• Reilly O'Brien

• Josh Rachele

• James Rowe

• Harry Schoenberg

• Lachlan Sholl

• Brodie Smith

Results are only viewable after voting.

Add umpires who can see blatant throws and we're 3 goals up before the final siren sounds. That's before we consider all the marginal decisions.
Nicks acknowledged in his presser we need to be smarter to stop those 50 metre penalties.

If we can fix that, by next Showdown (as Port exploit it weel) we may turn a 4 point win into a 4 goal one.

On SM-A325F using BigFooty.com mobile app

This is the perfect game to review from a ball use perspective. Anyone who thinks it is a wise decision to move or tap the ball backwards to a team mate needs to rewatch the tape, when the chips were down the Crows started taking chances and putting the ball into space out the front of the contest and bingo it put Port on the back foot. ROB tries hard but time and time again just does the 101 wrong. Ban backwards ball movement and we are 20%+ better team.

Jordan Dawson is a ripper.
ROB is a complete spud.. total liabilty..

What the **** was he doing at the centre bounces running in from the side to contest them?… instead of toward our goal?..

That only works if you have a set play in mind..

Which clearly he didnt because our three mids at his feet would run towards our forward line.. and ROB the big doofus, if he won the tap using his right hand, would tap it the opposite direction!.. towards the port forward line and to the advantage of the port mids..

Just astounding levels of dumb****ery..

And surely he’s been around long enough to know he’s going to favour tapping it that way with his right hand?..

Its a travesty that, unless he gets injured, we are gonna have this complete dud of an overpaid ruckman all season whilst a far better prospect is there, ready and firing, rotting away in the SANFL..

I’ve seen some people say we won playing like shit, but the balance of moving fast and tempo footy was the best we have shown this season. Still a work in progress, but definitely a step forward in that area. Some poor skills at times, but again a lot better than the first 2 rounds and our clearances were more damaging. Defensive pressure was improved as well. Overall, heading in the right direction and having Tex back will help massively.

Would have Berry replace Cook next week and have him play full time mid.

Jones crashed a couple of packs.

They were both awful, but Jones probably gets another week unless they want Davis.

Fogarty will be playing reserves unless they want to ease Walker in.
Chayce didn’t have a lot of the ball, but was defensively sound most of the night, Port’s small forwards did nothing. He was also great under pressure in the last 10 minutes, worth persisting with.

Can’t argue with any of that.

I’m still not playing Berg and him at the expense of RT though.
Me neither.. TT has to be the priority..

Just seems they want him to work on some things in the sanfl..

But, going by his perfomance yesterday, tilly wont be in the sanfl for too long..

Himmelburg played well last night, absolutely no doubt, but he’ll revert back to his usual shitness.. he always does and always will..

Me neither.. TT has to be the priority..

Just seems they want him to work on some things in the sanfl..

But, going by his perfomance yesterday, tilly wont be in the sanfl for too long..

Himmelburg played well last night, absolutely no doubt, but he’ll revert back to his usual shitness.. he always does and always will..

Interesting thing will be what happens when Tex comes back.

Something’s gonna have to give.

I’ve seen some people say we won playing like shit, but the balance of moving fast and tempo footy was the best we have shown this season. Still a work in progress, but definitely a step forward in that area. Some poor skills at times, but again a lot better than the first 2 rounds and our clearances were more damaging. Defensive pressure was improved as well. Overall, heading in the right direction and having Tex back will help massively.

I like Berry, but not at the expense of Cook.

I'd be giving him as many games as possible, another kid who truly has 'it' and needs time in the bigs.

Chayce didn’t have a lot of the ball, but was defensively sound most of the night, Port’s small forwards did nothing. He was also great under pressure in the last 10 minutes, worth persisting with.

People going off too early on him for mine.

He’s been disappointing, but now is the time to persist with these blokes.

I'm interested in scores from stoppages this week without sloane v the first 2 games. Schoenberg had the most cbas this week.

Clearance numbers look similar but what was the difference in efficiency?

Interesting take. I disagree strongly though.

I wouldn't say great under pressure in the last 10 minutes. He finally appeared after being invisible for the whole game and ran through a few contests and lost his man for a goal. Overall a very poor game and start to the season.

Interesting thing will be what happens when Tex comes back.

Something’s gonna have to give.
In all honesty.. if we are thinkin about the future.. tex shouldnt be picked.. whats he got?. 1, 2 max, season left in him?..

He’s not gonna be there for our next finals run so it is sort of list clogging levels of silliness picking him..

But we all know he’ll be straight back in!..

