Good, Bad, Ugly v Collingwood

I think Fagan should be called out for not living up to his promises. What was supposed to be an elite footy department has turned into a retirement home for ex-Adelaide players with longstanding records of failure. Fages comes from a rugby background and without his own contacts in this industry you can clearly see he's deferred all of the appointments to Roo whose proceeded to load up on Craig-era guys. It's this kind of weak, insular way of thinking that has defined the Crows in the last decade.

Just to be clear, I think Fagan is very good at handling the business side of things but the part about making the best footy dept. in the league was pure bs. He's not equipped to do this at all.

The Pathetic Players List

Douglas - 200 game midfielder. Manages 14 touches in an undermanned midfield, 6 of which were in the last quarter. A pathetic useless hack and a waste of a spot. Provides no leadership. **** off.

Atkins - Softest and most embarrassing player to ever play 50+ games for the Crows. We all thought David Mackay was bad, this guy is next level shit. Burns the ball, sells hospital handpasses like nothing else, and cannot tackle to save himself. Needs to be dropped immediately and delisted as soon as possible.

Jenkins - Just **** off you useless garbage tall forward piece of god damn shit. Avoids contests like Port avoids discussing sponsorships. Plays like a mouse in a tiger's body. A disgrace to the jumper.

Sloane - If you are injured, put your hand up and DON'T PLAY. And if you're already thinking of heading back to Victoria, just **** off now and save us the time.

Walker - a captain with no leadership when the ship is sinking, cannonballs are killing teammates and the kraken is hiding under the waves. As one dimensional as a line. Scarred by the Grand Final.

Jacobs - a bollard could ruck better. Literally has no idea how to tap the ball to our players even when there is no ruckman and a 5 meter clear paddock around him. An absolutely appalling effort and continuing his embarrassing form to start the season. Can only win the ruck battle when things are on his terms and he is playing a Matty Clarke lookalike. Should be forced to retire.

Ellis-Yolmen - not AFL standard and bizarrely retained on the list for 7 years despite everyone realizing this many years ago

Lynch - downhill skiier on a 90-degree vertical slope. Such a weak player when we need to play contested football, offers no leadership, can't take a contested mark to save himself, just a big pile of dicks

Hartigan - the master of spoiling our own players, brainfades across half back, and bizarrely loose checking. Holds the record for the most spoils directly to the advantage of an opponent.

Brown - I'm starting to question how good you really are

Good: Pies, most of the night --- played like they wanted the win, credit where due.

Bad: I don't know where to start. It was really, really bad.
Jacobs' tap to Sidebottom was indicative of how bad. Jacobs is supplying oppo mids far too often, wtf?

Ugly: senior players on one leg/ bombing wet ball in all night to too-many-talls-forward-line.

Melters calling for Pyke's head are ridiculous, but Crows need players with heart and mongrel. Too many passengers.

It’s shattering when you finally accept that the team that you support have a soft underbelly

It’s disappointing when you know that the coaches are fixed on their philosophies and we will remain stuck in our selection philosophies

What makes me angry is supporting a team that lacks both technique and intent to stick a tackle, how many years do we need to fix this?

Our team balance is totally out of sorts, we haven’t replaced JPod with a coach of equal quality and Campo has been in the AFC system to long

Campo and Clarke

q7nqBUb.gif

Good: Collingwood- worked harder, tackled more ferociously, and played with speed, confidence and surety. Kudos to the guy who thought to spray their jumpers with Teflon, worked a treat.

Bad: Adelaide- a slow, lazy, fumbly, panicky error riddled game. I thought we used to save these games for Melbourne Football Club.

Good: Pies, most of the night --- played like they wanted the win, credit where due.

Bad: I don't know where to start. It was really, really bad.
Jacobs' tap to Sidebottom was indicative of how bad. Jacobs is supplying oppo mids far too often, wtf?

Ugly: senior players on one leg/ bombing wet ball in all night to too-many-talls-forward-line.

Melters calling for Pyke's head are ridiculous, but Crows need players with heart and mongrel. Too many passengers.

Will never happen so we must stop wishing for it. This is a mediocre club you just need to accept it.

I think Fagan should be called out for not living up to his promises. What was supposed to be an elite footy department has turned into a retirement home for ex-Adelaide players with longstanding records of failure. Fages comes from a rugby background and without his own contacts in this industry you can clearly see he's deferred all of the appointments to Roo whose proceeded to load up on Craig-era guys. It's this kind of weak, insular way of thinking that has defined the Crows in the last decade.

Just to be clear, I think Fagan is very good at handling the business side of things but the part about making the best footy dept. in the league was pure bs. He's not equipped to do this at all.

Utter stupidity to put Camporeale, Clarke and Hart back in the box together and expected anything different from the disaster that they were the last time they were all together in 2011

Douglas - 200 game midfielder. Manages 14 touches in an undermanned midfield, 6 of which were in the last quarter. A pathetic useless hack and a waste of a spot. Provides no leadership. **** off.

Atkins - Softest and most embarrassing player to ever play 50+ games for the Crows. We all thought David Mackay was bad, this guy is next level shit. Burns the ball, sells hospital handpasses like nothing else, and cannot tackle to save himself. Needs to be dropped immediately and delisted as soon as possible.

Jenkins - Just **** off you useless garbage tall forward piece of god damn shit. Avoids contests like Port avoids discussing sponsorships. Plays like a mouse in a tiger's body. A disgrace to the jumper.

