Analysis Hawks 2022 Hypothetical trades (read the pinned post)

Firstly, the "No Kane Cornes" Rule is back

Last edited by a moderator:
Bittersweet for those of us who dead against the post season movements of 2016 and 2018. We were proven right but it means we are back at square one.

Thankfully the development of some unconventional draftees during that time (Moore, Morrison, Lewis, Newcombe, Reeves to name a few) means our likely immediate form shouldn't rival North Melbournes after their experience clean out.

Brisbane need to match two bids on draft night I believe. Not sure how many points they're expected to require for the second one, but assuming they have to match a bid at 1 or 2 for Ashcroft they will use their first 4 picks to do so.

I think the amount of picks they can hold on draft night is dictated by how many list spots they have open. I'm not sure what that number is or will be for them but presumably once their first 4 picks are wiped out they'll have maybe ~600 points left to match bids with, probably less. Which could mean a bid may wipe them out for 2022 and they'll be forced to use their future 1st rounder which is worth maybe ~1250.

Once that Ashcroft bid is made our later picks come in by 4 places and will be worth well more than their future 1st. In fact if my calcs are right we should be able to hold onto pick 50 (which would then be 46) and still offer them better value. That remaining pick of ours would come in even further after other bidding is completed. Definitely inside pick 40.

Leaving us with pick 6, 24 (comes in slightly), 50 (comes inside 40).

Go for best available mid at pick 6. Grab a slider with the next (maybe George?). And if that last pick comes inside 40 after bid matching we can steal Mankara from the Bombers and have MM give a sleepy fist pump.

And then pray Brisbane have a shocking 2023 season.

He had 2 years of salary to trade with back then and wasn’t coming up on being contracted. It’s not a comparable situation. However I don’t recall anyone being interested in him at all.

We still could have paid the bulk of 2 years salary, what the **** else are we doing with our cap space ? lol

We will be using the later picks to shuffle up. Will be assisting Brisbane in the draft for sure.

Both Titch and JOM walk for much less at the end of next year, this was necessary. Yeah it probably makes us worse, I’m not sure anyone was thinking a flag next year anyway.

Not like our midfield performance can get worse than it was in 2021.

We need access to elite talent. We can’t trade for it as we don’t have the currency. We can’t attract it through FA just yet, though I am happy with the Amon arrival.

Couple of years of pain can turn this list right around. The top end of next years draft looks extremely juicy. I’ve no doubt we actively have one eye on Harley Reid during this evenings activities.

If we ever have super star leaving, an the lions and bombers are in waiting i hope we leave it too 7.25 pm on the final night.

Glad we got stephens, shocking we had to give 25 and Mitchell.
We didn't give 25 mate. We only gave Mitchell.
We received Stephens, 41 & 50

It's not a bad outcome

I can’t recall watching him but on paper Stephens looks comparable to tanner bruhn who was traded for late first round. Yes another year in the system and less games but Covid years x2 and tough team to get into.

So I’m more comfortable with the Mitchell trade - also reckon can use the cluster of picks to upgrade this year or next to something in 20s.

Jaeger will hurt and seems unnecessary. He played a sacrificial role this year and seems a leader. Also got a bit more good footy in him.

We could have got meek late for peanuts on his own.

Have they revealed how much of their salaries we’re coughing up? This could look even worse.

Does it really matter? As long as we are in between the cap floor and cap ceiling it’s a complete irrelevance isn’t it?

We just don’t need to finish 12th-14th again, that’s all Titch and JOM would help this list do IMO.

I can’t recall watching him but on paper Stephens looks comparable to tanner bruhn who was traded for late first round. Yes another year in the system and less games but Covid years x2 and tough team to get into.

So I’m more comfortable with the Mitchell trade - also reckon can use the cluster of picks to upgrade this year or next to something in 20s.

Jaeger will hurt and seems unnecessary. He played a sacrificial role this year and seems a leader. Also got a bit more good footy in him.

We could have got meek late for peanuts on his own.

Hopefully this is how it plays out.

I’d love to know the net outcome of JOM and TOM once we use all our picks I.e what we would have had if we didn’t pick them up and used our picks vs what we pick up now we have moved them on….wonder if it’s actually that bad

We still could have paid the bulk of 2 years salary, what the * else are we doing with our cap space ? lol

I’m sure it was on the table and I don’t recall any rumours last season that there was ever any interest in him. Much like this year - only one club wanted Mitchell and didn’t want to pay much for him. He’s only going to decline in value next season when uncontracred so what the hell is McKenzie meant to do?

Exactly. Imagine the melts in 12 months time when we get actually nothing for him.

We picked up a highly rated tall mid in Stephens, something we have been craving. Speed and class in Amon, still have pick 6 & 24. Pretty well placed to live pick trade with Lions.
Picked up another 2nd rounder next year. And a ruck to support Ned.

And we did most of this trading out 2 players that were not part of the future because they couldn’t move the ball fast enough.

I think we are tracking well, now if we can snap up a Xavier O’Hallaran and/or Liam Henry in PSD/DFA that would be terrific.

The future pick is interesting, if our father son McCabe is any good it might become a bit redundant (albeit an asset to trade with).

Then it’ll get dealt, possibly with our own second rounder. We would be eying off 2 picks before McCabe next year. That would be a decent haul, especially if one of the picks before him is pick 1-3.

I remember i wasn't a fan of the Hay or Thompson departures - both of which turned out great for us, but the one that frustrated me most was the delisting of Mark Graham - only to bring in Simon Beaumont!

Overall i am happy with what the club has done, ripping the band-aid off in a sense.

There was outrage, they were two of our best 5 players, in their prime, and were the reason we stood any chance in games that year. Not comparable to these trades in my opinion, but the same type of clean out this post-season as that one.

I feel super old being able to remember that period so clearly. Along with many hawks fans, I didn’t like the call to hire Clarko!

Until the end of 2006 I wasn’t sold. Rebuilds are for patient people!