Player Watch Jordan De Goey

i have tried really hard to not get involved in this thread.
But the comments on here are disgusting and so outdated with reality that i'm actually ashamed to be a pies supported reading this.

This isn't going to go well.....so i dare say i won't be responding beyond these comments.

Anyone who thinks what has happened, with both JDG and the other 2, are just out of touch.

football clubs are businesses first. not sporting clubs. businesses.
the complete opposite of what most on here think we are....

I have clauses in my staff contracts about this sort of thing. about bringing the business into disrepute.
Its pretty standard fair and the AFL have them for their players as well...

Do you think the sponsors of the club would be super happy being exposed to this?
I bet there were conversations around this at that level....i would be having them.
Like it or not, if i'm sponsoring a business to the tune that the sponsors do collingwood....then i'm damn sure our values align.
No way would i want my staff coming in and talking about issues caused by our association with a sponsor. I would want them to be proud of the association.
So like it or not, sponsors (rightly) have a say.

For those that think this is about the girl and whether she is ok with it....its not.
pr0n actresses are 'ok with it'....so does that make it ok to share those on social media?
...or do we think its about the grading of the 'act' that's important?
I'd like to know why one is ok and the other isn't? or is it just related to how good at your job you are?

Pies have played this very very well.
They have made it known they are not happy, left it up to JDG about what he wants to do. made the other two fools apologise (who broke the AFL code of conduct btw) and removed the contract.
As a corporate organisation, that's about as good as you can play the hand you've being dealt.
Are we living under Sharia law here in Australia, ? where the F&ck am I. !

Are you being dense on purpose or are you really that misinformed?

It is a TikTok trend being done by thousands of young people male and female, rating HYPOTHETICAL situations for a bit of shits and giggles, that's what that generation does for entertainment.

They did nothing. You are being a complete goose.

Their apology was spot on - for thoughtlessly participating in a nonsense trend.

The reporting was poor on this - selective in missing the fact it is a trend for rating people , make and female, for dating based upon attractive or unattractive traits. They didn’t invent it.

TLDR

out of curiosity, can i ask you this?

You are presented with a situation that a staff member made a comment via electronic form in a public domain that said "if she was hot i'd bone her".
Its out there. its gone viral. Its front page and back page and leading all news outlets.

Just to confirm, that's a hypothetical comment right?

You'd be happy if your business name was dragged into this for millions of people to comment on?
You'd be ok with staff saying that about people?
You'd be happy to propagate that sort of behaviour ?

This isn't a local business. This is something that is front and centre and like it or not, it is held to a higher standard.

I'm just pointing out that the corporation that is Collingwood has an obligation to respond.
Which they did.
Lol and all the allegations of child labor has really hurt Nikes bottom line hasn’t it?

ABC Radio Melbourne ran with it on talk back this evening, saying that things were different back in the old days - for instance, 'we didn't have tik tok'. Several people then called in condemning the behaviour of the Collingwood footballers towards women. The subject matter was never really made explicit - it was about Collingwood footballers disrespecting women, but no one explained what De Goey had actually done nor was any attempt made to explain the 'Tik tok' reference. I don't think the people who called condemning the player's disrespect had any idea of the details. If I wasn't driving the car I would have called myself. The discussion was abysmal, totally one sided and devoid of substance. I think people just hear the words 'Collingwood' and 'disrespect for women' and that's all they need to know to form a negative opinion then express it publicly.
Good old ABC - your $$ hard at work with dispassionate, objective analysis - same for > 90% of any AFL di*k head journalist - male or female.

The 'other fools' played a silly theoretical game and you carry on as if they sexually assaulted someone. As I keep saying ,where is the apology from the AFLW girls who did the exact same thing?

Where is your condemnation of them? It's always who does the deed rather than the deed itself for that is what exposes the utter hypocrisy of this whole overblown drama.

