Geelongs salary cap - Does it need questioning?

One of my favorite thing is Joel Selwoods forever backended contract. He is going to be on the list til he is 75 at this rate. He is another one who would be on 800k a year by now. If we are fair dinkum the salaries are below BTW

Rhys Stanley - 400k
Zac Tuohy - 600k
Brandan Parfitt - 300k
Gary Ablett - 300k
Naika Cockatoo - 100k
Jordan Clark - 100k
Harry Taylor - 600k (forever backended contract catching up)
Jake Kolodhasnij - 300k
Jack Steven - 500k
Ben Jarvis - 75k
Josh Jenkins - 200k
Cooper Stephens - 75k
Lachoe Fogarty - 100k
Joel Selwood - 800k (forever backended contract catching up)
Nathan Kreuger - 75k
Sam De Koning - 75k
Esavara Ratugolea - 300k
Charlie Constable - 100k
Quinton Narkle - 100k
Jacob Kennerly - 100k
Mitch Duncan - 800k
Gary Rohan - 500k
Jed Bews - 200k
Tom Hawkins - 800k
Sam Menegola - 500k
Darcy Fort - 100k
Cameron Guthrie - 400k
Francis Evans - 75k
Gryan Miers - 400k
Jake Tarca - 75k
James Parsons - 100k
Patrick Dangerfield - 1 mill
Sam Simpson - 100k
Jack Henry - 200k
Zac Gutrhie - 100k
Luke Dalhaus - 600k
Cameron Taheny - 75k
Mark O'Connor - 300k
Tom Stewart - 800k
Mark Bilcavs - 800k

13.5 mill all up and that is before we add Jeremy Camerons 750k, Higgins 500k and Isaac Smiths 500k too also.

Not even trying at this stage

I don't even know where to start with this trainwreck of a post.

I told you before, Danger doesn't get paid more than Selwood...he said it himself! - how do you not get this? Dahlhaus is on 500, Rohan is on 300, Blicavs and Stewart are DEFINITELY not on 800K...

This is just a ridiculous list you've come up with, that more looks at their ***********MARKET VALUE TO LOWER TEAMS***************, rather than what we would actually pay them. You also need to realize, that half of these players were signed before they had such a good year this year and last. Tuohy is about to get a new contract, and he is certainly not on 600K either. Why the f*ck would Miers be on the same amount as Guthrie? Ridiculous inflation everywhere.

These are wildly fanciful figures to suit your argument, and to be honest, it's pretty pathetic that you've gone to these lengths when you obviously have absolutely no idea about the inner machinations of our pay structure and our club.

I will post this one more time, to explain a more REALISTIC version of our pay structure.

Piss off with all your salty nonsense. No-one is leaving, as it's not just about money at Geelong....something that West Coast supporters continually seem to not understand.

12.6 MIL salary cap -

Top Tier - 3 players

Selwood 900K
Danger 890K
Hawkins 800K (will very likely take a big paycut in this contract given the extra year he'll get)

Total = 2.6 MIL approx.

Middle Tier - 17 players

Taylor 500K
Blics 500K
Stewart 500K
Duncan 500K
Dahlhaus 500K
Steven 400K (half his contract or so being paid by Saints)
Guth 400K
Parfitt (new contract likely to be around 400K or so given his stellar year)
Ablett 400K
Menegola 300K
Tuohy 300K
Stanley 300K
Rohan 300K
Kolo 250K
Bews 250K
Henry 200K
O'Connor 200K
Miers 200K

Total = 6.4 MIL approx.

Lower Tier but senior experience - 10 players

Clark 150K (1st round pick wages)
De Koning 150K (1st round pick wages)
C. Stephens 150K (1st round pick wages)
Cockatoo 150K (1st round pick wages)
Fogarty 120K
Constable 120K
Ratugolea 120K
Narkle 120K
Simpson 120K
Atkins 120K

Total = 1.320 MIL approx.

Basement wages (rookie, untried or depth) - 100K or less - 16 players

Jenkins (majority of salary being paid by Adelaide)
Jarvis
Henderson
Tarca
Close
Schlensog
Z. Guthrie
Fort
Brownless
Kennerley
Evans
Taheny
Okunbor
Close
Kreuger

Total = 1.6 MIL approx.

Overall total 46 players - approx. 11.92 MIL

Leaves around 700K. Retirements of Taylor and Ablett leave another 900K - that's 1.6 MIL. If Hawkins takes a pay cut (which I think he will if he wants a 2 year contract instead of the standard 1) then that could be another 300-400K - that's 1.9-2 MIL spare now which would cover all of Cameron, Crouch and Higgins (Cameron 850K, Crouch 650K, Higgins 400-500K as an example)

These are obviously very basic figures, but it's a demonstration of who is on our list, what tier they fall into, and what they're likely to be paid as a result. Guthrie, Menegola and Duncan are all locked into their long-term contracts, so a price rise doesn't need to be factored in for them. Clark likely is on more, but I'm not sure how much of an increase it would be (100-200K?), so I've left that as is given other salaries probably balance it out.

We might appear to have all these 'stars' but in reality, the list breakdown is more a combination of some A-B graders, mid-tier and low-tier players with a few right at the absolute elite level - with possibly a couple to break into that level once Selwood and Hawkins retire.

