Autopsy Cats lose to Swans by 30 points

I hate Melbourne as a city. Whether its commuting to watch the footy or just visiting I leave with the same impression. Crowded, congested, overrated shithole.

It has a strong coffee culture. That's it.

It does not matter if you commute by car or public transport. Too congested and too much delays and periods of not moving. Car traffic is abysmal compared to Sydney. Stayed this weekend in Pyrmont. 10-15mins travel to SCG parking. Then 10 mins to the airport hire car depot. No chance in hell of getting anywhere near that in Melbourne.

Then you can commute the CBD by foot. Everywhere you go there's a horde of people in your way.
Genuine dump is Melbourne.

Would have to be paid a lot of money to give up the tranquillity and peace of Geelong and Surfcoast for the rat race that is Melbourne.
I was not going to respond but here I am. Agree about Melbourne.

Best city? Adelaide by a mile

He's always been loyal to his players, particularly the senior ones. That's not to say he doesn't challenge or question them behind doors, but he will never criticise them publicly and will always defend them. Him going away from that attitude would be the first sign of cracks appearing.
It's very hard to believe anything Scott says. He'd make a great politician

Scott's post match presser was interesting. Amazing how he can see positives. Not quite denial but not unlike it. e.g. 'With 10 minutes to go we were in a position to win the game'. Once Sydney got in front late in the 3rd quarter I decided it was now all about limiting Sydney's lead, never about winning. Sydney had so much more control and only their poor kicking stopped it blowing out. They were dominating clearances snd Grundy was killing us. I guess I was watching from another angle.
He said some odd things but I actually agree we were a small chance to pinch it late. Sydney looked to be tiring and we have been finishing games well.
Then as all good teams do, the Swans found an extra gear and piled on 3 quick goals to end it and ran out the game full of run.

Agree and that was the point I was trying to make.

It’s great that he backs the players publicly, but some of his points were absurd. I think sometimes he just plays to the lowest common denominator in the media, and the member base ….. occasionally it would be good to see him call it as we all see it. That doesn’t mean he has to spray players publicly.

Funny thing is with Stanley, you’d reckon he’s copped massive heat from Scott along the way. Quite the opposite, and ask any player to name untouchables in the coaches lists of favs and Stanley was right up there with Selwood and Hawkins. Scott loves him.

He just manages the media by saying the opposite in public of what he thinks privately. Its pretty common in all walks of public life thesedays.

Holy hell Australians are spoilt. Both Melbourne AND Sydney are amazing cities that are the envy of every other country in the world. There's a reason both place always score highly in the annual "World's Most Liveable Cities" rankings. Regardless of which is better, neither is even remotely close to "bad", and far more than that, they're actually both phenomenally great cities when you measure them against the global competition.

But sure, go awf complaining about two of the main reasons why Australia is one of the best countries in the world. Lol.

Im not sure the people doing those ratings understand what liveable means.

I reckon Melbourne is a depressing flat dump

And the worse thing about Melb , are those utterly horrible , beyond horrible , those eyesore inner city high rise buildings- skyscrapers that Sir Henry Bolte built in the 1960s , i believe there is one in Carlton another one in Richmond and another one in Flemington , they are utterly depressing to look at and dominate the Melb skyline , talk about Yuck

Contrast that to Centennial park , stone throw well from the SCG and utterly beautiful , Vaucluse House , 12 acres of land open to the public right on the harbour

They are some of the reasons why Syd median house price is $500,000 more than Melb who is now in 3rd place , Brisbane has gone past it
Sydney is pretty, and the housing commission flats are awful, but Melbourne has a hell of a lot going for it in terms of hospitality (not just coffee), the arts in general, sports and music, plus the Uni campuses around the city liven it up a bit too.

Sydney would be a great place to live if you had stupid money

I hate Melbourne as a city. Whether its commuting to watch the footy or just visiting I leave with the same impression. Crowded, congested, overrated shithole.

It has a strong coffee culture. That's it.

It does not matter if you commute by car or public transport. Too congested and too much delays and periods of not moving. Car traffic is abysmal compared to Sydney. Stayed this weekend in Pyrmont. 10-15mins travel to SCG parking. Then 10 mins to the airport hire car depot. No chance in hell of getting anywhere near that in Melbourne.

Then you can commute the CBD by foot. Everywhere you go there's a horde of people in your way.
Genuine dump is Melbourne.

Would have to be paid a lot of money to give up the tranquillity and peace of Geelong and Surfcoast for the rat race that is Melbourne.

