Play Nice Dusty Incident #chopstickgate [$5k suspended fine - Club Statement Page 229 of Thread]

Luke Hodge - captain of the club gets caught drink driving (no suspension, $450 fine)
Michael Hurley - gets extremely intoxicated, tries to evade cab fare, kicks the cab driver in the groin and punches him after being approached for not paying the fare (NAB challenge & 3 weeks, no fine)
Taylor Adams - pleads guilty to affray and recklessly causing injury where one man ends up with a broken jaw (1 week, $3,347 fine)
Liam Jurrah - charged with a machete attack causing serious head injuries to a man (no suspension or fine - Melbourne said they would "stand by Jurrah")
Alan Didak - has a car ride with an accused murderer who starts firing shots out of his window, continues to drink with bikies at a club house after in Campbellfield (no suspension or fine)
Nathan Bock - assaulted girlfriend in public and caused property damage (1 week, $5,000 fine)
Daniel Kerr - charged twice with assault in 2007 (no suspension or fine)
Steve Johnson - is caught speeding almost 80km over the speed limit (no suspension or fine - Geelong officials dismiss it as a "brain spasm")
Jeff Farmer - pleaded guilty to assaulting his partner by hitting her several times in the head (no suspension, $2,000 fine)
Ben Cousins & Michael Gardner - questioned by police over telephone calls they allegedly received in Melbourne that were made following a brawl and shooting at a Perth nightclub. Police believed they had conversations with at least one of the two men charged with disposing of the gun after the brawl (no suspension or fine)
Collin Sylvia - allegedly assaulted his girlfriend and threatened to kill a passerby who intervened. It is believed he was intoxicated at the time (no suspension or fine - Melbourne say they're "disappointed Collin didn't advise us of the matter")
Simon Goodwin - assaulted a photographer before threatening to "f***ing kill" him after running amok at an Adelaide pub at 11am (no suspension or fine - Adelaide call it a "learning experience")
Brodie Holland - was charged with assaulting two women out the front of a Melbourne nightclub ($2,500 fine, no suspension - Collingwood "disappointed")

Dustin Martin - is extremely intoxicated, threatens to kill/stab a woman with chopsticks in a restaurant after being told to "settle down" (potential delisting or 12 month suspension and maximum fine)

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Brilliant post, should be sent to all media outlets so this thing can be put to bed.

Nathan Bock
- assaulted girlfriend in public
- threw a glass of beer in her face
- was escorted from the premises
- caused $2500 property damage
- was charged & put on a good behaviour bond

AFL-sanctioned punishment: one match + $5K fine

And people want Dustin out for a full season?

People forget all this stuff! Luke Hodge incident, his team mates being accused of rape, the Geelong players, Toby Greene etc...
No one has spoken about that in relation to Dustins incident. Surely it all has to be put in perspective! Isn't it a little too late to start using him as an example? Shouldn't it have already been done way before this? Or is it just because his name is "Dustin Martin" everyone wants his head?

Like I've said before, I in no way shape or form condone what Dusty did and i do believe he needs to cop his fair wack. Violence of any kind against anyone is unacceptable and if it happened to anyone i personally knew Id want justice. People should definitely be held accountable for their actions and I believe he will. But I'm also a fair and reasonable person and believe, we should all look at the big picture and put it all in perspective. Precedence has already been set with countless of other incidents, don't we think that this should be held in the same regard?

Suggestions of suspending him for 12 months just not fit the crime in my opinion, don't see that's helping anyone.
Just my thoughts at this stage.

People have killed themselves from social media abuse. the way you are carrying on one would think you are emotionally connected to this woman considering you know her age.

I know her age because i read what is going on dude. I am emotionally drained by this f***ing club. lmaooo...yeah people have killed themselves over social media abuse...and?? ...we have dudes in here that have no concept of the gravity of what has gone down...so are you suggesting they are at risk of self harm?

If he's banned for a year, I'd say his time at Richmond will be over.

Other clubs..... 50:50

Not saying this makes the punishment valid or invalid, but if this hits I think we need to start thinking life after dusty asap
She's accepted his apology.
Whats suspending him going to do to his mindset?
Sending him right over the edge?
He needs more than Choco's lifes lessons thats for sure.

Finally back from my Ban!

