Hff_07 Phantom Draft - Edition I

Richmond will take a midfielder with their 1st pick either Ziebell or Hartlett or Sidebottom. Then probably go tall with their next pick.

PICK 3 - PORT ADELAIDE -

HAMISH HARTLETT

They are set at both ends of the ground, (B: Chaplin, Thurstans, Carlisle, F: J.Westoff, M.Westoff) and will complement their in and under hard ball players by being that outside ball carrier.

PIC 5 - ESSENDON -

MICHAEL HURLEY

Got their man here, they were hoping for and got their man. will fill the whole that Michael and Fletcher will leave.
Why wouldn't Port go for Hurley? ;)

Westhoff isn't a number one power forward, but a second or third tall like Brad Fisher who has sticky hands and is also built like a pipe cleaner.

I've read that Hurley kicked six goals in the TAC cup as a forward this year.

Drafting Hurley would give the Power a power CHB they need to stand a player like Dawes(or Roughead, Hawkins or Kennedy) who was too big for Chaplin last night. Boak is a good outside runner, so it wouldn't surprise me if they overlooked Hartlett and picked Hurley to replace Tredrea or Wakelin.

PICK 1 - MELBOURNE -

JACK WATTS

Will take the tall forward, as they have some very nice developing rucks, and are in desperate need of a tall forward.

PICK 2 - WEST COAST EAGLES -

DANIEL RICH

Am set that WCE will take Rich to further bolster their young, up and coming midfield as their Key Positions are set, plenty of rucks available for later rounds.

PICK 3 - PORT ADELAIDE -

HAMISH HARTLETT

They are set at both ends of the ground, (B: Chaplin, Thurstans, Carlisle, F: J.Westoff, M.Westoff) and will complement their in and under hard ball players by being that outside ball carrier.

PICK 4 - FREMANTLE -

NICHOLAS NAITANUI

Will take best available and for mine it is big NicNat, they are in doubt about losing Warnock so would fill that whole left by big Robbie Warnock

PIC 5 - ESSENDON -

MICHAEL HURLEY

Got their man here, they were hoping for and got their man. will fill the whole that Michael and Fletcher will leave.

PICK 6 - RICHMOND

JACK ZIEBELL

Best available here, and for mine, that is Ziebell, will really complement the young Richmond mids, have most other areas covered ok, except for the midfield.

PICK 7 - CARLTON

JACKSON TRENGROVE

May surprise a few people here, will be this years Joel Selwood, injuries will not deter the Blues from taking this defender cum ****men.

PICK 8 - BRISBANE

CHRIS YARREN

May surprise a few people here also, are looking out for some small crumbing forwards, and that is Yarren, is a classy mover who can have his turn in the midfield, just what the Lions are after.

PICK 9 - ST.KILDA

STEELE SIDEBOTTOM

A classy midfielder, has class written all over him, will really compliment the Saints in and under type players.

PICK 10 - COLLINGWOOD

MITCH ROBINSON

May surprise a few people here, but has all the attributes the Pies are looking for.

PICK 11 - ADELAIDE

LEWIS JOHNSTON

Dont let the long locks and foolish attitude lead you own, this kid can play, has great hands and is a great contested mark, a perfect fit for the Crows style of play, kick it long, use it well.

PICK 12 - KANGAROOS

DAVID ZAHARAKIS

A strong hard at it midfielder, perfectly suited to the Roos style of play, and is every thing they stand for, teamwork, play for each other.

PICK 13 - SYDNEY

AARON CORNELIUS

Will be looking to bolster their young forward stocks and Cornelius fits this, is a really good stron, smart forward.

PICK 14 - WESTERN BULLDOGS

TYRONE VICKERY

Will be a slider (Albeit half a dozen spots) to the Dogs here, nobody will bid on Cordy so they will take a ruckmen cum forward in Vickery, the best all round ruck in the draft and is a steal at 14.

PICK 15 - HAWTHORN

JORDAN LISLE

May surprise a few here, but are in need of some tall timber down back and Lisle is that, will release Croad to play a roaming role, and Hodge to play more through the midfield.

PICK 16 - GEELONG

NICK SUBAN

A hard at it, no frills defender. With the pending retirement Milburn coming on, will be looking to bolster their small defenders.

PICK 17 - MELBOURNE - PRIORITY PICK

MATT DEBOER

A hard at it inside midfield ball magnet, can win the hard ball, and that is what the Dees are in need of.

