Votes: 15 12.1%
  • During their bye

Votes: 76 61.3%

Carlton are on the up.

One bad game doesn't erase their undeniable progress.

Clearly trolling if you say anything else.

Watch out in 2020.

Not just one bad game. Their game against North was the worst I have seen. They only flick the switch for the likes of Essendon and Collingwood.

Haha you ******* tool
why be so rude?

Hardwick is best in the league atm, imo, of getting a lot out of limited players and a list with serious holes in it.

Melbourne and Richmond fans would be best placed to comment on what it's like to be in Carlton's situation- bumping along rock bottom for years- it's bloody hard to get out of that situation and it takes a coach with unique skill set to pull out of the endless death spiral.

You need a horse whisperer- Bevo is the other one that's a bit like that and can take a limited list all the way.

When is the last time a coach won 4 of 41 games, into their 4th season as senior coach, and survived?
This is the stat we need to look at. It’s dire. Carlton at this stage should be winning games. Brisbane, St Kilda and Fremantle have all improved a lot in 2019. Carlton is finding new ways to fail.

Yet Ratten has not even been close to a senior coaching job since.

The maths don’t add up and IF Bolton is sacked the same negative agenda arguments will be made because they can! It is the Big Footy way and if it is not negative it is not worthy of participating in.
Ratted hasn’t wanted a senior role and his kid was killed in a car accident.

What’s it doing for Clarko’s reputation as the best mentor of coaches ever in the history of sport?
3 of the last 4 premiership coaches were under him? Also it's 3/4 because were not counting Clarkson himself.

Not just one bad game. Their game against North was the worst I have seen. They only flick the switch for the likes of Essendon and Collingwood.
Hawks / Port and Sydney Games we were right in.

Claiming just the Pies and Bombers in which the later we have not even played yet is just plain ignorance on your part and I would not be surprised if you have even seen us play more than 2 games all year so far.

Ratted hasn’t wanted a senior role and his kid was killed in a car accident.
Yes his Son was killed in a car accident which was tragic but the rest of your post is pure speculation and opinion to suit an argument.

they were competitive in most games this year, should of probably won swans and suns hawks etc

then today looks different, i know ifs and buts mean shit

but they stay the course for this year at least, hard on their fans,

What about SOS?

The guy is teflon coated.

We have got young talent in but have failed badly in the following areas:

1. Failure to get good experienced foot soldiers in the door (exceptions being Wright, Newman and McGovern). We have the worst experienced core of any side in the afl, which is why we also have the worst team in the AFL.

2. Horribly unbalanced list (Zero small forwards, lack of running players, lack of support for Cripps, no long term ruck solution)

3. Lack of finding anything beyond the top 25 or so in the draft (his son and Williamson the only ones who look like could be around for a while to come)

4. Diabolical rookie drafting: seems this is just an afterthought, I’m not sure SOS looks for anyone who isn’t a top rated junior or once was.

5. Obsession with injury plagued former high picks: All of the guys we have got from GWS have come under injury clouds, and guess what? They spend most of their time, well, injured.

Hawks / Port and Sydney Games we were right in.

Claiming just the Pies and Bombers in which the later we have not even played yet is just plain ignorance on your part and I would not be surprised if you have even seen us play more than 2 games all year so far.
Then why have Brisbane roared past you? 4 wins in 40 games with serious periods of non competitiveness is a worry, plus a game against North in which you lost by 58 points. North? Seriously? You beat the WB but can’t stay competitive against North.

It’s bad news mate.

Brisbane
WB

Are they going to give him a month to try and win one or two?

Would replacing the coach do anything? How many coaches have they gone through with barely a sniff of mid-table?

They may have to get rid of Bolton, but the problems also look to be either above or sideways from a string of coaches. How much does Bolton get input to the recruitment, etc? Some other, lomnger term, positions need to be looked at given how long they have been like this (bar a couple of seasons).

Teams have bad runs, but for a wealthy club to have pretty much 15 years of mostly shite things are way beyond the present coach.

From 2005 - 2019 before finals (15 years including this year):
2005: 16th (of 16)
2006: 16th
2007: 15th
2008: 11th
2009: 7th - decent mid-table
2010: 8th - again, decent
2011: 5th (of 17) - good
2012: 10th - still mid-table (of 18)
2013: 8th - decent
2014: 13th
2015: 18th
2016: 14th
2017: 16th
2018: 18th
2019: 18th (so far, not settled there yet and North are every chance of snatching that position)

That's actually better than I thought, that mid-table run went five years not three like I was thinking; but for a club with Carlton's resources it is still pretty dismal.

Yes his Son was killed in a car accident which was tragic but the rest of your post is pure speculation and opinion to suit an argument.
No he hasn’t wanted a senior role. He left Hawthorn for an assistant position at St Kilda. Hat not in ring.

You cocked up when you sacked him, then let Bolton trot this out. Come on, you need to be competitive at least in this competition. Your variance in efforts is ridiculous. I don’t know what you’ll do, but if you get a hiding against St Kilda you’d think that’s it.

2 bad shellackings, floggings.

In it in all the rest of their games.

Would want a more spirited effort next week.

Unless the shellackings are regular this season, then a hard decision can wait till year end.

Would want to see an upward trajectory in the second half of the season.

