Vic How would you rate Daniel Andrews' performance as Victorian Premier? - Part 4

Neds first response that the Feds control it, that is why i replied like that, then he changed and said it was TGA.

So is Astra Zeneca suitable for everyone one or not ?

My idea was for pfizer to be used in hotel quarantine as you have all ages in there, and it's only 3 weeks between doses i believe, and they have kept Astra Zeneca away from under 50 for some reason, Ned then said wouldn't be enough Pfizer for under 50, if everyone can take Astra Zeneca then give it to those outside of quarantine who want it, don't hold back on the who can get it when it seems a lot of people are refusing for what ever reason.

ATAG said it's not suitable for under 50s

Even if the govt wanted to, it's electoral suicide to force its use, esp when Europe and much of the rest of the world has similar restrictions in place

Again, I would have AZ tomorrow. But no govt will force people to use a vaccine a govt body says is not safe for them

Even if the govt wanted to, it's electoral suicide to force its use, esp when Europe and much of the rest of the world has similar restrictions in place

Again, I would have AZ tomorrow. But no govt will force people to use a vaccine a govt body says is not safe for them

Unless they figure out how to manage the potential clotting, for full vaccination of under 40's, we'd be seeing hundreds maybe thousands of deaths from the vaccine. Clearly better for Under 40's (particularly women apparently) to receive the Pfizer.

Extra week beats the fu** out of an extra month or three. Smart business owners understand this too.

But where does it end mate? Every time there is a new case they shut the joint down.

It is patently obvious they are spooked after 2020 and I don’t blame them for that but we need some objectivity which we are not getting.

It almost feels like Prof. Sutton and co are suffering a form of PTSD. It is clouding sensible decision making.

But where does it end mate? Every time there is a new case they shut the joint down.

It is patently obvious they are spooked after 2020 and I don’t blame them for that but we need some objectivity which we are not getting.

It almost feels like Prof. Sutton and co are suffering a form of PTSD. It is clouding sensible decision making.
I imagine it ends a few days after they have no unexplained cases. Obviously they are spooked too, they are shit scared constantly of the barrage of shit they get from the RWFW media to a massive fault but I dunno, I ****ing hate lockdowns, it's ****ing rubbish for my mental health if I'm being honest but I'll take a fortnight over 3 months or whatever. Nobody knows when a dickhead is going to get infected and travel the whole state or someone visits their dealer/mistress/brothel and isn't going to tell The Man. Once you get about a few people the likelihood of one of those or more increases to certainty and you have to shut shit down to see what's up.

I imagine it ends a few days after they have no unexplained cases. Obviously they are spooked too, they are sh*t scared constantly of the barrage of sh*t they get from the RWFW media to a massive fault but I dunno, I ******* hate lockdowns, it's ******* rubbish for my mental health if I'm being honest but I'll take a fortnight over 3 months or whatever. Nobody knows when a dickhead is going to get infected and travel the whole state or someone visits their dealer/mistress/brothel and isn't going to tell The Man. Once you get about a few people the likelihood of one of those or more increases to certainty and you have to shut sh*t down to see what's up.

But they say it’s one week. Then it’s two weeks, then it’s two weeks plus the long weekend. What next?

I no longer believe a single word they say. I do not trust them to remain objective. And I am sad to be admitting that.

There isn’t actually anything that suggests Sutton and co are panicking or clouded. Keep your shirt on. They have access to all the information. Not sure why random ‘experts’ are given such credence. Especially when they are academics ( give me a break).
The govt is just being careful, which is a good thing given the strange variants that are out there. Most people seem to be coping ok and if it keeps going like this we will be open soon.
Enjoy your long walk tomorrow.

But they say it’s one week. Then it’s two weeks, then it’s two weeks plus the long weekend. What next?

I no longer believe a single word they say. I do not trust them to remain objective. And I am sad to be admitting that.
The Gov is run by bean counters. I can absolutely guarantee that. They may be cautious a bit out of fear but it isn't going to by much.

There isn’t actually anything that suggests Sutton and co are panicking or clouded. Keep your shirt on. They have access to all the information. Not sure why random ‘experts’ are given such credence. Especially when they are academics ( give me a break).
The govt is just being careful, which is a good thing given the strange variants that are out there. Most people seem to be coping ok and if it keeps going like this we will be open soon.
Enjoy your long walk tomorrow.

