Jordan Russell - Time to cut our losses?

yep good post:thumbsu: Give him a bit of the dal santo treatment, you dont play unless you learn how to tackle and put on defensive pressure.

It's not going to happen. He's what, our most experienced player? Like Fev and his antics Hoops ain't gonna change now. We will pay him to float loose across the HFF and kick goals or ram it down Psychoboy's throat. His skills are sublime. Really. :thumbsu::)

No doubt Russell offers more speed and aggression and Hoops offers more skill and creativity, the question is which is more valuable to the team we have now?

Considering how much turnovers and inaccurate kicking hurts us week in week out, and specifically that forward 50 entries is a major problem area in our game plan I'd say that puts Hoops miles ahead of Russell for that spot on the HFF.

No doubt Russell offers more speed and aggression and Hoops offers more skill and creativity, the question is which is more valuable to the team we have now?

Considering how much turnovers and inaccurate kicking hurts us week in week out, and specifically that forward 50 entries is a major problem area in our game plan I'd say that puts Hoops miles ahead of Russell for that spot on the HFF.

or we could just get rid of both of them and pick up yarren or hartlett in this years draft....

What are the chances of this thread hitting 500 posts by round 22?
Pretty poor. To reach 500 you need someone to post, and post frequently, that really isn't discussing the topic, but just posting for the sake of posting.........not sure where you will find one of these.:thumbsu:

Agree. :thumbsu:

Maybe it's just a matter of finding the right way to put it so we can all agree on Jordan once and for all, how about:

"Jordan Russell's ability as a footballer is right up there with Gilly1972's dress sense?"

:p:D

Youse blokes seem to know more about each other than the cyber world normally permits. Why am I feeling marginalized? Is it the same reason I felt so comfortable in The Reject Shop yesterday? :cool:

It was based on a post I remember reading about a year ago (probably in The Blue Room) about Gilly's penchant for designer labels...from memory Gilly deflected the issue straight on to C4...

Sounds about right Yoss. I made the mistake of walking through DFO with Gilly a little while ago. That is something i'll never do again.

Looks like we're both victims! Try going Christmas shopping with him! He is worse than a woman!

In light of the last 2 posts, I'll retract my last post and concede that your comment

probably could stand ;)

But even so, you shouldn't feel any more marginalised than me... :)

But if you still do, and yearn to find a way into the fold, it seems as though Gilly1972 may be in the market for accompaniment to DFO :D

**Bump**

I know its only a NAB cup game.

but almost everything JR touched tonight - turned to shit.

Confidence player or not/ after 4 years on the list - you need to start showing promise and football smarts and most importantly - HIT &*$^$& TARGETS on a consistant basis!!!

**Bump**

Confidence player or not/ after 4 years on the list - you need to start showing promise and football smarts and most importantly - HIT &*$^$& TARGETS on a consistant basis!!!

He has not improved at all... Stupid decisions all the time. what role does he play for the team?

JR is probably the only player on the list I struggle to defend....he's been given ample opportunity but continues to be indecisive, with poor disposal.

He has all the physical attributes to suggest he could be a very good player. Unfortunately I dont think he is up to it mentally.

Alot of our players made skill errors tonight, with the pressure that Hawthorn applied, especially in the 1st quarter. However, these players don't do it week it, week out. You can just about count on JR to deliver a couple of out and out errors, that gift the ball to the oppostion.

What makes it worse, is that his skills around the ground aren't that bad. I just hope that some of the younger kids really push hard for selection in 2009, and just push him out of our best 22.

Like you 4QTR BLUES, I really struggle to defend him as well. In fact, I don't even bother any more.

Can't believe he was given a 2 year contract at the end of 08. One year contract, yeah - if he performed in 09 then that could have been lengthened. But two straight up... reckon that decision may haunt us a bit.

He has not improved at all... Stupid decisions all the time. what role does he play for the team?
In his defence, his footwork and tackling were great tonight.

But for God sake, he's got to learn to kick the thing straight. Very few of his kicks went in the intended position.

That first quarter by Jordan Russell was one of the most insipid and pathetic quarters I
have seen in a long time, it was very much Fiora-esque.

His Blundering, incompetness and lack of 'footballing' smarts cost us (at least) 3 goals in that quarter.

He's gotta be dropped, why is it, everyone I talk to at the footy all agrees that JR isn't much cop.
Fair dinkum, I wonder if JR has got pics or info on some of the match committee members, that is why he keeps getting games.

Lets be honest, Jordan Russell is an LIABILITY, not an ASSET to this football club.
You look at the heart and grit Garlett displayed tonight, i'd be very happy to see him replace JR in the starting 22.

JR .. IT'S TIME TO GO ..

**Bump**

The word in bold should not be in your post!!!

I doubt there will be any JR lovers coming to his rescue after tonights performance. Does he think the "bounce pass" is an effective way to move the ball??

My mrs works at brumys in ivanhoe and ratts comes in most mornings, I have given her some instuctions to relay. So don't worry it shouldn't be long now...