Preview Elimination Final - Sydney Swans vs GWS, 3:20pm, Saturday August 29 @ UTAS, Launceston

Unpopular opinion but I wouldn't think of it as the end of the world if Sinclair played. Last time I watched him in the VFL he was absolutely dominant and moving better than he has since his first year with us. Who knows, maybe a year spent mostly playing some less-taxing footy in the reserves might've helped rejuvenate his body a bit.

Or maybe I'm just being optimistic lol

Just think we only need a competitive ruck as let's face it Mumford is not Max Gawn at tapping.

No issue if they go with McLean but his game on the weekend offered no more than Reid really and had the benefit of being the focal forward when they rested Franklin late.

I think it may be the decision that pains them the most. If they were fair dinkum about dropping Reid then great back MCLean in see what happens. If it was tactical to try and put a rocket under Reid then they might bring him back.

When Blakey was omitted and then Reid I think both chose a bump when the tackle option was there and it may be a non negotiable at the Swans as you don’t see it often and both cases made the player look ordinary as the opposition made them pay.

Horse's quote if JPK or Mills don't play:

"He (Warner) and Dylan Stephens are two that we can draw upon if needed, James Bell has played as well through forward and midfield.”

Apparently Armatey has a groin strain & McD a broken face.

"He (Warner) and Dylan Stephens are two that we can draw upon if needed, James Bell has played as well through forward and midfield.”

What ?

Horse said injury is the only reason Warner hasn't been in the team yet he's also kinda framing it like Warner will only get in if JPK and Mills don't get up.

Would bring him in for Campbell personally. Think he's further along in his development and could have a bigger impact than Campbell. Though i don't know if Horse will wanna drop Campbell when he just got him back.

Horse said injury is the only reason Warner hasn't been in the team yet he's also kinda framing it like Warner will only get in if JPK and Mills don't get up.

Would bring him in for Campbell personally. Think he's further along in his development and could have a bigger impact than Campbell. Though i don't know if Horse will wanna drop Campbell when he just got him back.

Can’t agree I’m with horse here. Campbell has that elite class and whilst I’d drop Wicks for him and re structure the side I can see the merit in rewarding the players who got us here in the last 6-8 weeks

Campbell didn't though. He played a good game against North but was quiet against Gold Coast. He was also quiet after the first two rounds of the season. I reckon he will be a gun but if we are measuring the role he played in getting us to 15 wins vs the role Warner played, I know who I would take. Wicks, too, for that matter.

Either way it's likely one of those 3 kids is unlucky and misses out on finals. Might as well try and have our best ones out there for us.

Campbell didn't though. He played a good game against North but was quiet against Gold Coast. He was also quiet after the first two rounds of the season. I reckon he will be a gun but if we are measuring the role he played in getting us to 15 wins vs the role Warner played, I know who I would take. Wicks, too, for that matter.

Either way it's likely one of those 3 kids is unlucky and misses out on finals. Might as well try and have our best ones out there for us.

Too big a risk considering we are playing a half fit Mills and JPK back from a small injury. Warner is a gun but he needed to play last week to play this week in my view

I think Warner becomes important more-so if Mills misses completely, and even if not, is a good in. Sure he might be in the 70-80% TOG, but he can relieve in the mids and play at half forward. I think he adds more to our mids than say Wicks who has played 69/72% TOG last 2 weeks (or even Campbell based particularly vs GC). If the solution is just to have Paps or Gulden or Heeney go into the middle more often, that's ok, but you've got to cover the losses somehow (especially as GWS runs deep).

The fact that Stephens got a mention in the same breath as Warner is potentially worth a double hug from Horse. Maybe a sign that the club rates him still and he's not necessarily out the door as some think. Of course, we have limited options and Horse is fairly no nonsense (ROK aside), so wouldn't surprise me if we call on whoever is needed.

Will Hayward did mention McDonald was injured in a Sunday Footy Show interview (8 days ago), so I guess now we know what it is.