Preview Hawks vs Geelong - Preliminary Final

%86 efficiency, 1 Clanger. 0 Free's Against. (110 SC Points says you picked the wrong match to say he makes more mistakes than anyone)
I don't think anyone had a bad game tonight, but no one worries me more with ball in hand than WX.

Gee... tough call dropping a bloke who can take a contested overhead mark for someone who can't. If you can't get that run of clear, clean, set shots on goal in finals footy, teams like Geelong will cut you to threads on the rebound.

Taylor lost his spot late to Renouf..... I hate to say it, Buddy has just got to start marking the phuking pill, otherwise he is a liability.

You want a chance at Finals Footy this year Buddy? I have a Pen!

Don't get me wrong I love Buddy as much as anyone, but I saw a bloke wearing 27 who is desperate to play for "MY CLUB" and that means something to me!

Horses for courses, but after the balance that clicked in the second half tonight.... No change! It's time the club made a stand for the NOW!

Extremely proud of all the Hawks that took the field tonight...... Extremely Proud!

You guys are ******* kidding yourselves if you think The Budweiser needs to prove himself.
He is the best forward in the league ffs.

It's stupid that some people think he isn't.
Right??

I love Buddy and think he improves our team but it's not going to be end of the world if he goes.
Is he the best forward in the game? Very debatable.
Is he the most marketable? Yes

Is it better for the club if he stays or goes? Borderline

Seems like a contradiction what I just wrote?
Yes. That's the whisky kicking in

Spangher unfortunately for him could probably have kicked 5 tonight and would still end up losing his spot to Buddy in 2 weeks time.

Who makes room for Rioli is a real tough one. I hope it isn't Jed as he's proven multiple times now that he is tough enough and brave enough for finals footy and if push came to shove and he was put in the position where he needed to take a contested mark or kick a clutch goal to save/win a tight match for us then I'd be confident he would deliver.

It will probably end up being Whitecross (who was simply cramping up late in the game btw) or Hill who makes way.

There's certainly going to be a lot of pressure for positions as guys on the fringe like Duryea and Savage put their hands up at training over the next 2 weeks. It's a good position to be in as it will keep everyone on their toes over the week off as everyone will need to justify their spot.

Spangher unfortunately for him could probably have kicked 5 tonight and would still end up losing his spot to Buddy in 2 weeks time.

Who makes room for Rioli is a real tough one. I hope it isn't Jed as he's proven multiple times now that he is tough enough and brave enough for finals footy and if push came to shove and he was put in the position where he needed to take a contested mark or kick a clutch goal to save/win a tight match for us then I'd be confident he would deliver.

It will probably end up being Whitecross (who was simply cramping up late in the game btw) or Hill who makes way.

There's certainly going to be a lot of pressure for positions as guys on the fringe like Duryea and Savage put their hands up at training over the next 2 weeks. It's a good position to be in as it will keep everyone on their toes over the week off as everyone will need to justify their spot.
How could Jed be picked ahead of Hill ? 5 of the 6 games they have played together Hilly has outperformed him (Granted the last 2 weeks Jed has been sub). I'm bewildered as to how anyone would want Hill out he was sensational when the heat was on in the first half.

Really it's a raffle between Whitex, Anderson and Shiels for me who makes way for Rioli. I still think Shiels could be the one.

Spangher is the obvious one to make way for Buddy but I think Bailey may also come into consideration. Spangher was great tonight would be so unlucky

Credit to Hill for sticking it to the doubters (myself included)

Agree

How could Jed be picked ahead of Hill ? 5 of the 6 games they have played together Hilly has outperformed him (Granted the last 2 weeks Jed has been sub). I'm bewildered as to how anyone would want Hill out he was sensational when the heat was on in the first half.

I don't think Hill has outperformed Jed in either of the past 2 weeks. Both given a full game I think Jed would be comfortably the better performer. He does the hard stuff better and more consistently. No slight on Hill though, he has been great the last couple weeks but his weaknesses are the things that will really be exploited as the finals pressure heats up. There's a place for him in the team but I don't think it will be ahead of Jed and it's certainly not ahead of Rioli.

It's a tough call and it's one I'm glad I don't have to make.

It's stupid that some people think he isn't.
Right??

I love Buddy and think he improves our team but it's not going to be end of the world if he goes.
Is he the best forward in the game? Very debatable.
Is he the most marketable? Yes

Is it better for the club if he stays or goes? Borderline

Seems like a contradiction what I just wrote?
Yes. That's the whisky kicking in

Buddys just a taller better looking stevie J. And looks dont last

I don't think Hill has outperformed Jed in either of the past 2 weeks. Both given a full game I think Jed would be comfortably the better performer. He does the hard stuff better and more consistently. No slight on Hill though, he has been great the last couple weeks but his weaknesses are the things that will really be exploited as the finals pressure heats up. There's a place for him in the team but I don't think it will be ahead of Jed and it's certainly not ahead of Rioli.

It's a tough call and it's one I'm glad I don't have to make.
Hills first 40 minutes tonight was superb, Jed couldn't do that at this stage of his career because he isyet to develop his tank. I think Anderson long term will be the better player but right now Hill is unquestionably ahead of him in my not so important opinion.

