot than the Bears!

I think that if the Bears can't beat SFX at home in the last game - then maybe they don't deserve to play finals? :cool:

Of the current 4 teams we are likely to play in the finals - the Bears would rate as the 3rd most concerning IMHO. Bears overated #justsayin :p

Chump.

Woweee (to quote the great BT) this week served up some interesting results to ensure the top flight are all still fighting and trying to arrange the deckchairs for the finals dance!

Who would have thought that the veterans from Wickland would still be in it coming into the final stanza!

Ivanhoe did what it needed to do...fell behind early and then held the House goalless for the final three quarters while grinding away to snatch victory from the jaws of defeat.

In reality, Ivanhoe had them covered all the way!

I'm told that the mud was so bad on the Power House oval that they changed to a new ball every quarter. Must have cost the Power House boys a pretty penny in red leather!

I'm wondering whether Chump pulled on the boots this weekend, not really the conditions to suit him...likes it dry and light...just like his wine, rather than heavy and dark...just like his women!

How about the post match Chump, Mitch and Wamba...do the House still serve those pints?

The House now go down to Division 4 with their best mates Hawthorn while Westies live to fight another day after a miracle win against the Parkers.

Seems the Parkes bank account might just have swelled a little over the weekend...but I'm just saying...

YV already have one hand on the cup...(their other hand is on...you know...) while Ivanhoe need to lift dramatically to beat them. No goals from The big Moose was a disappointing effort. Maybe he has run his race? Hit the ton and go home?

AOC are the wildcard, they have proven they can beat the Valley however, I'm not so sure they can get past the other sides in the finals.

It's a 2 horse race in my opinion...but I've been known to be wrong before...

How about the post match Chump, Mitch and Wamba...do the House still serve those pints?

The House now go down to Division 4 with their best mates Hawthorn while Westies live to fight another day after a miracle win against the Parkers.

Seems the Parkes bank account might just have swelled a little over the weekend...but I'm just saying...

YV already have one hand on the cup...(their other hand is on...you know...) while Ivanhoe need to lift dramatically to beat them. No goals from The big Moose was a disappointing effort. Maybe he has run his race? Hit the ton and go home?

They had beer on tap Dee Three and i'm sure the pints were flowing but I had my beer from bottles in the aftermatch.

The House's ground was very heavy and the Hoes will need to play better in the finals than they have for the past month but as we all know, no-one's going to care about round 17 if you hit top form in the finals!

Woweee (to quote the great BT) this week served up some interesting results to ensure the top flight are all still fighting and trying to arrange the deckchairs for the finals dance!

Who would have thought that the veterans from Wickland would still be in it coming into the final stanza!

Ivanhoe did what it needed to do...fell behind early and then held the House goalless for the final three quarters while grinding away to snatch victory from the jaws of defeat.

In reality, Ivanhoe had them covered all the way!

I'm told that the mud was so bad on the Power House oval that they changed to a new ball every quarter. Must have cost the Power House boys a pretty penny in red leather!

I'm wondering whether Chump pulled on the boots this weekend, not really the conditions to suit him...likes it dry and light...just like his wine, rather than heavy and dark...just like his women!

AOC are the wildcard, they have proven they can beat the Valley however, I'm not so sure they can get past the other sides in the finals.

They seemed to handle Kew and UHS,I'm guessing you mean Ivanhoe,hopefully we'll know the answer in 2weeks.

I think the results from the weekend were a bit of a write off, conditions were utterly atrocious across town. However, Aquinas knocking off Kew presents some interesting questions. Kew beat Aquinas by 70 the first time they played, but Aquinas pretty much did the same to Kew at the bog out in Ringwood. Aquinas have the momentum and I expect the two to meet in the first week of the finals! Couple of Kew players were out and I have been informed that Aquinas had a couple of niggles as well. It is a long season, whoever has the most depth and momentum going into the finals usually wins!

[quote="Dee Three, post: 25311584, member: 41869"
No goals from The big Moose was a disappointing effort. Maybe he has run his race? Hit the ton and go home?
[/quote]

G'day D3!! Can't say too much re any impending comeback - need to keep the opposition guessing re finals time ;)

As for my taste of wine and women - not the forum for such discussion .... my wife reads BF and as such any comments produce a lose/lose situation!
(That being said a cheeky 2007 Stoneleigh Raupara Piont Noir during the winter months is worth a run from time to time).

Moose - run his race ....... that's what they all HOPE. Not ideal conditions for a fast leading and high marking forward. Even the great Eddddddoooooooo could only manage two goals - both in the first 1/4 with new pill and howling breeze. I will back the Moose to continue his good form this season over the coming weeks.

AOC - in some great form and look very good at the right time of year. Can the YV machine put a stop to their surge?

Chump.

Good write up. Hard to see YV dropping this one, although stranger things have happened! Ivanhoe the obvious choice to knock them off.

Although AOC have knocked off both Kew and UHS-VU in successive weeks. Form is a wonderful thing. Ivanhoe the only team they haven't beaten. Most likely prelim will be between ivanhoe and aquinas. Thoughts?