I would love to see how many skeletons all those who love to join the Lynch mob at times like these have in their cupboards

Andrew OKeefe is the perfect example of this farcical behaviour. Preach and lecture to all the bad mean men out there who don't know how to respect a female and we find he belts and kicks them in his down time
I presume this response was for my comments as it seems a touch OTT for a TLDR comment ! :)

so i'll answer it like this.

This isn't a 'burn everything down' moment.
The 'two fools' have a code of conduct that their contracts say they need to abide by.

Its really just a scenario that the club has to do something due to the legalities/risk around this.

as for the AFLW comments.....i haven't seen it.
But they may have different contract obligations in place.
Otherwise i'd agree with the hypocrisy and i'd be disspointed with double standards.
I dare say (just guessing) that this is more likely the case given they are 'part time' and thus probably held to a different standard regarding social media.

Perhaps this was part of the new CBA?

TLDR

out of curiosity, can i ask you this?

You are presented with a situation that a staff member made a comment via electronic form in a public domain that said "if she was hot i'd bone her".
Its out there. its gone viral. Its front page and back page and leading all news outlets.

Just to confirm, that's a hypothetical comment right?

You'd be happy if your business name was dragged into this for millions of people to comment on?
You'd be ok with staff saying that about people?
You'd be happy to propagate that sort of behaviour ?

This isn't a local business. This is something that is front and centre and like it or not, it is held to a higher standard.

I'm just pointing out that the corporation that is Collingwood has an obligation to respond.
Which they did.

I'm not a complete flog. So yes, if I hired an 19-21 year old and they PARTICIPATED in a non-harmful trend on TikTok which is, by the way for their age demographic I'd be fine with it.

Why? Because I'm not a blue haired piece of shit.

Rating women - especially their looks - using numbers is pretty awful.
I have not seen the Ginnivan/Quaynor video and won't get the chance as the boys were told to take it down. But if it is similar to the Quaynor/wife video, it is harmless, a bit of fun. The sexes of the people discussed were mixed, irrelevant even, specific people were not referred to, and people were not purely rated on their looks e.g 'a guy who dresses well' (I will give that 9 points) 'but has the worst smelling feet' (OK well that's a 2 then) was the nature of the ratings conversation. Maybe the Ginnivan/Quaynor vid specifically addressed women and their looks - perhaps someone who saw both videos can fill in the gaps.

I don't have so much of a problem regarding De Goey. There was nothing wrong with what he did in terms of his own situation with friends and GF, but he made a big mistake videoing the action in the club and allowing it to be posted to social media. The poster who said that the 'respect for women' part of the criticism of his actions was not referring to his GF but women in general being disrespected is correct. This is not a time in our country's history to appear to disrespect women, particularly since the Brittany Higgins incident. As whites we are told we cannot comment on the situation of indigenous people because its their truth and we don't understand it. I believe a similar situation exists regarding men's treatment of women. I am not so sure that any man accused of a crime against a woman is going to get a fair hearing in the court of public opinion in the current climate.

Into the midst of society's current focus on women's rights and the treatment of them by men steps De Goey with his video. It was never going to end well for him.

Agreed. My view, based on what I read here and in the media, is that nothing happened in regards to JDG or tik tokky that caused damage to any person in the immediate sense. The damage seems to have risen out of the media reporting. I don't agree with the media reporting, that is part of my point. I believe the Pies, as the leading club and target should have taken a more visible stance, apart from a slap on the wrist to JDG. They should have taken the opportunity to question the media's exploitation of innocent actions. In regards to the tik tokky thing, the players need to be aware of SM's impact, beyond that no great crime.
I think that in 2022, the image of the club is far more important & critical than it was in 2012 or 2022 or 1992. Sponsors & key stakeholders are watching the club here & now & so the Club & its emcees cannot afford to jeopardise these relationships & be able to maintain the financial clout that we need going forward so as to compete with the other financial powerhouses in the AFL going forward.