I wanted to quote this post as I agree with it 100%. Let me say first, Dusty deserves to get his right whack, IMO you should never threaten anyone regardless of gender but to threaten a women is a low disgusting act. with that said, the amount of hysteria is frightening to see. You would think Dusty, not only stabbed her in the eye ball but also screamed "This is for Syria" while he did it.

Dusty deserves a fine, deserves counseling to help him to grow as a person and learn from this, he is a kid btw still. A rich kid, and a bogan but still one error does not mean he should be taken out the back and shot. Dusty has done a stack of work at kids hospitals, clinics, even the Madeline foundation, all that good should not be thrown out for one bad act.

Back on point though. Carlie takes drugs...afl grumble he only gets a few weeks.

Hodge gets drunk and drives - Over 245 people this year have died to road death, a few caused by drunk drivers and he gets off scott free, due to being in a final

Dusty gets drunk, threatens a women and should be deregistered or delisted or 12 month suspension........ IMO that is way out of whack.

For the record, I would hope he gets AA counseling, a 12 week suspended sentence, ie if you **** up again you are out for 3 months and a heavy fine that the PA may let him take.

I like when people make sense. ..

Luke Hodge - captain of the club gets caught drink driving (no suspension, $450 fine)
Michael Hurley - gets extremely intoxicated, tries to evade cab fare, kicks the cab driver in the groin and punches him after being approached for not paying the fare (NAB challenge & 3 weeks, no fine)
Taylor Adams - pleads guilty to affray and recklessly causing injury where one man ends up with a broken jaw (1 week, $3,347 fine)
Liam Jurrah - charged with a machete attack causing serious head injuries to a man (no suspension or fine - Melbourne said they would "stand by Jurrah")
Alan Didak - has a car ride with an accused murderer who starts firing shots out of his window, continues to drink with bikies at a club house after in Campbellfield (no suspension or fine)
Nathan Bock - assaulted girlfriend in public and caused property damage (1 week, $5,000 fine)
Daniel Kerr - charged twice with assault in 2007 (no suspension or fine)
Steve Johnson - is caught speeding almost 80km over the speed limit (no suspension or fine - Geelong officials dismiss it as a "brain spasm")
Jeff Farmer - pleaded guilty to assaulting his partner by hitting her several times in the head (no suspension, $2,000 fine)
Ben Cousins & Michael Gardner - questioned by police over telephone calls they allegedly received in Melbourne that were made following a brawl and shooting at a Perth nightclub. Police believed they had conversations with at least one of the two men charged with disposing of the gun after the brawl (no suspension or fine)
Collin Sylvia - allegedly assaulted his girlfriend and threatened to kill a passerby who intervened. It is believed he was intoxicated at the time (no suspension or fine - Melbourne say they're "disappointed Collin didn't advise us of the matter")
Simon Goodwin - assaulted a photographer before threatening to "f***ing kill" him after running amok at an Adelaide pub at 11am (no suspension or fine - Adelaide call it a "learning experience")
Brodie Holland - was charged with assaulting two women out the front of a Melbourne nightclub ($2,500 fine, no suspension - Collingwood "disappointed")

Dustin Martin - is extremely intoxicated, threatens to kill/stab a woman with chopsticks in a restaurant after being told to "settle down" (potential delisting or 12 month suspension and maximum fine)

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
Have you posted this anywhere else because you should.

Trying to make out he was doing drugs in there. Maybe he was pissing every 10 minutes which is what happens when you're drinking, maybe he had the shits? Who knows. Strange how she made sure she told him she works for channel seven. The guy was baited, his reaction was idiotic and unacceptable but she knew what she was doing.

The media have been waiting for him to **** up, let's face it he's no genius. Some channel 7 lackey saw her chance and he took the bait. What's funny is if that was hutchy he did that too I guarantee a lot of people would be singing his praises.
Exactly, baiting was my first thought when I saw the interview too. She even said "he asked me if I was going to dob on him and I saw well I WILL be contacting the club on Monday" which was when he then slammed his hand down. If someone said they were gonna ring my boss and tell him I was drunk on a Saturday night id get angry too.

In all of this tho...any punishment must fit the injustice, real or perceived. And when precedents have been set, or not, we are rightly allowed to compare the standard allegedly being upheld.

Lol the irony is a C7 female employee calling Dusty to account, the media in uproar & yet C7/MMM have Wayne Carey up in headlights. Carey gripped a boob when he was building his greatest CHF resume, and did some 'super' things In retirement.

