Hawthorn v Richmond - Round 1, NAB Pre-season Cup. Aurora Stadium Launceston 7:40pm

Great to see both Ellis and Ladson playing last night, however didn't notice Laddo after half time , was he injured ?

But according to the after match report no injuries.

But then again Dowler did his ankle at the warm up, rumours of Bruest knee injuries,Buddy a cork on his back side.

Gee i'm glad we have no injuries according to the web site....looks like the Hawks are playing funny buggers already.:eek:

Yeah i think Laddo didn't come back on in the second half, had 13 possessions though and was playing well. Just being eased in i reckon

mort having a go at his bro was funny as !!!

Very unhappy Jarryd though.

DSC07255Mortonstandingonthebrothers.jpg

Oh well, good on you guys, very god win indeed. Clearly shows that we we not up to it and you lot are back in finals contention.

Contrast Taylor tonight to Taylor last year, he gave it a good go and didn't stuff up, didn't give away any frees. He copped it from left, right, centre, above and below on BF last year, I think the bloke deserves some credit for putting up a good contest and having a crack tonight.

Totally agree, im a hard critic of taylor. Last night whilst he look a little clumsy, he didnt give away lots of dumb free kicks and his eyes where on the ball.

Game started very scrappy with what seemsed like most players in a rolling maul, huge numbers around the ball

Fish face "I see both Hawthorn and Richmond are using the rolling zone"

Better than Mr tasmania saying an 11,000 crowd was good. I believe around 2007 we played the tigs in in tassie Pre season and got a very healthy 25,000. Probably helped to get us to paly H&A ganes down there.

Looks like the taswegians are a little 'spoiled' now they have 4 games a year/ I thought the tigs were well followed down there

Not quite. Pessimistic.

True that Hawks v Richmond have the ground attendance record. 21000 in 2006. It was a roster match and it was Buddy was first getting on a role (kicked 6).

It was a below average crowd for sure but it was probably due to a couple of reasons.

1. The last couple of years the pre season matches have been truly dreadful. Games v Swans and Demons were snorefests of the highest order so the public are getting wise to this. I only went after seeing the Hawks squad listed (as a member it cost me $63 bucks for me and 2 kids for a practise match!).

2. Down the road 500m was the annual 'Festivale' wine and food fest that attracts 12000 to 15000 to City Park. That could be heard from the footy ground and it involved a free concert with Dazza Braithwaite and Ross Wilson playing.

So a crap bit of planning at AFL house probably lost about 5000 at the gate.

Mind you, it will be nothing compared to later in the season when we play the Kangas on ANZAC Day. That is a night match on a Sunday with no public holiday on the Monday. Pretty much cancels out anybody travelling from the South and North West coast because of work and school the next morning.

So wait for the sooking about low attendances with that one.

Nice one AFL.

How good was Hodge pin pointing Buddy from the wing, hitting him lace out? That kind of footy will beat any rolling zone.

Reckon he might be a contender for the Brownlow this year injuries permitting.

Bring on Round 2 at the G, will really give us a idea on the exciting year ahead.

Our backline still looked terribly disorganised at times last night. This may be of no real concern, as it was the first NAB Cup game, and every player needs to get the cobwebs out. That said, players like Hodge, Mitchell, Franklin, Roughhead (despite his wayward set shots at goal), Brown, and Sewell, all looked like they just picked up where last season finished. They all look ready to go. Mitchell, quite frankly, was superb.
Ellis, Gillham, Guerra, Lewis, Birchall, and Taylor all did some good things, but also had a few clangers. Perfectly acceptable really, at this stage of the season.
Of the younger players, Shiels stood out for me, as did Suckling, and Moss.
Morton didn't appear to do a lot off the bench, Shoenmakers, and Muston both need to lift. Savage didn't do too much, and needs to lift.
Overall, for all those players who were playing their very first game (or near to it), played in a game in which they won comfortably, and that has to be good for their confidence. (To be perfectly honest, I can't really match their names to their faces or numbers well enough to be able to recollect what they did right or wrong last night)
I really liked what Moss did. I'd love to see him play more often in the seniors. He's got a very good head on his shoulders, and he seems to find the goals when the opportunity is given. I also think he's capable of superb delivery to our forwards.
I think we missed Renouf last night. Just the sort of player who can drop back into defence from time to time, especially when the opposition are bombing it in.
I think we may struggle against taller opposition than what Richmond presented us with last night.

I think a lot of guys looked a little clumsy but their endeavour was great - the boys were hard at it & committed.

I liked seeing MURPHY & BROWN going back with the ball despite us being 100 points up - that stuck in my mind as there was a time where Roughy (I think) took a mark in the Forward 50 when surrounded by 6 tigers and tambling and another of their 'young guns' had the chance to put their bodies on the line but didn't want a bar of it... Telling.

Exactly, NAB Cups are glorified practice matches. Richmond may have been given some false security in outscoring us in the final stanza as we took the foot off the pedal - our players not taking risks of pre-season injuries and loss of preparation.

