Player Watch Jordan De Goey

Rating women - especially their looks - using numbers is pretty awful.

Have you looked into what the game is, or are you making comment from what you've seen in the articles?

It's rating partners. It's rating what characteristics you dislike and like. It's a game and anyone being offended by it is simply gonna find offence in anything they don't like.

He is an 9 but he virtue signals at every opportunity.

I haven’t looked at the Tik Tok thing, but it seems an overreaction.

But back to De Goey. Once the footage of him went viral, it lost its immediate consensual context. Instead we have an image circulating of a senior player simulating oral sex. Not exactly what the marketing department has in mind when trying to drum up membership. Think about the 10 year old kid pestering mum to buy him/her a Pies membership. She might not be so keen after that.

Respect for the club is damaged by footage such as this. The Bali context, and fun amongst friends, is irrelevant for many who see this stuff. They are horrible images to have in circulation and associated with our club. Its why the club has used the strong words.

I know many of you will disagree, but there are plenty more outside the BF bubble who see this as a significant problem. And they are Pies supporters. When you talk about the ‘side by side’ slogan, it doesn’t just apply to one point of view. It’s a hollow concept anyway, when one of our idiot players so disrespects our brand.

sigh......

lol at being played.

What happens in private is not the same as something in public when it affects a business you are contracted to.
Simple as that.

I agree its harmless. But only in my personal life. But not when i'm the face of an organisation. Which all of our players / coaches are.

Using a marketing tool by an organisation that has "taken a play on it" as an example that its ok....ummm....i've got nothing!!
Corporations have been doing this since the dawn of time....and it relies on the public understanding what they are playing on, which is fair game and breaks no moral code as long as its ticked off by the relevant parties.
To be fair, i haven't seen it. But knowing Telstra like i do... there is no way this didn't pass through multiple levels to ensure it met relevant standards.

Someone posted the AFLPA code of conduct on social media earlier in the thread.....assuming it is correct (I'm taking it at face value)....go and have a read of that and tell me whether they breached any of the clauses they signed up to?
Oh....and context is irrelevant in this scenario as that is not what is projected into the mainstream.

Like it or not.....agree with it or not....its part of the job.

If you took the time to write the above you should take a look at the app. Telstra was the one who “played” the app in a tweet. The thing is, if that did breavh the Code (if pushed I would argue it may not have) half the players in the league (and aflw) have similarly breached the Code - but where is the requirement for their apology?

It’s a pile-on and lazy ppl, yourself included, haven’t taken the time to do some critical thinking on the matter before making your judgements.

The point is I don’t think anyone disagrees with the notion that employees are responsible for maintaining certain standards “out of work”. It’s that the TikTok matter was a massive overreaction that likely didn’t breach standards. Yet the apology was made. To appease.

But back to De Goey. Once the footage of him went viral, it lost its immediate consensual context. Instead we have an image circulating of a senior player simulating oral sex. Not exactly what the marketing department has in mind when trying to drum up membership. Think about the 10 year old kid pestering mum to buy him/her a Pies membership. She might not be so keen after that.

Respect for the club is damaged by footage such as this. The Bali context, and fun amongst friends, is irrelevant for many who see this stuff. They are horrible images to have in circulation and associated with our club. Its why the club has used the strong words.

I know many of you will disagree, but there are plenty more outside the BF bubble who see this as a significant problem. And they are Pies supporters. When you talk about the ‘side by side’ slogan, it doesn’t just apply to one point of view. It’s a hollow concept anyway, when one of our idiot players so disrespects our brand.

You are right on many levels in terms of the club’s thinking

And it is the media that has decided to broadcast the sexualised images

10 year olds are not on the Insta feeds

The repeated pics of Jordy and Remy are done to titillate and scandalise

The same Mum May think very differently if her 22 year old is shamed in the future

And this will do much more damage than the incidental exposure to consenting adults at play

Well put

I know the rating thing is being done by millions, I know that the people are hypothetical. Explain to me why they apologized. Explain how the game works And what you think I’ve missed and the club has missed. I watched Footy classified and afl360 and read the newspaper articles. I’m happy to hear why it was wrong that they apologised. or we can trade insults if you’d prefer. Mine will bet better.

Did you watch 360 where Whateley clearly stated the TikTok thing was harmless and not worthy of an apology?