Visits Sydney in holiday mode with rose coloured glasses and now you’re an expert on where’s a better place to live.
Staying in the heart of town is nice, but try being more than 5 kms from the water and things change drastically.
A lot of dribble in your post, but if you think traffic is better in Sydney you have no idea what you’re talking about. Melbourne can be bad, but in Sydney it is horrendous. Can’t even open a tunnel in Sydney without it causing more problems. Ie Rozelle interchange.
As for the airport, it’s the only major international airport that has a curfew. As someone who travels internationally for work, it’s impractical and in this day and age so limiting in what you can do.
Nice that you can get to the airport from the city relatively quickly, but try that from the west of Sydney where the vast majority of the population lives. The new airport being built will further away from the CBD than Tulla is to Melbourne and by some distance.
Seems as though you had a nice HOLIDAY experience, and that’s nice, but relating that into a conversation about where is a better place to live is laughable.
Try living in both before making such arbitrary claims.
Both are great cities and I’ve lived more than a decade of my adult life in both, but I sway towards Melbourne mainly because my interests are more easily catered for there.

The press conference was interesting.

It sounded like a coach who knows these losses could dent the team's confidence and if we drop our bundle we're done. So it was very optimistic, very positive.

The issues are obviously the midfield and ruck.

So the message to the midfield group is to keep going, you're young and new to the positions and things will improve over the back half of the year. That might not happen but it's the only way forward and there's the hope of Danger and Guthrie returning.

The ruck is more tricky because there isn't that hope. Stanley was beaten by Grundy. But he was right that Stanley was very good early. If we could get that Stanley consistently it makes us a much better team and Conway can't physically do that yet. So he's trying to build up Stanley's confidence even if it sounds a bit delusional. But does going back to Conway after the bye ruin Stanley's confidence and if so are we really going to leave Conway in the VFL in the faint hope Stanley can rediscover his best?

Visits Sydney in holiday mode with rose coloured glasses and now you’re an expert on where’s a better place to live.
Staying in the heart of town is nice, but try being more than 5 kms from the water and things change drastically.
A lot of dribble in your post, but if you think traffic is better in Sydney you have no idea what you’re talking about. Melbourne can be bad, but in Sydney it is horrendous. Can’t even open a tunnel in Sydney without it causing more problems. Ie Rozelle interchange.
As for the airport, it’s the only major international airport that has a curfew. As someone who travels internationally for work, it’s impractical and in this day and age so limiting in what you can do.
Nice that you can get to the airport from the city relatively quickly, but try that from the west of Sydney where the vast majority of the population lives. The new airport being built will further away from the CBD than Tulla is to Melbourne and by some distance.
Seems as though you had a nice HOLIDAY experience, and that’s nice, but relating that into a conversation about where is a better place to live is laughable.
Both are great cities and I’ve lived more than a decade of my adult life in both, but I sway towards Melbourne mainly because my interests are more easily catered for there.
Sums it up for me , try having a delayed flight in Sydney after travelling all the way through there from the insane traffic across from town and realising it’s nearly 11.00 and you’ll have to quickly find accomodation

And as you said it’s an international airport makes it really really laughable…much like Adel once you’re out of the CBD it quickly dives in terms of quality.

Terry, Terry Terry...

I never misrepresented myself, nor claimed to be an expert. I offered an opinion from my experiences, if that triggers you. That's on you not me.

I've had relatives in Melbourne all my life, and in various areas. West, north-east and south-east. Nothing but shocking experiences. I still remember the day Hawthorn got beat by GWS in its power rangers jumper. That was game 2 of 3 we listened to in full trying to get to Springvale. Yes, 3 full length AFL games.

Then there's all the times spent in the CBD or at the footy. Congested shithole. Took me 28 minutes via uber from Bourke Street to Princes Park on Anzac weekend to watch the Blues VFL game.

The ring road is one of the worst designed roads imaginable. Done nothing but roadworks on it since opening, always lanes with contraflow. Another delay this year has pushed a rail terminal at the airport back to no earlier than 2033. A rail link Henry Bolte started planning for in 1963 and modelling in 1990 said we needed...

Say whatever you want about Sydney, my experience was great. Your mileage may vary, and I am well aware of traffic issues from the suburbs into CBD during work peak hour.

But nothing you say will sway me on Melbourne. For such a major city it is so poorly designed. Hate it with a passion

I don't think it's baby out of the bathwater time, but we aren't winning the flag so some shrewd management is needed here.

We need to give a few guys a chance, after the bye Tuohy simply can't play seniors again unless we only have 25 fit players to choose from. Mitch needs to start to be phased out I'm afraid. Rohan potentially we can't afford to carry either... His high impact low possession game is fine when our midfield gives us a sniff, if we are battling he gives us nothing (albeit I may be harsh as being sub also doesn't help)
And Blitz is on watch as well, he must be carrying something though as he absolutely refuses to kick on his right at the moment

Mullin is on the fast track and improving rapidly, he plays but regular games in the VFL on the pill will be good for his game and confidence. We can't play Hawk, Jez and Neale all at once, Jez needs to play fwd so Hawk starts missing a few or Shannon just needs to be patient and demand selection in the 2s.. The issue is we need to get some games into him as we need him when Hawk finishes up, but young forwards take time and he's not ready yet.

