Review Geelong defeats Hawthorn by 86 points at MCG - the Owen 4 game

Parsons is a gun, will have a few weeks to freshen up after laying out 'good bloke', but a really solid game. Likewise with Parfitt, backed up last week with another great performance. Guthrie destroyed the mosquito fleet and looks much better for the run he had last week, and Duncan, Motlop and Menegola were unstoppable. Good signs all in all.

A real contender would have beaten us by 100+ bad luck, but it was a good try!
You can't blame us for putting the cue in a rack against a minnow side not wanting to risk injury :D

Reckon the rivalry is on ice for at least a couple of years; today’s contest was lacklustre at best, Hawthorn are woeful.

They will play dead for a couple of years, retire the rest of their veterans asap and flounder about for a decent draft pick or two while spending up on the free agency market.
They have no shame in finishing down the arse end of the ladder if it suits their agenda.
For now I will content myself with enjoying their struggles; Gibson was hilariously bad, an absolute liability despite being relieved of the trouble of facing his tormentor, Shane Kersten …
Burgoyne has been piss poor in every game I’ve seen of Hawthorn this year..
Rioli continues to get off scott free; he did not bother imposing himself on the contest once today; insipid effort.
Their young players are about what you’d expect for a team that has had bugger all access to the draft (like ourselves); not a lot going on there ..

Those who question our credentials as challengers would have gathered a bit of ammunition in the first half today it was pretty uninspiring stuff with poorly constructed forward entries and lazy finishing conspiring to squander a potentially healthy lead.

The 2nd half however was much more enjoyable, but it must be said we probably played the worst team in the comp right now; Hawthorn applied zero pressure and turned it over at every opportunity.
To our credit we found a good rhythm as the game wore on and strung together a number of good passages of play. Don't get many percentage boosters these days so we can pocket that along with the 4 points.

Duncan’s good start to the season continues; he used the ball well all day and generally looked composed. Added 2 goals.
Steve Motlop made a number of good strong runs through the middle; one of his better games for a while. He looked fit and made good decisions all game long; 3 goals and no stupid free kicks was a very good return.

Jackon Thurlow’s found his first 4 weeks back tough going; he's been off the pace, finding it hard to get involved and making bad decisions with ball in hand - would still prefer him taking the majority of the kick-outs over Tuohy though; could find some confidence in doing so, too.
Good signs from Tom Stewart today; fumbly in the first half but worked his way into the game and kicked a timely goal in the 3rd. Tuohy got better and better as the game wore on too - but of our small-medium defenders, Andrew Mackie’s first 4 games for the year have been of the highest quality, a better start than I could have hoped for from him.

Shame Parsons will be having a spell because he looked great today; was already showing a harder edge than I thought him capable of before clipping Hodge. A good ball user and covers the ground well; he'll push for re-selection in about 3 weeks time.
Brandon Parfitt just runs all day, tackles well, uses the ball neatly; been a very good draft selection and already giving us more consistency than Caddy ever did.

Hawkins up to 16 goals for the season, Menzel with 13. Motlop 8 in 4 games too.

All in all, despite a scrappy first half, Hawthorn's ineptitude and growing pain more than made up for it as the game wore on. Suck it Hawthorn.

Again, we looked more dangerous and settled once Taylor went back into defence. He is our defensive general.

I thought the games of Menegola, Motlop, Duncan were great.

Someone commented previously that Menegola wasn't great in the contest and his kicks are poor, I think he showed today he has all of that, and I defended him from day 1, and continue to back him for starting 22. I'd say he is our 3rd best midfielder when it comes to contested footy.

It looks like we might lose Menegola and Parson to suspension. Not sure if Ruggles will get up for next week either, I thought he was ok in the first half.

I wonder if Parsons can get a rising star nomination if he get suspended from the same game?

Menzel and Hawkins too strong again.

Hawks have to rebuild, they look shot.

Good win in the end. That last quarter was fantastic but before that it was pretty painful to watch at times especially when we kept missing early on. Great to smash the Dawks in the end tho and watch Hodge get belted around. Eventually we will string together a decent 4 quarter effort.

Motlop was excellent today too, hope he has turned the corner and is back to his best!

Looks like Parsons and Menegola will be off on a forced holiday. Plenty to work on but 4 - 0 is a nice start to the season!

The way the Dawks gave up once they thought the game was done was a disgrace really. A pea hearted effort.

I gotta say Menegola had a ripper game today too.

Parsons will get a week for that elbow. Menegola should get a fine.

Bruce nearly in tears, eulogising the filth for the last ten minutes while Geelong just pile on goals - beautiful.

Great shame that Parsons and Menegola will likely see weeks out as they both had great games. That should put the Menegola vs. GHS debate to bed - the answer is both and Guthrie in defence, as he was during the 2nd half today.

Hawkins looks to be having more fun than I've seen in ages. Really appears to be loving footy. Menzel is pure joy in football form - every little triumph is earned and it's heart-warming to see.

Duncan, Motlop, Guthrie, all excellent. THIS is what we want from them. Duncan's had a pearler year but Motlop should aspire to play like this always. It's so frustrating when he plays lazily or absent-mindedly because we all know he's capable of destroying games like he did today.

No great opposition but I'll take an 86 point win any day, especially over those brave, brave gladiators (sorry, went into Bruce-mode for a second) at Hawthorn.

2nd tier mids were fantastic, lets hope we can see more of it next week. Motlop and Duncan seemed to work in tandem with each other and along with Menegola were great in setting up and scoring goals.
If Menegola misses maybe bring McCarthy back and give Cocky more midfield time.
Backline mix was spot on today, if ruggles is sore then give bews a shot.
Tuohy and Henderson were huge, bad luck Carlton....
Taylor forward could have been a raging success today if he took a couple of chances, I say stick with it. Menzel and Hawkins are having a great year, hope it continues. Parsons and parfitt were great at tackling and setting up around goal, glad to see parsons rewarded with a couple and i hope be gets off.
Very positive signs but more needed of the same next week.
Amazing how much the goal accuracy turned around.

Go cats!!!

Review Geelong defeats Hawthorn by 86 points at MCG - the Owen 4 game