VP unusually I think I am on the other side of the fence to you with this one. More and more I just see this as tramping on the individual. I have got no idea why people put this stuff up on social media but they do. If a parent somehow searched it out and showed it to their 10 yo I would wonder more about the parent than the couple in the video. Truth is this video should have been left in the womans feed for those who look at her stuff. Without the press thats what would have happened

Now its out we see fit to judge it through a tiny narrow prism and immediately disregard the opinion of Remy. As far as I can tell there is a undercurrent suggesting she really isnt fit to be able to tell. Thats the disrespect in this affair to me. No one really cares about Remy though even though a case is being made she was disrespected. She knew what happened throughout their whole time together and is so much better informed to make a call.

We dont know how that day but let me paint a senario that could roughly match it.

A group of young guys meet a group of young women at a resort. They spend an arvo togerther by the pool, swimming , chatting, having a few drinks. There are obvious connections made so they have a meal and then go to the resort club. John and Betty in particular seem to make a connection. They all end up on the dancefloor and as time evolves John and Betty get into some close up dancing. Someone takes a snap when Betty jumps onto Johns back and and piggybacks him. Legs wrapped around his waist she gives him a kiss on the back of the neck, bites his ear and whispers she is sure a well off guy like John has a pretty nice resort room. He tells her she can have an inspection any time she likes. A bit more dancing goes on and a friend even videos when John pulls against Bettys top. She laughs and says you will have to wait for my inspection before that goes any further.

Down in the resort restaurant a group of 20 something male mates have had a big day. They are big men, dominating the venue, loud and now becoming aggressive with each other. Other patrons are uncomfortable and when the fight begins and then spills outside patrons are frankly frightened. Someone calls security in the hope the violence can be controlled and the men dealt with

Unfortunately security is tied up and cant come, they are dealing with an inappropriate touching incident after a 54 yo journo walked past the disco and saw a man pulling a womans top off and reported it

Did John and Betty get to horizontal dancing later that night? Answer MYOBB

VP unusually I think I am on the other side of the fence to you with this one. More and more I just see this as tramping on the individual. I have got no idea why people put this stuff up on social media but they do. If a parent somehow searched it out and showed it to their 10 yo I would wonder more about the parent than the couple in the video. Truth is this video should have been left in the womans feed for those who look at her stuff. Without the press thats what would have happened

Now its out we see fit to judge it through a tiny narrow prism and immediately disregard the opinion of Remy. As far as I can tell there is a undercurrent suggesting she really isnt fit to be able to tell. Thats the disrespect in this affair to me. No one really cares about Remy though even though a case is being made she was disrespected. She knew what happened throughout their whole time together and is so much better informed to make a call.

We dont know how that day but let me paint a senario that could roughly match it.

A group of young guys meet a group of young women at a resort. They spend an arvo togerther by the pool, swimming , chatting, having a few drinks. There are obvious connections made so they have a meal and then go to the resort club. John and Betty in particular seem to make a connection. They all end up on the dancefloor and as time evolves John and Betty get into some close up dancing. Someone takes a snap when Betty jumps onto Johns back and and piggybacks him. Legs wrapped around his waist she gives him a kiss on the back of the neck, bites his ear and whispers she is sure a well off guy like John has a pretty nice resort room. He tells her she can have an inspection any time she likes. A bit more dancing goes on and a friend even videos when John pulls against Bettys top. She laughs and says you will have to wait for my inspection before that goes any further.

Down in the resort restaurant a group of 20 something male mates have had a big day. They are big men, dominating the venue, loud and now becoming aggressive with each other. Other patrons are uncomfortable and when the fight begins and then spills outside patrons are frankly frightened. Someone calls security in the hope the violence can be controlled and the men dealt with

Unfortunately security is tied up and cant come, they are dealing with an inappropriate touching incident after a 54 yo journo walked past the disco and saw a man pulling a womans top off and reported it

We are on different sides with this, GC. And it took me a while to get ‘MYOBB’!

But that’s the issue, isn’t it? No one has minded their own business and the club is in the poo again because of it, and Jordy being dumb and reckless with what he does, who’s around when he does it, and the presence of the dreaded cameras. Again!

It’s interesting, and sad, to hear about his ADHD. I recall him saying a few years ago - after one of his previous misdemeanours - that he is impulsive and acts before he thinks. Those were his words. It’s also how he plays footy, which makes him so good at it.

At the time of those words I put it down to immaturity, but if it’s more than that then needs he needs assistance and support to help him manage it. Not idiot friends who egg him on.

Heater was the last of our players to have ADHD (as far as I know). His impulsive behaviour drove Bucks mad too.

Anyway, I’m over it, we’re all over it, I wish it wasn’t like this with Collingwood but it’s always been the same.

The two statements on the club website regarding De Goey and IQ / Gin, are the cyber equivalent of the players being put in the stocks and pelted with rotten tomatoes.

