Football Related Random Thread

Continued in Part 2

[Aaa

Two of my kids are icu nurses and were involved in the government simulations this week - apparently by next week they expect a pandemic classification to be in place, all public hospital staff leave will be cancelled, there will be mandatory overtime, surgical wards are being adapted to icu, and they reckon by the time we hit peak infection 50% of nursing staff will be infected or fatigued and unavailable.

Kids and younger adults in good health with no chronic health problems are minimally affected, but over 60 and/or with chronic health is problematic.

Hopefully that’s all worst case/ sensational stuff but it’s being taken seriously at the highest level of government and health authorities.

And I’ve been banned from public spaces as I’m still recovering. Glad I got crook last year and not now.
Yep. My wife has banned me from going to games.

My work has sent out some very specific emails in regards to travel and holidays.

My wife’s work canceled all employees business trips to Asia and Europe on Thursday.

And one of her colleagues in her department has canceled his European holiday, with significant financial loss.

I also have an appointment at the Mater to see an ENT specialist later this month that my wife wants me to postpone.

I agree with most of that Jason except to say that on the issue of Coronavirus you're mistaken. The world experts on contagious diseases have been on the money with this for over 2 months. It's only now reaching the mainstream press.

The facts are that this contagion is only beginning in most countries ,it's highly contagious, there is no vaccine nor will there be any time soon , the economic effects are already devastating , comparisons with flu or anything else are totally premature. What we are seeing now are clusters. Once clusters start it inevitably leads to pandemics without stringent quarantine measures which won't happen in the West.

Fwiiw I'm an optimistic person but don't swallow the line that this is no serious threat to the community. Economically it's a disaster.
Aus derives most of its income from Minerals and Agriculture . And the majority of its incoming earn from Tourism and Education.

The large majority of all of that from China and then Japan.

So it's not hard to join the dots.
There is almost no threat to the young with this virus.

The mortality rate from the flu is about a quarter of one percent.

The mortality rate from Coronavirus isn’t known accurately yet, but estimates are at about two percent. (Even though current world figures put the mortality rate at approximately 3.5%, this is skewed largely by China and Italy [and the USA]).

So about 8 times more deadly than the flu.

It’s not just the old and frail at risk. It’s anyone who has a preexisting health issue that compromises their immune system and/or lungs.

My sister is early 40’s and is in a high risk category because she has a number of health issues.

It appears to be a highly transmissible virus.

For a lot of people it might only present as a very minor cold, or even no symptoms. But these people will be carriers, because their symptoms will be so mild that they won’t think they have it, to self isolate themselves. They’ll keep on working, going shopping, eating out and going to the footy.

Many people could go about their daily lives, with it having next to no impact on themselves. But they will spread it, and the next person will pass it on to their family members.

And as martinson mentioned, there are broader economical impacts than just on the healthcare system.

Australia is over reliant on China for a lot of our primary producers. Not just our miners, meat and seafood producers.

But also our education and tourism sectors, which employ a lot of sessional and casual staff.

There are a lot of empty hotels at the moment. And a lot of empty student rentals.

There a lot of secondary businesses that benefit from our tourism and education sectors. And all these businesses employ people.
[Aaa

Two of my kids are icu nurses and were involved in the government simulations this week - apparently by next week they expect a pandemic classification to be in place, all public hospital staff leave will be cancelled, there will be mandatory overtime, surgical wards are being adapted to icu, and they reckon by the time we hit peak infection 50% of nursing staff will be infected or fatigued and unavailable.

Kids and younger adults in good health with no chronic health problems are minimally affected, but over 60 and/or with chronic health is problematic.

Hopefully that’s all worst case/ sensational stuff but it’s being taken seriously at the highest level of government and health authorities.

And I’ve been banned from public spaces as I’m still recovering. Glad I got crook last year and not now.
Thanks for the feedback guys, I still don't buy the doomsday scenarios and feeding of panic being put forward by the media though. I am in what you could call a vulnerable condition but I am not worried, not keeping me from doing anything I would normally do. My son and his wife both work at the PA hospital and haven't mentioned anything of significance to me... although they are not front line staff.

