Preview Geelong v Richmond 2020 Grand Final Sat Oct 24 @ Gabba

No changes. There is only one area I look at last nights game and think it could hurt us and that's the intercept marks Brisbane were able to take in our F50, some of that seemed to be the Brisbane defenders out positioning our forwards for the long quick ball coming in and other times it was because we kicked to where the Brisbane rucks were setup. I think Richmond will hurt us more on transition that what the Lions were able to, we can't let Nankervis sit in the hole in our F50 and pick off easy intercept marks.

Reckon Stanley should be kicking his lips matching up against Nankervis. He should get first hands at the centre bounces and be able to put run him around the ground. Blicavs on the change should murder him around the ground. Wouldn’t be surprised to see Chol come in for them.

Yeah agreed that Chol really needs to come in from a Richmond prospective. Having Stanly in this time round is huge for us and like you say hopefully he can make Nankervis accountable

This game will need some tactical shifting, with Richmond's secret weapon being NANKERVIS, who seems to always drop down to defence and steal a few crucial marks. Against a shorter forward line, this is my worry. I'm not that concerned with the Bogan King (a true champ) or The Knee or the Dirty Cheap Shot skipper because Tigers are good all over the ground. Their system is what stops good teams from beating them. Get this right and we're in with a shot.

Will come down to how our forward line functions. Need their intercept defenders to be accountable

This..and whether our possession happy style can withstand their manic pressure and stop them forcing goals from turnovers.

Quick shout out to the Saints for offering Ryan Abbott a two year deal late last year, allowing the cats to pop Lachie Henderson back on the rookie list For 2020. The rest is history and one of the better feel good stories of GF week for the cats.

Hendo has done really well to fight back from where he was at 12 months ago..hope he can win a flag.

If they didnt bring chol in last week i doubt they will now. Nankervis is good but stanley needs to get on his bike and expose him around the ground..if he can be dangerous forward it makes nankervis go to him rather than sitting behind the play to intercept mark.

Negative Spin:

Richmond have been the best team in the competition for the last 3-4 years, and Grand Finals are their bread and butter. The Cats really haven't shown anything against the Tigers to think we can go all the way against them, save for a game when we trounced them with half their best players out. The Tigers gameplan does not wilt under the spotlight - if anything, it gets better. They play 4-qtr footy almost better than any other side and they have a team of finals-hardened veterans. You can't really expect them to just let this one go without a huge fight.

Positive Spin:

Geelong have just proved that they're not what they have been in years gone past. We got unlucky against the Power with missed opportunities, then dismantled our opposition over the next two weeks, exhibiting composure under pressure, a strong gameplan and a 4-qtr will. (Honestly, very few of us were expecting this) The Tigers just played a brutal slog in the wet for 4 quarters, and then have to travel back to the GABBA, where they lost their last game. They wont have the crowd advantage like they usually do at their home ground. We know how much crowd impacts their performances. We have a level of desperation sitting in the hearts of our best players, forged by many moments of letting the big ones slip. Ablett, Selwood, Danger, Hawk, etc. We have more stars than them, and the team carried themselves very well against Collingwood and Brisbane. It suggested this team has a steely resolve - they want nothing less than a flag. Danger hasn't been spotlight-seeking as of late. Doing the team things and getting down to business. Every time Joel gets a microphone in front of him, he's very quick to turn the spotlight away from individuals and shine it on the team. He knows it will take a team to win this one.

I honestly have no idea what to expect next week. It will likely be the toughest challenge this team has faced, but you just never know with Geelong. Funny things happen to this team, and we will run out on to that ground next week with a handful of some of the best players to ever play this game. With a little bit of luck, you never know what might happen. I'm just really glad that Gary Ablett Jr gets to play in a Grand Final for his last appearance in the blue and white. Someone of his stature deserves nothing less. You can keep your Cotchin's and your Martin's and your Lynch's - the little master will always be on the top of every list you could come up with. It would be a fairytale to see him off into the sunset with a premiership medal. And it would be justice to see the Tigers, their awful gameplan, their arrogance, and their spoilt coach put in their place. (Well their true place is ninth, but you know what I mean)

If they didnt bring chol in last week i doubt they will now. Nankervis is good but stanley needs to get on his bike and expose him around the ground..if he can be dangerous forward it makes nankervis go to him rather than sitting behind the play to intercept mark.

I hope they don’t. I think between Stanley and Blicavs we have an opportunity to exploit his lack of mobility. He’s a smart player that drops into the hole very well. Both our ducks need to make sure the ball at least comes to ground if there’s a high ball coming in. Fast ball movement forward negates his ability to get into the hole anyway.

Agreed...needs to be fast precise ball movement though not bombing it in long to their intercept defenders.

It will take a brave man to sit in the hole in front of Hawkins, Rohan and Dangerfield this week

Quick shout out to the Saints for offering Ryan Abbott a two year deal late last year, allowing the cats to pop Lachie Henderson back on the rookie list For 2020. The rest is history and one of the better feel good stories of GF week for the cats.

and the Saints didn't even play him in their final against the Tigers even though they had Ryder, Carlisle and Long all missing. Makes you wonder why they bother bringing in these fringe type players at all.

And delisted one year into a two year deal I think. Lucky boy Ryan Abbott, genuine local level talent who got three years AFL coin basically because he is tall and relatively athletic. That’s no knock either.

Nah they like to have us do that and then slingshot goals out the back off turnover..dont give them that.
Yeah thats my thinking too. Apart from Dusty who has to be sat on to some degree we need to put time into Houli and Short.

We've got this.
They've hobbled into the GF playing pretty poorly all things considered and only just getting over the line vs a team who threw away chances in front of goal, whereas we are playing fantastic football, all of our players are in good form and we dismantled both of our last 2 opponents to get here. On top of that the players have a real feel about them that they still have 1 more goal to tick off, there was no over the top celebrating after the prelim win (especially compared to how richmond carried on), just a steely resolve to go one better.
The ONLY reason I'd have to be nervous would be if we lost our composure and played into richmonds hands, which I don't think we will. We will come out strong, making richmond play our way like we did against the lions and pies, and we will not relent.
This is our year. This is our time.

Sounds logical but cast your mind back to 2007 and allow me to play Devil's advocate. We won a titanic clash against the Pies by less than a kick, whereas Port thumped their oppo (North?) in the other prelim. Then of course we all know what happened in the GF.