General AFL Thread

The eerie thing about that thread that CHBench highlighted from the Freo board, was just how similar it was to threads we had here in about 2010. Basically, "We're in a great position, better than we've been in years, and we feel like people are finally taking us seriously... but yikes, there's just no Plan B, and the development for the future is a bit dire, especially considering he just picks the same 25ish players every week..."

We all warned them when they got him over there. But no, he'd changed, he'd changed...

Just read the MRP report.

An Audible cackle escaped my lips as Dustin Martin needs to front the AFL because he flipped off a fair portion of Collingwood fans who the majority were probably lippy during the match to any Tiger that came close.

HTFU up everyone.

CNJz9zbUEAA8TXc.jpg

Remember Bolton turned down an interview for the Saints coaching position after Watters. Interesting decision given it clearly wasn't the prospect of a full rebuild that put him off.

I do feel for him in some ways. Carlton are in need of an almost complete rebuild and very few coaches survive long enough to see the club come from the bottom.

Remember Bolton turned down an interview for the Saints coaching position after Watters. Interesting decision given it clearly wasn't the prospect of a full rebuild that put him off.

I do feel for him in some ways. Carlton are in need of an almost complete rebuild and very few coaches survive long enough to see the club come from the bottom.

Maybe he wasn't quite ready personally? That 5 game stint last year then turned him around? I wouldn't take it as a slant against the club.

Good luck to him though. If they don't turn it on quickly the boys club will be out to get him.

Glad he turned it down.

More than happy with our current coach.

Just read the MRP report.

An Audible cackle escaped my lips as Dustin Martin needs to front the AFL because he flipped off a fair portion of Collingwood fans who the majority were probably lippy during the match to any Tiger that came close.
Marc Murphy did the same a couple of years back. $900 for the privilege.

How's Paul Roos having a whinge about emails questioning his commitment after his THIRD week in a row of questioning the commitment of his players?

Flog of a bloke, no wonder his team is shit.

I think he's crazy TBH, Carlton as a club let alone as a playing group is like bacon, it looks tasty, but you can only eat so much before you put some back in the fridge, then you forget about it, a week goes past and you go "you know what, I could use some bacon" so you pick up the wrapping, go to use the bacon and suddenly you are encompassed in a god awful smell and the fat rinds are wriggling at you in glee that "everything is fine here, come on, we're still good" and you cringe, throw it in the bin and set the #$%^n thing on fire to purge the evil spirits from your home.

I hope he does well, but I don't see it happening without foundation changes at Carlton.

How's Paul Roos having a whinge about emails questioning his commitment after his THIRD week in a row of questioning the commitment of his players?

Flog of a bloke, no wonder his team is shit.

On the one hand I agree with Roos, having met him I don't understand people who say he doesn't give a shit about footy, or isn't trying very hard at Melbourne, because he does give a shit and I'd be insulted as well if some knob sent me correspondence simply because my contract is finite and I may struggle with displaying emotion in a public sense.

On the other hand, I also agree with the detractors, because it is a finite contract and said contract basically says "after this ends, I wash my hands of this place and its people" so they too are insulted, because footy is tribal and we all love some facet of the game and the clubs we follow, we all care, we just don't live it 24/7 like those inside the business.

I would also argue that the Demons aren't shit, Brissie are shit because they are an utter shambles at the moment and bleeding players, their culture as a club is on shaky ground and there are questions that need answering and hard calls to be made, GC are shit because for all the talent on field that they amassed; it's a club of prepubescent teens suddenly finding out that they have hair in funny places and women are attractive, it's a brave new world and they are not ready. Melbourne, Melbourne are depressed, for no particular reason or for a multitude of reasons that are innumerable, they are trying to get out of this funk they are in because it's stinking up the place and a sad mopey bastard is no fun to be around, there is a light at the end of the tunnel, but the tunnel is bloody long.

Melbourne have hope, Brissie need to fix why everyone who goes to the place and leaves instantly becomes 40% happier than when they arrived, and GC need to grow the $%^^n hell up and get laid so they can calm down.