PICK 18 - WEST COAST EAGLE - PRIORITY PICK

STEPHEN HILL

A hard running midfield utility type player, is a superb athlete and will be a steal at around 18 IMO.

PICK 19 - MELBOURNE

TOM SWIFT

A real chance here, they make take a punt on Swift, will be a steal too IMO, as he was touted as a potential first round pick before injuries struck him down.

PICK 20 - WEST COAST EAGLES

NEVILLE JETTA

Are looking for a small forward and here is their man, may be a bolter, but are what the Eagles are looking for.

PICK 21 - PORT ADELAIDE

SHAUN MCKERNAN

Will be looking to bolster their aging ruck stocks, and this is where McKernan fits in, is a sperb player around the ground.

PICK 22 - FREMANTLE

CLANCEE PEARCE

A small defender/midfielder, would not look out of place at the Dockers, although IMO, they may go after some more genuine midfielders.

PICK 23 - ESSENDON

JORDAN ROUGHEAD

Have a feeling, we may go for height here, and with Roughead still available, also allows us to get a KPP too.

PICK 24 - RICHMOND

TOM ROCKLIFF

A small crumbing forward, would be a handy inlcusion for the Tigers here.

PICK 25 - CARLTON

SAM BLEASE

One to slide here, the Blues will be likcing their lips when they recieve Bleae here, will really help their midfield, lack some genuine pace, apart from Judd and Gibbs.

PICK 26 - BRISBANE

RHYS O'KEEFE

A really good steal here for the Lions, a player with X Factor, someone that runs and carries the ball. will be a great accuisition.

PICK 27 - ST.KILDA

NIC HEYNE

One of my other players to slide here, he may well go higher, but I see him falling into this middle of round 2 area, St.Kilda should be happy.

PICK 28 - COLLINGWOOD

JAMIE SHEEHAN

May suprise some people here, but I was really impressed with the way Jamie went with his business and will be a risk with his height, a good player none the less.

PICK 29 - ADELAIDE

RYAN SCHOENMAKERS

A playuer that really impressed people was Schoenmakers. Will become a very handy third tall for them

PICK 30 - KANGAROOS

PAUL CAHILL

One that may slide a little, Cahill has the right size to play as a KPP inthe AFL, and would be a great asset to the Roos in 09.

PICK 31 - SYDNEY

JAY SHANNON

A real hard at it, tough in and under type player that Roos loves.

PICK 32 - WESTERN BULLDOGS

AYCE CORDY

Will use this pick on their father son pick, Cordy will help boost their tall stocks at Whitten Oval

PICK 33 - HAWTHORN

MATTHEW BROADBENT

A no frills defender who runs straight lines. a really good goes and one the Hawks will look closely at IMO

PICK 34 - GEELONG

RORY SLOANE

A small defender cum midfielder, has KP covered so looking for more smalls to cover the losses of some older mids.

Just some thoughts on this guys, is a little rushed, so if I missed some big name players (which I think I did) let me know. but that looks ok for now. havent really sat down and gone through it 2-3 times.
Good try mate!
For Adelaide first we will defiently get Schoenmakers (if available) as a second rounder.
Im not the dictionary for players of the 08 draft but what position does Schoenmakers play? He plays midfield/forward am I right?

Port will take Hurley or Naituini before Hartlett. Imo Hurley probably. What they need with Tredrea probably going to retire and Westhoff not in the best form.

Freo will then take Nait.

Essendon Ziebell and so on. I think Hartlett will go around no.10.

1) Melb- Watts
2) WCE- Rich
3) Port- Natinui
4) Freo- Yarran
5) Ess- Hurley
6) Rich- McKernan
7) Carlt- Vickery
8) Bris- Ziebell
9)STK- DeBoer
10)ADEL- Harlett
11)COLL- Sidebottom
12)NTH- Scully
13)SYD- Robinson
14)WB- Cornelius
15)HAWKS- Lynch
16)Cats- Suban
17)Melb(pp)- Zaharkis
18)Melb- S.Hill
19)WCE- M.Walters
20)Port- L.Johnston
21)Freo- C.Pearce
22)Ess- J.Lisle
23)Rich- Rockliff
24)Carl- Roughhead
25)Bris- Salter
26)Stk- Gotch
27)Adel- Broadbent
26)Coll- Banner
29)Nth- Shuey
30)Syd- Klemke
31)WB- Okeefe
32)Hawk- Blease
33)Cats- Heyne

Thats as close as I could get but its a real toss up as we dont know how trading is going to go.
Fantastic phantom draft mate.
Nearly spot on! I think it is Scully that isnt eledgable..?
Shoenmakers not there? Will he be an early 3rd rounder?

