Opinion Emotions after losing a grand final

My best advice would be go on a media ban for the next month-internet, newspapers etc etc, so you don't have to read about it.

Find someone who will cry with you and understand that you will be grumpy for weeks.

Beyond that it's just time, it takes time.

I disagree PO.

It takes eternity. Better to get used to suffering the pain than delude yourself that it ever ends.

2 premierships later and it still pisses me off.

Oh yeah me too.

But with time the bad memories fade to a degree and are replaced with happy ones (fortunately in our case two more premierships) so it does get easier.

But you never forget it, I still think about it from time to time and it hurts.

All I was saying was that with time it gets easier, never that it actually goes away.

Well to me, the 2009 h & a season felt empty. All I cared about was the chance to get redemption in September. I smiled when the saints beat us in round 14, and was happy when Jim kicked the point to sink the hawks. Other than that, I basically wished the season away. H&A wins meant nothing.

Then the big day arrived and I could taste redemption. That was until half time. I thought we'd blown it. I was so angry our awesome team, who had done so much to gain the leagues respect in '07, was looking down the barrel of being exactly the same as the team that lost those grand finals in the 90's. Alas, when that final siren went, the emotion of '08 came pouring out.

My suggestion would be to buckle down and try and enjoy next season. I know I didn't.....

My best advice would be go on a media ban for the next month-internet, newspapers etc etc, so you don't have to read about it.

Find someone who will cry with you and understand that you will be grumpy for weeks.

Beyond that it's just time, it takes time.

Perhaps a visit to the Geelong board will be cathartic?

Maybe not.

honestly i have never felt how it feels to lose a grand final, and it bloody hurts.

I come to you guys since you also felt it and want to know what gives you the desire continue following your team through the whole year and just end up losing on the big day?

Hawks where clearly the best side in 2012 as were the cats in 08... im just lost for words atm so i came to you guys as you also went through it.

Clearly you weren't the best. Don't compare our 23-2 '08 with your 2012.not in the same class.

"and want to know what gives you the desire continue following your team"

Well that sounds rather melodramatic. Winning premierships is not some kind of right.

Google 1989 and 2008's AFL Grand Finals, and tell me whether we have anything to tell you.

Oh yeah me too.

But with time the bad memories fade to a degree and are replaced with happy ones (fortunately in our case two more premierships) so it does get easier.

But you never forget it, I still think about it from time to time and it hurts.

All I was saying was that with time it gets easier, never that it actually goes away.

Pure , I think you have struck on why it has affected Geelong more intensely than some. That 89 was the start of new era , full of hope ..our time will come. Then in 92 it hurt more as it felt as if we'd been promised something that didn't come. To then follow that with 94 & 95. The scarring of that series of results never gave us the chance for for the natural healing of time to do its thing. In fact , it reopened the wound and actually amplified the pain. After we lost to Carlton , there were plenty of GFC supports that just didn't want us to get to GF's anymore. I'd say , a few supporting groups, few sporting clubs can know what that feels like to lose so many , in such a close time line. It would be interesting to talk to a Buffalo Bills supporter , 4 super Bowls in row. You don't get used to it , yes it can fade but it actually gets worse with loss after loss. For me , I felt it on top of the early 80's group. Two Prelim losses , another wasted era.

Think on this. Haw , pinched one in 08. Bonus for them. They have now lost one they should have won. Probably about square. If they fail to win another with this group , it will be looked on as one of the biggest waste's of talent ever along with Ess in 2000. What's more if they do get there again there will be more pressure , lose again and there will be question's on their ability to handle pressure. And all they need is a bit of bad luck , run into a white hot side , have a bad run with injuries and a pattern appears. Suddenly you are supporting a team you have to constantly defend. Only a game , yeah sure.

I went for a massively long walk in 08, on my birthday, the distance from the G to Ringwood, pretty fatigued when I got home, had to endure countless Hawks parties on the way home, copped flak for my Cats attire, and then the Hawks on BF were in their element, and some of their stuff was painfully hilarious.
Is it any consolation Swans had already beaten your team this year? Not really an upset, did you not think their September finals form v the 2 teams you both played to get there was better than yours? That's how I assessed it in 08,09, 2010,2011, 2012. The best team in September won.
It's character developing, painful, but your team is still young, supertalented, hungry, competitive, and will be back next year uglier and better.

Echo Echo echo echo.....
We had to suck it up, then we got on with it.

Yes you suck it , you get on with it but I still can remember explaining to my daughters on the way home from that game."you think its over , its not over. All summer we will be hearing that ...." , and we did , and continue to.

That our team recovered and made our era great has deadened the pain , but its a sore spot that will never totally go away

How many of us would be happier if we'd won 08, Saints had got 09? Possibly every true Geelong supporter.
Just cruel what supporting a team can be like, but spare a thought for St. Kilda after 09 and 2010.