Berry for McHenry.

If Murphy plays have Rowe as small forward partner with Rachele. Less pushing into stoppage mid.

If Murphy out, give Nankervis a debut.

Or Pedler. Full game.

Could go Nank for Cook, Pedler for injured Murphy

Berry should replace crouch who was horrid all night.

But crouch will stay and sloane will come in for some poor young player and our midfield will go from already bad to way worse..

Nicks acknowledged in his presser we need to be smarter to stop those 50 metre penalties.

If we can fix that, by next Showdown (as Port exploit it weel) we may turn a 4 point win into a 4 goal one.
I'm not quibbling with that. Adelaide has given away a ridiculous number of 50m penalties in the last 2 weeks, due to stupidly poor discipline errors.

My point was that there if the umpires weren't blind mice, incapable of seeing blatant throws, then Adelaide would have been up by 3 goals at the final siren. There were 2x throws, both blatant and spotted immediately by the commentators, which resulted directly in Port goals. The first of those throws was 15m out from Adelaide's goal - it should have been a free to Adelaide, and a near certain goal; instead, the ball went straight to the Port forward line, resulting in a Port goal. It was a 12-pt turnaround, due to a horrible umpiring error.

You can argue about marginal calls, and I'd argue that there were a lot of those which went Port's way for the first 3 1/2 quarters too - but these weren't marginal, they were blatant throws which resulted in Port goals (and denied Adelaide a goal).

In all honesty.. if we are thinkin about the future.. tex shouldnt be picked.. whats he got?. 1, 2 max, season left in him?..

He’s not gonna be there for our next finals run so it is sort of list clogging levels of silliness picking him..

But we all know he’ll be straight back in!..

If we're thinking about the future, we're picking Tex. After all, we're a very young side, he offers leadership, structural benefits, and he's our best key forward at this point in time (and winning is critical for development as it helps retain confidence, which is likely the most make or break aspect for any prospect). Not only that, but it slows the expectation on someone like a Thilthorpe/Fogarty to be a line-leading forward, both who aren't ready for that kind of role at an AFL level.

I’m gonna have another watch when I get a chance.
But I think this is categorically wrong.
He only had two disposals in the last and gave up a goal.
One disposal was a terrible handball to one of our players under pressure on the back 50.
The commentators even made a point of it saying words to the effect of “crows have done that a lot tonight”
He had an absolute shocker last night there is no getting around that.
7 disposals for 4 turnovers and 2 frees against won’t cut it at club level let alone afl.

If we're thinking about the future, we're picking Tex. After all, we're a very young side, he offers leadership, structural benefits, and he's our best key forward at this point in time (and winning is critical for development as it helps retain confidence, which is likely the most make or break aspect for any prospect). Not only that, but it slows the expectation on someone like a Thilthorpe/Fogarty to be a line-leading forward, both who aren't ready for that kind of role at an AFL level.
If the club truly believes there is a future for Gollant, Fog and Himmelberg post Tex then they need to find a way to have all three get games throughout the year.

Berry for McHenry.

If Murphy plays have Rowe as small forward partner with Rachele. Less pushing into stoppage mid.

If Murphy out, give Nankervis a debut.

Or Pedler. Full game.

Could go Nank for Cook, Pedler for injured Murphy

Fanciful suggesting Nankervis is ready for AFL yet after 1 SANFL game against the men....He'd only played 8 games of NAB League prior to us drafting him

If the club truly believes there is a future for Gollant, Fog and Himmelberg post Tex then they need to find a way to have all three get games throughout the year.

The two names the club should be focusing on is Gollant and Thilthorpe, though I can accept both need a bit of refinement (and Thilthorpe probably needed a slap back to reality after the Freo game). To be honest, both Fog and Himmelberg are pretty inconsequential to whatever we do moving forward and could sit in the SANFL for an extended stint if everything is working.

Just watched the replay and both coaches press conferences...

Must say that while it wasn't the prettiest game, have to give credit to the team for the endeavour they showed all game...

Difficult to say (and has been mentioned previously) but maybe the toll of Covid on the majority of the squad did have an impact during the pre-season games and Rounds 1 & 2...

Also, think Tex coming back this week will be very helpful for our young forward line...as well as taking the key defender, his direction will be invaluable...and he will be licking his chops at the thought of Dawson kicking to his advantage when on the lead...

On Dawson, his run and goals were great but was really impressed with his aerial ability...took some very strong grabs and gave us a target...also was running hard both ways all game...

Review GBU: Jordan Dawson sinks Port Adelaide after the siren