Delisted Jack Martin [Selected by Carlton in the PSD]

Getting cognilio without giving up any draft pick would be ideal for Carlton, now just need to pick themselves up for some consolation prize in Martin.

Hawthorn didn't get Coniglio either.......nor did the interest of 15 other clubs attract him in the end.
His fate was sealed thanks to the meddlings of the AFL as to some degree Martins have been, thanks to all the gifts afforded to Gold Coast this year when only last year it was deemed worthy of only receiving access to a couple of state league players. How did that happen? Smart people will know how and why.

For what its worth Jack Martin will not be at the Suns - no chance.
Personally for me he has been a huge disappointment, very few good games plenty of ordinary games.
Potential and talent take you so far ,but to succeed in the big time you need commitment and effort both on
and off the field.Two areas Jack has struggled to find.
A change of clubs may see him change his attitude .Only time will tell.
Jack did tell me a couple of years ago he would never move to Victoria because he hates the cold weather.
Guess he wont be looking forward to June July August.
A bit like some of the speck shares I buy could well be a boom or a bust.
This exact sentiment was told to me by a recently retired GC who is also a family relative of mine. His attitude to training and applying himself to a professional standard was quite poor. Has poor work ethic and senior players would call him out during games and mid week reviews for being soft in general.

Might do well at Carlton, but i can't see him dramatically changing all of a sudden.

Still jumping for joy he refused to meet with the Dees!

... how are those training standards and application to training going for Stephen May?

Melbourne burnt pick 6 on him, and he seems to have turned it around this pre-season (if the media is to be believed?).

I don’t see why Jack couldn’t be in the same scenario with a more accredited training set up (under Andrew Russell).
Yeah good, just like his training standards last year was at a high standard when he arrived. It was just a shocked to the system for him coming from an environment like the GC.

Unlike May, Martin has poor work at his and training standards.

Honestly think he will get a rude shock, because Andrew Russell has high standards and i have even had the pleasure of meeting him years ago when he was at hawthorn. It's no wonder Hawthorn for years known as a high gut running side due to Russells work.

Yeah good, just like his training standards last year was at a high standard when he arrived. It was just a shocked to the system for him coming from an environment like the GC.

Unlike May, Martin has poor work at his and training standards.

Honestly think he will get a rude shock, because Andrew Russell has high standards and i have even had the pleasure of meeting him years ago when he was at hawthorn. It's no wonder Hawthorn for years known as a high gut running side due to Russells work.

Assuming what you say is true, why are The Suns threatening to re-draft him in the PSD (btw they won't)

As I said previous, it's all talk and no action from Cochrane and Gold Coast, its just clickbait that some bored journos keep peddling to keep footy in the news.

Assuming what you say is true, why are The Suns threatening to re-draft him in the PSD (btw they won't)

As I said previous, it's all talk and no action from Cochrane and Gold Coast, its just clickbait that some bored journos keep peddling to keep footy in the news.
Because it's all huff and smoke from GC. While Cochrane is in charge, GC won't ever succeed. He is half the problem and not well liked at all from the players.

Maybe if we were a further in and our younger players were a little older, but signing Martin on an inflated contract does nothing to our TPP and his contract tapering off actually allows us more wriggle-room to sign the players we need to, including free agents.

We’re set either way.

Still shaking

Not sure if this is been put forward in this thread but a Suns poster on our board highlighted a comment that may allow Blues fans to understand why the Suns felt the deal offered was sub par.

the statement is, would Blues fans feel that a 2nd and 3rd round pick in a compromised draft was enough for an out of contract Jacob Weitering?

Martin has better stats in almost every category and is still young, both were No 1 picks. They play different positions but it would be fair to say neither has lived up to expectations. If your answer is no then perhaps you can start to understand why the Suns have played hard ball.

FWIW I think he will end up at Carlton and not too many Suns fans are unhappy to see the back of him. Enjoy

Closer to jack wants in output so far imo.

No they weren’t for a player of his talent. Up to Carlton to work the laziness out of him if they’re willing to pay him that much, not the Suns.
Do you concede that sum of a player's worth is not merely determined by talent?