And never be arrogant in your support of your team at the expense of the victims, I'm sure the pain comes back in truckloads when it's reversed.

I was pretty happy to see the Hawks lose not just because of my hatred for them since 08 but because I hope it will change at least some of the flogs out their now they know the pain we felt in 08 they might back off a bit on the future.

How many of us would be happier if we'd won 08, Saints had got 09? Possibly every true Geelong supporter.
Just cruel what supporting a team can be like, but spare a thought for St. Kilda after 09 and 2010.

And never be arrogant in your support of your team at the expense of the victims, I'm sure the pain comes back in truckloads when it's reversed.

So true. Sitting in our seats in 2010 , those Pies supporters created Collingwood haters with my girls. I like the approach of Coach Carter. "When was winning not enough". Take the win , treat the conquered with some respect. Difficult to do some times but thats my approach anyway.

'08 I was at the game with three mates who are Hawk supporters an had to stick around till they were ready to leave the ground then had to put up with them all Saturday night and they were just giving it to me all night.
In the days that followed it was just a total media black out as soon as anything about the game came on or I saw anything about it in print I avoided it like the plague.
Come rd1 '09 I was done worrying about what was the past and was focused on what lay ahead for our boys

just think about it;
has your life changed in any way because of today's result?
if hawthorn had won, would you have anything extra that you don't have right now?
have you lost anything because they lost?

a: no

So true. Sitting in our seats in 2010 , those Pies supporters created Collingwood haters with my girls. I like the approach of Coach Carter. "When was winning not enough". Take the win , treat the conquered with some respect. Difficult to do some times but thats my approach anyway.
Agree totally, even on this anonymous board, I cringe at some stuff that is the opposite to what you just wrote.

Problems? Explain how and why you thought this, using diagrams and rude gestures where appropriate.
1. My formula, see Omen thread.
2. Stokes "played" with injury.
3. Wojo did not play
4. Chappy got injured in finals.
5. Kelly had not recovered from injury.
6. Varcoe got injured v Dogs
7. Bartel got injured during GF.
8. Harley, at his peak, got head injured during GF.
That took 20 seconds, sure there's stuff I've forgotten.
I Feel better now.

1.My formula, see Omen thread.
3. Wojo did not play
I Feel better now.

I'm impressed:thumbsu: . The whole lead-up to that game (and pretty much the week afterwards) are lost forever within my own drunken 'twilight zone' so I'm pretty much f*cked when it comes to explaining our malaise any deeper that 'the players thought they had it won before they took the field'.

Who 'took out' Harley, by the way?

honestly i have never felt how it feels to lose a grand final, and it bloody hurts.

I come to you guys since you also felt it and want to know what gives you the desire continue following your team through the whole year and just end up losing on the big day?

Hawks where clearly the best side in 2012 as were the cats in 08... im just lost for words atm so i came to you guys as you also went through it.
Give me a break.

Every year a team has to deal with losing the GF. It was your turn today. Deal with it and show some balls.

Oh and btw, Hawthorn were just another team this year, they were not a clear cut best team of the year (unlike Geelong in 2008) and they did not have a divine right to win today. They were a contender, that is all.

Now go and cry in your beer.

1.My formula, see Omen thread.
3. Wojo did not play
I Feel better now.

Of course how many times have teams done the same and got away with it. Croad in 08 , Brown in 95 , even today Id reckon three Swans at least were sus going in , then during another couple went down.

For mine conversion covers a multitude of sins. How many did we miss in 08
Today 14:7 beats 11:15. 26 scoring occurrences to 21. Don't know the stats but how often does a side get beaten when the other side has 4 less score occs. If we broke it down into setshots I wonder what it is for each side.
Franklin will not get the heat Cam Mooney got , but he should. His set shot conversion is why we have beaten them the last 8 or 9 times and why they lost today. Looking back , I only wish they had funneled the ball more to him in 08. (If we had not played Scarlo on him , perhaps they would have)

I was pretty happy to see the Hawks lose not just because of my hatred for them since 08 but because I hope it will change at least some of the flogs out their now they know the pain we felt in 08 they might back off a bit on the future.
You know, this sums up my feelings about today.

Personally I don't mind the Hawthorn footy club, they have a number of players I really like. I thought Sewell was HUGE today and I felt he was best on.

However, when Sydney won I couldn't wipe the smile off my face. I truly hope that losing a Grand Final might finally teach a number of flog Hawthorn supporters something.

No doubt, there will be a percentage of Hawk fans that still won't get it but hopefully some of them do....particularly some of the younger Hawk supporters.

I don't mind Hawthorn, it is their supporters I can't stand.

Opinion Emotions after losing a grand final