However there is another aspect to all of this going forward. That is the view of the Club from its thousands of female supporters & fans. I spoke to 3 female Collingwood supportes over the last couple of days ranging from 22 to 36 to 52 in age & they were all appalled & shocked by the images & videos coming out of Bali in recent times. Moreover, they were all pretty upset with the previous images & videos that came out of New York late in 2021. They were sick to death of being portrayed as sex symbols & sex chattels & disposable items that could be dominated & exploted & mocked & treated with contempt by Australian footballers. I reckon that this episode & previous episodes are doing irreversible damage to our brand. By the way, I do not make light of the childish & foolish & contemptible comments made by Ginivan & Quaynor either. These guys are all being paid far more money than the average wage & salary earners out there in the real world. Personally - and this is irrespective of the insignificant & deferred fine of $25,000 given to De Goey - I would like to see all 3 go & work in Women's Refuge Shelters for the rest of the year on a weekly basis & see if those first -hand experiences do not make some inroads into the nearanderthal & primitive views of women expressed by all 3, without fear or favour. I really want my Club to an organisation that it attractive for existing & new female supporters to belong to as opposed to its current image

By the way, I feel that there is an unstated fear amongst a lot of posters on this topic that De Goey may be ultimately sacked by the Club come the end of the year & in turn will become an out & out champion at another AFL club. Well - I am a bit older than most contributors to this site - but I clearly remember Tom Hafey's decision at the end of the 1978 Final Series when we were bundled out with a totally underwhelming display against North Melbourne in the 1978 Preliminary Final at Waverley. He decided to unilaterally sack Max Richardson - who was the current captain, Ross Dunne, Len Thompson & finally & only after 4 years at the club, Phil Carman. Now Jordan De Goey would not be qualified Phil Catman's boots for all of Fabulous's erratic behaviour on the field ( and mind you absolutely zero off-field controversies unlike De Goey). What happened next? Well we played in 3 consecutive Grand Finals in 1979, 1980 & 1981, respectively. My point here is that no single player is more important than the club. In addition on that occasion we received nothing for those exiting quartet of players. I would expect that any compensation for a player such as De Goey would have to be at least a 1st round draft choice if not more. So the latter changes my sense of the balance of power between the Club & any single player in 2022. Regardless, I do not know what is going to take place between now & the end of the season, but surely this must ne his absolute LAST & FINAL CHANCE! Goodnight & goodluck.

I think that in 2022, the image of the club is far more important & critical than it was in 2012 or 2022 or 1992. Sponsors & key stakeholders are watching the club here & now & so the Club & its emcees cannot afford to jeopardise these relationships & be able to maintain the financial clout that we need going forward so as to compete with the other financial powerhouses in the AFL going forward.

However there is another aspect to all of this going forward. That is the view of the Club from its thousands of female supporters & fans. I spoke to 3 female Collingwood supportes over the last couple of days ranging from 22 to 36 to 52 in age & they were all appalled & shocked by the images & videos coming out of Bali in recent times. Moreover, they were all pretty upset with the previous images & videos that came out of New York late in 2021. They were sick to death of being portrayed as sex symbols & sex chattels & disposable items that could be dominated & exploted & mocked & treated with contempt by Australian footballers. I reckon that this episode & previous episodes are doing irreversible damage to our brand. By the way, I do not make light of the childish & foolish & contemptible comments made by Ginivan & Quaynor either. These guys are all being paid far more money than the average wage & salary earners out there in the real world. Personally - and this is irrespective of the insignificant & deferred fine of $25,000 given to De Goey - I would like to see all 3 go & work in Women's Refuge Shelters for the rest of the year on a weekly basis & see if those first -hand experiences do not make some inroads into the nearanderthal & primitive views of women expressed by all 3, without fear or favour. I really want my Club to an organisation that it attractive for existing & new female supporters to belong to as opposed to its current image