You are on the money there, Vanstead. Even premiership player Clinton Young will need to be back to his best after a long stint out of the game. He will need to show early top form when he returns to retain a regular spot. Providing Youngy doesn’t break game plans, his return may break a mold our club has of over-handballing. Dasher likes to baulk and kick long-bombs down to the scoring zone, a part of the game rarely seen last night and much of last year. We opted to a training run circuit work style of handballing as players weaved in and out of the lines rather than a specialist amongst them to do what Clint does best - long lefty launches forward. Better teams will be quick to foil the way we went about it against the Tiges.

Fits in with what I have said above.

Agreed our game agaisnt the tigers gave no clue how well we would go agaisnt the better teams. how could it.

We did do very well with that final kick into forward line whereas the tigers just blazed away. Bu there was nit that much pressure even though the tiges played as if there was

Watched your game last night, and although Richmond are rubbish, you can only beat who you are pitted against and thought you looked very good and should have won by more. Buddy and Hodge were great. One question i thought Shoenmaker (no idea how to spell his name) was quite good and do you all think he will lock down a major defensive post this year?

Interested to see how you guys and us will go in the game next week, should be a good one. Cheers

You guys were sensational. The team looked focused and determined and had a great intensity about them.

Hodge - will win the Brownlow, hes in terrific condition physically (just needs a haircut) and his kicking is the best in the AFL.his pin point passes to Franklin were unbelievable.

Your midfield was already very dominant, I just cant imagine how good it will be with the Superstar in Burgoyne and the up and coming superstar in Rioli playing through there.

Also, the value of Hooper will be huge as you guys showed you really lacked a crumbing player against the Tigers, especially when Rioli pushes up the field.

Gibson will really strengthen your back 6.

Agreed our game agaisnt the tigers gave no clue how well we would go agaisnt the better teams. how could it.

We did do very well with that final kick into forward line whereas the tigers just blazed away. Bu there was nit that much pressure even though the tiges played as if there was

The game may not tell us about how we will go against better teams, but it does tell us alot about the Hawks 2010.

We will be
- Focused at the ultamite goal, winning each game as we go to make and win the GF 2010

-We play as team and we wont go down with out a fight

Fellow Hawkas we are in for a better season and the boys are giving out the positive attitude and currently there actions are speaking louder than words.

Just on the crowd - 11,000 may seem low to some, but I noticed the much vaunted Indigenous All Stars vs NRL All Stars NRL game had an attendance of only around 26,000.

West Indies Vs Australia in Sydney yesterday had just on 20,000.

I don't know what the crowd numbers were like at the other NAB cup games on the weekend, but I think 11,000 Tasmanians is not too bad when you think about relative populations.

Have not been able to find one report or stat in any of the HS or the age on the game since Saturday.Nothing yesterday and so far nothing today.Only NAB cup game not repoted on as far as i can make out.

Thanks for that ,still nothing in the actual papers that i bought yesterday and today though unless we get a slighty different version in the country ,just filled up with useless reports on the winter olympics.

They never list NAB Cup stats in the actual hard copy of the paper.
The only place to look is online.
That link will take you directly to the stats and supercoach scores for the Hawks game.
Dont tell me you are not interested in who won the synchronised ice skating heats:D

They never list NAB Cup stats in the actual hard copy of the paper.
The only place to look is online.
That link will take you directly to the stats and supercoach scores for the Hawks game.
Dont tell me you are not interested in who won the synchronised ice skating heats:D
I'd just be interested to read some of the so called experts opinions on our performance on Saturday night.Not a bad way to start the year even if it was only NAB cup.As for the winter olympics ,it would be interesting to know how much they are charging for a go on that luge thing and just how big the queues would be this time of year over there. I myself returned some fairly impressive times on the toboggans at magic mountain in Merimbula not so long ago,( partly due to my size)so i think i'd give some of those Germans a run for their money.:thumbsu:

http://www.examiner.com.au/news/loc...nger-defence-to-free-hodge-coach/1750693.aspx

MELBOURNE - Hawthorn coach Alastair Clarkson says a reinforced defence will free star utility Luke Hodge to make full use of his versatility this AFL season.
In a sign of things to come, Hodge was devastating in the midfield and attack as the Hawks destroyed Richmond 3.16.12 (135) to 0.9.8 (62) in their opening round NAB Cup match in Launceston on Saturday night.

His penetrating left-foot kicking was a highlight, pinpointing teammates and slotting two goals, including.... for the rest click on the above link.

Thanks for that ,still nothing in the actual papers that i bought yesterday and today though unless we get a slighty different version in the country ,just filled up with useless reports on the winter olympics.

I have the same problem. Not a word in the hard copy today, or yesterday, yet when the pies play on a Sat night, you can bet there is a write up in Sunday's papers.. Surely, in this day and age, with computers so available, they could do a report over there and send it through!! It would then make the Sunday papers.And why on earth there wasn't a thing in today's paper I don't know! I am sick of seeing that gorilla Fevola in every damn HS every day. They are such hypocrites at the HS, they have a front page headline that stated "GOOD RIDDANCE" but every day, and week since then they have full pages on him..
I, for one, could not care less about him, and I don't want to read about him all the time. Hypocrites!!:thumbsdown:

Hawthorn v Richmond - Round 1, NAB Pre-season Cup. Aurora Stadium Launceston 7:40pm