Preview GRAND FINAL - Collingwood Magpies vs Brisbane Lions • Saturday 30 September 2023 • 2:30 PM • Melbourne Cricket Ground

The reason I think Brisbane's guernsey design went down hill is starting from the Paddle Pop Lion. They looked more presentable 20 years ago in that 2003 GF.
Mate you’re preaching to the choir here.

I’d like to think we are a board that will always welcome respectful opposition posters like yourself, but I think people are going to get quite short with you if you’re bringing up issues that have been thrashed out ad nauseam on here in our GF preview thread.

He also got some love in the Age yesterday.

This article is from the September 27 issue of The Age Digital Edition. To subscribe, visit "Latest & Breaking News Melbourne, Victoria | The Age".

Andrew Stafford

Some time after he came to the Brisbane Lions as an 18-year-old rookie at the end of 2010, Ryan Lester was given the nickname Froggy. Normally, he explains that he had a pet frog when he came to the club.

That’s not true.

A couple of players gave an emoji to every player. For no apparent reason, Lester got a frog, but he took it several steps further on an end-of-season trip to Hong Kong, where he got a froggy tattoo ‘‘ somewhere on my body that you won’t see it’’ .

This is probably the flashiest thing about Frog. Saturday’s grand final will be his 180th game, testament more to his work ethic, character and persistence than natural talent.

Across his career, he’s been dropped 17 times. He just keeps bouncing back.

Taking things one game at a time is a cliche in football. Lester, however, has always taken a longer view.

‘‘ I got told early in my career ‘you’re here for a career, not a game’, and that’s always helped my mindset,’’ he said on Monday of his career on the fringe.

At the end of last year, he was delisted by the Lions, then picked up again. Coach Chris Fagan made him VFL captain, but told him it would not hinder his senior selection prospects. Lester accepted, with no expectations, but the determination still burned.

In round 14, he won his spot back, and wouldn’t let it go. On Saturday, he’ll be a walk-up selection for his first grand final . Lester is trusted by his teammates and coaches: he’s versatile, smart and unlikely to be fazed by big occasions.

‘‘ He’s a good person, a really good leader and clearly a really good player as well,’’ Lions midfield coach Jed Adcock said. ‘‘ You just don’t usually have your best years of footy when you hit 30, 31.’’

For the past four years, Lester has thrived on one-year contracts.

‘‘ I go into every year thinking, ‘righto, if this is my last year, what do I need to do so I’m ready to transition?’ After four years, I’m more than ready to transition. It’s just a bonus that I’m still playing.’’

He quietly completed a Bachelor of Business, and works one day in insurance; his LinkedIn profile is already more impressive than his Wikipedia page.

He probably won’t stay in football when his playing career ends. ‘‘ For me to progress as a person, I feel like I need to try something different.’’

For the first seven years of his career, Lester was part of the glue that held the club together, ‘‘ when our biggest games were against the other three bottom teams that we could possibly win’’ .

They were bleak times. ‘‘ We had guys leaving the club, and it didn’t feel like good people were necessarily valued. Since ‘Fages’ got here, I’ve felt like good people have been valued around the club more. I guess I’ve benefited from that a little bit.’’

All of this has made not only Lester’s contribution to the club more appreciated, but Lester’s appreciation of each game has risen, too: ‘‘ For the first few games this year I had the attitude that every game could be my last, so go out and enjoy everything that comes with it.’’

Then Darcy Gardiner returned from injury. Lester was omitted, again, despite playing well. Gardiner was injured again; Lester was recalled.

‘‘ I was kind of like, I’ve got another opportunity, let’s go out and show them I don’t deserve to be dropped all the time,’’ he said.

Adcock said that showed the type of person Lester was.

‘‘ He didn’t drop his bundle; he didn’t sook it up. He just went to work, and it’s been an amazing year for him.’’

In the past few days, Lester’s phone has blown up. He’s soaked it all in.

‘‘ There have been so many text messages of congratulations, and it’s been great to share that joy with other people, that people are genuinely happy for me and the club,’’ he said.