I actually would like to see Atkins miss a few and Teddy Clohesy get a crack, he's a maniac and needs to be rewarded for 2s form.. I also think Knev should as well and he offers a point of difference with his marking (and I have a weird feeling he's going to be better at a higher level)

My boy Humphries needs to get a go, I'd potentially chuck Stew in the guts just for a look as he is struggling with the attention, Zuth can try play that intercept role and Lawson can be the distributor at half back.

One to watch back half of the year for me is big George the Jawline as well.. He's building into the year well, looks to have that next level clean handling and decision making.
These players aren't going to make a difference here and now, but it's vital we get to see something and see if we have something to work with... Our 2s team is flying, an exciting young midfield needs to see some reward when the top sides mids are under performing.

I know on paper Danger and Guth in after the bye makes a big difference, but we can't rely on either... Both past their best... Danger off what 2 hammies already this year and Guth unable to get on the park barely in 18 months.. We need to be realistic.. If we get anything out of them it's a bonus.

I don't see Hardie as part of any long term plans so I don't care if he gets a go, I'm fine with him getting a game though as I think rewarding good form in the 2s is important

I'm not worried about Clark at all, he'll be a very very good player when his body grows into his game. These early games will be crucial for his development
George Stevens and Mitch Edwards are both going to become very good AFL players. George has elite disposal by hand and foot and great footy IQ but just needs to develop the running side of his game. Mitch is a fantastic athlete for his size, he can run all day and is a very good contested mark - when he adds size and strength you'll start to see what he is capable of. All they need is time, and Geelong are very good at recognising that - they are developing nicely in the VFL

Im not sure the people doing those ratings understand what liveable means.
I've lived in Tokyo and despite it being constantly rated as the most expensive place to live in the world at the time it was actually quite cheap. Their whole maths was based on cost to rent standalone 4 bedroom house with backyard, cost of owning 2 cars, cost of steak dinners. So the same sums but living in a luxury apartment, catching the best metro system in the world, and eating sushi, and suddenly it's cheap as.

There's significant cultural bias in any ratings system

Beer mohito? That just sounds unpleasant

COCKTAILS
$15.00
Beer Mojito
Beer gives a classic mojito a delightful twist while still maintaining the white rum, mint and lime flavours. Beer Lovers rejoice.

It's all things I like:
  • I like beer
  • I like mojitos

I don't like them combined 😂

Terry, Terry Terry...

I never misrepresented myself, nor claimed to be an expert. I offered an opinion from my experiences, if that triggers you. That's on you not me.

I've had relatives in Melbourne all my life, and in various areas. West, north-east and south-east. Nothing but shocking experiences. I still remember the day Hawthorn got beat by GWS in its power rangers jumper. That was game 2 of 3 we listened to in full trying to get to Springvale. Yes, 3 full length AFL games.

Then there's all the times spent in the CBD or at the footy. Congested shithole. Took me 28 minutes via uber from Bourke Street to Princes Park on Anzac weekend to watch the Blues VFL game.

The ring road is one of the worst designed roads imaginable. Done nothing but roadworks on it since opening, always lanes with contraflow. Another delay this year has pushed a rail terminal at the airport back to no earlier than 2033. A rail link Henry Bolte started planning for in 1963 and modelling in 1990 said we needed...

Say whatever you want about Sydney, my experience was great. Your mileage may vary, and I am well aware of traffic issues from the suburbs into CBD during work peak hour.

But nothing you say will sway me on Melbourne. For such a major city it is so poorly designed. Hate it with a passion
Sydney is a great place to visit but pretty shit to live. Still heaps better than Melbourne though.

Non even closely comparable to Singapore, Perth, Canberra or even Adelaide as great places to live. Main issue is the urban sprawl/traffic without a viable public transport network. Even 2nd/3rd world countries have better systems than Melbourne.

Melbourne is not the same great city it was 25 years ago

I've lived in Tokyo and despite it being constantly rated as the most expensive place to live in the world at the time it was actually quite cheap. Their whole maths was based on cost to rent standalone 4 bedroom house with backyard, cost of owning 2 cars, cost of steak dinners. So the same sums but living in a luxury apartment, catching the best metro system in the world, and eating sushi, and suddenly it's cheap as.

There's significant cultural bias in any ratings system
I found the same thing with Singapore. Was a lot cheaper to live than Melbourne

More of people claiming their personal experiences/opinions as the truth.

Gotta love the internet.
Well when posters are claiming that the Melb traffic is worse than Sydney’s traffic you know there some serious bullshit going on there

More of people claiming their personal experiences/opinions as the truth.

Gotta love the internet.
People are stating their opinion. Don't get so cut up when it is different to yours
Well when posters are claiming that the Melb traffic is worse than Sydney’s traffic you know there some serious bullshit going on there
I have lived in both. I found Melb worse 🤷‍♂️

Autopsy Cats lose to Swans by 30 points