• Reilly O'Brien

• Josh Rachele

• James Rowe

• Harry Schoenberg

• Lachlan Sholl

• Brodie Smith

Results are only viewable after voting.

With 14 seconds to go, Frampton is in the clear at half back and... inexplicably scrubber chips it 10 metres along the ground.

If Hinge isn't clean there, and then smart enough to turn and deliver a low dart in to the 50, then Frampton would have been crucified. Why didn't he just launch it long and straight?!

So much crammed in to a few seconds there.

That was the smartest thing Frampton’s ever done.

It was the next kick that put the ball past no man’s land 70 out, which is where a long Frampton kick would’ve landed.

We were quite bad for the majority of that game. It's round 3 and we still look asleep. Most of the squad is out of form and our midfield woes are as evident as ever.

That last 5 minutes was the happiest I've been for us in a long time, but aside from that it was pretty grim.

Says a lot how bad port were as well.
At least there was a resemblance of game plan last night like in 2021 and we were able to hit our targets, the first 2 weeks were shocking. Midfield balance looks better with Laird replacing Sloane and Schoenberg back to some form. Need to fit Berry in there somehow, he is way too good for the SANFL level. And we actually let Port Power control the game when we had momentum with stupid 50m penalties which directly lead to 2 goals and nearly a 3rd to Boak who would have seal the game if he had kicked straight.

Re-watched the last 2 minutes. The Boak free was very soft. The 50 m was very touchy. Both didn't need to be paid.
What interests me most though is this - the umpire pays the 50, runs back and sets the mark. The camera cuts back to Rachele, then we go back and the umpire has moved in another 10 m closer to goal.
ie.
Screen Shot 2022-04-02 at 10.24.08 am.png
Position 1

Screen Shot 2022-04-02 at 10.24.40 am.png
Position 2.

That's a very generous 50....

A game we were never going to win (sorry for being unemotional) .....and the win covers a few cracks still

However we did learn a few things from a high pressured game

1. There is a future for Himmelberg ....always had the footy nous ...have to remember, he's only played 29 games, which for a KPF is nothing ...still a football "baby"

2. Mitch Hinge is a player !......great height, speed, and an underrated kick

3 We desperately need McAsey to standup ....luckily he's only turned 21 last week .....Hampton, nah, too reactive, like Hartigan ...like a schoolyard bully, he beats up in the SANFL, but struggles against the big boys

4. We can't win a flag with ROB ....terrible RUCK ....has days, but smart man, but dumb footballer

5. Dawson, obviously class .....gives us the contested midfield marking, and elite fwd 50 kick ...we so desperately need

6. This is such a young & inexperienced side ! ......so many under 30 games.....they're going to get significantly better

The brightest prospects
Cook .........4 games
Pedlar ....... 3 games
Hinge ....... 6 games
Jones ....... 39 games
McHenry..... 31 games
Schoenberg . 32 games
Thilthorpe .... 15 games
Butts .......... 26 games

7. Laird, so quick over 10 mtrs ...remains our best MID easily ...made such a diff last night

Re-watched the last 2 minutes. The Boak free was very soft. The 50 m was very touchy. Both didn't need to be paid.
What interests me most though is this - the umpire pays the 50, runs back and sets the mark. The camera cuts back to Rachele, then we go back and the umpire has moved in another 10 m closer to goal.
ie.
View attachment 1361264
Position 1

View attachment 1361265
Position 2.

I noticed that.

I don’t even expect competence from these blokes anymore.

To be fair, in that last stoppage out on the wing with about 25 secconds left, there was a blatant holding the ball against us missed.

That would’ve been the ball game.

It's pretty amazing we won after some of the errors we made in the last quarter

Himmelberg handballs into O'Brien's head
Jones handballs it 1m to a player under immediate pressure and it's a turnover
Another 50m penalty for entering the protected area
Frampton scrubber kick in the last 15 seconds
O'Brien handballs it straight to a Port player under no pressure

ie.
View attachment 1361264
Position 1

View attachment 1361265
Position 2.

The Boak 50m penalty was a blatant error, you can clearly hear the umpire call "play on" before Rachele enters the protected area

Himmelberg handballing into ROBs head and then kicking goals is peak Himmelberg.
No .....it was peak ROB ....his spacial awareness on a footy field is terrible

The Boak 50m penalty was a blatant error, you can clearly hear the umpire call "play on" before Rachele enters the protected area
And Rachele was still behind Boak when he kicked it. He hadn't encroached on the area or impeded the kick at all.

