List Mgmt. FA & trade wash up, what list spots & draft picks do we have?

I reckon the AFL would do it also. They realise they've created an unstoppable force, and they've taken one step towards slowing them down by bringing their salary cap down to the standard level which wasn't meant to happen until 2019. Man I hope their picks get stripped, perhaps Perryman and/or Macreadie could fall out of their hands.

Who gets Pick 15 and 37
Tassie, first draft concessions for the soon to be announced new franchise.

Welcome the first team in Tassie, to be known as the Tasmanian Obeasties!

I can see the need for recently retired players in terms of tactics and running patterns, but don't see the need for this regarding skills. Grundy' and other ruck's running patterns and tactics should be dictated by the other coaches. The way I see it, the midfield coach should be deciding when and where the ruckman hits it, a ruck coach should be honing his skills to hit it there against a variety of different rucking techniques or to negate the ruckwork of an opponent. Ideally someone should be analysing the techniques and strengths of an upcoming opponent and devising strategies to beat him in ruckwork and drills to teach and help him execute these strategies. This person doesn't need to be recently retired or even have been good at the craft, they need to be able to help Grundy to analyse an opponent and develop strategies and drills that help to teach Grundy and co to combat strengths and adjust to altering strategies. I don't see why other coaches can't be expected to understand the skill, even if it wasn't one they had to execute in theri playing days. It's not even close to being a full time job. Considering it's only applicable to about 4 guys on our list, there's significantly less reason to have a specialist ruck coach than a coach for any other skill. Do we have a specialist marking coach, a tackling coach, a handballing coach, etc...
I agree that ruck skills are not rocket science. But I think the subtlety of having done it yourself, at the highest level, (and been good at it); and in the modern era game is a very relevant attribute. Why would you ever appoint someone who wasn't a good AFL level ruckman as a ruck coach? I know it's theoretically possible but why would you bother going there? Having credibility is also very important in coaching. Brendan Bolton aside, can't think of many at all who come from outside the top level. I never said it's a full time job. Clubs have had specialist tackling coaches and this is another area I'd be happy to see us appoint someone in. We are a tackling team with a high tackle count but I reckon we miss way too many. So how can it hurt? Don't we want to get ahead of the curve and get an edge on the opponents?

So where are we at now?

Is it fairer to assume Blair is staying or going? I'll assume hes staying
Is it fair to assume that GWS will lose two picks (15 and 37)?
Is it fair to assume we wont have to use our first pick on Brown and instead he will cost us our second pick (44)?
Is it far to assume we be able to use our last pick (62) on Daicos?

Assuming I've assumed correctly we will have two live picks at approx 26 and 49 (after GWS losses) leaving a list of 39.....who can we pick up?

Is it unrealistic since gws loose 15 and 37, that the pies and lions somehow get them as compensation? Or maybe a medium some where at 26 &27 or is this just to much bias comming out of me?

I agree that ruck skills are not rocket science. But I think the subtlety of having done it yourself, at the highest level, (and been good at it); and in the modern era game is a very relevant attribute. Why would you ever appoint someone who wasn't a good AFL level ruckman as a ruck coach? I know it's theoretically possible but why would you bother going there? Having credibility is also very important in coaching. Brendan Bolton aside, can't think of many at all who come from outside the top level. I never said it's a full time job. Clubs have had specialist tackling coaches and this is another area I'd be happy to see us appoint someone in. We are a tackling team with a high tackle count but I reckon we miss way too many. So how can it hurt? Don't we want to get ahead of the curve and get an edge on the opponents?

Coaches are teachers. I'd always employ a skills coach for their ability to teach the skill rather than how well they used to execute the skill themselves. Clubs regularly employ ex-players with no teaching experience, but personally if I was to choose I'd prefer a quality teacher who understood the skill, regardless of how well they were able to execute it themself.

It's an old debate that one. All I can say is that the consensus in the AFL is that you need to have had the experience yourself. But as you say if you are a really good kick and a really good teacher of the technique then it shouldn't matter much if you played or not. Theoretically anyway.

Is it unrealistic since gws loose 15 and 37, that the pies and lions somehow get them as compensation? Or maybe a medium some where at 26 &27 or is this just to much bias comming out of me?

Huh why would we get any compensation?

Edit,
Why don't we just beg for both. Yeah! Then we can somehow bundle them up with Witts for pick 1. Oh damn, Witts gone. Blair and 15 and 37 for pick 1. Sweet. o_O

There's a story that GWS might lose draft pick 15 for Whitfield case (cant remember where so you CAN shoot the messenger I'll let you)
So to be fair I think the AFL should give it back to us seeing it was ours in the first place, cant see the sense in wasting it

Pick 7 (now owned by Freo as part of the McCarthy trade) was actually our 1st round pick.

Who gets Pick 15 and 37

I'd assume nobody, much like the Adelaide pick that should have happened amid our Grundy, Kennedy, Broomhead picks.

Krackers Keenan and Sam Newman both considered excellent ruck coaches yet neither was more than good ordinary exponents of the craft.

If gws lose picks 15 and 37, is there a maximum points deficit they can carry over to next year. hopefully there is so they can't recruit all of their acadamey players

Krackers Keenan and Sam Newman both considered excellent ruck coaches yet neither was more than good ordinary exponents of the craft.

Newman could not been that Bad as he played 300 games

Mainly as a forward 2nd ruck, some hack named Farmer kept him out of the ruck.

They played together for three years when Newman was barely out of nappies.

Newman played first ruck for most of his career. The most goals he kicked in a season was 19 in his final year. He kicked less than ten in a season twelve times. He was not a forward.

They played together for three years when Newman was barely out of nappies.

Newman played first ruck for most of his career. The most goals he kicked in a season was 19 in his final year. He kicked less than ten in a season twelve times. He was not a forward.

After Farmer he played 2nd fiddle to Hampshire and Blake... among others. A couple of years in the late 60's (1967-69) he may have led the rucks. Happy to stand by my comments, they're not a knock on Newman that his strength was in a support role.

It literally says in the link that the app will have the TV and radio streaming...

Does it? Well Would that take my Data as people won't lost too much Data following it.

Remember for Fox Footy to Press the Red Button so you actually watch the Draft Picks and not Commentators Talking

Does it? Well Would that take my Data as people won't lost too much Data following it.

Remember for Fox Footy to Press the Red Button so you actually watch the Draft Picks and not Commentators Talking

You should be fine if you're with Telstra. Unmetered download.

List Mgmt. FA & trade wash up, what list spots & draft picks do we have?