Except, Fly, their hope is in PICKS, not Premierships. This is one of the reasons (of many!) that I am so glad I'm one of our supporters and not one of theirs. No better example of the difference between the two sides would be found than last weekend: if we'd wanted to, we could have tanked up that game against Geelong, lost by 50 points, and nobody would have batted an eye - it would have almost ensured we get pick 5 instead of pick 6, which if we were in the pick business would have made sense. Instead, we gave our all and went for the win - because that's what teams bloody well should do. Because losing to get new young players isn't as valuable as winning to teach the young players you already have. Compare that to Melbourne, who humiliated - nay - shamed themselves, yet again, for the sake of securing ANOTHER early pick.

There is a purgatory-sized chasm between the heaven and hell of 13th and 14th this season. One word: culture.

Except, Fly, their hope is in PICKS, not Premierships. This is one of the reasons (of many!) that I am so glad I'm one of our supporters and not one of theirs. No better example of the difference between the two sides would be found than last weekend: if we'd wanted to, we could have tanked up that game against Geelong, lost by 50 points, and nobody would have batted an eye - it would have almost ensured we get pick 5 instead of pick 6, which if we were in the pick business would have made sense. Instead, we gave our all and went for the win - because that's what teams bloody well should do. Because losing to get new young players isn't as valuable as winning to teach the young players you already have. Compare that to Melbourne, who humiliated - nay - shamed themselves, yet again, for the sake of securing ANOTHER early pick.

There is a purgatory-sized chasm between the heaven and hell of 13th and 14th this season. One word: culture.
We basically could've done that for the last 6 weeks of the season and gone with the "young team, long season" excuse but instead Roo said in a post match interview on Saturday that we really wanted to pinch at least one of the games against strong opposition.

Not trying to win is simply unacceptable.

Absolute snake oil salesman that Paul Roos....

You give any coach in the AFL over the last 10 years an extra $1million in salary cap money & I'm certain even Mark Neeld could have got Melbourne to the finals at some stage

Problem with Melb as I see it...

They cut their senior players because the club lacked enough backbone to keep them in line.

So now they had to bring in some senior rejects.

Meanwhile...

Their lack of propert development structures combined with throwing all their lambs to the slaughter meant that they los scully and pretty much all of their top picks went nowhere apart from Watts who is questionable at best.

So basically, that whole period was a waste.

However, they now have Hogan, Petracca and Brayshaw who should turn out to be guns... a good start. All is not lost,but they will take another 2-3 years to see the results.

As far as Roos is concerned, he will eave the place better than he found it. He was never appointed ona long term basis, but I reckon he has laid some decent foundations.

Absolute snake oil salesman that Paul Roos....

You give any coach in the AFL over the last 10 years an extra $1million in salary cap money & I'm certain even Mark Neeld could have got Melbourne to the finals at some stage
Yep. Look at how the bludz culcha is trending now the AFL has started to pull some of their ridiculous advantages.

The honesty of Grant Thomas never gets old:

@Thomo_Grant: Love watching Roos back-pedalling a million kph after sooking & moaning. Blaming everyone else. Look in the mirror. Negative clouds pfffft!!

@Thomo_Grant: You'd think the self professed guru Roosy could deal with a few disgruntled negative supporters for $1.5M a season?

The honesty of Grant Thomas never gets old:

@Thomo_Grant: Love watching Roos back-pedalling a million kph after sooking & moaning. Blaming everyone else. Look in the mirror. Negative clouds pfffft!!

@Thomo_Grant: You'd think the self professed guru Roosy could deal with a few disgruntled negative supporters for $1.5M a season?
God love him. Everyone else just thinks it.

I'm pretty sure he was interviewed by the saints for the job that watters got, and didn't want to go through the process again, remember Richo didn't interview again either, the club sought him out once watters had gone

Anyone think the happenings in the Hawthorn assistant coaching ranks will cause issues for them in September?

Brendan Bolton has just left to join the brown paper baggers, which is a huge blow just 2 weeks from finals. And that's on top of the tragedy of Brett Ratten's son passing away in an MVA just last week....

Be interested to see if it has any bearing on the players, & also structures & game plans, over the coming weeks

General AFL Thread