AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
The club may want to trade in two players and therefore by splitting 5 this will allow us to get both. If we are targetting Rankine and Hopper splitting 5 makes sense. I can't see us giving up 5 for Rankine and doubt we would offer them our 2023 future first for him as well. Maybe Sydney or Richmond might do a deal with us for 5. I would rather us bring in quality experience than have Hamish stuff up another high end pick. We also need experience to get a spike and out of the bottom 6. We have a few players being traded out so we should have plenty of points to grab Michalanney. Rankine, Hopper, Michaelanney, pick 23 and keeping our 2023 1st would be a good haul. Richmond with 12 and 19 would likely be the club to target. 12 for Rankine and that leaves us with 19 to get a deal done on Hopper. The giants need salary cap relief so 19 may get it done. If it needed more than that then pick 19 and the Collingwood pick for Frampton (pick 45?) should value Hopper around pick 13-14. That would leave us with 23 at the draft. GC will want more than 12 but in the end I think they will accept 12 for him as we did with CC.
Never forget their supporter base, one wearing a swastika and another openly racist towards Betts. While "only" a handful of supporters, IMO it suggests a problem across their supporter base as a whole.
Every club has their bad seeds, I feel that we have less bad seeds than some other clubs thoughAs though our supporter base is any better
Every club has their bad seeds, I feel that we have less bad seeds than some other clubs though
And the AFL love them because they spent corporate $$$$I reckon we've got a fair few nuffies in our supporter base that's for sure.. A lot of people who know SFA.
And the AFL love them because they spent corporate $$$$
it’s a social experienceYup.. almost as bad as the MCC.
Preivously, good SA players never came back to SA. Gibbs was the first, but he was way beyond his prime by then. Dawson was next and now Izak. Players go back to WA or VIC every year.The Vic media didn’t like it when we got Dawson, they don’t like it we will get Rankine.
They are fearful we will get it right and be on our way up the ladder.
The pile on that seems to occur is becoming tiresome.
The club may want to trade in two players and therefore by splitting 5 this will allow us to get both. If we are targetting Rankine and Hopper splitting 5 makes sense. I can't see us giving up 5 for Rankine and doubt we would offer them our 2023 future first for him as well. Maybe Sydney or Richmond might do a deal with us for 5. I would rather us bring in quality experience than have Hamish stuff up another high end pick. We also need experience to get a spike and out of the bottom 6. We have a few players being traded out so we should have plenty of points to grab Michalanney. Rankine, Hopper, Michaelanney, pick 23 and keeping our 2023 1st would be a good haul. Richmond with 12 and 19 would likely be the club to target. 12 for Rankine and that leaves us with 19 to get a deal done on Hopper. The giants need salary cap relief so 19 may get it done. If it needed more than that then pick 19 and the Collingwood pick for Frampton (pick 45?) should value Hopper around pick 13-14. That would leave us with 23 at the draft. GC will want more than 12 but in the end I think they will accept 12 for him as we did with CC.
The club may want to trade in two players and therefore by splitting 5 this will allow us to get both.Try using paragraphs. My head is now swimming in your alphabet soup!
i dont quite understand the who fishbowl thing either. does it relate to radio? isnt most of the footy media we consume made from interstate? and the insinuation that rankine doesnt understand the state he was born and grew up in is bizarre. played league footy at 16, lots of expectation placed upon him from the start, went to henley which is a school with a lot of eyes on it when it comes to footy. i really dont get that whole line of thinking, like suddenly there are going to be expectations of a prodigious talent, when that pressure has been there for years
Most of us post on bigfootyI reckon we've got a fair few nuffies in our supporter base that's for sure.. A lot of people who know SFA.