I noticed that.

I don’t even expect competence from these blokes anymore.

To be fair, in that last stoppage out on the wing with about 25 secconds left, there was a blatant holding the ball against us missed.

That would’ve been the ball game.
Did the umpire see who was taking the kick and realise that Boak wouldn't make the distance so adjusted? Was he instructed from above? Bizarre to stop, set the mark and then move another 10 m.

This is the perfect game to review from a ball use perspective. Anyone who thinks it is a wise decision to move or tap the ball backwards to a team mate needs to rewatch the tape, when the chips were down the Crows started taking chances and putting the ball into space out the front of the contest and bingo it put Port on the back foot. ROB tries hard but time and time again just does the 101 wrong. Ban backwards ball movement and we are 20%+ better team.

Jordan Dawson is a ripper.

It was the next kick that put the ball past no man’s land 70 out, which is where a long Frampton kick would’ve landed.
The other thing no one in here seems to have questioned in regards to that moment..

What was Frampton doing down in defense all on his own?..

Answer.. Using his fckn brain. Brilliantly.

Every Port forward had flooded back into ports defense to clog up the crows forward line. he couldve followed them all but he dropped back instead and thus was the only one there when the ball came, due to a rushed soccer kick from port, towards ports goal..

If Frampton follows his opponents into our forward line.. and wasnt there.. we wouldve lost. That one decision from him was the reason Dawson even had the opportunity to kick for goal after the siren.

For all Frampton’s faults… he’s not a dumb ****.

He just looks a bit nervous down back at AFL level.. pretty sure it would be due to him knowing this is his very last chance at an AFL career. Be a heavy weight on his shoulders.

But he makes good decisions and normally executes well..

I thought he wasnt as bad as some made him out to be last night.. some of those balls fired in from ports midfield were pretty nice bullets to marshall.. hard for even the best AFL defenders to stop those let alone a bloke who’s only 10 games (only 3 at AFL level) into his time as defender.

Apparently you only have to add Dixon or Gray and they win easily.

Yep that will make them premiership contenders. I hope they keep on believing it.
Add umpires who can see blatant throws and we're 3 goals up before the final siren sounds. That's before we consider all the marginal decisions.

Did the umpire see who was taking the kick and realise that Boak wouldn't make the distance so adjusted? Was he instructed from above? Bizarre to stop, set the mark and then move another 10 m.

I reckon it worked in our favour.

It was that awkward distance where he knew he had to kick it.

If it was a bit further out he probably would’ve kicked through it and nailed it.

The other thing no one in here seems to have questioned in regards to that moment..

What was Frampton doing down in defense all on his own?..

Answer.. Using his fckn brain. Brilliantly.

Every Port forward had flooded back into ports defense to clog up the crows forward line. he couldve followed them all but he dropped back instead and thus was the only one there when the ball came, due to a rushed soccer kick from port, towards ports goal..

If Frampton follows his opponents into our forward line.. and wasnt there.. we wouldve lost. That one decision from him was the reason Dawson even had the opportunity to kick for goal after the siren.

For all Frampton’s faults… he’s not a dumb fu**.

He just looks a bit nervous down back at AFL level.. pretty sure it would be due to him knowing this is his very last chance at an AFL career. Be a heavy weight on his shoulders.

But he makes good decisions and normally executes well..

I thought he wasnt as bad as some made him out to be last night.. some of those balls fired in from ports midfield were pretty nice bullets to marshall.. hard for even the best AFL defenders to stop those let alone a bloke who’s only 10 games (only 3 at AFL level) into his time as defender.

Can’t argue with any of that.

I’m still not playing Berg and him at the expense of RT though.

It's pretty amazing we won after some of the errors we made in the last quarter

Himmelberg handballs into O'Brien's head
Jones handballs it 1m to a player under immediate pressure and it's a turnover
Another 50m penalty for entering the protected area
Frampton scrubber kick in the last 15 seconds
O'Brien handballs it straight to a Port player under no pressure
When you play more direct and have the mentality of moving the ball forward by any means, you can recover from skill errors better.

Last week with that slow nervous play errors make it worse.

On SM-A325F using BigFooty.com mobile app

My point is it was a massive risk and he barely executed it, and would've been blamed if Hinge didn't reviver it.

Review GBU: Jordan Dawson sinks Port Adelaide after the siren