I've debated it long and extensively on the SRP board so I'll keep any detailed discussion to there and off of our footy board.

Thanks for the feedback guys, I still don't buy the doomsday scenarios and feeding of panic being put forward by the media though. I am in what you could call a vulnerable condition but I am not worried, not keeping me from doing anything I would normally do. My son and his wife both work at the PA hospital and haven't mentioned anything of significance to me... although they are not front line staff.

I've debated it long and extensively on the SRP board so I'll keep any detailed discussion to there and off of our footy board.

The SRP board?

As some of you may know, I work in medical research primarily in anti-infectives area (science not medically trained). To me, this is the best recent summary from STAT News (biotech news organisation) for those interested: click here. Also, you can look at tweets from @StephenMcDonell if you want a perspective from China.

HMPHH! What a time to be old enough to get an aged pension, you young'ns always coming up with new ways to confuse us with new tek- tehk- gadgets and stuff, now you've gone out of your way to come up with a disease to get rid of us quicker!
I remember the good ol' days when we used to wear an onion on our belts, it was the fashion then to wear an oni..........zzzzzzzzzzzzz

1583547558375.png

My natural distrust of sensationalism in the media has left me vacillating in the true seriousness. I'm not going full doomsday prep with tp water and tinned peaches in the basement, but I guess i can not go to crowded public events, and exercise more sanitary practices.

Thanks for the article MSB. A good read, except for the differing opinions of community spread. Reminds me of the media watch segment concerning 'coronavirus hell, trapped in the airport'.. turns out the pilot seat was faulty and they had delayed the flight while they flew in a replacement. Of course at the end of the story they stated qantas said it was exactly that.. not coronavirus.. didn't stop them running the damn thing though.

oh well let us drink and be merry, the footy is nearly here!

My natural distrust of sensationalism in the media has left me vacillating in the true seriousness. I'm not going full doomsday prep with tp water and tinned peaches in the basement, but I guess i can not go to crowded public events, and exercise more sanitary practices.

Thanks for the article MSB. A good read, except for the differing opinions of community spread. Reminds me of the media watch segment concerning 'coronavirus hell, trapped in the airport'.. turns out the pilot seat was faulty and they had delayed the flight while they flew in a replacement. Of course at the end of the story they stated qantas said it was exactly that.. not coronavirus.. didn't stop them running the damn thing though.

oh well let us drink and be merry, the footy is nearly here!

Do people take this many precautions with the normal old flu? In 2017 250,000 cases and 1163 deaths in Australia

I'm in a low-risk category so realise there is some privilege in my position here, but it won't stop me going to games at all if crowds are still allowed - certainly not in the current status of the spread, at least.

Have also booked a mid-year NZ holiday with flights so cheap. Hard to know where things will be by July, but I reckon if even flights to NZ have been grounded then we'll be in a pretty serious economic crisis. Cases going down in China is promising though.

Would be interesting to know if the players are worried at all. I imagine there might be fewer meet and greet events, and they won't be hi-fiving into/out of the race any more (or around the ground after a win).

Do people take this many precautions with the normal old flu? In 2017 250,000 cases and 1163 deaths in Australia
If you do some research and take a look at what the real experts on viruses have been saying for a few weeks, this isn't the normal old flu. They don't know what it is . Fatality rates in Italy are way beyond what you would expect.

Just trying to make sure no one takes it lightly because it might help them when the time comes

If you do some research and take a look at what the real experts on viruses have been saying for a few weeks, this isn't the normal old flu. They don't know what it is . Fatality rates in Italy are way beyond what you would expect.

Just trying to make sure no one takes it lightly because it might help them when the time comes

When the time comes?

How much toilet paper have you bought martinson ?

It's also not as contagious as the flu so you're not as likely to get it in the first place