Why was there zero decent NGA before Windy and Owens? It was years before a return.We do probably have the best zone because we have so many private schools in our area. I reckon this will be really good for us
We didn't match Biggy in his draft. Cupboard had been very bare prior to Windy and Mitch.Why was there zero decent NGA before Windy and Owens? It was years before a return.
I watched Adrian Cole closely in his championships game last weekend.. He is a spoiler type defender ala Howard and similiarly doesnt have a lot of tricks in his bag apart from his height and decent speed. Thats not to suggest he cant develop and isnt worthy of a rookie spot, if that type is a list need. However it is obvious intercepting tall defenders are the way of the future.
Lennox Hoffman played the game prior and did some nice things, but was dropped for last weekends game.
Howard not really a "spoiler type" he is behind Wilkie and Battle for intercept marks , but not far behind.
Similarly with ordinary marks and contested marks.
Of course a defender needs to judge when to spoil and when to "try" to mark.
We do probably have the best zone because we have so many private schools in our area. I reckon this will be really good for us
Go and have a look at his Coates League stats he plays on the 3rd tall and hardly marks the ball. He might make it, but at this stage I wouldnt be matching any bids in the draft if there are other rated kids still available. Just because he is a free hit as an NGA doesnt make him a better player. I think he will be a chance he will get through the draft without a bid and we can then look at him as a rookie.
The Howard likeness was just to point out Coles lack of footballing nous, he is tall but very limited.
I wasn't disagreeing about Cole, i was disagreeing about Howard. If Howard is dour, its because he's been told to play that way.
howard has taken plenty of intercept marks over the last few weeks since coming backIm sorry but I disagree, if Howard was capable he would be strongly encouraged to go for more intercept marks. You only have to see how often he gets out bodied in contests to see that he is no chance of marking it. He is coached to play within his limitations nothing more.
As long at least one parent is from a 'non traditional' or indigenous background.It kind of crap, and open to corruption.
We got Peris, who relocated from NT and lived bayside while attending Melbourne Grammar.
But Sanders , who boarded at Melbourne Grammar ( in the Saints Zone) and played for Sandringham, was deemed to be Tasmanian and eligible ( Despite north seemingly not having had anything to do with him ) for North's academy. ( Note: he was not selected as an NGA player because he was too early in the draft ).
If a talented footy player wanted to attend school in one of the Private Schools, any club could try to tempt him to live and play footy in their zone, and then they could still arbitrarily zone him in the place he used to live.
Absolutely stupid, vague, illogical system, that only the AFL could be stupid enough to create.
howard has taken plenty of intercept marks over the last few weeks since coming back
On SM-A156E using BigFooty.com mobile app
As long at least one parent is from a 'non traditional' or indigenous background.
Maybe north put him on their NGA list.Realise that.
But why was Peris "StKilda" when he moved to the StKilda zone to attend Melbourne Grammar.
But Sanders was judeged " North, when he moved to the StKilda zone to attend Melbourne Grammar?
I’ve tried to find out a couple of times, no real info out there but I think he is. Hopefully he’s betterAnyone seen a list of NGA members? I’d be interested for next year given the changes. Didn’t Mackenzie have a brother?
Hopefully Enright can turn him into Weitering, has all the attributes, just needs to bulk up. An elite full back would be soo good for us going forwardCole listed in the "Next 10" by Twomey today. So rated top forty. Could be a handy freebie.
So a 196cm 17-year-old who projects to go outside the top 30 that is not the finished product?Go and have a look at his Coates League stats he plays on the 2nd or 3rd tall and hardly marks the ball. Have averages 8 disposals and 2 marks a game its hardly note worthy. He might make it, but at this stage I wouldnt be matching any bids in the draft if there are other rated kids still available. Just because he is a free hit as an NGA doesnt make him a better player. I think there will be a chance he will slip through the draft without a bid and we can then look at him as a rookie.
Linder on the other hand is a ball magnet and provides real drive out of defence, not at the same level but similiarlar to Sinclair. I think if he was playing anywhere but at Sandringham he would have made the state side. Sandringham had so many players representing them they couldnt pick everyone and Oliver was in front of him.
The Howard likeness was just to point out Coles lack of footballing nous, he is tall but very limited.
I suppose the question should be whether Peris was living in our zone & then got the scholarship.Realise that.
But why was Peris "StKilda" when he moved to the StKilda zone to attend Melbourne Grammar.
But Sanders was judeged " North, when he moved to the StKilda zone to attend Melbourne Grammar?
Cole listed in the "Next 10" by Twomey today. So rated top forty. Could be a handy freebie.
I suppose the question should be whether Peris was living in our zone & then got the scholarship.
From what I understand, Sanders was in Nth's NGA zone in Tassie & they tried to add him late as they had either missed him (didn't realise he had a parent from an 'NGA' background) or the parents didn't sign him on.
I recall the same thing happening with another kid... his parents didn't sign him up & the club he was zoned to couldn't access him.
I think most of them are (all of our NGA kids have spent plenty of time training at Linton St).I seriously think that for a kid to be an "Academy" selection , then the club involved should have had at least something to do with their football training.
I mean, "Academy" isn't just a word like "Cool, or Acme" it actually has a meaning. Or is the AFL Academy like the "Ponds Academy".
So a 196cm 17-year-old who projects to go outside the top 30 that is not the finished product?
DO NOT WANT
Maybe its your style of posting on this and the draft thread. You sound arrogant and pompous with your dismissal of anybody else's opinion.Why do you take the most ruinous approach to any of my posts?