I think 2 million for two years, is out of reach for GCS, Martin and Carlton really deserved each other, all the best. Calrton Should just offer that amount in the first place save so much of time, and fake reporting news 1 million for first year.
This is what I call make an effort to get player you want.

I think 2 million for two years, is out of reach for GCS, Martin and Carlton really deserved each other, all the best. Calrton Should just offer that amount in the first place save so much of time, and fake reporting news 1 million for first year.
Why are you communicating his nominated figure as 2 mil over 2 years if the same speculation you're relying on suggests its around 3mil over 5 years?

I hope he gets to Carlton sounds like they will look after him and Eddie betts will be great for him.
Being an anchor supporter that’s been burnt with front end contracts you just hope his aunts brothers cousins mother doesn’t catch a cold and he has to head back to WA after the first two years of his contract

No they weren’t for a player of his talent. Up to Carlton to work the laziness out of him if they’re willing to pay him that much, not the Suns.

Well that is probably a fair call, if one is to be brutally honest.

Aaa

This is what I call make an effort to get player you want.

Money can be shifted around. It’s a predictable scare tactic by Martin’s manager but not as big a drama as some are making out. Gold Coast will accommodate the terms with clever number crunching. Easy done. The Dees the same if by a miracle he slips through to us. Which he won’t.

I like to pump Carlton fan hope up, just like how confident they are before trade period that GCS would take their second round pick, instead of send him to PSD.

Not sure if this is been put forward in this thread but a Suns poster on our board highlighted a comment that may allow Blues fans to understand why the Suns felt the deal offered was sub par.

the statement is, would Blues fans feel that a 2nd and 3rd round pick in a compromised draft was enough for an out of contract Jacob Weitering?

Martin has better stats in almost every category and is still young, both were No 1 picks. They play different positions but it would be fair to say neither has lived up to expectations. If your answer is no then perhaps you can start to understand why the Suns have played hard ball.

FWIW I think he will end up at Carlton and not too many Suns fans are unhappy to see the back of him. Enjoy
you legit just compared martin to weitering HAHAHAHAHAHAAHAH

Bowes also doesn't see any drama in having a player at the club who has so publicly proclaimed his desire not to be there.

The 21-year-old is confident Martin would play at his best if he is picked by the Suns.

"Yeah if that was the case, absolutely I'd back Jack in 100 per cent," he said.
mate, what else is he going to say........

Martin does not want anything to do with Melbourne. You do know that right, and the Dees have ruled themselves out.

It's not about money for Martin, he wants to play footy in a positive environment with mates, not a toxic one like The Suns or Demons are at the moment .

You simply cannot get around the fact that Martin will be a Carlton player.

Being an anchor supporter that’s been burnt with front end contracts you just hope his aunts brothers cousins mother doesn’t catch a cold and he has to head back to WA after the first two years of his contract

Gibbs caught a nasty case FrontEnd Fever a few years back, and thankfully the club stood firm on his contract until they got decent compensation. Reckon they'd go even harder on Martin given the nature of this deal.

Also contrary to what sooks on Social Media are saying, what Jack Martin and Carlton have done is not draft tampering at all, OOC players are allowed to nominate the terms (length and salary) of their contract in the Pre-Season Draft, and yes I agree we will be paying J-Mart way overs in his first two years, but it is an iron clad guarantee that he will get to the club that his heart desires.

He isn't a mercenary type player going for the money, how many times does it have to be mentioned.. Playing along with Eddie Betts and SPS amongst others, was a pivotal reason he chose us.

Sadly the jealously and bitter hatred many fans have for the Carlton Footy club have blinded them to the facts presented.

Regardless, it's a done deal, only a fool or troll now would believe that Martin doesn't get to Carlton

Do you concede that sum of a player's worth is not merely determined by talent?
Of course it doesn’t. Does it need to be spelt out all the factors that need to be taken into account every time someone posts? Seems like Carlton are justifying underpaying on the account of a small drop in form late in 2019 (quite possibly related to an injury he sustained late in the year and the fact he’d already mentally checked out), conveniently ignoring you’re getting a player coming into the prime of his career with his best footy in front of him.

Delisted Jack Martin [Selected by Carlton in the PSD]