How long does the AFLW season need to be?

The issue is the players want a longer season, and not to be overshadowed by the Men, and not to be playing in the 45c heat.
Only so many grounds that can cater for night games as well through summer

One of the major benefits of giving womens teams to existing AFL clubs was joint operations. Its how the costs down for AFLW by sharing resources with the Mens team, we've already seen staffing concerns where teams play on the same day. Admin and facilities staff would almost certainly be shared.

W-league clubs were for years not even getting their own training rooms - there were articles about women having to get changed outside the stadium before games. They'd have less resources, because their A-league teams have less resources.
I guess without knowing how much staff it takes to run an AFLW team, I'm really just taking a stab in the dark here, but couldn't you just stagger the end-of-year leave? If you build in a two-week break for Christmas and New Year's, that probably takes care of a lot of potential overlap for staff requests, and you could just stagger the rest.

I'm a big fan of the clean air argument.

I watched five or six AFLW games a round before the men's season and it definitely dipped when the men started.

This year started just as the school holidays finished, so if the season started earlier, the league could spread their games over the week and therefore have more night games to avoid the heat. It could run similar to those Covid rounds in the 2020 AFLM. Everybody (well at least I did) loved back-to-back footy. There could be a night/dusk match Monday-Sunday every night through January.

Most grounds are vfl/sanfl/wafl grounds which remain cricket-free, so there'd be less of a clash than the men would have.

When the season finally gets longer and starts in December, they could turn the NYE into a huge event like the BBL is in Adelaide. Could make it a marquee game. Have some fireworks at the ground. Would make for a popular kid-friendly New Year's.

Totally idiotic to play footy during summer. There is plenty of 'clear air' at the end of the year.
While we are still building up to full professionalism, simply start the week of the AFL pre-finals bye, play 14 games, three week finals series and GF on Sat 18/12.
If/when Tassie come in I would move to an 18 game (19 round) season, with top 8 four week finals, starting July with the GF the first or second week of December - just before the cricket fires up.

I'm a big fan of the clean air argument.

I watched five or six AFLW games a round before the men's season and it definitely dipped when the men started.

This year started just as the school holidays finished, so if the season started earlier, the league could spread their games over the week and therefore have more night games to avoid the heat. It could run similar to those Covid rounds in the 2020 AFL. Everybody (well at least I did) loved back-to-back footy. There could be a night/dusk match Monday-Sunday every night through January.

Most grounds are vfl/sanfl/wafl grounds which remain cricket-free, so there'd be less of a clash than the men would have.

When the season finally gets longer and starts in December, they could turn the NYE into a huge event like the BBL is in Adelaide. Could make it a marquee game. Have some fireworks at the ground. Would make for a popular kid-friendly New Year's.
Weeknight games can;t work until the league if fully professional, which is at least a decade away. These women have jobs/study.

Only so many grounds that can cater for night games as well through summer

Freo oval and Leederville can. Pretty sure Lathlain can too. But that doesn't mean shit if the AFL won't schedule the games then. I don't think they've ever scheduled a night AFLW game in Perth. It's not just bullshit, it's ****ing dangerous.

Freo oval and Leederville can. Pretty sure Lathlain can too. But that doesn't mean sh*t if the AFL won't schedule the games then. I don't think they've ever scheduled a night AFLW game in Perth. It's not just bullshit, it's ******* dangerous.
Leederville - we have a 5.30PM U18 WAFLW Saturday night game scheduled. However I'm under the impression the lights are not good enough - some standard must be met for games. But you are right. Its very dangerous.

I find that hard to believe given they regularly broadcast games from Casey fields and Whitten oval which have similar lighting standards.

Plenty of WAFL games have been played at night in all 3 venues, so there's no issue with player safety.

Additional portable lighting would have to be used, as is the case for Casey Fields etc.

But keep in mind the WA teams rarely play night AFLW games on the road too. West Coast are yet to do so, and Fremantle have only done it twice in five seasons (one in Darwin, the other at Whitten Oval in the first round of the first season).

I suspect it's more of a travel-related issue: reducing overnight stays and/or getting teams home at a somewhat reasonable hour. Saves money for the AFL and a better arrangement for players with jobs to get back to.

Additional portable lighting would have to be used, as is the case for Casey Fields etc.

But keep in mind the WA teams rarely play night AFLW games on the road too. West Coast are yet to do so, and Fremantle have only done it twice in five seasons (one in Darwin, the other at Whitten Oval in the first round of the first season).

I suspect it's more of a travel-related issue: reducing overnight stays and/or getting teams home at a somewhat reasonable hour. Saves money for the AFL and a better arrangement for players with jobs to get back to.

Yeah maybe, but there are regular scheduled flights straight after night games to all mainland capitals except Adelaide.
If that's the reason it's a pretty flimsy one.

Totally idiotic to play footy during summer. There is plenty of 'clear air' at the end of the year.
While we are still building up to full professionalism, simply start the week of the AFL pre-finals bye, play 14 games, three week finals series and GF on Sat 18/12.
If/when Tassie come in I would move to an 18 game (19 round) season, with top 8 four week finals, starting July with the GF the first or second week of December - just before the cricket fires up.
They will need permission from the Cricket clubs who play on the the oval in the summer, and i can't see a lot of Cricket clubs giving them permission to play the same time of year, unless they are paid well

According to the SEN article today, regarding the fixture in the future:

The Age’s Daniel Cherny reported earlier in the week that there is a push to start the season in December, limiting crossover with the men’s season.

“It now appears inevitable that the AFLW season starts earlier in December as forecast. Up against the cricket and the Australian Open, but it has more clear from the AFL and eases stretched football departments after the soft cap reductions there"

"Starting the AFLW season in December would have to be approved by the AFLPA, given the shift would impact work commitments and mean playing through the entirety of summer"

Rounds 2-5 would be completely insignificant, maybe not in air time but in attention due to clashing with the AFL finals.

Nah, the 10 sides not playing finals (then 12, then 14, then 16) would be all over it. All those finals are at night so you have plenty of space on Ch7 and Fox to broadcast games live on Sat & Sun arvo.

And they have to pay for it. More game in the summer means more money going into the Crickets clubs coffers
Yeah all those imaginary cricket clubs based at regular AFLW venues will be asking for top imaginary dollar as compensation.

How long does the AFLW season need to be?