I think you need to stop posting mate.
It’s clear you haven’t got a clue. It’s best you stop now. Cheers

The best utility in AFL and your vice captain is not on 400k. Its just not logical in any way

Name me 1 team that he wouldnt be playing for and be a top 10 player for? Every single team in the comp would be bending over backwards and you want me to believe he is paying for half his value?

Not happening

The best utility in AFL and your vice captain is not on 400k. Its just not logical in any way

Name me 1 team that he wouldnt be playing for and be a top 10 player for? Every single team in the comp would be bending over backwards and you want me to believe he is paying for half his value?

Not happening
Maybe you should take your concerns to the AFL mate. Give them a call first up tomorrow and tell them you think Geelong are cheating the cap.

Not happening

So in May, 2018, 2 and a half years ago, the Cats knew that their non-specialist position player, who had not even made an extended AA squad, who had won only 1 best and fairest at that point, and had just started his stint in defence, would win that year's best and fairest, would make that year's extended AA squad, become an accomplished wingman, and upgraded his contract accordingly based on all these things that hadn't happened yet.

[/QUOTE]
Oh yeah , how can anyone suggest the AFL might put the image of the game before the integrity of the competition ?

Been quite a while since there has been even a hint of any sort of salary cap issues , years even

I’m sure the “official” books all look pristine

Not a Geelong problem per say but its never going to be a fair comp , the rich clubs will always have a leg up and unfortunately the poor clubs will just have to take their chances when they can beat the odds and hopefully snag a flag

Better than English soccer at least

Sent from my iPad using BigFooty.com

Leicester City says hello

Leicester City says hello[/QUOTE]

And the doggies say hello back

Weren’t they a 1200 to 1 pop at the start of that season

As I said every now and again the glorious uncertainty of sport can overcome the mighty dollar .... just enough to keep us interested if you barrack for a battler

They are certainly running out of shares in Geelong pubs and "pallet inspector" roles at Costa's fruit and veg markets to give out.

Geelong are just a club run incredibly well. Success is their selling point. Best in the league.

1 flag in the last 10 years isn't selling the idea of success. I dont think they've had any big name recruits apart from Danger, but that was for the go home factor. Cameron would be their biggest get. The rest of their recruits were older players pushed out by their previous clubs like Touhy, Stanley, Rohan, Stevens, Jenkins etc.

I don't understand why the possibility of prudent management has to be dismissed outright, that Geelong must be cheating. Brian Cook is the consummate sporting club CEO. He isn't going to cheat and tarnish his reputation

1 flag in the last 10 years isn't selling the idea of success. I dont think they've had any big name recruits apart from Danger, but that was for the go home factor. Cameron would be their biggest get. The rest of their recruits were older players pushed out by their previous clubs like Touhy, Stanley, Rohan, Stevens, Jenkins etc.

Aside from Boak, who have we gone after that we missed out on? There’s been a few players linked to us but few who we have actively chased hard.

Sorry but a player who wants to go to a successful club isn’t going to look at, say, the Bulldogs, or Hawthorn, and go ‘well they’ve won flags more recently than the cats, that cancels out that the cats are making top four every year.’

No...you build a strong culture both off and on the field and you will attract quality players without having to pay them massive $$$

obviously with Cameron the location helps, like it did with Dangerfield but Geelong are an elite club from the top down...

they have a brilliant CEO, footy manager, the best list manager, top end coach and great leadership on field...

Hawthorn’s list from 2012-2015 was arguably the strongest of the modern era...they managed to attract top end talent in Frawley, lake, Gibson, whilst holding onto all their elite talent except for Buddy Franklin.

If you build an elite culture, you don’t have to pay guys like Cameron & Dangerfield huge $$$...next season they will both be on similar or less money than players like Zac Williams, Dylan Shiel, jaeger Omera, Brandon Ellis...those players aren’t good enough to tie Danger’s bootlaces

I don't think Geelongs salary cap needs questioning at all.

I think Free Agency maybe needs to be addressed. You can't have free agents just going to strong clubs, I think even Geelong fans can agree that's not in the best interest of the competition but that should not be a reflection of their amazing ability to maintain a healthy list for so very long.

I don't think Geelongs salary cap needs questioning at all.

I think Free Agency maybe needs to be addressed. You can't have free agents just going to strong clubs, I think even Geelong fans can agree that's not in the best interest of the competition but that should not be a reflection of their amazing ability to maintain a healthy list for so very long.
I do agree with you here that I don't think it's healthy for the competition if gun players are predominately going to successful clubs, I mean it doesn't just stop there with free agency either eg Kelly wanted the more successful WC and not Freo. The counter point is shouldn't a player earn the right to choose their employer after 8 years service, given workers rights etc these days I think they should. If I take the player welfare side out of it then I would say that players should get to nominate their contract requirements and their state of choice and then clubs that can meet the contract inside that state would negotiate with the departing club on a trade, the club could then trade to the highest bidder.

Yes, it is selling success, because Geelong have in flag contention in some way or the other for most of those years (2015 and 2018 the obvious exceptions). That's enough to get good players across the line - they need to have a realistic image of them winning a flag in the next few years.

I think the idea that the other players were "pushed out" is wishful thinking, they were all playing pretty regular and reasonable football for their clubs bar of course Jack Stevens, who's a bit of a special case.

Geelongs salary cap - Does it need questioning?