Game Day Hawthorn VS Sydney : 7:40pm @ the MCG

The backline has been a shambles all night! Makes no difference how the ball comes in, they're outsized, out-positioned, outplayed..disposals are always in panic. Malceski has been missing targets all bloody night! You rarely see Geelong make elementary mistakes like ours in their back half.
And the alarming thing was how quickly it came out of our f50. They just carved us up. Pretenders!

Don't care about position why isn't Morton playing?....there's a handful of players he would've given much more effort than.
Disagree, unless your hand can hold 14 players

Reid should not be down back
agreed. if you're gonna put him down back, he surely knows that he is not performing. Why can't he just go back to the two's and work his way back in. I don't buy the line that it would kill his confidence. I don't buy the logic that he is tall and we have noone to replace him. I dont care if he is 10 feet tall, he is not scoring goals nor even holding marks, and that is what he is there for is he not?

I don't expect Reid to kick bags every week, what I do expect is he makes a strong contest and commands the ball to be played through him and put defenders under pressure. The last contest he was in is how I expect him to play

We all know what horse will say, disapointed but lost to a good side, missing players, tried hard

Then he brings everitt in
Haha. Was thinking just this.

I in no way want to jump onto Jesse as the scapegoat (there were so many passengers tonight) however he showed tonight while he has been let down by the club in not giving him a position and letting him own it at AFL level... he still doesn't go hard enough or for long enough. No amount of skill is required to go until you can't go anymore. That is what is called courage, determination, desire and willpower. His whole, have a crack then once the ball is 5 metres away stop and jog around with no particular purpose frustrates me to no end. He could use his body so much better. Block, run, crash packs do somthing that doesn't look like plodding around 20 metres from the contest.

That goes for a fair couple more tonight too. Not good enough Swans. Where was that never give in never stop determination? I couldn't see a hell of a lot of it tonight. Very very poor.

Haha. Was thinking just this.

I in no way want to jump onto Jesse as the scapegoat (there were so many passengers tonight) however he showed tonight while he has been let down by the club in not giving him a position and letting him own it at AFL level... he still doesn't go hard enough or for long enough. No amount of skill is required to go until you can't go anymore. That is what is called courage, determination, desire and willpower. His whole, have a crack then once the ball is 5 metres away stop and jog around with no particular purpose frustrates me to no end. He could use his body so much better. Block, run, crash packs do somthing that doesn't look like plodding around 20 metres from the contest.

That goes for a fair couple more tonight too. Not good enough Swans. Where was that never give in never stop determination? I couldn't see a hell of a lot of it tonight. Very very poor.

To me white isnt even lazy, he just has no idea what to do, he cant work that hard because he has no idea how to read the game and it has never improved.

Ball kicked down to him, a few times he gets behind the defender, wtf

Well played hawks.. Can't expect Swans to Win em all..
I'd rather Swans lose a comp round than a GRAND FINAL Match..
Early days & come Finals Footy time, Swans will be at their Best..

To me white isnt even lazy, he just has no idea what to do, he cant work that hard because he has no idea how to read the game and it has never improved.

Ball kicked down to him, a few times he gets behind the defender, wtf
Whatever it is he doesn't work at AFL level & I am very mindful of how important Mummy & Pykeys fitness is... If we have to rely on Jesse thsi year we are going back in time and I recall those years aspretty frustrating (Bulldogs won't make the finals to eliminate us this year though surely).

Our forward line is a mess. We had no targets and it was just getting bombed into our forward 50. Our forward pressure was terrible and we got killed on the rebound.

Yep. Completely agree mate. Hopefully the longhorse gets onto them this week and let's them know about it too. Someone needs to give them a bit of a Rodney Eade IMO.

Whatever it is he doesn't work at AFL level & I am very mindful of how important Mummy & Pykeys fitness is... If we have to rely on Jesse thsi year we are going back in time and I recall those years aspretty frustrating (Bulldogs won't make the finals to eliminate us this year though surely).
It was a terrible decision to put White in. I know we needed another ruckman, but he can't do that, he is useless. We would be better off put McGlynn in the ruck than having him on the field.

Well I don't know about that... :p Like I said, I've been a Jesse supporter in the past and even now I wouldn't begrudge him a game at AFL level. In all fairness he's been great (by all reports) in the 2s with his ruckwork developing. However, his effort/knowledge seems lacking. And us playing him foward is no point if it means stifling Reidys run and blocking it all up when we get a chance.

No crash and bash by our big fowards/mids (mainly Reid, Jesse, Pykey).

I am a bit over the Jesse bashing. How many times was he outmarked in the forward line ? What failed today was structures and pace. Jude, Luke, bird, rok, were all playing as the small forwards and they NEVER got to the fall of the ball or locked it in. NEVER.,as a group they were like treacle compared to their opponents.

Jesse is no world beater and probably is not of a league standard, but as has been the case over and over and over again at the MCG, when we kick it long to a contest our only hope is to force a stoppage because we simply cannot get numbers to the spot.

If you want to lay blame for tonight you can take the soft option and blame Jesse or you can take the harder and look at the 21 players picked before him and ask how many of the, beat their opponent tonight and how many have been masking terrible form for weeks against gws, gcs and the lions ?

Jesse is no world beater and probably is not of a league standard, but as has been the case over and over and over again at the MCG, when we kick it long to a contest our only hope is to force a stoppage because we simply cannot get numbers to the spot.

If you want to lay blame for tonight you can take the soft option and blame Jesse or you can take the harder and look at the 21 players picked before him and ask how many of the, beat their opponent tonight and how many have been masking terrible form for weeks against gws, gcs and the lions ?
Too true.

Missed Shaw badly with Malceski being so dominated by Osborne. Shaw's constant run and energy would have been very useful to use without Malceski doing anything. His defensive prowess too. Armstrong is no replacement in that sense. Rampe is outmatched when he has to play on the ruckmen. Fair play to Ted who did a pretty god job on Buddy all things considered.

Goodes showed he can still go through the middle which is a good sign. His best game of the year by far. Kennedy had one of his best 2 or 3 best games too. Hannebery probably had his worst.

Arghh disappointing.....and so is the Hawks crowd, will 'boo' anything. Goodes had a good game, but is he is strife with that trip on Gibson? Hard to really see the replay of the incident at the game.
Putting it out there. If he goes for what is a legitimate attempt at kicking the ball off the ground we may as well stop playing the game, end the league and retire the sport for good. The reference to a slide is a joke considering contact is made before he goes to ground anyway. Hawthorn supporters were bitter and twisted prior to the game starting and from the moment the game started were sooking and whinging. Nothing highlighted this more than their sarcastic cheers when paid a high tackle when their player clearly ducked, then not even a minute later one of our players gets his head ripped off and they start going off their heads. Made themselves look like complete w***ers tonight.