News Hawks Pokie Payday in Melton Shire

True but this is just a rationalisation. I think like this sometimes too and I have to stop myself cos I sound like one of them smartass pokie vendors.

I did say that it doesn't make it right - what I did say that as usual footy clubs are easy targets when it comes to getting a headline.

Imagine taking 7.22 billion dollars out of the budget - sit back and think about that Ms Heartland - instead of focusing on what a blight on society the hawks are why not lobby the government for a larger cut of that to be directed towards mental health counselling (addictions).

I would prefer that the club is not involved in this type of revenue raising however the Hawthorn Football Club is a business and as a business it must investigate various revenue raisers to ensure that they remain financially viable. If we did not have alternate income streams to supplement our derived income from sponsorship and membership could we remain financially viable. The income that is derived from Poker machines guarantees that our membership fees remain competitive and ensures that all Hawthorn supporters, regardless of their socia economic circumstances could have a chance to see our beloved Hawks play live.

Do I like the fact that we are involved pokies - no not really - can I understand why and can I see benefits - yes I can

At what point does 'gambling', a legal 'fun' activity for a great number of people, a social 'pro' ... become 'problem gambling' ... a social 'con'?

Who draws that line? Who is responsible for defining it?

How many perfectly legal and 'moral' activities become 'immoral' when the individuals who undertake them follow them to extremes?

Like cheering your team at the football.

Hawthorn make money from paying fans, yet many of them swear, curse and behave in anti-social behaviour at the football.

Are the Hawks responsible?

I'm playing devil's advocate, because I've seen the damage that pokies can do, but the point I'm (genuinely) making is that many, if not most activities, can become counter-productive, anti-social, morally repugnant, when pursued to their extremes by individual who lack certain life skills.

Most fans follow football socially, drink socially, spend their money pursuing their various interests socially. Including gambling.

Socially, meaningfully, happily.

The wider question of who is responsible for those who cannot do these things pro-socially is where things get murky

To clarify my ramble, taking money from gambling, in itself, is not an immoral activity any more than running a pub is (to go to the next level) or providing many social outlets that could be abused by free willed individuals.

Well I'll be buggered!

In light of this the renewal for 2011 has been binned. Thanks for the heads up and as you can gather Melbourne Cup walking into the TAB is about as far as my gambling exploits go.

I have issues with pokies, I dislike the fact that you struggle these days to go to a pub for a beer without repetitive jingles ringing out.

If I can put my stand on this issue another way. Nothing would make me prouder than to say that, I support a club that has no financial reliance on gaming revenue for its existence. But at the moment I can't:(.

If we are getting this passionate about a subject of this nature, I can't wait to hear all of you belting out MIGHTY HAWKS during the season. GO HAWKS!!! Bring on the :footy: FFS!

The greens' Colleen Hartland should have a look at her own party first before shooting her mouth off at another organisation. Her party's CO2 pricing will increase the financial expenditure of most Australians and the poorest will be hit the hardest. The greens are heavily populated by hypocrites.

where do u draw the line though ? The pokies wil be there whether the're ours or someone elses.

I mean we sell alchohol at our games potentially to alcoholics, we sell chips and pies to obese people.

We are sponsored by powerade which is a coke product who kill unionists in
Colombia and poison drinking water of poverty stricken people in India.

HSBC was founded on forced labour from concentation camps in Malaya in the 30'and 40's where 1000's where killed. Even today they launder oil money taken from the people of the Niger Delta who live in poverty despite having generated over $350 billion in oil in the last 40 years.

But hey, we gotta have sponsors i guess.

Really enjoying folks contributing to this thread with carbon tax attitude. Polluting is legal and ethical! an I ain't gunna pay no BIG NEW TAX! Even on the club board of a footy forum...
Take it some where else.... I think there is a march you can go to or something. Or talk back. Yeah, definitely. Talk back radio needs to hear from you now.

Back on topic, MM is right $3k per day is crap for a venue. A decent venue (far from the best, or worst) should take about $700, per machine, per day.

Unless our venture only has 4 machines, might be time to look at some management or marketing strategies....

Wonder how our other pokies club 'Vegas " is going at Waverley Gardens ?

I'm sure when the Carolines Springs club is fully functional and finished ,Hawthorn will reap lots more $ in and create a steady flow of dollars for our mighty club and keep it at the forefront.