Media: Rankine, we strongly encourage you to think of the club that’s been looking after and caretaking you all these years. They’ve sacrificed a lot for you and the entire playing group!Media: "Rankine won't like the fishbowl, the pressure will be too much, he hasn't shown enough yet"
Also media: "Rankine is worth Pick 5 and a player at a minimum, the Suns don't want to lose him, the Crows will need to come to the table".
if you actually look at how much people know about footy on this board compared to other club boards might be nuffies but talk footyMost of us post on bigfooty
And the more I’ll enjoy beating them going forward.The collective negative media barrage on a kid who has made a decision to play football in his home state (for whatever reason) is pretty disgusting, and the media pile on is the definition of mob- like mentality. Imagine being Rankine, or his family reading this bullshit. The fact that a lot of it is AFL sanctioned articles makes it even more abhorrent. Of course it’s ok to voice an opposing view, but the intensity of the comments is OTT for what is just another young player heading home. The GC response, from Touk to Cochrane is particularly irresponsible given the current sensitivities around player wellbeing and mental health. The more this plays out, the more I feel for Rankine and his family.
We should make sure the GC gets as little as possible for him. A bunch of whingers. Most of the media BS is coming from SEN as usual.The collective negative media barrage on a kid who has made a decision to play football in his home state (for whatever reason) is pretty disgusting, and the media pile on is the definition of mob- like mentality. Imagine being Rankine, or his family reading this bullshit. The fact that a lot of it is AFL sanctioned articles makwees it even more abhorrent. Of course it’s ok to voice an opposing view, but the intensity of the comments is OTT for what is just another young player heading home. The GC response, from Touk to Cochrane is particularly irresponsible given the current sensitivities around player wellbeing and mental health. The more this plays out, the more I feel for Rankine and his family.
There's a level of insinuation that we're somehow misleading Rankine too, or are being irresponsible in offering him a big deal, not because he may not be capable of justifying it, but because we've gotten into his head with it and it's forcing him to make a decision he wouldn't otherwise.Suprised the AFLPA haven't stepped in to help Rankine, he's getting smashed in the media for doing what 100's of blokes have done before him.
If GC are offering 650k, Crows are probably offering around the 700k mark. Is it really that irresponsible of an offer when it usually takes a bit more for moving costs. Sure, that offer is probably front loaded to be 800-850k in the first year, which is leading to all these false rumours of 800k or 850k per year, but to me, that's not really an irresponsible offer. If Crows offered the same 650k, Rankine would not be leaving.There's a level of insinuation that we're somehow misleading Rankine too, or are being irresponsible in offering him a big deal, not because he may not be capable of justifying it, but because we've gotten into his head with it and it's forcing him to make a decision he wouldn't otherwise.
The fact that any media person sits there and wants to proclaim what is best for a players personal life is ludicrous and to suggest a grown man can't decide for himself where he wants to play and make his living has a real condescending tone to it.
if you actually look at how much people know about footy on this board compared to other club boards might be nuffies but talk footy
The club ought to get involved by reporting it to the AFL.We should really be pushing for Kane to be held to account for that comment.
It's racist in its own way.
It was when the camp had been bought again and Eddie’s book had indicated we had asked him to hide a racist letter before a milestone game for him
Kane suggested we only went for Rankine to cover up other poor behaviour with our indigenous players
He is a flog as the offer to Rankine would have been at least 4-6 months old at that point
The media likely has no clue what he is getting paid. They make shit up and run with it, it's what they do. The funny thing is that there are about 50 players moving clubs and all they do is focus on Rankine. If the crows are overpaying Rankine it's the club's perogative. Time will tell whether we are overpaying, nailed the offer or we are underpaying. The media pre empting how he will go in a different environment is rubbish. They can see the future apparently.If GC are offering 650k, Crows are probably offering around the 700k mark. Is it really that irresponsible of an offer when it usually takes a bit more for moving costs. Sure, that offer is probably front loaded to be 800-850k in the first year, which is leading to all these false rumours of 800k or 850k per year, but to me, that's not really an irresponsible offer. If Crows offered the same 650k, Rankine would not be leaving.