Best part of 400,000 tests this week at an average of one new case for every 10,000 tests. Virtually all of which are traceable and isolated.

"Fleeting transmission" when there is no evidence of this whatsoever? If fleeting transmission was a thing then there'd be hundreds if not thousands of cases from the alleged "beast" of a strain (the Kappa strain). A strain, which no reputable epidemiologist believes is any more virile than previous strains.

The WHO lists it as a variant of "interest" not a variant of "concern."

I like Sutton, I think he's a genuinely decent and intelligent guy. But he's absolutely lost his nerve. A (minimum) two and a half week lockdown with tougher relaxation thresholds than we saw last year when we were getting 700-800 new cases a day? By any measure he has not remained objective. I have voted Labor my whole life and you couldn't pay me enough to vote for O'brien and his merry band of grubs but if you cannot see that Sutton and Vic Labor are traumatised and are now scared of their own reflection then really you are incapable of objective reasoning.

I'm partisan but I am not ignorant.

Best part of 400,000 tests this week at an average of one new case for every 10,000 tests. Virtually all of which are traceable and isolated.

"Fleeting transmission" when there is no evidence of this whatsoever? If fleeting transmission was a thing then there'd be hundreds if not thousands of cases from the alleged "beast" of a strain (the kappa strain). A strain, which no reputable epidemiologist believes is any more virile than previous strains.

I like Sutton, I think he's a genuinely decent and intelligent guy. But he's absolutely lost his nerve. A two and a half week lockdown with tougher relaxation thresholds than we saw last year when we were getting 700-800 new cases a day? By any measure he has not remained objective. I have voted Labor my whole life and you couldn't pay me enough to vote for O'brien and his merry band of grubs but if you cannot see that Sutton and Vic Labor are traumatised and are now scared of their own reflection then really you are incapable of objective reasoning.

Yep, you aren’t ignorant but you are also not qualified in the field, whereas Sutton and his team are. I don’t care who you vote for-its about health, not politics.
I think Sutton and the govt have been using strong language but are probably concerned about complacency and if you’ve been out and about in Melbourne in recent months you’d be right to be concerned. Heaps of places had become very relaxed about QR, and heaps of people of the trains very relaxed about masks.
Lockdown is a drag but this all came from someone who’d been in India and if you have followed the nightmare over there surely erring on the side of caution is the better option? The pandemic isn’t under control yet in many places in the world so we just have to be a bit more patient.
I find giving the internet a break, avoiding the news and taking the dog for long walks is more useful than getting worked up.

Yep, you aren’t ignorant but you are also not qualified in the field, whereas Sutton and his team are. I don’t care who you vote for-its about health, not politics.
I think Sutton and the govt have been using strong language but are probably concerned about complacency and if you’ve been out and about in Melbourne in recent months you’d be right to be concerned. Heaps of places had become very relaxed about QR, and heaps of people of the trains very relaxed about masks.
Lockdown is a drag but this all came from someone who’d been in India and if you have followed the nightmare over there surely erring on the side of caution is the better option? The pandemic isn’t under control yet in many places in the world so we just have to be a bit more patient.
I find giving the internet a break, avoiding the news and taking the dog for long walks is more useful than getting worked up.

Oh piss off you condescending twit.

Find me one reputable epidemiologist that has declared the Kappa strain that Professor Sutton called "the Beast" is any more potent than strains that have gone before. Just one. The WORLD HEATH ORGANISATION lists it as being of interest. Not concern. Interest. Who is Brett Sutton to overrule that determination?

Already half of these alleged "fleeting transmissions" have been shown up to be bullshit and we are at a caseload that would have had us out, about and spending money with local businesses after last year's disaster. One new case for every 10,000 tests. F*** me dead.

And comparing what is happening in India with what may or may not happen here is the domain of the moron (in this case you). For starters, their population density, hygiene and medical standards are that far removed from what we have here that you trying to draw that parallel is laughable.

I'd like to enjoy a long walk tomorrow...but you can jam having to wear a mask when out in acres of space with only my wife for company up your ignorant backside. I'd rather eat my own faeces.

"Fleeting transmission" when there is no evidence of this whatsoever? If fleeting transmission was a thing then there'd be hundreds if not thousands of cases from the alleged "beast" of a strain (the Kappa strain). A strain, which no reputable epidemiologist believes is any more virile than previous strains.