Last handful of seasons
4 wins
7 wins
6 wins
4 wins
2 wins
1 win so far in 2019, doesnt look like they will get more than 2-3 if they're lucky.

That's just not acceptable from the club, not just Bolton, but the scapegoat is often the senior coach, so a season of < 4 wins again and he surely must go.

Then why have Brisbane roared past you? 4 wins in 40 games with serious periods of non competitiveness is a worry, plus a game against North in which you lost by 58 points. North? Seriously? You beat the WB but can’t stay competitive against North.

It’s bad news mate.

Brisbane
WB

Are they going to give him a month to try and win one or two?
It could be worse and we could be a widely acclaimed Top 4 finals team on potential with one of the best rucks in the league like the Demons are......

Yet Bolts is attacked when 90% of people had us last anyway ladder wise and people and teams like the Demons get a free ride! How is Goodwin going this season after being handed a Silver platter orchestrated by the AFL themselves and Roos.

It is all glass houses mate.

Would replacing the coach do anything? How many coaches have they gone through with barely a sniff of mid-table?

They may have to get rid of Bolton, but the problems also look to be either above or sideways from a string of coaches. How much does Bolton get input to the recruitment, etc? Some other, lomnger term, positions need to be looked at given how long they have been like this (bar a couple of seasons).

Teams have bad runs, but for a wealthy club to have pretty much 15 years of mostly shite things are way beyond the present coach.

From 2005 - 2019 before finals (15 years including this year):
2005: 16th (of 16)
2006: 16th
2007: 15th
2008: 11th
2009: 7th - decent mid-table
2010: 8th - again, decent
2011: 5th (of 17) - good
2012: 10th - still mid-table (of 18)
2013: 8th - decent
2014: 13th
2015: 18th
2016: 14th
2017: 16th
2018: 18th
2019: 18th (so far, not settled there yet and North are every chance of snatching that position)

That's actually better than I thought, that mid-table run went five years not three like I was thinking; but for a club with Carlton's resources it is still pretty dismal.

Honestly, when you compare and contrast the successful eras before (1978-1988, 1993-2001, even 2009-2013 compared to the years around it), and the "down periods" in between (1989-1992, 2002-2008, 2014-present), it really just seems like Carlton have NFI about recruiting and drafting when working within a salary cap. When they can't just throw money or bulk draft picks at a high-priced recruit, they fail.

They need to bring people into the presidency and list management and recruitment roles who aren't "Carlton people", just to give a different perspective and mindset and view of the whole thing.

It could be worse and we could be a widely acclaimed Top 4 finals team on potential with one of the best rucks in the league like the Demons are......

Yet Bolts is attacked and people and teams like the Demons get a free ride! How is Goodwin going this season after being handed a Silver platter orchestrated by the AFL themselves and Roos.

Grow up. We aren’t talking about Melbourne. We are talking about the coach of Carlton.

The minute someone pulls the ‘but but your club is shit’ line when that club isn’t the topic of conversation, and just because my avatar says Melbourne, means you’ve conceded the argument.

You want to start a thread about Goodwin? Go ahead. Stay on topic otherwise.

They could only get rid of Bolton if they thought they weren't where they should be.

They're competitive without being able to run out games.

Today was a bit of an outlier for them this season.

Grow up. We aren’t talking about Melbourne. We are talking about the coach of Carlton.

The minute someone pulls the ‘but but your club is ****’ line when that club isn’t the topic of conversation just because my avatar says Melbourne, you’ve conceded your argument.
Yeah you are right.

Bolts needs to be sacked Carlton shifted of to Tassie or the VFL permanently and then BF and social media can find someone else to shit on!

Hope that makes you happy and I apologize for questioning you and your highly successful team which had swayed your opinion giving you the upmost credibility on here! ;)

Yet Bolts is attacked when 90% of people had us last anyway ladder wise and people and teams like the Demons get a free ride! How is Goodwin going this season after being handed a Silver platter orchestrated by the AFL themselves and Roos.

Goodwin is having a shit one, how is Bolton going? Oh look, thread title says Bolton and not Goodwin.

Melbourne played in a prelim last year. When was the last time Carlton played week 1 of finals? In fact when was the last time Carlton got out of the bottom 4, that is the issue.

Goodwin is having a **** one, how is Bolton going? Oh look, thread title says Bolton and not Goodwin.
You win and he needs to go.

Hope the club reads this and makes a move.

Yeah you are right.

Bolts needs to be sacked Carlton shifted of to Tassie or the VFL permanently and then BF and social media can find someone else to **** on!

Hope that makes you happy and I apologize for questioning you and your highly successful team which had swayed your opinion giving you the upmost credibility on here! ;)
So just because I go for Melbourne it contravenes my ability to have a credible opinion does it?

Have you not noticed Melbourne being crapped all over on BF this year? I am pretty confident if you talk to rational Melbourne supporters you’d find that they’re very unhappy with the situation and grossly dissatisfied with Goodwin at times.

You win and he needs to go.

Hope the club reads this and makes a move.
Cute sarcasm.

Any input into why Carlton are in a deep quagmire or do you just want to keep deflecting? You want to talk about Melbourne then bump a demons thread and tag me, then I’ll give you a rational and considered opinion.