Really enjoying folks contributing to this thread with carbon tax attitude. Polluting is legal and ethical! an I ain't gunna pay no BIG NEW TAX! Even on the club board of a footy forum...
Take it some where else.... I think there is a march you can go to or something. Or talk back. Yeah, definitely. Talk back radio needs to hear from you now.
CO2 is polluting? No, waste from particulate matter, toxic chemicals, heavy metal waste etc. is pollution and is being pushed aside because of focus on the CO2 pricing agenda.

As a response to colleen, I was bringing up the hypocrisy of the greens' spokesperson. Pokies fleece those that voluntarily use them. Carbon trading will fleece almost everyone, whether they choose to or not. That is a major difference between our club and the greens.

She attacked our club, I attacked her hypocrisy. Sorry if you feel offended, but I will defend my club against press seeking idiots.

I'm sure when the Carolines Springs club is fully functional and finished ,Hawthorn will reap lots more $ in and create a steady flow of dollars for our mighty club and keep it at the forefront.
Hi guys. Mate took me to the Caroline Springs club, and it's brilliant. It's a big complex. I didn't see all of it and the upstairs reception/convention areas weren't finished. Restaurant was packed. Popped my head into the gaming area, busy, walked into the pub, busy. First visit to Caroline Springs. It's developed into a mini city out there, and my mate assures me any decent entertainment venues in the area do very, very well. Was pleasantly surprised there was some decent talent walking around as well.

The Hawks have partnered up with a proven and very well respected pub operator from out that way. Gold mine:thumbsu:

Hi guys. Mate took me to the Caroline Springs club, and it's brilliant. It's a big complex. I didn't see all of it and the upstairs reception/convention areas weren't finished. Restaurant was packed. Popped my head into the gaming area, busy, walked into the pub, busy. First visit to Caroline Springs. It's developed into a mini city out there, and my mate assures me any decent entertainment venues in the area do very, very well. Was pleasantly surprised there was some decent talent walking around as well.

The Hawks have partnered up with a proven and very well respected pub operator from out that way. Gold mine:thumbsu:

Good to hear that you are impressed with the new complex.

We don't have the machines here in WA, except in the casino, of course. It is great to go out and not hear the machines or be tempted after a few sherberts.

I would rather that Hawthorn didn't need to be involved but realistically it keeps the coffers full and allows us to be competitive with the super $$ clubs in the AFl. No-one is forcing the punters to do their money but it isn't a good look.

We don't have the machines here in WA, except in the casino, of course. It is great to go out and not hear the machines or be tempted after a few sherberts.

I would rather that Hawthorn didn't need to be involved but realistically it keeps the coffers full and allows us to be competitive with the super $$ clubs in the AFl. No-one is forcing the punters to do their money but it isn't a good look.

Corse, it would be great to have self sufficient pubs, but fact is, pokies are a necessity

Pokies provide thousands of jobs, which in turn keep taxes down.

Look where vic was before them, and look where WA is without them

Corse, it would be great to have self sufficient pubs, but fact is, pokies are a necessity

Would say that this article is a beat up

"Melton Shire", cmon, id hardly say that those people living in Caro Springs couldnt afford it could it. look at the housing prices and who lives there and the big McMansions.

Don't like exploiting families and sick individuals through the use of these cancerous machines.

I hate that we do it.

I'm pretty conflicted too.

My heart says I want the Hawks to have the best facilities possible, my head says its no better than selling smack to raise funds.

Speaking of which... big money...

If it wasn't Hawthron it would be someone else, so I'm glad it's Hawthorn
This sums up my view.

Doing exceptionally well - victoria needs gambling, WA doesn't.

There is currently a push for the federal government to take control of pokies which would allow pokies into WA and the backlash has been very loud indeed - people in this state don't have a problem with the Casino having the pokies and have no interest in them being in every sporting club in the state.

one of those things that unless you have been personally affected by them, people dont really stop to empathise. But the reality is that these machines target the sick and broken. Some years ago when John Brumby was treasurer, a mate of mine was his number one economist. There was a lot of media pressure coming at the govt over problem gambling. So Brumby asked my mate to conduct a study and show ways that the govt could be seen to be combating problem gambling, but make sure it doesn't affect the bottom line re revenue. Having worked in a pokie venue for 3 years while at Uni, I saw first hand so many people who were just unable to say no. For whatever reason. Families being torn apart, homes being foreclosed. For all of those who think or say "people have a choice" I would have all the tea in china that if it were your partner or someone close to you who was a problem gambler, your tune would be super different.

Went to the Mulgrave country club last thursday after the BF function that was held at Waverley Park by Hawthorn , with Houdinihuddo, The Big X and Closed Session,we all had a nice meal a drink and did not put one coin in the Pokie machines around us.

News Hawks Pokie Payday in Melton Shire