The two of them certainly play different styles. The fact Hill plays a style that not many others in the team can really bring is likely going to be the thing that saves him a spot in the team.

The three main things that worry me about Hill is that he can't make tackles stick, he doesn't chase hard or long enough (and we all know he is super quick and fit) and he doesn't appear to back himself to do the big things. Tonight for example he had an opportunity to kick a running goal from about 45m out with no real physical pressure on him and he instead tried to hit up a manned target. Rioli would've taken that shot back in 2008 and I reckon Anderson would've taken it as well. It wasn't a case of being selfless and doing the team thing as he was well and truly open to take the shot and both targets were manned up.

I think we have what it takes to walk all over Someone, I don't care if what's his name plays for them we just need to make sure thingy me bob plays nice and close. But seriously, Jesus has done really well and we needed him just in case we needed help down back to counter Sydney's 14 ruckman/fowards but he is the easy out for Bud. Cyril though - who is to go out? Hill is a coaches favorite as he provides something that few others in the team do. Jedi is the super sub and I guess an obvious candidate but not an option I like.

Are we really debating Spangher V Franklin? This is quite bizarre even for BigFooty
What's more bizarre is the fact that some people are still thinking we are better off dropping Bailey!
Complete and utter stupidity, but possibly these people are trolls or 10 year olds, so I should cut them some slack!

Is there a case for dropping 2 runners and keeping Spang in? Not sure Pup provided too much tonight. (May have been playing a lock down role) I just love Spangs clean hands and agility at ground level!!

I think we're mostly agreed (and aggrieved) that Jet is the one to make way for Jnr.

Jet will get his chance. Unfortunately he may have played his last game for us thus year.

As for Bud. Play him on a wing. He plays high forward anyway. Give him licence to bump and crash!! In the forward line we go to him far too often!!

All for One

The two of them certainly play different styles. The fact Hill plays a style that not many others in the team can really bring is likely going to be the thing that saves him a spot in the team.

The three main things that worry me about Hill is that he can't make tackles stick, he doesn't chase hard or long enough (and we all know he is super quick and fit) and he doesn't appear to back himself to do the big things. Tonight for example he had an opportunity to kick a running goal from about 45m out with no real physical pressure on him and he instead tried to hit up a manned target. Rioli would've taken that shot back in 2008 and I reckon Anderson would've taken it as well. It wasn't a case of being selfless and doing the team thing as he was well and truly open to take the shot and both targets were manned up.

It's just confidence, I remember J Kennedy not taking a shot once and passing it off & being criticized for it, we all know how he turned out.

Hill brings pace and uses it well, the rest will come.

Is there a case for dropping 2 runners and keeping Spang in? Not sure Pup provided too much tonight. (May have been playing a lock down role)

Mate Poppa tore into them. 5 clearances, 5 tackles, 20 disposals, a goal. Might have broken the record for "pressure acts" with about 100.

Is there a case for dropping 2 runners and keeping Spang in? Not sure Pup provided too much tonight. (May have been playing a lock down role) I just love Spangs clean hands and agility at ground level!!

I think we're mostly agreed (and aggrieved) that Jet is the one to make way for Jnr.

Jet will get his chance. Unfortunately he may have played his last game for us thus year.

As for Bud. Play him on a wing. He plays high forward anyway. Give him licence to bump and crash!! In the forward line we go to him far too often!!

All for One

Whether you mean Shiels or Puopolo - you are right off target.

Both played GREAT games.:thumbsu:

In: Buddy, Junior
Out: Spang, Swiss

Very tough call on Swiss but what are the alts? Drop Jed...and who becomes the sub? Jed has shown he can have an instant impact in the last two games (a goal in each) and adds a bit of X-factor. His run will be needed.
Shiels has the shutdown role to play, Hilly is needed for his run and carry. Neither of these guys make a suitable sub if Jed goes out. Swiss has done little wrong.

Agree. Very big question mark over him. But we will have a stronger opponent next time and Roughie found it hard tonight to get a free. Buddy in will take a good defender and relieve some pressure on Rough.

Nutshell in bold. Plus I added an A.

Buddy gives far more to the side then the goals he kicks, and Roughie knows this, as do the coaches. Bud is also our best tackle up forward.

No other side will play the amount of talls the $wans just did, so spang in as a forward who can go back if they start "out talling" us isn't the same as Buddy dragging 3 defenders with him every where he goes. Great to have tall depth for the first time in how long?

One other thing, people brought up Rough to CHB as a joke, but think about it, if we are playing the handbags, and their pathetic flood, and can't take a contested mark up forward then Rough could easily beat hawkins and run of him, while Lake goes forward and takes CONTESTED marks. The handbag tall forwards really are crap, so Lake could quite easily be a dangerous contested marking forward without hurting our backline with the way the handbags set up, along side Buddy. I'm sure Clarko has this in the X factor bag against the handbag super flood where we have struggled to take contested marks, even with a lot more inside 50s. I hope Freo squash them, but the side I don't want to meet is bitchmond.