I think that in 2022, the image of the club is far more important & critical than it was in 2012 or 2022 or 1992. Sponsors & key stakeholders are watching the club here & now & so the Club & its emcees cannot afford to jeopardise these relationships & be able to maintain the financial clout that we need going forward so as to compete with the other financial powerhouses in the AFL going forward.

However there is another aspect to all of this going forward. That is the view of the Club from its thousands of female supporters & fans. I spoke to 3 female Collingwood supportes over the last couple of days ranging from 22 to 36 to 52 in age & they were all appalled & shocked by the images & videos coming out of Bali in recent times. Moreover, they were all pretty upset with the previous images & videos that came out of New York late in 2021. They were sick to death of being portrayed as sex symbols & sex chattels & disposable items that could be dominated & exploted & mocked & treated with contempt by Australian footballers. I reckon that this episode & previous episodes are doing irreversible damage to our brand. By the way, I do not make light of the childish & foolish & contemptible comments made by Ginivan & Quaynor either. These guys are all being paid far more money than the average wage & salary earners out there in the real world. Personally - and this is irrespective of the insignificant & deferred fine of $25,000 given to De Goey - I would like to see all 3 go & work in Women's Refuge Shelters for the rest of the year on a weekly basis & see if those first -hand experiences do not make some inroads into the nearanderthal & primitive views of women expressed by all 3, without fear or favour. I really want my Club to an organisation that it attractive for existing & new female supporters to belong to as opposed to its current image

By the way, I feel that there is an unstated fear amongst a lot of posters on this topic that De Goey may be ultimately sacked by the Club come the end of the year & in turn will become an out & out champion at another AFL club. Well - I am a bit older than most contributors to this site - but I clearly remember Tom Hafey's decision at the end of the 1978 Final Series when we were bundled out with a totally underwhelming display against North Melbourne in the 1978 Preliminary Final at Waverley. He decided to unilaterally sack Max Richardson - who was the current captain, Ross Dunne, Len Thompson & finally & only after 4 years at the club, Phil Carman. Now Jordan De Goey would not be qualified Phil Catman's boots for all of Fabulous's erratic behaviour on the field ( and mind you absolutely zero off-field controversies unlike De Goey). What happened next? Well we played in 3 consecutive Grand Finals in 1979, 1980 & 1981, respectively. My point here is that no single player is more important than the club. In addition on that occasion we received nothing for those exiting quartet of players. I would expect that any compensation for a player such as De Goey would have to be at least a 1st round draft choice if not more. So the latter changes my sense of the balance of power between the Club & any single player in 2022. Regardless, I do not know what is going to take place between now & the end of the season, but surely this must ne his absolute LAST & FINAL CHANCE! Goodnight & goodluck.

Sorry I need to ask - did you ask the three females what it was in the New York “previous photos and images” that was so upsetting? You know, because there was no footage of any females out of NY, the bullshit groping charge was dropped in hours(that’s the bit that tells you it was bullshit), yet females were upset by it? Why? Because the media reported it in a certain way.

Next time ask a few more questions to get to why someone feels the way they do about Jordy. Not questioning your acquaintances about feeling what they feel about AFL players’ treatment of women. Just asking what they think Jordy has done?

New York was never about the treatment of women - yet so many were duped into that by the media. And the previous indecent assault charge needs to be forgotten as well - it was dropped as the allegations were fabricated by the complainant. This is fact.

None of this gets fully reported by the media. Jordan was mega stupid in Bali, but he gets hung out to dry on his “priors” - which don’t have any actual meaningful “history” around the treatment of women.

You sound like another one duped by the media on the TikTok thing as well.

Your talk of 1978 is irrelevant. In a pure footy sense, you never get adequate value in free agent compensation. At best, on the speculated contract, as the ladder stands, we would receive pick 11. Nothing more.

That would be extremely unlikely to produce a player similar to the one likely second in our B&F atm.

OMG it’s Wednesday and the continued media coverage on Jordy is just horrendous.
The Bailey Smith incident got 5 minutes. FM just over it. I really feel for him.

OMG it’s Wednesday and the continued media coverage on Jordy is just horrendous.
The Bailey Smith incident got 5 minutes. FM just over it. I really feel for him.

Really wish we could all just get on with it, so over hearing about it now

Collingwood sells newspapers, and in today’s parlance, gets clicks.
This story will continue on for the rest of the week. The club will remove him from the side on Sunday, probably citing personal reasons or some such BS.

The most effective thing we should all do as Collingwood supporters is, if it comes up in discussion, ask others (respectfully) what it is they think Jordan has done wrong towards women prior to Bali?

There has been nothing, nothing, which has been substantiated.

