Preview Hawks vs West Coast - Changes and discussion

I like the idea of Hale and Roughhead rotating ruck duties in the forward half with McCauley filling a hole in the back half and rucking this part of the ground. Just an Idea. Roughy should not be used to much in the ruck role against blokes 200cm, he is too short at 193cm and will have to continually extend himself.

With McCauley dropping back to fill the hole in front of the WC talls I would give Hodge run forward perhaps swapping with Lewis for short periods..

In: Hodge, McCauley
Out: Osborne, Gunston

I like the idea of Hale and Roughhead rotating ruck duties in the forward half with McCauley filling a hole in the back half and rucking this part of the ground. Just an Idea. Roughy should not be used to much in the ruck role against blokes 200cm, he is too short at 193cm and will have to continually extend himself.

With McCauley dropping back to fill the hole in front of the WC talls I would give Hodge run forward perhaps swapping with Lewis for short periods..

Can't see Gunston being omitted. Breust got concussed and is unlikely to get up according to Clarko

If he actually wants to compete and get the tap, but I don't think they are fussed with him winning the taps all of the time. They must know that is not going to be likely. I think unless he is at advantage, position wise, he is mainly trying to give a contest physically and make it hard for the other ruck to get a clean and direct tap out. Something he does really well. I think he is VERY damaging in the ruck as he is effectively another roving midfielder with his agility and disposal. Shame we lose his forward line presence though.

Afternoon gents
There are a few hard task masters on here
Went to the crows game on Sunday, and I reckon both Young and Cheney deserve to hold their spots, particularly Cheney who I was very impressed with
Would be a harsh call to drop either one I feel

Always been a lot of amicable love between Eagles and Hawks supporters on Big Footy.

Love makes the world go round. :)

So true, I remember last year on the main board was a thread about if your team don't win the flag or are out of the race who would you want to win it and practically every eagles poster said hawthorn and likewise with us.

No love this week though :p

So true, I remember last year on the main board was a thread about if your team don't win the flag or are out of the race who would you want to win it and practically every eagles poster said hawthorn and likewise with us.

No love this week though :p

I'm traveling with my male Hawks and Kangas (1) family members to the tassie game this year.

But for Sat night. Go you Eagles.:thumbsu:

Afternoon gents
There are a few hard task masters on here
Went to the crows game on Sunday, and I reckon both Young and Cheney deserve to hold their spots, particularly Cheney who I was very impressed with
Would be a harsh call to drop either one I feel

Agreed. Admidditely he made a few mistakes here and there but I thought he really added some exciting movement out of defence and with a few more matches will really cement his spot.

And Cheney is hard at it as well
The goal he kicked in the third quarter was a gem

I'm actually a big fan of Clinton Young. Hope he can finally reach his potential.

fry.PNG

I am a bit worried about Birch getting up for this one.
He was hobbling around a bit and immediately after the game it was suggested he might miss a couple.

Sssshhhhhh - are you there?

I want to see Boumann get a run to see if he matches up well on any of the Weagles big men so we are completely informed about our key defender options come September. We missed a chance to see how he went against another likely competitor in Geelong so hope we don't miss the boat again. He could be a good matchup for Kennedy.

If we come away 3-1 out of this week it will be an unbelieveable start to the year.

Hard to get a read on west coast given who they have played but obviously they are quality. Hope they have developed some bad habits in the first 3 rounds.

Roger Rogerson;23912938[B said:
]I want to see Boumann get a run to see if he matches up well on any of the Weagles big men so we are completely informed about our key defender options come September. We missed a chance to see how he went against another likely competitor in Geelong so hope we don't miss the boat again. He could be a good matchup for Kennedy.[/B]

If we come away 3-1 out of this week it will be an unbelieveable start to the year.

Hard to get a read on west coast given who they have played but obviously they are quality. Hope they have developed some bad habits in the first 3 rounds.

Could not agree with this more!

Only problem is can we bring in both boumann and McCauley this week?

Cos personally I cant see McCauley missing if fit!

Minimal changes.

Reckon Clarko would have liked the run and spread of last weeks game with McCauley out.

Bruest out. Options are Hodge, Puopolo, Smith or Hill.

Hodge doubtful in a hard gut running game at Subi unless he plays Bruest's fwd role with short bursts in the middle. Much more suited to Aurora's lush surface coming back from a calf injury.

Puopolo needs a run in the twos first.

So that leaves Smith or Hill (hometown boy).

Preferred - Smith. If he doesn't come up then Hill's pace could be an attractive 2nd option.