There’s just one more game that counts now.

‘‘ For 10 years there was very little respect from the competition for Brisbane,’’ he said. ‘‘ It was all about what we did in the early 2000s, whereas now it’s very much about what this side can do on Saturday.’’

Perhaps Lester will receive wider recognition and respect too.

Copyright © 2023 The Age

Yep , trying to think if Prior would get the gig, but I think that may push Cal Ah chee forward, and I'm dead set against that.
Not because Cal is not a great forward , but his reliability in transition and defending is first class.
Hmm, not Cocka, maybe Forte or Gunners, don't think Harry is up for it just yet, Tunstell -same.
I think it would come down to Gunners and Prior ,it's a tough decision.
Either way I will be cheering.

Or Sharp to play wing, Ah Chee forward.

McCarthy should be fine for Saturday.

Payne not so much. Gardiner has a good history against Elliot and De Goey, so you'd back him to blanket one of them.
Just going on a hunch re mccarthy?

My worry is it’s a calf he did very recently. I noticed on the replay he got a corkie but that was the other leg. Linc’s value is going absolutely full throttle so let’s hope he is not limited at all. He missed round 24 so his gap between games was 22 days. Decent gap i guess?

Couple of things that haven't really been highlighted in the lead up by the mainstream media, somewhat surprisingly.

Saturday's forecast is very similar to conditions during the 2001 Grand Final. We were a very good last quarter team that year tho and Essendon had a few suspect players going in (Hird included). So it will be interesting to see who that favours on Saturday. My knee jerk reaction is still to say it favours us. However if Collingwood do run over the top of us it would probably underline my concerns about our fitness from earlier in the season, which to be fair have abated since our win over Collingwood in Round 23.

The other aspect to Saturday's game is slightly more nuanced. We essentially debuted our new style of ball movement against Melbourne at the MCG, after having it function in fits and starts in previous games against Sydney, St Kilda, Richmond and West Coast. It was spectacular that night, even though we didn't (or were unable to) sustain it for 4 quarters.

By comparison, on Saturday we were stifled forward of centre by our territory dominance, actually impeding our ability to score, as counterintuitive as that seems, due to the resulting congestion.

In that way I think the larger size of the MCG (particularly in the flanks and pockets according to Lynchy) actually lends itself to the way we have wanted to move the ball since (and including) that Melbourne game.

So provided we maintain our work rate and spread to create room for team mates, I really think we will create a huge amount of golden scoring opportunities. Particularly given the likely conditions. I'd go as far as to say the way we've been trying to move the ball is actually better suited to the MCG than the Gabba.

The question will be how we go defending Collingwood's opportunities for the same reasons. We gave 98 to Hawthorn and 105 to Melbourne this year.

All of the above leads me to be cautiously confident about Saturday, but we know what has happened often this season when we've gone into a game confident. It's a Grand Final, who knows what will unfold!

Just going on a hunch re mccarthy?

My worry is it’s a calf he did very recently. I noticed on the replay he got a corkie but that was the other leg. Linc’s value is going absolutely full throttle so let’s hope he is not limited at all. He missed round 24 so his gap between games was 22 days. Decent gap i guess?
I am going off a hunch, but McCarthy wouldn't be the first player to play with calf issues. It's been done with Zorko for the past two years. Unless McCarthy literally can't run, he will play, as he plays a very important role in the team.

The role he plays requires a working calf though:think:.

hPphOQ.gif

Looking good.:D

Couple of things that haven't really been highlighted in the lead up by the mainstream media, somewhat surprisingly.

Saturday's forecast is very similar to conditions during the 2001 Grand Final. We were a very good last quarter team that year tho and Essendon had a few suspect players going in (Hird included). So it will be interesting to see who that favours on Saturday. My knee jerk reaction is still to say it favours us. However if Collingwood do run over the top of us it would probably underline my concerns about our fitness from earlier in the season, which to be fair have abated since our win over Collingwood in Round 23.