Yet the lurid images go on repeat and the imaginations get manipulated.

Yes, he was dumb to expose himself to this situation, but that he has become some sort of poster boy for poor treatment of women is grossly unfair.

Rating women - especially their looks - using numbers is pretty awful.

Certainly would have been if that’s what they were doing. Go and have another look at the game.

You are wasting your time. Anyone who developed an opinion on the TikTok thingy without first asking what it was, is too easily swayed by the media to change their uninformed opinion in the face of evidence to the contrary.

The incident in Bali is one thing, but the outcome in Australia is another. The club is focussed on the fall out.

There may be some cynicism involved, with all the talk of ‘respect’ - which I’ve played into because I think it’s relevant. But what happened in Bali five days ago (feels more like five months ago) has nothing on the ongoing fall out, which has a life of its own.

Just heard a comment from Leigh Matthews on this matter he said 'If De Goey plays well for the rest of the season, and if Collingwood go well for the rest of the season, in 3 months time, this will all be a bad memory"

The Club was stuck between a rock and a hard place. They had to be seen to be punishing De Goey, or the AFL would have done it for them, probably more severely than the Club did.

We just have to ride this out. Then, the contract will take care of itself.

The incident in Bali is one thing, but the outcome in Australia is another. The club is focussed on the fall out.

There may be some cynicism involved, with all the talk of ‘respect’ - which I’ve played into because I think it’s relevant. But what happened in Bali five days ago (feels more like five months ago) has nothing on the ongoing fall out, which has a life of its own.
What happened 5 months ago? A woman made a false allegation that was thrown out after the police and prosecutors reviewed the CCTV to try and cover up for her ******** of a partner starting a fight.

Big deal

You are wasting your time. Anyone who developed an opinion on the TikTok thingy without first asking what it was, is too easily swayed by the media to change their uninformed opinion in the face of evidence to the contrary.
giphy.gif

I was going to do a before/after with Puddy and his facepaint, point out that as his initial score is given to you, the score is the dependent y variable and the facepainting and boorish behaviour is the independent x variable you are rating.

But as you say, it would be a waste of time. People would rather have opinions now than be accurate later.

B

Rittany Higgins has made an allegation. The woman who won a Logie for her investigive journalism on that alleged rape had to post a humiliating apology to another male politician whom she and others accused of upskirting. After months of reputation destroying coverage he was found not guilty and exonerated if any wrong doing.

The same applies to geff rush and Craig McLachlan who has released photos of his alleged victim
( He touched her on her breasts through her clothes) pretending to be bonked by him. She told him to pull her hair back for the photo and he refused and said it was a disturbing request.

It is McCarthyism on steroids. Just
because a social sickness is spreading throughout our society doesn't mean you must play along. We are all humans and deserving of being treated with courtesy and consideration. That covers every possible contingency in human interaction. Why must we break ourselves down into ever shrinking identify groups rather than be seen as unique individuals regardless of colour or genitalia?

When you keep apologising and falling at the feet of the tyrannical media and perpetually outraged you simply feed the beast and it's appetite grows.

I'd have told the club to shove their apology statement if I was Ginnivan or Quaynor. They did nothing offensive or illegal. School yard gossip is far more poisonous than anything those boys did.

I am so tired of the endless genudlecting and virtue signalling. Yesterday on SEN Maher, gaze and a guest were discussing the ban on trans swimmers.
The guest said " we must acknowledge we are three middle aged white men!' in apologetic tones for fear of daring to have an opinion while being male and white

Gaze and Maher agreed while I had an apoplectic fit in my car. That is today's environment. Apologing for having an informed opinion because you are a certain skin colour. That is the very definition of self loathing Grown, educated men are spewing this tripe every day
Women should know their place and not speak up ay domie?

I am so tired of the endless genudlecting and virtue signalling. Yesterday on SEN Maher, gaze and a guest were discussing the ban on trans swimmers.
The guest said " we must acknowledge we are three middle aged white men!' in apologetic tones for fear of daring to have an opinion while being male and white

Gaze and Maher agreed while I had an apoplectic fit in my car. That is today's environment. Apologing for having an informed opinion because you are a certain skin colour. That is the very definition of self loathing Grown, educated men are spewing this tripe every day
The trans swimmers issue is an interesting one, because it is an example of the issues with which women are suddenly required to cope. Do we allow a potentially more man-like woman to compete against us in sports and rob us of our medals? Therefore the issue is almost 2 steps removed from your average white men, hence very difficult to comment on because they are not the ones competing against the trans sports people - really it's a women's concern. The ground beneath our feet is shifting.