Autopsy Geelong defeats Hawthorn

Swans went soft in '14 after easy run. They wont have had a competitive hit out since their roos game on August 20th. Game will be on September 23. Long time before a proper game of footy with all their young kids and outside types.

I think the Swannettes are a lot better team than us or Geelong unfortunately.

humour at an innapropriate time is a classic tell tale that someone is stressed to the max. i look for it in my job when thibgs are getting supee difficult as a sign my offsider is not coping.
He was looking every which way....like he wanted someone else to take it or pass it off ffs!

Right then I knew we were done :(

Positives of going to Spotless is it'll be like playing at a neautral stadium, in fact well probably out number your supporters.
The AFL will hand out free tickets and falafel to wanders supporters to get the numbers up.

Positives of going to Spotless is it'll be like playing at a neautral stadium, in fact well probably out number your supporters.

Great game last night and I knew it was going to be close... I just like to mention that the young inexperience players from both the cats and the Hawks struggles tonight. I think GWS will get pumped today, because of the lack of finals experience.. Hawks will beat the Bulldogs and I mean literally. I know they beat the Eagles, but the Hawks physical pressure will undo them. Plus the game is also at the MCG you would think.. i don't think last night was the final chapter, if we meet in the grand final we will probably break the attendance record... That should be a fitting conclusion to our story, if it ever ends!!!

Yes, I've been thinking this for the past couple of months. GWS are the X-factor, being their first finals campaign nobody is really sure what to expect. If it boiled down to a Sydney v Geelong GF, I know who I'd be placing my money on.

Fitzy is a massive find. He's nimble. If he can straighten up that goal kicking he'll suddenly be one of those plahers the opposition coach needs to put a lot of time into.

Clarkson has given him some belief.

Whitecross was amazing. Still too cautious for my liking sometimes, but I like that he never goes for the long down the line kick to a pack. They can't tackle him either.

Also I gotta say that I realy like dangerfield. The guy is a gun. He's tough - rises above all the crap that every team throws at him and still gets best on most games. Thought we played him really well to keep his influence down.

How the hell did we lose that game?

Just watching the relay and have to say this as well. There was a marking contest in the last where two Hawks flew for the ball, Gibson and someone. Both punched for a throw in.

You put Geelong in the same situation and one will block to allow the other to mark.

So we get a 50/50 which with the Hawks clearance work is not really a 50/50. Cats get a clean possession.

These things are pretty much the difference in games this close. It shits me

cb27ed7aadc503c15f0dba5e5479921c.jpg

L
O
L

Fitzy is a massive find. He's nimble. If he can straighten up that goal kicking he'll suddenly be one of those plahers the opposition coach needs to put a lot of time into.

Whitecross was amazing. Still too cautious for my liking sometimes, but I like that he never goes for the long down the line kick to a pack. They can't tackle him either.

Also I gotta say that I realy like dangerfield. The guy is a gun. He's tough - rises above all the crap that every team throws at him and still gets best on most games. Thought we played him really well to keep his influence down.

I really liked Fitzy last night. Agree

If we played like that we beat any side by 5 goals or more.

The Cats just have strengths where all our weaknesses are.

I'm just tired of Lonergan and Taylor dominating in the air for us ... It's only the fact Rioli, Breust and Poppy are so amazing we have a chance. Do we not have any other talk players on our list we can play forward?

We played a lot better than I was expecting last night. The swans are in the same boat as us with filling up on young players (although they're probably a year ahead). So they're not unbeatable.

It's a really open year, and I think the week of for the QF winners is a huge advantage.

Thanks for all of your insight into the game, love reading the autopsy. Was at the game, cheering the Hawks on as always. It's a long walk out of the G after a loss :(
Upside of this, another game of footy I get to go to ;) Our boys will be hungry next week, definitely need to lift their game though. We can do this & I'll be there cheering again. Go Hawks!!

I've gotta say I felt like he was going to miss. It just had that anti-logic to it. The fact that we even got a chance to kick it was anti-logic in and of itself. I said to a mate "he's going to miss".

I thought that he was going to miss just because our luck in winning close ones had to run out sooner or later.

I was disappointed last night obviously but not gutted, I went in there thinking we were going to lose and worried it would be convincingly.
The reason being we have been a bit off the boil this year and Roughy out sure hasn't helped.
But to be honest after leaving last night I had greater belief in what the team can dish out, I was proud of their efforts, it came down to a kick that could have gone either way.
There were some uncharacteristic clangers that hopefully we will eradicate.
Our lack of a marking forward is really killing us, hopefully Mcevoy , Shoenmakers etc can dominate a game or to.
I thought Schoe did some good things last night, his bodywork and goal last night was great to see.

Onto next week guys, I will be there watching the mighty Hawks step up again and I reckon it will be a cracker with the Hawks finishing on top.

How good has Whitecross been moving been the last couple of games? He has some serious speed and his lateral movement is excellent. Plus his disposal is rock solid.

Loved Fitzpatricks contribution as well. Once again it seems he has some toe for a big guy as he is making a habit of having running shots for goal which is unusual for a ruckman (just needs to straighten his kicks up a little bit). He has to be a lock for best 22 next year I would have thought.

Not sure about Big Boy at the moment though. He appears to be stiff as a board and looks like he is running through treacle. He was never quick but it appears he has slowed down some more.

If we played like that we beat any side by 5 goals or more.

The Cats just have strengths where all our weaknesses are.

I'm just tired of Lonergan and Taylor dominating in the air for us ... It's only the fact Rioli, Breust and Poppy are so amazing we have a chance. Do we not have any other talk players on our list we can play forward?
We took Taylor out of it brilliantly. Schoenmakers killed him. Dominated one of the best defenders in the game (haters take note)

Was nice to see rioli play full forward for a game, he was great.

But the way they restricted our scoring was top level. I don't think other teams would have kept us under 100 points in the mood we were in last night.

Autopsy Geelong defeats Hawthorn