I like Sutton, I think he's a genuinely decent and intelligent guy. But he's absolutely lost his nerve. A (minimum) two and a half week lockdown with tougher relaxation thresholds than we saw last year when we were getting 700-800 new cases a day? By any measure he has not remained objective. I have voted Labor my whole life and you couldn't pay me enough to vote for O'brien and his merry band of grubs but if you cannot see that Sutton and Vic Labor are traumatised and are now scared of their own reflection then really you are incapable of objective reasoning.

This is probably the post of the week. Well done.

I don’t envy them, it would be a complete nightmare having to make these types of decisions but it is clear as day that they have shat the bed on this one and are clearly spooked about the 2020 lockdown. They are clearly using magical words to try and scare us too but are embarrassing themselves along the way as they continue to get smashed by professionals. I think they think long term too much and “what worst case scenario might occur”. Whereas Gladys says no, let’s just roll up our sleeves and get to work.

I don’t envy them, it would be a complete nightmare having to make these types of decisions but it is clear as day that they have shat the bed on this one and are clearly spooked about the 2020 lockdown. I think they think long term too much and “what worst case scenario might occur”. Whereas Gladys says no, let’s just roll up our sleeves.

A short lockdown so contact tracers could catch up (this one is absolutely not their fault, they've worked like animals) makes sense. 3-5 days or so, but people are literally going to forego eating a decent meal or paying rent until they can get back to work because of this. A good mate in the lending game tells me that 40% of people, usually younger people in hospitality type jobs have less than $400 in savings to draw on in an emergency. Now, I understand the health implications if this gets out of hand but when shutdown after shutdown is putting people out of work with minimal financial help (now that Jobkeeper is gone) then you have to ask is there anything else they could have done until they established where we were at?

By all means, tighten some restrictions, introduce some temporary patron limits, masks indoors, etc but to shut the place down like this just does more harm than good. Brett Sutton has zero evidence that this Kappa strain is more dangerous. In fact, there is plenty of evidence to say that it isn't. And the "evidence" of fleeting transmission is also crumbling.

He panicked and now he must fall on his sword in my opinion.

A short lockdown so contact tracers could catch up (this one is absolutely not their fault, they've worked like animals) makes sense. 3-5 days or so, but people are literally going to forego eating a decent meal or paying rent until they can get back to work because of this. A good mate in the lending game tells me that 40% of people, usually younger people in hospitality type jobs have less than $400 in savings to draw on in an emergency. Now, I understand the health implications if this gets out of hand but when shutdown after shutdown is putting people out of work with minimal financial help (now that Jobkeeper is gone) then you have to ask is there anything else they could have done until they established where we were at?

By all means, tighten some restrictions, introduce some temporary patron limits, masks indoors, etc but to shut the place down like this just does more harm than good. Brett Sutton has zero evidence that this Kappa strain is more dangerous. In fact, there is plenty of evidence to say that it isn't. And the "evidence" of fleeting transmission is also crumbling.

CT have been amazing. Can’t thank them enough. They don’t deserve any smashing. It’s on the government now. But then again, why would they care? They still get their $300k. The feds then pay the casual workers and small businesses. Nothing to lose for them. But please stop with the bull**** terminology. If they came out from day one and were honest and upfront, we’d have less pullback.

Couldnt agree more. The lockdowns last year were justified on the basis there were hundreds of cases a day, people dying; no chance of contact tracing, no vaccine and limited known effective treatments. The fact that the people responsible for the screw up which caused all that ARE STILL THERE baffles me but thats an entrenched government for you.

We're now locked up again for nearly 3 weeks because of a total of 70 odd cases. If the contact tracers needed 5 days, so be it, but dragging it on for weeks because of fleeting transmission (which wasn't) and a supposedly super dangerous strain (which it isnt) is bu!!shit.

These people have lost perspective on how big a deal it is to take away millions of peoples basic freedoms for an extended period and how much damage that does.. basically because they've done it so often and for so long.

Another week of lost education for kids, more jobs lost and businesses closed.. but hey no one will accuse Sutton of really f7&king this up for a second time.