She's accepted his apology.
Whats suspending him going to do to his mindset?
Sending him right over the edge?
He needs more than Choco's lifes lessons thats for sure.

To be blunt how he copes with the punishment should not be a consideration

It's about ensuring the sanction is appropriate considering his actions

I'm just over all this bs, not excusing his actions but like he isn't a robot, put any 24 year old guy pissed in his position, pretty sure they would've been pissed off as we'll

To be blunt how he copes with the punishment should not be a consideration

It's about ensuring the sanction is appropriate considering his actions

If it's worthy of apparently a year ban shouldn't the cops be doing the punishing. How is a year off helpful to anyone it doesn't send a message at all and is likely to make him worse.

No one who actually acts like this is going to consider Dustin getting 12 months off and reconsider their life choices they might if he is dealt with via the courts.

As I said earlier he should get a few weeks a big fine and be sent to meet with Rosie Batty the fine to be paid to the charity of her choosing and then lengthy lengthy community service at a place of her choosing (if they will have him) and if considered serious enough let the courts deal the final punishment giving him a year off footy helps no one and I would actually be disappointed if the club bowed to public pressure on this one and gave him a flat 12 months to the point of not renewing the soon to be 3 memberships I pay for.

If it's worthy of apparently a year ban shouldn't the cops be doing the punishing. How is a year off helpful to anyone it doesn't send a message at all and is likely to make him worse.

No one who actually acts like this is going to consider Dustin getting 12 months off and reconsider their life choices they might if he is dealt with via the courts.

As I said earlier he should get a few weeks a big fine and be sent to meet with Rosie Batty the fine to be paid to the charity of her choosing and then lengthy lengthy community service at a place of her choosing (if they will have him) and if considered serious enough let the courts deal the final punishment giving him a year off footy helps no one and I would actually be disappointed if the club bowed to public pressure on this one and gave him a flat 12 months to the point of not renewing the soon to be 3 memberships I pay for.

As per the age article, apparently if the afl/RFC believe the lady felt at risk of physical harm, they will refer to the cops. If she didn't, and he's just a rude drunk flog, the league will handle in house

100% pure speculation, but if a year is in play it would be in conjunction with this being booted to the cops

so my aggression on a BF internet board is akin to the aggression shown by a blind drunk person threatening to stab a woman with chopsticks, correct? I guess you are wanting to sound like some kind of semi intelligent dude with some kind of point and will leave you to it...:thumbsu:

Apologies for sounding semi intelligent..

Facts, lady had accepted his apology twice... We still don't have a clear picture of what occurred and in what context.

One thing i have learnt over the years is to understand all information and talk to all involved and make a informed decision in consultation. The club seems to be doing this, its due process, nothing to do with sounding intelligent, its the correct process without hysteria.

I can't listen to KB any more. How anyone takes him seriously is beyond me. He is a legend of our club and our game, but his opinion is becoming more delusional by the day.

I think that Dusty a FULL alcohol ban for season 2016. Need to set some boundaries. Also fine him and maybe a week on the sidelines. This "one year ban" it is a joke. The problem is Dusty can't handle alcohol. That's what needs to be addressed NOW. What the hell is any player doing drunk during pre season ?

I would have preferred the Police were involved. If her story is 100% truthful, she would have nothing to hide ? She works for the media. OK.... Dusty's reaction (if true) is totally unacceptable.

As for Dusty's rap sheet, I can't see anything out of the ordinary. Giving the bird to Lollingwood feral is a community service in my book.

I can't listen to KB any more. How anyone takes him seriously is beyond me. He is a legend of our club and our game, but his opinion is becoming more delusional by the day.

I think that Dusty a FULL alcohol ban for season 2016. Need to set some boundaries. Also fine him and maybe a week on the sidelines. This "one year ban" it is a joke. The problem is Dusty can't handle alcohol. That's what needs to be addressed NOW. What the hell is any player doing drunk during pre season ?

I would have preferred the Police were involved. If her story is 100% truthful, she would have nothing to hide ? She works for the media. OK.... Dusty's reaction (if true) is totally unacceptable.

As for Dusty's rap sheet, I can't see anything out of the ordinary. Giving the bird to Lollingwood feral is a community service in my book.

I won't listen to SEN anymore at all .