Any info about Broudbent people? Is he a midfielder?
Could anyone give a writeup?

please let it be true!!!!
i would be stoked if that happened. But tbh i think Port might go after him. if natanui isnt available by ports pick then i think they will pick hurley..

however i would be pretty happy with harlett as well
I really hope Port go for Nat then you go for Hurley so Hartlett will be available for us!!

Agree. The only genuine ruckman that should be picked up in the 1st 2 rounds are Naitanui and Vickery.

Add Ayce Cordy to that list.

Forgetting McKernan..? Heaps of similarities with his older brother.

I don't think he is capable of playing ruck in the AFL, maybe a few stints around the ground but he isn't a genuine ruckman. I agree, he is pretty much a clone of his brother the way he moves, kicks, pretty much everything. Ruckman have changed since Corey played, much more emphasis is on height nowadays so i think Shaun would struggle if he was taken as a ruckman.

He still has a year or two more of growth so I wouldn't write him off from reaching 198cm, and that would be acceptable. Is quite good around the ground too, was a multiple goal kicker on five occasions in last season's TAC Cup.

I'm pretty sure teams would draft him hoping he'd be a KP player, if it turns out he grows enough, they might be able to us him as a second ruckman.

A bit to slow for a KP player imo, plays a typical ruckman's role. Competes in the centre bouce and runs forward to snag some goals. He only snags goals in the TAC Cup because he is still against their opposition's ruckman on most occasions or else he'd struggle to get a goal if he was against a say, Hurley in the forward line imo.

hoping Trengrove will slip to pick number 16, i feel their is a big chance he will as it is a strong draft and around pick 5-7 would have been his most likely draft number before the injury anyway, i am sure he has a big chance of sliding further down then.

We'll know more about Trengove when he attends Draft Camp, where the recruiters will be all over the results of his knee injury. Have my doubts as to whether he will go top 10 though.

Why wouldn't Port go for Hurley? ;)

Westhoff isn't a number one power forward, but a second or third tall like Brad Fisher who has sticky hands and is also built like a pipe cleaner.

I've read that Hurley kicked six goals in the TAC cup as a forward this year.

Drafting Hurley would give the Power a power CHB they need to stand a player like Dawes(or Roughead, Hawkins or Kennedy) who was too big for Chaplin last night. Boak is a good outside runner, so it wouldn't surprise me if they overlooked Hartlett and picked Hurley to replace Tredrea or Wakelin.

I would mind being left with Hartlett ;)

Me too, but I hope this Hartlett has a better set of hamstrings.
PICK 25 - CARLTON

SAM BLEASE

One to slide here, the Blues will be likcing their lips when they recieve Bleae here, will really help their midfield, lack some genuine pace, apart from Judd and Gibbs.
Gibbs has genuine pace. :confused:

I'd like to get another midfielder with pace at this pick, but don't tell that to the Blues fans who think we should give up our second round pick for McKinley without question.

Please, not another young ruckman. We'd be wasting our pick, and we probably wont get another top 10 pick for a while. Hartlett or Ziebell please. Would Johnston be a waste at pick 6-8?

What KP forwards would their be left in the 2nd round?

Please, not another young ruckman. We'd be wasting our pick, and we probably wont get another top 10 pick for a while. Hartlett or Ziebell please. Would Johnston be a waste at pick 6-8?

Johnston would probably be a little to high for 6-8 but it does depend who is available.

Looked into this question a little because i think our second pick has to be a KF no matter what happens, we just need more depth and more quality options in this position.

The options are:

Paul Cahill 192cm - He is mighty athletic for his size, very quick and has a fantastic leap on him. Has very good hands and a great contested mark (2nd most in the Championships the year). His down side would be his kicking skills both around the ground and at goal.

Tom Lynch 191cm - Can play at both ends of the ground but would be more suited to CHF IMO. He is pretty much Matthew Bate Version II from what i've seen, strong hands, amazing attitude, chases and chases and is very footy smart. He doesn't seem overally quick though.

