Player Watch Jordan De Goey

Yep. He had a poor one. The season is how to view it. What’s your angle? Do you want him to play badly?

Nah I'm just not a blinded fan boy. I give him credit when he plays well. He has the most potential of anyone on our list by a fair way. He just hasn't performed consistently enough to be considered a great player. He wants to be paid as a great player and has already been paid that way for 3 years, without really delivering what we would expect. His last two games are a great base. I want him to go on with it as much as you do, despite what you think.

It is inarguable that he has been elite since mid-21. But yeah, last 2 games.

#fanboys4eva

why not? Just wondering.
Because he is an employee and has rights and I’d suggest one of those rights is to be treated like everyone else. There are already standard behavioural clauses that cover anything serious.

For instance what would these clauses be that wouldn’t be considered draconian?

1. You are not allowed to attend nightclubs?
2. You are not allowed to dance with anyone when you could be filmed.
3. You are not allowed to be filmed pulling a face.
4. You are not to defend yourself from thieves.
5. You can’t go to Bali

It’s all just unenforceable rubbish.

Who gets to decide on the breach?

The clauses that exist cover anything that needs to be covered already. If he’s so damaged and out of control that the standard clauses don’t cover him then we shouldn’t be signing him at all.

Anyway, they have all been minor things blown out of proportion so far, as any reasonable person knows.

JB1975 and a half of his 10 burner accounts?

I ask that you not encourage certain ideas which have emerged in this thread. There is nothing reasonable about me or any of my burner accounts.

Because he is an employee and has rights and I’d suggest one of those rights is to be treated like everyone else. There are already standard behavioural clauses that cover anything serious.

For instance what would these clauses be that wouldn’t be considered draconian?

1. You are not allowed to attend nightclubs?
2. You are not allowed to dance with anyone when you could be filmed.
3. You are not allowed to be filmed pulling a face.
4. You are not to defend yourself from thieves.
5. You can’t go to Bali

It’s all just unenforceable rubbish.

Who gets to decide on the breach?

The clauses that exist cover anything that needs to be covered already. If he’s so damaged and out of control that the standard clauses don’t cover him then we shouldn’t be signing him at all.

Anyway, they have all been minor things blown out of proportion so far, as any reasonable person knows.
It was interesting listening to Wilson last night on FC. She is clearly talking to a board member intermittently (my guess is either Anderson or Holgate because it’s not a footy person stupid enough to talk to her) who has passed on that the club remains undecided on offering JDG a new contract. We then also have McRae professing his love for him post match and his performance both of which indicate to me that there’s a mutual love of club and player. The club is now humming along so what are the odds on Collingwood being Collingwood and shooting ourselves in the foot by the board stepping in and deciding to move him on? In the process they’d be overruling the coach and robbing us of an exceptional talent. For me the rest of 2022 will be what it is we’re either good enough or not, but this situation is the real talking point about whether we are better than we were under McGuire.

I missed FC last night and their social team hasn't posted anything about JDG. What did Caro say?

Hopefully someone's just feeding her a line to keep her happy.
After this year's performance I'd be disappointed if the Board overruled the senior coach on a player issue.

I missed FC last night and their social team hasn't posted anything about JDG. What did Caro say?
The social team won’t post about it because I don’t think they realise there’s a story there yet. Me though if I were a journo that hated Collingwood I’d be all over it…

I think the sequence of events was Hutchy bringing it up, Caro’s comments, Lloyd asked how we fit him in as well as Taranto and McStay? The Corn then said pretty matter of factly that Grundy goes. They moved on after that. I assume that’s just common sense these days? Even around here…

My very broad read between the lines was it seemed like pretty much all the other media commentary on JDG at the moment and the assumption is he stays. Cubs like St Kilda and Geelong missed the boat by not going hard when we left the door ajar for him leaving so the heats gone out of it as a news story.

I doubt Fly, the panel and GW would disagree with you.

