News Insightful and Inciteful - 2022 Media Thread

Without going full ep that starting 18 is hardly inspiring. Considering their age and proneness to injury the kids should get a fair bit more game time. Hopefully a good draft nets us four best 22 players and then the same in 2023 but feels like a couple of years in the doldrums before turning over the list a bit rising back up.

Yeah, no second ruckman is a pretty big error there.

To be fair…he does clarify that gulp Oscar might be an option for 2nd ruck duties…

I agree, it’s unlikely we go down that road again but in an idea world, our 2nd ruck needs to offer something up forward (or down back I guess).

So it’ll be Williams or Jamieson for now.

There was some talk about making the injury sub redundant and having 5 interchange players in 2023. It stands to reason that going back to 2 capable rucks will be the way forward. Melbourne seem to have backed this proposition by recruiting Grundy.

Tbh, that’s a lot of words to say this is an important draft for us

Normally like his work but there wasn’t a lot of insight in that article and didn’t tell us anything even casual fans didn’t already know

There was some talk about making the injury sub redundant and having 5 interchange players in 2023. It stands to reason that going back to 2 capable rucks will be the way forward. Melbourne seem to have backed this proposition by recruiting Grundy.

For a national sporting organisation with executive on huge salaries the AFL are second rate as far as critical decision making is concerned.

Decisions that may affect a clubs list management, recruiting, delisting etc should all be tucked away mid year at the latest. This will give teams time to adjust plans and decisions to suit.

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

To be fair…he does clarify that gulp Oscar might be an option for 2nd ruck duties…

I agree, it’s unlikely we go down that road again but in an idea world, our 2nd ruck needs to offer something up forward (or down back I guess).

So it’ll be Williams or Jamieson for now.
Oscar should never play ruck again imo, too important down forward now

Without going full ep that starting 18 is hardly inspiring. Considering their age and proneness to injury the kids should get a fair bit more game time. Hopefully a good draft nets us four best 22 players and then the same in 2023 but feels like a couple of years in the doldrums before turning over the list a bit rising back up.

Agreed. If we keep playing the same senior players, what difference will it make🤷🏻‍♂️

Naish was dealt a harsh economic lesson on credit management
Bloke flies over with 3 days notice he's playing for WCE, averages 20 disposals in the first half of the season, great attacking style of play, and one of our only good news stories early in 2022.

Gets a bit ahead of himself and turns it over a few times trying to take the game on, loses confidence and gets dropped back to 2s. Finds some form again and gets de-listed.

Sure he was never going to be a star, but he has better attributes than some of Simmos credits gang and would have been handy depth at least in the short term. Strange prioritisation of players by the club, and raises a red flag for the brains trust at the helm of our rebuild.

Tbh, that’s a lot of words to say this is an important draft for us

Normally like his work but there wasn’t a lot of insight in that article and didn’t tell us anything even casual fans didn’t already know

He's been trying to do a Bill Simmons but it just doesn't quite come off.

AFL App has had a crack at our Best 22 for next year (old mate Schmookie)

View attachment 1541014

It’s actually not too far from the pin I reckon.

He gets points for including Tommy Cole, usually completely forgotten.

Jamaine Jones is probably the biggest omission - but you’d be looking at a 2 man combo of Petruccelle/Waterman/Williams/Jones I think.

Is that the "one last premiership tilt" team?

Looks awfully close to the "we have no one outside the best 22 who is AFL quality" team.

😭

He's been trying to do a Bill Simmons but it just doesn't quite come off.
Been listening to Bill Simmons for about 10 years now. I hate all Boston teams and he hates all my teams but he’s still great to listen too. It’s so obvious to pick the talking heads in AFL media that are ripping him off. They come across as wish shop Bill Simmons with using terms like unicorns and redoing drafts. Half expecting a parent corner on David Kings SEN show

Agreed. If we keep playing the same senior players, what difference will it make🤷🏻‍♂️

This is a pre-season Best 22. October no less. The GF was less than a month ago.

It is what it is. Ideally all those guys are fit and ready to play good footy because they are who we have right now.

Considering he’s named a guy who hasn’t played a game yet (Chesser) and a 4 gamer (Culley), along with Bazzo and Hough…who exactly is missing out here?

O’Neill? West?

Yeo/Shuey/Sheed/Kelly/Gaff have played about 10 games together in 3 years - at least one of them will be injured at any one time - so those guys will get chances to stake their claims (they already have had chances).

We’ll debut 4-5 new players again next year too.

This is a pre-season Best 22. October no less. The GF was less than a month ago.

It is what it is. Ideally all those guys are fit and ready to play good footy because they are who we have right now.

Considering he’s named a guy who hasn’t played a game yet (Chesser) and a 4 gamer (Culley), along with Bazzo and Hough…who exactly is missing out here?

O’Neill? West?
We can't really do much in 2023 so it'd be a great time to really sort out which of the newer/fringe players is/isn't worth keeping:

Clark(25years/9games)
West (23/19)
Foley (22/23)
Jamieson (22/9)
XON (22/24)
HEdwards (20/11)
LEdwards (20/11)
Culley (19/4)
Hough (19/15)
Chesser (19/0)
Bazzo (18/9)

To me Petro (54games), SPS (108), Rotham (46) and Witherden (81) have had plenty of opportunities so at best they’re ‘depth’ (altho' I acknowledge the MC will select some/all of them at some stage).

Also it seems Winder, JWilliams and Trew are either not ready, will be delisted or are not favoured by MC.

And this doesn't even take into account any games going to our draftees.