By the way, I feel that there is an unstated fear amongst a lot of posters on this topic that De Goey may be ultimately sacked by the Club come the end of the year & in turn will become an out & out champion at another AFL club. Well - I am a bit older than most contributors to this site - but I clearly remember Tom Hafey's decision at the end of the 1978 Final Series when we were bundled out with a totally underwhelming display against North Melbourne in the 1978 Preliminary Final at Waverley. He decided to unilaterally sack Max Richardson - who was the current captain, Ross Dunne, Len Thompson & finally & only after 4 years at the club, Phil Carman. Now Jordan De Goey would not be qualified Phil Catman's boots for all of Fabulous's erratic behaviour on the field ( and mind you absolutely zero off-field controversies unlike De Goey). What happened next? Well we played in 3 consecutive Grand Finals in 1979, 1980 & 1981, respectively. My point here is that no single player is more important than the club. In addition on that occasion we received nothing for those exiting quartet of players. I would expect that any compensation for a player such as De Goey would have to be at least a 1st round draft choice if not more. So the latter changes my sense of the balance of power between the Club & any single player in 2022. Regardless, I do not know what is going to take place between now & the end of the season, but surely this must ne his absolute LAST & FINAL CHANCE! Goodnight & goodluck.
OK I have just seen the video of G and Q and I would have to say that your description of the 'childish & foolish & contemptible comments made by Ginivan & Quaynor' is over the top. They at no time specify how the original rating is derived and it's totally impersonal. Childish maybe, though aren't we all at times, but absolutely not contemptible and not disrespectful of women. It's just a bit of fun. If not for the De Goey incident, this would not have a life beyond the Tik Tok community.

B
I have not seen the Ginnivan/Quaynor video and won't get the chance as the boys were told to take it down. But if it is similar to the Quaynor/wife video, it is harmless, a bit of fun. The sexes of the people discussed were mixed, irrelevant even, specific people were not referred to, and people were not purely rated on their looks e.g 'a guy who dresses well' (I will give that 9 points) 'but has the worst smelling feet' (OK well that's a 2 then) was the nature of the ratings conversation. Maybe the Ginnivan/Quaynor vid specifically addressed women and their looks - perhaps someone who saw both videos can fill in the gaps.

I don't have so much of a problem regarding De Goey. There was nothing wrong with what he did in terms of his own situation with friends and GF, but he made a big mistake videoing the action in the club and allowing it to be posted to social media. The poster who said that the 'respect for women' part of the criticism of his actions was not referring to his GF but women in general being disrespected is correct. This is not a time in our country's history to appear to disrespect women, particularly since the Brittany Higgins incident. As whites we are told we cannot comment on the situation of indigenous people because its their truth and we don't understand it. I believe a similar situation exists regarding men's treatment of women. I am not so sure that any man accused of a crime against a woman is going to get a fair hearing in the court of public opinion in the current climate.

Into the midst of society's current focus on women's rights and the treatment of them by men steps De Goey with his video. It was never going to end well for him.
Rittany Higgins has made an allegation. The woman who won a Logie for her investigive journalism on that alleged rape had to post a humiliating apology to another male politician whom she and others accused of upskirting. After months of reputation destroying coverage he was found not guilty and exonerated if any wrong doing.

The same applies to geff rush and Craig McLachlan who has released photos of his alleged victim
( He touched her on her breasts through her clothes) pretending to be bonked by him. She told him to pull her hair back for the photo and he refused and said it was a disturbing request.

It is McCarthyism on steroids. Just
because a social sickness is spreading throughout our society doesn't mean you must play along. We are all humans and deserving of being treated with courtesy and consideration. That covers every possible contingency in human interaction. Why must we break ourselves down into ever shrinking identify groups rather than be seen as unique individuals regardless of colour or genitalia?

When you keep apologising and falling at the feet of the tyrannical media and perpetually outraged you simply feed the beast and it's appetite grows.

I'd have told the club to shove their apology statement if I was Ginnivan or Quaynor. They did nothing offensive or illegal. School yard gossip is far more poisonous than anything those boys did.