BUT, because of the wowser snowflake majority are making all the noise in the world, the club has to be seen as 'opposing immorals'

Probably in reality even Anderson (who contradicted Degs's rightful call out of the media) and the board are probably in unison behind closed doors with Degs, certainly wouldn't be surprised, sure might be a couple on that board that want him gone.

Those couple will be sternly reminded that your first line and the bolded is the priority for this organization and are def in the (noisy) minority, at the club, 'if you want off the bandwagon there is the door' - so to speak.

Methinks he'll stay, in fact never had much doubt. Just that the whole wowser snowflake episodes are a necessary appeasement i:e the media bullsh*t.
It's weird that "Snowflake" has crept into Aussie vernacular, given the person who made it rise into prominence.

Crap job she has - ringing up people, annoying them by trying to extract information then distorting it and pretending you know everything.

Interestingly, if Ed was in charge JDG would have already signed a contract. Not sure Ed would have been too fussed about the Bali incident but having said that I would hope that the days of the boardroom overstep ended with Ed.

The football department seems to be doing a stellar job so why would the suits have the final say over JDG re-signing (or any football related manners)?

Given the side's flag potential (and that has shifted in the last 2 weeks), JDG, even in the eyes of the non footy tragics like Holgate would now be viewed as a "must-keep". There is no 2-3 year rebuild, we're in it up to our eyeballs.

Crap job she has - ringing up people, annoying them by trying to extract information then distorting it and pretending you know everything.
Hey at least she contacts people rather than trawling through social media for stories. I respect Caro's journalism. She sticks her neck out on things alot and gets it right alot of times.

Interestingly, if Ed was in charge JDG would have already signed a contract. Not sure Ed would have been too fussed about the Bali incident but having said that I would hope that the days of the boardroom overstep ended with Ed.

The football department seems to be doing a stellar job so why would the suits have the final say over JDG re-signing (or any football related manners)?

Given the side's flag potential (and that has shifted in the last 2 weeks), JDG, even in the eyes of the non footy tragics like Holgate is now viewed as a "must-keep". There is no 2-3 year rebuild, we're in it up to our eyeballs.
Fly to Licuria "mate we need DeGoey". Licuria "no worries, I'll sort it".

Licuria to Browne "DeGoey is staying".

Browne to Licuria "leave it to me".

Browne to Board "he's had his issues, the coach and players want him to stay, I've invited Brayden to speak to us, Brayden your turn".

Brayden "he's staying - get it sorted. Thank you".

Board "thanks Brayden".

Brayden departs.

Board to Board "strewth but Brayden is impressive. Just print JDG's contract".

Simples

Hey at least she contacts people rather than trawling through social media for stories. I respect Caro's journalism. She sticks her neck out on things alot and gets it right alot of times.
Plus she has to nurture & maintain relationships (without appearing to overstep & breach the trust).
A juggling act, keeping her contact back channels open, whilst appearing to lead on particular news stories.
I assume she is respected as Club land.
Then again…Robbo also appears to have reasonable Industry sources, don’t know why (I would never trust him).

Fly to Licuria "mate we need DeGoey". Licuria "no worries, I'll sort it".

Licuria to Browne "DeGoey is staying".

Browne to Licuria "leave it to me".

Browne to Board "he's had his issues, the coach and players want him to stay, I've invited Brayden to speak to us, Brayden your turn".

Brayden "he's staying - get it sorted. Thank you".

Board "thanks Brayden".

Brayden departs.

Board to Board "strewth but Brayden is impressive. Just print JDG's contract".

Simples

If you were a fly on the wall Grammar Nazi that's exactly what you would have witnessed. Everybody loves Bruzzy. Fact.

If they were to get involved, it'd be about culture and how we present to the public, rather than a football related reason. So they could see it as part of their remit. I think he'll be a Pie though. Surely by now enough heat has left the incident for most to see that the heat was ridiculous.

Maybe but still a crap job - when's the last time she wrote about a centre square clearance or a defensive set up?