I think they were so worried about more questions about whether contact tracing was up to the task these tenuous links of fleeting transmission were used to try and show that it was all good.
Now other links have been found it shows that if they just remained mystery cases and held off on the fleeting transmission story it would have eventually shown that contact tracing was working well

As per usual it is the cover up that causes the most issues

Yep, you aren’t ignorant but you are also not qualified in the field, whereas Sutton and his team are.
FFS, mate! Take 10 fa'rkin seconds to read even just the intro of that article he posted, where it says: "infectious diseases physician at St Vincent’s hospital in Sydney, Prof Greg Dore, who is running a study looking at long-haul Covid patients, said the Kappa variant was acting “the same as we’ve seen before”

Even the pro-jab, pro-pandemic, pro-Gates' bullshit WHO didn't go as ridiculously hard as Sutton.

Here's another one who poured water on Sutton's bullshit: Prof Peter Collignon

To show how stuffed this is they are busy celebrating the number of tests but why the heck are those people not getting vaccinated.

I'm fast losing it with Sutton, I am sure he is trying his best but if we know the restrictions wont be lifted until there has been a period of time without new cases then just announce a month with the possibility of it being shortened.

To show how stuffed this is they are busy celebrating the number of tests but why the heck are those people not getting vaccinated.

I'm fast losing it with Sutton, I am sure he is trying his best but if we know the restrictions wont be lifted until there has been a period of time without new cases then just announce a month with the possibility of it being shortened.

i agree, I think they’ll want a few days of 0 cases.

All good mate i was just thinking out loud to try figure if we could make quarantine a bit safer since it's our only defence at this point and importing the virus in is the only way we get it here, if AZ can only be used for certain age groups so be it.

So given that has Scomo been as bad as everyone says with the roll out, wouldn't Albo have the same issue.

CT have been amazing. Can’t thank them enough. They don’t deserve any smashing. It’s on the government now. But then again, why would they care? They still get their $300k. The feds then pay the casual workers and small businesses. Nothing to lose for them. But please stop with the bull**** terminology. If they came out from day one and were honest and upfront, we’d have less pullback.

A big part of the many experts who have said is it not as dangerous as they claim is because the contact tracing is going so well and picking it up quicker than last time, making them believe it's moving faster when in fact isn't.

So far with this beast no one outside of close contacts have caught this so called beast, and yes we can have cases, but a hard lockdown was not warranted and it shows to me the top people don't trust what they have put in place since last year and have panicked, we could have reverted back to certain rules without shutting down to control this.

A big part of the many experts who have said is it not as dangerous as they claim is because the contact tracing is going so well and picking it up quicker than last time, making them believe it's moving faster when in fact isn't.

So far with this beast no one outside of close contacts have caught this so called beast, and yes we can have cases, but a hard lockdown was not warranted and it shows to me the top people don't trust what they have put in place since last year and have panicked, we could have reverted back to certain rules without shutting down to control this.

Think that's right and that seems to be supported by the lack of spread among the crowd at the footy so there was possibly a case for a lockdown but this week by week approach is ridiculous when had they said okay a month but everyone that went to this list of locations go and get tested, then by the end of week two or three the chances were they could start reducing the restrictions.

All good mate i was just thinking out loud to try figure if we could make quarantine a bit safer since it's our only defence at this point and importing the virus in is the only way we get it here, if AZ can only be used for certain age groups so be it.

So given that has Scomo been as bas as everyone says with the roll out, wouldn't Albo have the same issue.

Two things.

Firstly we are boxed in because we didn't order a broad spectrum. We tight arsed on Pfizer, and ignored Moderna and J&J. We should have ordered from every credible supplier, knowing any surplus we could donate overseas to PNG and the Pacific.

If we ordered more Pfizer, you plan instantly becomes viable

Secondly, more should have been done to promote az as safe for over 50s. The govt campaign went silent, and ministers were saying "it's not a race, everyone can have Pfizer at the end of the year". If the oldies were using az with less reservation, sending a combo of az and Pfizer overseas becomes viable.

Would things have been different under labour, who knows. I've said from the start everyone makes mistakes with something like this, it's whether we learn from them that's important. Scomo and his crew ignored the lessons overseas on vaccination centres. They ignored the learnings from 2020 on aged care. They also were woefully late to correct the ordering issue (we only just signed on Moderna and got more Pfizer).

As much as people bash Boris Johnson, at least the UK govt is correcting when they **** up (and they have made some doozies)