The other aspect to Saturday's game is slightly more nuanced. We essentially debuted our new style of ball movement against Melbourne at the MCG, after having it function in fits and starts in previous games against Sydney, St Kilda, Richmond and West Coast. It was spectacular that night, even though we didn't (or were unable to) sustain it for 4 quarters.

By comparison, on Saturday we were stifled forward of centre by our territory dominance, actually impeding our ability to score, as counterintuitive as that seems, due to the resulting congestion.

In that way I think the larger size of the MCG (particularly in the flanks and pockets according to Lynchy) actually lends itself to the way we have wanted to move the ball since (and including) that Melbourne game.

So provided we maintain our work rate and spread to create room for team mates, I really think we will create a huge amount of golden scoring opportunities. Particularly given the likely conditions. I'd go as far as to say the way we've been trying to move the ball is actually better suited to the MCG than the Gabba.

The question will be how we go defending Collingwood's opportunities for the same reasons. We gave 98 to Hawthorn and 105 to Melbourne this year.

All of the above leads me to be cautiously confident about Saturday, but we know what has happened often this season when we've gone into a game confident. It's a Grand Final, who knows what will unfold!
I think with the weather being so hot, whoever is winning the contests and spreading as you say and so making the other team chase will also grab a bit more energy .
Don't want to get gassed with having to turn around chase too much.

Cupboard is pretty bare, which is why I thought Mathieson, playing the Mitch Robinson role. Obviously we want McCarthy to get up.
Before he fell off a cliff athletically, Mitch Robbo could run, and run hard. Mathieson has never, ever had the tank to play outside. Barely has the tank to play inside.

The other amazing one re whistle is Berry. Watching the replay he blows the whistle after i reckon 10 steps. It’s so early. Immediately after carlton player appeals for it
I watched and counted Berry’s steps twice. Berry goes to kick on his 15th step, just as the umpire blows his whistle.

Got a bit of free time here at work, there is always tomorrow morning lol. , don't fly out until 5 tomorrow arv.
So last minute trip to the Gabba shop.
Just picked up a new guernsy for the trip , bit tight , but fits, and half price being last years model as nothing else left , sweet.
Anyways.
Walking over from Logan road to the shop, Bez crossed over and passed me , wearing a hat and looking down into his phone , this guy looked so tall gees he is a bloody string bean , these guys are so tall in person. ok just quietly Zorks is my height.
Said see you down there and asked him how he went. "All good" he replied.
Didn't see anyone else until I got back and drove off, one last look past the Gabba I thought.
And I only drove past once ok.
Saw Pumba, Lyons and a few of the boys when I was stopped at the lights.
"Go hard boys" was all I could say.
They looked pretty relaxed , having a chuckle.
Better do some work , after lunch. ha ha.

Now the Footy Marathon is no more one of my sons and I do our own via youtube. Its a good idea for an old bloke like me as we start early.

Already agreed on the third quarter 2001 to start but in the last few years we have watched finals rather than the same Grannies.

The 1970 second semi final was as good a game as the grand final that year.

What about some Bears games, don't have to be finals, that are worth a look?

What else is worth looking at?

Hope you mean Marcus!

Personally, couldn't care less about opposing team players (especially ones who have gone "home") - it's dog eat dog now.
I get the sentiment but no I do feel sorry for any player who has been a major part of a team but misses out on their chance at a grand final. I feel bad for all of McStay, T.Adams, Rich and who ever misses out of Payne/Gardiner. It completely sucks for them and I sympathise with them at this point in the week.

Come Saturday I will be thinking very differently and will be back to normal status in hating everything to do with Collingwood

Remember it's 15 metres, not 15 steps. Most people running cover much more ground than 1 metre per step. Thought it was the correct call.

But then Cottrell ran much further than Berry so 🤷‍♂️ #vfl
I watched and counted Berry’s steps twice. Berry goes to kick on his 15th step, just as the umpire blows his whistle.
#VFL

Yeah i’d be very surprised if he doesn’t play but he’s very lively at his best and relies a lot on burst and leap so not great if the calf is iffy