Preview Geelong v Essendon - Country game @ MCG Sunday May 4 320 pm

I'm happy with the defence without Henderson. He should be a break glass case.

As for Selwood, I'd be loathe to play him before Constable and Parfitt and there really isn't a spot unless they decide to play Dangerfield forward and play a defensive mid. Then you still need to drop someone.

Basically see it the same.. I think we have found our best rythum.. of course young players could drop away and if that happens.. break glass.. hopefull by being midful of that .. we have them fit and in form when it counts

Players not playing last week
Bews
Selwood
Cockatoo
Clark
Cunico
Narkle
Parfitt
Smith
Fogarty
Henderson
Fort
Parsons
Simpson
Zuthrie
Jones
Abbott

I think we have more depth than we have had for quite some time

This would appear to be self-evidently the most meaningful depth we have had on the list for quite some years.

Defensive depth
Bews (has played extensively in the seniors as a capable small defender)
Hendo (more than 150 AFL games as a KPP; probably best defender on our list through '17, and still very solid when not limited by injury)
Clark (I could go on for several paragraphs here and still not do the kid's talent justice)
Zuthrie (still developing physically, but has already played creditably at senior level)

Midfield depth
Parfitt (a fantastic and developing talent who is truly 'best 22' when fit)
Selwood (if the body gets right, he would still bring pressure at the selection table as an accountable mid)
Cunico (showed more than enough in his senior games in 2018 to suggest he's not out of his depth in the AFL)
Narkle (has shown some real touches of class in his senior games; needs to work on his fitness and endeavour to fulfil his clear potential to play seniors regularly)
Fogarty (while injury cruelled his season late, he was impressive for a first-year player at the top level)
Parsons (should be considered here rather than up forward; building some reasonable form through the middle in the VFL)
Simpson (clearly debuted earlier than preferred, yet still didn't look totally lost)

Forward depth
Buzza (far from brilliant, but crashes in to provide a contest that opens opportunities for others)
Cockatoo (has enough talent, but the body may never allow his potential to be realised)
Fort (looks to be under consideration for a forward role rather than as a ruck at this point; questionable whether he could assist as much as someone like Buzza)
Jones (not disgraced or overawed in playing as a small forward at senior level last year)
Krueger (already has a fair few wraps around here; not as far off as many 'first year players' in the AFL would normally be)

Ruck depth
Smith (has been dramatically off the pace in recent times, but has plenty of decent senior games in his resume as well)
Abbott (was pushed into the seniors last year and didn't fare too badly; competitive as a ruckman and provides decent cover for this role)

I can't think of a season recently where we have had anything like this number of players who could come in and play reasonable senior footy. Of course, most of them wouldn't light it up on any given week. But that's precisely why the vast majority of them don't play seniors week to week right now. They would be coming in to play a role, realistically as one of the 'last in, first out' brigade (not to carry the team to victory off their own boot).

The only area that looks truly thin is the forward line. And we've known that for a long time. Added to that, it's not clear to me that too many other teams would be that much better off than us if one of their best two keys up front went down for the season either. Most clubs don't have a stack of promising KPF's all happy to sit back and wait for the odd senior game when the top-liners need a week off.

There's around 8-10 names on my list here that I would feel quite comfortable to see playing regularly in the seniors this year if the opportunity presented itself. Whenever that's the case, I don't think you have great reason to bemoan your club's 'lack of depth'.

Still, not having great reason to do so won't stop some posters on here from going 'full Eeyore' about the state of our list whenever they get the chance.

Basically see it the same.. I think we have found our best rythum.. of course young players could drop away and if that happens.. break glass.. hopefull by being midful of that .. we have them fit and in form when it counts
Having depth improves overall performance imo as players fight hard to keep their spot. As our injury list gets smaller and players normally guaranteed spots in the side are fit again, I reckon we'll see a number of players up their performance levels.

We're in a healthy spot at the moment.

On this game I'd be sending Kolo to Stringer. He's the one that seems to get them going in games and I reckon it was the case again against Collingwood. Kolo has done a fantastic job this year. Blicavs to Daniher. O'Connor to Tippa. Win those 3 match-ups and we win the game comfortably.

I dont want to be a wet blanket, and I'm wrapped with how we've gone so far. But if you consider sensibly the games so far, the teams we've beated have turned out not to be as good as hyped (Melbourne, WCE, Hawthorn), Collingwood and Adelaide were good wins but both are better teams now than when we played them ("...its not so much who you play, but when you play them" - Chris Scott). The only form team we played were the Giants and they beat us at home! (albiet by a small margin). So I don't believe we are as far ahead of the pack as some say.
Collingwood were and still are a 'form' team, Melbourne were saying before the season that finishing 4th would not be good enough, many were tipping them for the premiership, when we played them they were essentially the same side we played in the finals last year, they have gone down, perhaps the shock from playing us. Hawthorn are a 'form' team always. The Eagles are the reigning premiers and had most of their GF side playing and were hammered! We too are a better team than when we played Collingwood and Adelaide. We had Guthrie, Tuohy and Bews out at the beginning of the year, no experienced short defenders. We played 4 debutantes in round one, when was the last time we, or anyone, did that? We had two ring-ins and a whole new forward structure to nurture. We still have injuries to Bews, Scooter, Cocky, Cunico so don't overrate our luck. It's very early days in the season and the top 4 and the 8 are still very unsettled, but there is no reason to downplay our wins.
The Bombers are playing into good form ATM, especially from mid second Q, they really took it up to the Pies (who I rate), and but for some 50/50 calls that went against them, the Dons could have taken out that game.
This will be a real test for us. The Bombers have surprised us a few time recently at the MCG (maybe because they don't know where KP is) and will be smarting after the ANZAC day loss. Geelong (players?) seems to have a terrible record of believing the hype when jurnos pump them up.
Yes, I think we are good enough to win, but need to bring our A game, and even then it will be tight.
Good points.

Continually named as having good games in the VFL and based on form has been considered unlucky to not get a senior game yet this year

As long as he continues to do the right thing at VFL level he'll continue to be on the edge of selection and in the emergencies - something people will need to get used to

So Miers possibly a rest based on that interchange? Final 4 = Cuthrie, MOC, Clark and Parfitt?
If Parfitt plays I reckon the out will come from somebody named on the field.

Cannot believe Constable dropped. Maybe Cam Guthrie gets omitted too. Hard calls to make
Neither me, but I can't fathom dropping any of the others either, so I kindof get it.

Yes, I suspect Guthrie would be the other out... unless they push him further forward and drop Atkins, or possibly Jack Henry goes out. But I think you're correct.

Why would they not just have written "omitted" in the first place, then?
No idea. Maybe so the kid doesn't lose hope or confidence.

I stand by my call that he was dropped for Guthrie and that will remain until I die. He earned a recall due to the Parfitt injury and was unlucky again this week.

It's simply a case of one mid too many. Now Menegola and Guthrie are on notice and I hope the same rules are applied to them. Granted they've both been ok but they'd want to keep their form going. It's a positive more than a negative.

Chook is simply stiff. As someone else will be if Parfitt gets up.