Ryan Schoenmakers 191cm - He's a quality CHF IMO. Nice speed, fairly agile long, accurate left foot kick and takes a very good contested mark. Probably a weakness is his fitness, not to sure but some people seem to think his engine isn't up to scratch but i guess we'll find out at draft camp. Also there are a few conflicting reports about his height ranging between 189 and 192cm so his size might be an issue if it is around 189.

Jordan Lisle 196cm - Can play both ends of the ground but is more suited to CHB which isn't a bad thing for us. Very reliable defender, great size but seems to lack a little mobility. HBF seems to be very keen on him with our second round pick.

Cornelius, Johnston, Trengove and McKernan should all be gone but if one of these 4 drop, they would take priority over the 4 above (probably not Cornelius over Lynch though as i rate Lynch higher).

Johnston would probably be a little to high for 6-8 but it does depend who is available.

Looked into this question a little because i think our second pick has to be a KF no matter what happens, we just need more depth and more quality options in this position.

The options are:

Paul Cahill 192cm - He is mighty athletic for his size, very quick and has a fantastic leap on him. Has very good hands and a great contested mark (2nd most in the Championships the year). His down side would be his kicking skills both around the ground and at goal.

Tom Lynch 191cm - Can play at both ends of the ground but would be more suited to CHF IMO. He is pretty much Matthew Bate Version II from what i've seen, strong hands, amazing attitude, chases and chases and is very footy smart. He doesn't seem overally quick though.

Ryan Schoenmakers 191cm - He's a quality CHF IMO. Nice speed, fairly agile long, accurate left foot kick and takes a very good contested mark. Probably a weakness is his fitness, not to sure but some people seem to think his engine isn't up to scratch but i guess we'll find out at draft camp. Also there are a few conflicting reports about his height ranging between 189 and 192cm so his size might be an issue if it is around 189.

Jordan Lisle 196cm - Can play both ends of the ground but is more suited to CHB which isn't a bad thing for us. Very reliable defender, great size but seems to lack a little mobility. HBF seems to be very keen on him with our second round pick.
Cornelius, Johnston, Trengove and McKernan should all be gone but if one of these 4 drop, they would take priority over the 4 above (probably not Cornelius over Lynch though as i rate Lynch higher).

Yeah, I really like Lisle. Suspect he'll one of the players that will be taken between our first and second round selections.

Trengove like Maric last year will attend draft camp but will not participate in testing- thats the message he has been giving AFL clubs apparently.

out of these 2 players who would have a greater upside/potential? could cahill play in the middle with such speed and agility?

Better upside - Paul Cahill
Safer pick - Tom Lynch

Almost guarenteed Tommy Lynch will go in front of Cahill though come draft day.

Great Source said it well, Cahill has more upside/potential but Lynch is the safer pick and i agree with him when he says Lynch will go ahead of Cahill in the draft.

I doubt teams would want to play Cahill through the middle seeing as though his kicking skills aren't great. I really don't like to use this comparison but he's a little like Franklin, obviously not as tall though.

Agreed on all fronts there.

Anyone else got a feeling Hurley could go to Freo??????

They will have pick 4.

1.Watts
2.(WC)Natanui
3.(PA) Hartlett
4.(Freo)Hurley

Im thinking this cause If Freo had a key defender they could in turn free up McPharlin to move up foward and that will then help Pav

They also have a few good young mids, so Rich isn't really a priority

Thoughts?????

I have actually got Johnston at about pick 6-7 to Carlton, a high marking, hit up target, with a very good set of hands, and a bomming right foot.

Me too, but I hope this Hartlett has a better set of hamstrings.

Gibbs has genuine pace. :confused:

I'd like to get another midfielder with pace at this pick, but don't tell that to the Blues fans who think we should give up our second round pick for McKinley without question.

I have no doubt Gibbs has pace, Blease has X factor, something, IMO, Gibbs does not have, thats all. Another Eddie Betts, Blease runs and carries the ball a bit better, has a raking right foot, and breaks the lines.

Thats all bud.

Anyone else got a feeling Hurley could go to Freo??????

They will have pick 4.

1.Watts
2.(WC)Natanui
3.(PA) Hartlett
4.(Freo)Hurley

Im thinking this cause If Freo had a key defender they could in turn free up McPharlin to move up foward and that will then help Pav

They also have a few good young mids, so Rich isn't really a priority

Thoughts?????

If Rich was there I would have no doubt Freo would take him.

Hff_07 Phantom Draft - Edition I