How Crow Can You Go? An Adelaide Football Club Saga

Where will Adelaide finish?

There would be nothing funny about it if they got one. The league would be a joke to do that after their stance last year of genuine priority picks at start of first rounds are a thing well in the past and we now find more balanced ways of assisting clubs not getting far over a few seasons. If they were to give Gold Coast an old skool priority pick as total backflip of last year it would tell me everything said last year was total bulls**t league spin in order to not give Carlton a priority pick in same year as Suns. It would also devalue all the incredible hard work SOS and his team have done to create early picks via trading out players with no help at all from league but then giving Gold Coast a free hit soon after. We had to work so bloody hard to get off the canvas from ground zero at end of 2015.
No priority picks. Just made to do the hard yakka if we wanted more early picks, the only way we got any was to trade senior players out which in turn reducing your experience soon after which means you need to wait for teenage kids to get mature footy bodies and develop playing as part of a team. Yarran, Bell, Henderson, Menzel, Tuohy and Gibbs were traded, that we turned into early picks. If some other club handed out priority picks soon after , I will be pi**ed.

And the only one out of that bunch who were traded that’s cemented a spot anywhere was Tuohy lol.

There would be nothing funny about it if they got one. The league would be a joke to do that after their stance last year of genuine priority picks at start of first rounds are a thing well in the past and we now find more balanced ways of assisting clubs not getting far over a few seasons. If they were to give Gold Coast an old skool priority pick as total backflip of last year it would tell me everything said last year was total bulls**t league spin in order to not give Carlton a priority pick in same year as Suns. It would also devalue all the incredible hard work SOS and his team have done to create early picks via trading out players with no help at all from league but then giving Gold Coast a free hit soon after. We had to work so bloody hard to get off the canvas from ground zero at end of 2015.
No priority picks. Just made to do the hard yakka if we wanted more early picks, the only way we got any was to trade senior players out which in turn reducing your experience soon after which means you need to wait for teenage kids to get mature footy bodies and develop playing as part of a team. Yarran, Bell, Henderson, Menzel, Tuohy and Gibbs were traded, that we turned into early picks. If some other club handed out priority picks soon after , I will be pi**ed.
We already know the afl is corrupt and makes decisions at their own discretion based on their own agenda. We also know they don’t want us to have success again.

But when we win a flag without any players picked by priority picks then it will be even more sweet. Then they will change the rules around FA because everyone will want to come to us to win a flag and we will just work out the system and keep winning.

I honestly think that a Priority Pick for The Suns is justified. They have some rotten luck, in among some poor self-inflicted decisions, it's quite obvious they have to start up again from scratch.

I am far more bothered that a team like the Swans keeps getting dibs on elite talent like Mills and Blakey, now that is a farce.

Think the AFL community as a whole needs to be generous to Gold Coast, I think it's gonna be a long haul, but the benefits of having a successful pro sporting team up there will be worth it.

cows selection atm is tres wierd.

out:
Jenkins who has been decnet for them lately, they drop.
Stengle who kicked a couple is in/out, in/out. Hardly confidence building.
Wilson, well *shrug*
And Seedsman, who provides much need run and carry and has been one of thier better players.

in:
Fogarty, strange. Preseason showed something but has done nothing all year in sanfl. Wierd timing and not sure over jenkins.
Betts, probably wouldve been interesting if they played Betts and Stengle and Murphy. Guess they pick at home for the supporters more than anything else.
Douglas, wierd has been injured a lot this year and when playing has done sfa.
Gibbs. Is he playing Seedsman's role? Interestingly probably wouldve been a better option for playing on cripps last week, than playing this week. Not sure where he fits in TBH.

Some wierd selections imho. Maybe they think Fogarty will give more of a contest than Jenkins, but Jenkins has been one of their more consistent performers since the bye. Need some pressure in the f50, not sure this will help that. Dont see what role Gibbs plays.

Looks like changes for the sake of changes rather than for any kind of plan.

I honestly think that a Priority Pick for The Suns is justified. They have some rotten luck, in among some poor self-inflicted decisions, it's quite obvious they have to start up again from scratch.

I am far more bothered that a team like the Swans keeps getting dibs on elite talent like Mills and Blakey, now that is a farce.

Think the AFL community as a whole needs to be generous to Gold Coast, I think it's gonna be a long haul, but the benefits of having a successful pro sporting team up there will be worth it.
I fully agree. My point is we should have got one last year if they were fair and just - but they’re not so we move on and become great again anyway.. GC do need one and I would like to see GC win a flag - after we have won at least a couple.

Rumor from Crows fans on Reddit is that Fogarty is only getting a game because he has demanded a trade if he isn't given an opportunity.

This I find an absolute pisser given his well documented "I'll go home to the Crows after two years if anyone outside of SA drafts me" rhetoric.

I honestly think that a Priority Pick for The Suns is justified.
Nope. Not based on league thinking in recent years if being consistent...
Furthermore they actually do have the makings of a good team to build on.
King, Rankine, Ben Ainsworth, Will Powell, Jack Bowes, Will Brodie, Lukosius, Sexton, Corbett, Collins, Wirght, Miller, Martin, McPherson,, Ballard, McLennan, Witts, Rory Thompson, Sam Day, Swallow and Seemens has so much more upside than the list we had at ground zero at end of 2015, it is not funny.
We virtually had Cripps, Docherty, Touhy and Menzel as seemingly our youth plus Kruezer, Gibbs. Simpson and Murphy as any real market currency at that point plus Henderson, Yarran and Bell that indicated they were already leaving. We were in far worse list position and have never got any priority pick in that situation despite having no real room to move at that point.

Gold Coast need help off field, not with draft picks as their list is not short on talent in itself.

looking at the fixture the crows are set up to fall in drastic fashion. I think the saints (watched em satdee they looked solid) can get em and they are a slim chance at best in the west against eagles. They can get the pies at home but then an away game in ballarat agasinst doggies who are on the up. 10-11 wins i reckon. back in the pack out of the 8.
If we can scrounge 2 from 4 it'll be game over for this trade. It's pretty much over already but if we can get to 8 wins and they're on 10. hmm.
Throw in Oliver 'please sir can i have some more' Twist AKA gold coast begging for a PP just for ships and giggles.

I bet you they make it pick 2 as the PP to soften the blow.

Hilariously it'll still be the same thing.

Nothing is more certain

We should come out and throw a big Eddie Everywhere style hissy fit as we were not given one.

All these ladder predictions, how many of you get 9right each week?

Sent from my CPH1879 using Tapatalk
Yep, ladder predictions pretty meaningless given how up and down form has been of most teams in the league. The most likely outcome is position will not change a great deal as too many sides are going to trend towards winning 2 and losing 2 in last four rounds towards middle of the ladder. The sides that win 4 or lose 4 are only ones likely to move down or up a few spots.

Nothing is more certain

We should come out and throw a big Eddie Everywhere style hissy fit as we were not given one.

I would like to think our club and President has a lot more class, civility and decorum than Eddie McSook or Jeff Bigot (Kennett)

The quiet, publically low profile of Mark Loguidace has been a welcome tonic after some of our ahem, more colourful presidents from the past and has given the club some much needed stability in some pretty turbulent times for our club.

I stopped doing tipping, dreamteams, SC, whatever else a couple of years ago.

Makes life a lot less stressful when the footy is on and you dont have any skin in the result.
Can just sit back and try to watch objectively.

I wonder how many paid working hours of office awork are wasted each week on workers trying to get in or edit their supercoach/dream teams ? 🤔🤔🤔