Veteran 10k Posts NFL Board HoF
Oct 5, 2004
Athens, GA
Brisbane Lions
Phils, Eagles, Flyers, Sunderland
This is not "who do you want" or "who are the in form players" but rather "Who are the best eleven players that England could put on the pitch in Brisbane to defend the Ashes? Which XI would have the best chance of defending the Ashes?

For me:

Trescothick
Strauss (c)
Cook
Pieterson
Flintoff
Foster (wk)
Hoggard
S Jones
Panasear
Harmisson

12th- Pratt

Openers- these two have done little wrong and can put together solid starts. If one gets in strife, you can always bring Cook up the order....

Cook in place of Vaughan, as he looks to be the real deal with the bat...we'll know more at the end of the English summer, as this will be a trial period, but right now he trumps Vaughan, obe as a bat. Strauss can probably do as well as Vaughan as skipper- I'd get Freddie back thinking about his play rather than captaincy- he'll be needed as a bowler and bat...

Pieterson in good form...no problems.

If Vaughan comes back, he should probably knock out Collingwood, although his fielding is almost as good as Punter and Roy....done OK with the bat, but Vaughan's experience could be useful here. Collingwood in because of better bat and fielding...no, I don't rate a knock against the Scotland XI.....Vaughan, obe still in Black hole status with the bat, and England will need their batsmen Down Under....

Freddie- no explanation needed....

Foster in place of jones- going for the defensive capabilities here....Jones has gotten a bit better, but from all accounts, Foster is da man with the mitts, and can at least bat a bit...

Hoggard picks himself...most consistent right now...how he handles Aussie conditions will go a long way to determining the series result....

Simon Jones for me is the key- he was the unsung hero of the series last year and needs to be in the lineup, hopefully free of injury....

Panasaer- bit of a smoky here, but has done well in his first two Tests on home soil and got a baptism in India. Think he has far more potential than Giles, although Giles has a stronger bat...and HAS to be a better fielder than Monty...but take Monty for the spin option, possibly with Giles as back up if healthy....

Harmisson is the one I have most doubt about- to me the weakest of the bowlers, but his size gives him an edge. I'd rate him just ahead of Plunkett at this point, with Mahmood and Anderson behind.

Pratt- well, we know the Poms will be off the field more than on- reckon a dunny on the ropes might be in order.....just as a bit of humour to start the series....

Vaughan will be captain, providing he is fit.
His last tour of Australia counts in his favour, Collingwoods batting will be exposed badly out here.
Jones needs to improve in the next few tests, Read is the best keeper in the country he should be picked but probably wont, although his batting has improved.
Looks like Prior will get the chance if Geraint is dropped.

The rest of the team picks itself but theres still a long way to go yet.

Mr P@H said:
Actually the official best Keeper in the Country is Nic Pothas, and he qualifies for England in a month or so:thumbsu:

A South African trying to qualify to play cricket for England! :eek:

Who would have guessed? :rolleyes:

Is Pothas eligible though?
He played for South Africa in some 1 day games awhile back. I know he doesnt count as an overseas player in county because he has an EU passport (Greek I think).

Of I was the English selector I would pick this squad

1. Trescothik (C)
2. Cook
3. Strauss
4. Peiterson
5. Troughton
6. Flintoff
7. Read (Wk)
8. Hoggard
9. S Jones
10. Harmisson
11. Pansear

Reserve keeper- G Jones
Reserve Spinner- Swann
Reserve Pacemen- Anderson
- Plunkett
Reserve Batsmen- Collingwood
- Shah

Russian said:
Trescothick
Strauss
Cook
Pietersen
Flintoff
Vaughan
Read
S Jones
Hoggard
Harmison

Put Vaughan ahead of collingwood and thats a pretty good side. No spinner tho?

Trescothick
Strauss
Cook
Pieterson
Vaughen
Flintoff
G.Jones
S.Jones
Harmison
Panasaer
Hoggard

12th- Shah

They need a spinner for variety, Vaughen gets a game ahead of Shah becuase he will be captain, eiether way england are :D:D:D:Ded, trescothick wont make runs out here

Flintoff and Pieterson got a away with a lot of top egdes and so on becuase of the short boundries over there, they wont here.

Hoggard and Jones will struggle without swing and they will be dispatched all over the park.

Not too sure about monty havent seen him much but anything is better than the wheelie bin who i hope plays for entertainment value

The Reaper said:
Only the three pure bowlers?
efcskip47 said:
Put Vaughan ahead of collingwood and thats a pretty good side. No spinner tho?
Flintoff's not a pure bowler but if he couldn't bat he'd still get a game. I'd have Monty in the squad but I'd be happy with Vaughan as the spinner for Brisbane - if they get to the stage where they need a spinner because the quicks can't get the wickets they're probably :thumbsdown:ed anyway

linger_isgod said:
I'm sure your location, and "other teams" doesn't affect your opinion at all...
Not one bit, honest guv.

He does qualify for England sometime in June through residency, He is currently on a Kolpak.