Sloane - If you are injured, put your hand up and DON'T PLAY. And if you're already thinking of heading back to Victoria, just **** off now and save us the time.

Walker - a captain with no leadership when the ship is sinking, cannonballs are killing teammates and the kraken is hiding under the waves. As one dimensional as a line. Scarred by the Grand Final.

Jacobs - a bollard could ruck better. Literally has no idea how to tap the ball to our players even when there is no ruckman and a 5 meter clear paddock around him. An absolutely appalling effort and continuing his embarrassing form to start the season. Can only win the ruck battle when things are on his terms and he is playing a Matty Clarke lookalike. Should be forced to retire.

Ellis-Yolmen - not AFL standard and bizarrely retained on the list for 7 years despite everyone realizing this many years ago

Lynch - downhill skiier on a 90-degree vertical slope. Such a weak player when we need to play contested football, offers no leadership, can't take a contested mark to save himself, just a big pile of dicks

Hartigan - the master of spoiling our own players, brainfades across half back, and bizarrely loose checking. Holds the record for the most spoils directly to the advantage of an opponent.

Don't be so subtle. Say what you mean. ;)
Terrific rant, mostly spot-on :thumbsu:.
How about the repeated bombing slipperywet ball into forest forward line? Drove me bonkers.

So bad.

I can only laugh at how bad we were and how many times weve replayed this same situation. It's almost like a bad recurring dream or ground hog day.

I'm convinced it's cultural and ingrained in the psyche of the group.

We need to break this cycle of crumbling under pressure.

Leadership under pressure is an issue as they set the acceptable standard and model behaviours for the others to follow.

Good: Collingwood- worked harder, tackled more ferociously, and played with speed, confidence and surety. Kudos to the guy who thought to spray their jumpers with Teflon, worked a treat.

Bad: Adelaide- a slow, lazy, fumbly, panicky error riddled game. I thought we used to save these games for Melbourne Football Club.

Being outworked at home, in prime time when your suoer hot favourites is embarrassing and I would like to hear some honesty from Pyke and the club, not the normal scripted BS

The loss is entirely on the coaching/selection. There is no possible situation where Adelaide could have won tonight regardless of the efforts of the individuals playing.

The selection of Fogarty was the worst offence IMHO*. Either they legitimately thought 5 tall forwards was workable in those conditions, or they consider the 22nd spot as superfluous and you could select anybody for the experience and have the other 21 carry them.

*Playing Sloane while injured a close second.

good
well my anger has all gone because you could see the loss before half time so I can give a nice objective report.
We look to have a lot of sore players, hopefully that was a contributing factor because if it wasn't.....
Thought mackay, greenwood and milera were ok.

bad
Our regulation give a win to a dud team when we had a lot going our way, this time home ground, last time (r6 last year) in superb form
Our usual career best game we give to spud teams (not that grundy or stephenson are spuds)
lost to collingwood who hasn't won here.

ugly
listening to the commentary team not explain once why we were going so bad.....which was....
gameplan/coaching....I woulda put two back after a max of getting 3 goals down, possibly even two. We put 1 back in the last and it cut off a few of their forward forays. If we could put someone back in the last, why not do it in the third or even second or even first? Doing it for longer we could try it and test it more, might have even had a chance to get back in the game.

Others have posted about how our workrate looked poor and collingwoods looked much better. No shit, wouldn't you be up and working hard if you were spanking adelaide on their home ground in the wet, getting team lifting style goals at the start of the game?

Others have said about our forwards -they can't do anything, out of form. No shit, when its 2,3 and 4 on 1 in slippery conditions it makes it pretty hard. We coulda done the same to them, but chose not to.

Others have said we are too slow. A team who tries to control the inside - and is failing - is going to look slow - as they voluntarily give everyone on the opposition a head start and space on the outside. We shoulda understood the conditions and let go of trying to control the inside.

Others have said mistakes. No shit. When we did get it on the inside, their outside ring could come and pressure no worries as we couldn't get into open space because there was traffic around us. So we feel heaps of pressure. Then because we didn't put players back we get scoreboard pressure build. Then players go into their shells and lose their confidence = more mistakes. Players dropping confidence, losing faith in game plan and feeling under pressure makes you perform worse everywhere, contributing to doing so bad contested ball. Although we did start badly also (in contested, before the game was uneven and scoreboard pressure built).

Others have said selection. Fog didn't make all the difference we saw tonight. Grundy's a tall and he did alright, Cox did ok. Reid serviceable. Height wasn't the issue. Gameplan.

Our inability to change the direction of the game. I commented about this in a post in the offseason, it always happens during our losses. We never adjust during losses. How many times do we need to have it for it to go from event to trend pykey?

Nice melt.
However, I think EVERY WORD IS SPOT ON!.
In fact, I would have been even stronger. I would have saved some venom for Pyke too.
I would have made him the #1 villain.

So bad.

I can only laugh at how bad we were and how many times weve replayed this same situation. It's almost like a bad recurring dream or ground hog day.

I'm convinced it's cultural and ingrained in the psyche of the group.

We need to break this cycle of crumbling under pressure.

Leadership under pressure is an issue as they set the acceptable standard and model behaviours for the others to follow.

When Collingwood kicked the 1st goal after 6-7 skill or decision error from our players I had a sense that this would go pear shape

Good, Bad, Ugly v Collingwood