I am so tired of the endless genudlecting and virtue signalling. Yesterday on SEN Maher, gaze and a guest were discussing the ban on trans swimmers.
The guest said " we must acknowledge we are three middle aged white men!' in apologetic tones for fear of daring to have an opinion while being male and white

Gaze and Maher agreed while I had an apoplectic fit in my car. That is today's environment. Apologising for having an informed opinion because you are a certain skin colour. That is the very definition of self loathing Grown, educated men are spewing this tripe every day

OK I have just seen the video of G and Q and I would have to say that your description of the 'childish & foolish & contemptible comments made by Ginivan & Quaynor' is over the top. They at no time specify how the original rating is derived and it's totally impersonal. Childish maybe, though aren't we all at times, but absolutely not contemptible and not disrespectful of women. It's just a bit of fun. If not for the De Goey incident, this would not have a life beyond the Tik Tok community.
But I think your description of what went on applies to 90 percent of the time men are accused of disrespecting women

Remember the outrage when Abbott spoke about women doing the ironing in an interview? He was branded a misogynist. Yet women unhesitatingly tell men to mow the lawn or climb on the roof to fix the tiles without the hint of an accusation regarding hatred or bigotry.

Oh to be an eternal victim even when you aren't !

What's your gender mate? I wonder how your female friends - provided you have some - would assess those comments & especially when combined with the entire De Goey circus? BYE.

But they do. That is the reality of it! We need our players & all other employees of the club to be much better! Don't you get it?

My daughter was diagnosed with ADHD a couple of years ago, it certainly explained a few things!!

It just makes his decision to hire his sycophantic yes man of a brother in law as his manager all the stranger. He would be much better off with someone like Craig Kelly advising him.
I think that is a really useful suggestion. He badly needs a an arms-length & professional & experienced player manager to represent him. His current arrangements appear all too incestuous & too cosy.

I agree with those recent posters that posted long posts saying that we needed to be seen to do the right thing. We really do need for jordan and the other players to recognise that whatever they are doing, that only the good stuff is broadcast to the world.

Corporations know this. This is what they demand from their staff. Fortunately, for a lot of workers in australia, they still can get away with some politically incorrect stuff as long as they are NOT reported and it gets back to their employer. Employers can and do demand that level of control now and a lot of people in this thread and many footy fans think that it is reasonable for corporations to have that control.

Players and employees having freedoms to do what they like, is a thing of the past. Morality isnt that important but employees need to understand that they cant be caught. That is the bottom line. Players need to understand that they cannot be photographed, videoed or around people that will report them, if they intend to do something that the public might think to be unpalatable. They need to do these things behind closed doors, and if they cant do these things privately, then they shouldn't do it.

If Jordan declares he is available for selection this week then selecting him to play it exactly what our club must do.

Hell we should all demand it.

While I don't agree with the extra sanctions handed to de Goey yesterday, they've now occurred, the perpetually outraged should have been sated, the commercial partners satisfied with the "optics" delivered.

Now it's time for the club to get behind our player, get him back on the horse this week in front of a supportive home crowd and not allow the Collingwood haters a complete victory.

He's been punished enough, anything more is just punishing the whole team and more importantly the people who keep the lights on which isn't any corporate partner or media platform, it's us the members and supporters of the Collingwood Football Club.

I'd say a bit of column A and a bit of column B.

See how you can still respond when you're not a complete pussy? Conversation gets shut down when you're weak.

When you want to answer my question which was completely logical as you ARE either being misinformed or dense, there is literally no other possible reason, feel free to respond.

I know the rating thing is being done by millions, I know that the people are hypothetical. Explain to me why they apologized. Explain how the game works And what you think I’ve missed and the club has missed. I watched Footy classified and afl360 and read the newspaper articles. I’m happy to hear why it was wrong that they apologised. or we can trade insults if you’d prefer. Mine will bet better.

B

Rittany Higgins has made an allegation. The woman who won a Logie for her investigive journalism on that alleged rape had to post a humiliating apology to another male politician whom she and others accused of upskirting. After months of reputation destroying coverage he was found not guilty and exonerated if any wrong doing.

The same applies to geff rush and Craig McLachlan who has released photos of his alleged victim
( He touched her on her breasts through her clothes) pretending to be bonked by him. She told him to pull her hair back for the photo and he refused and said it was a disturbing request.