Ervine is the same, he qualifies if he wants to in a couple of years despite playing a few ODI's for Zimbabwe, He is on an Irish passport and a Kolpak registered player.

We are, repeat not a county of Kolpak players. We only have Ervine, Pothas, Lamb, McClean, Latouf........

although Latouf was only born in SA and brought up in Hampshire.

My preferable line up is
Tres
Strauss
Vaughan
Bell
KP
Freddie
G.Jones
Gilo
Hoggy
S.Jones
Harmison

that lot did well last year, and i feel as though it is still our best XI:thumbsu:

Trescothick
Strauss
Vaughan
Pietersen
Flintoff
Read
Giles
Hoggard
Harmison
SJones

If fit Vaughan will definitly play end of discussion.Unless Collingwood has a bad seies he will play because apart from when they dropped Read for nothing they have always stuck by the player in possesion of the spot .I have put Read in because he is much better than Jones but we all know there is to much pride invested in GJones to drop him now so it will be Jones .It will be Giles this time because of all round ability and experience unless Panesar learns how to stop a cricket ball and how to hit one to a reasonable standard.Hopefully SJones will play but I have my doubts .Perhaps because the first match is where it all went wrong for him he will want to ram those nice words down the throats of those lovely abusers in Brisbane

eddiesmith said:
Trescothick
Vaughan
Cook
Pietersen
Strauss
Flintoff
Jones
Hoggard
Jones
Harmison

I agree with Russian, no need for a pure spinner at the GABBA, we got Vaughan and Colly as other bowling options

I want to see us put up a big score and get Australia on the back foot

Well, spinners do work at the Gabba, ed- wouldn't trust part timers in the First test....Watch 'em as warnie destroys the Poms, after the quicks get stuck in...you probably SHOULD have a spinner, even though the mighty Bulls rarely use them...we just kick butt as a matter of course!

I'll resist the easy comment about the big score after looking at your lineup....

Read at 7 and Hoggard at 8 = disastrous. Liking, losing 6/15 disastrous.

England will want to go in with the same bowling attack that won them the Ashes. It's the best balance for the side. Besides that, they might keep Cook at 3, and Vaughan to come back in at 5 so that Fred and KP are separated.

The Reaper said:
Andy Flower is now England qualified. Should he replace Gerient?
If thats true than they would be stupid not to play him. Not sure if Andy would want to play but i would love to see one of the best batsmen in the last decade play in a half decent team.

the_mighty_pies_3733 said:
If thats true than they would be stupid not to play him. Not sure if Andy would want to play but i would love to see one of the best batsmen in the last decade play in a half decent team.

Can you imagine the furore if he played for England .
Have to agree he was a fantastic bat whom I think didnt get the plaudits he deserved

the_mighty_pies_3733 said:

Agree but perhaps they can wait to after the Ashes and World Cup

eddiesmith said:
Trescothick
Vaughan
Cook
Pietersen
Strauss
Flintoff
Jones
Hoggard
Jones
Harmison

I agree with Russian, no need for a pure spinner at the GABBA, we got Vaughan and Colly as other bowling options

I want to see us put up a big score and get Australia on the back foot

You have to beable to bat to make runs eddie!

The Reaper said:
Only the three pure bowlers?

Mate you've been playing too much fantasy cricket.:D

Interesting that Andy flower is England qualified, didn't know that (are you sure???) because if he is I'd bung him in straight away despite the fact that he doesn't keep for Essex.

Looking at a few of the sides picked I don't think you can pick 5 batsmen & pick Panesar because then that tail is way too long & weak, especially if chris Read is in there too.

I think if you want to still play the 4 quicks, & we have to it's our strength, then Giles must come back.

The batting is a worry the top order isn't totally convincing but also Flintoff seems to have gone back to his old ways with the bat, did nothing in India or Pakistan & has done nothing this series.I have a feeling that his form against australia last year will go down as the highlight of his Test batting.If he can't make runs at 6 then the whole thing falls apart.

Barring Injury I'd go with this.

Trescothick
Strauss
Cook
Vaughan
Pietersen
Flintoff
Foster
Giles
Simon Jones
Harmison
Hoggard

Hoggard definitely at 11 dunno why they bat him higher he can't make any runs however long he stays at least Jones & Harmsion can smash a quick 20 or 30.

I'm not at all sure about the wk, Foster seems like he can keep a bit better than Jones, though he's not great & he's a fairly decent defensive bat.

If Strauss continues to struggle, & he's been struggling for a while now then maybe you open with Cook, bring Vaughan to 3, Pietersen to 4 & go for Shah at 5 because he's pretty much the best player of spin in England outside of those currently in the team.If you have someone who can counter Warne there between the 2 big hitters it might work well.

I don't think Jones will make it unfortunately so will probably need to pick another quick, they'll probably go Plunkett, but for me what will he do in Australia?I'd either go for Mahmood as a similar type to Jones or try & get Stuart Broad on the fast track, he's only 19 but he could go alright down there.

England Team for the First Test at the Gabba in November