It is McCarthyism on steroids. Just
because a social sickness is spreading throughout our society doesn't mean you must play along. We are all humans and deserving of being treated with courtesy and consideration. That covers every possible contingency in human interaction. Why must we break ourselves down into ever shrinking identify groups rather than be seen as unique individuals regardless of colour or genitalia?

When you keep apologising and falling at the feet of the tyrannical media and perpetually outraged you simply feed the beast and it's appetite grows.

I'd have told the club to shove their apology statement if I was Ginnivan or Quaynor. They did nothing offensive or illegal. School yard gossip is far more poisonous than anything those boys did.

I am so tired of the endless genudlecting and virtue signalling. Yesterday on SEN Maher, gaze and a guest were discussing the ban on trans swimmers.
The guest said " we must acknowledge we are three middle aged white men!' in apologetic tones for fear of daring to have an opinion while being male and white

Gaze and Maher agreed while I had an apoplectic fit in my car. That is today's environment. Apologing for having an informed opinion because you are a certain skin colour. That is the very definition of self loathing Grown, educated men are spewing this tripe every day

The white male can't have an opinion on anything.

It's gone mad and the amount examples we all would have are mind blowing.

I still laugh at the Regina George skit at the Oscars where she groped two men on stage infront of millions, yeah she copped some back lash but nothing compared to anything a man in that situation would cop. I bet majority on here don't even know about that story.

How many times have you heard it's a man's job? I dare say something simular, I'm destroyed and labelled a monster.

DeGoey clearly wasn't thinking and as usual put himself in a bad situation with an Instagram model Remi Jackson who know doubt had a friend take the video to get 5 seconds of fame, she also hasn't complained and clearly they were getting wild.

The two boys playing some stupid Tik Tok game are just dumb, I have no doubt again if the situation was switched around and it was 2 Netball players laying in bed rating men on a stupid game it would be a non issue.

The media just pick out easy targets, simple, no way would someone stand up for something they believe in if it meant possibly being labelled something which most likely would cost you your career and reputation.

The lack of back bone from the club is disappointing. Side by side they throw their players under the bus.

Twice now with DeGoey btw the US stuff the club knew about well in advance just put him out to freeze until it was sorted which they knew would happen, the club had all the info they needed.

**** I hope he shits in our face at years end and takes a huge contract somewhere else.

I actually don't think he will from what I'm hearing he is staying loyal to the club and wants to repay Collingwood back which he should do.

I know the rating thing is being done by millions, I know that the people are hypothetical. Explain to me why they apologized. Explain how the game works And what you think I’ve missed and the club has missed. I watched Footy classified and afl360 and read the newspaper articles. I’m happy to hear why it was wrong that they apologised. or we can trade insults if you’d prefer. Mine will bet better.

Yours will not be better mate, I'm a stand up comic - the one thing I won't do is lose a roast. :p

But, happy to have a discussion I don't actually have an issue with you, I don't even know ya! Look, there's no right or wrong technically. By all means the very reality could be that I am in a minority that has a higher threshold of what I believe is remotely offensive or poor behavior.

In my opinion the reason I feel like the club is wrong for making them apologize is that it is 100% all about optics. An apology for the sake of apology devalues future apologies and sets the precedent of what must be apologized for. It is also, as we've seen in other industries an ever creeping precedent that gets further and further down the political correctness side of things.

Last thing we want to see is players having to apologize for innocuous events that harm no one, as this is one sure way to suck the fun and personality out of men, and especially younger men. I know there's a lot of talk on mental health, but constantly making people feel they've done wrong is a huge mental health trigger, it really is. I don't know about others on here, but if there's one big issue I have with all AFL clubs compared to most other sports I frequently watch is that the players seem to not be allowed any personality, and seem shit scared to even tiptoe from their clubs PR(opaganda).

I do apologize for the initial and follow up insults mate, had a bad couple of days and tend to do what a lot of us do, take it out on the internet due to the safety of anonymity. Bit of a dick move.